First World War Medals

The following medals were instituted in recognition of service in the First World War. They are worn after gallantry awards, if any, in the following order:

  1. 1914-15 Star

    The watered ribbon is shaded from left to right: red, white and blue and is worn with the red edge furthest from the left shoulder.

  2. British War Medal

    The watered ribbon consists of seven stripes: blue, black, white, orange in the centre, white, black and blue.

  3. Victory Medal

    The watered ribbon consists of nine coloured stripes: violet, blue, green, yellow, red in the centre, yellow, green, blue and violet.
    Clasp or Emblem (if awarded): An oak leaf emblem when Mentioned in Despatches.

First World War medals are worn followed by campaign stars and medals for the Second World War.

Date modified: