Victoria Cross (VC)

Victoria Cross (VC)



Created on 1 January 1993, Military Valour Decorations are national honours awarded in recognition of acts of valour, self-sacrifice or devotion to duty in the presence of the enemy.

Eligibility and Criteria

A person is eligible to be awarded a Military Valour Decoration if that person, on or after January 1, 1993 is:

The Victoria Cross shall be awarded for the most conspicuous bravery, a daring or pre-eminent act of valour or self-sacrifice or extreme devotion to duty, in the presence of the enemy.


A bronze straight-armed cross pattee, 38 mm across, with raised edges:

The Cross is suspended by means of a plain link from a V below a straight bar ornamented with laurel leaves, on the back of which is engraved the rank, name and unit of the recipient.

The ribbon is crimson and measures 38 mm in width. Note that the ribbon is identical to its British predecessor.



Each subsequent award of the Cross shall be indicated by a plain bronze bar ornamented with laurel leaves, which bar shall be attached to the centre of the ribbon from which the Cross is suspended, and where two or more bars are attached, those bars shall be equally spaced on the ribbon.


The Cross shall be worn in sequence, as prescribed in the Canadian Orders, Decorations and Medals Directive, and in the following manner:


Recipients are entitled to the use of the post-nominal letters “VC”.

Historical Notes

Victory Cross Gallery

Date modified: