Star of Military Valour (SMV)



Military Valour Decorations are national honours awarded to recognize acts of valour, self-sacrifice or devotion to duty in the presence of the enemy.

Military nominations shall be processed through the chain of command in accordance with A-AD-200-000/AG-000 - Honours, Flags and Heritage Structure of the Canadian Forces .

Eligibility and Criteria

A person is eligible to be awarded a Military Valour Decoration if that person, on or after January 1, 1993 is:

The Star of Military Valour shall be awarded for distinguished and valiant service in the presence of the enemy.


A gold star with four points with a maple leaf in each of the angles:

The Star is suspended by means of a plain gold link. The ribbon is crimson, 32 mm in width and has two vertical white stripes 4 mm in width. Note that the crimson colour is similar to that of the Victoria Cross ribbon.

The bar is a plain gold bar with a maple leaf in the centre.



Each subsequent award of the Star shall be indicated by the wearing of a bar.


The Star shall be worn in sequence, as prescribed in the Canadian Orders, Decorations and Medals Directive, 1998, and in the following manner:


A recipient is entitled to use the letters "SMV".

Historical Notes

As of 1 June 2012, 14 awards had been made.

The recipients details are engraved on the reverse.

The insignia was designed by Bruce Beatty.

Date modified: