Mandate, Mission, Vision, Values and Ethics

Definition of a Veteran

Any former member of the Canadian Armed Forces who successfully underwent basic training and is honourably discharged.

When people think of Veterans, many immediately picture someone who served in the First World War, Second World War or the Korean War. While many Canadians recognize these traditional Veterans, the same may not always be true for Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) Veterans—those who served Canada since the Korean War.

In fact, some former CAF members don't even see themselves as Veterans. Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) wants to change this and is working to ensure CAF Veterans receive the honour and recognition they have earned and so richly deserve.

VAC considers any former member of the Canadian Armed Forces who releases with an honourable discharge and who successfully underwent basic training to be a Veteran.

This Veteran status recognizes the risk CAF members assume by wearing the uniform and pledging allegiance. Canada's modern-day Veterans are carrying on the traditions, values and legacy of wartime Veterans and all Canadians, especially our youth, should be aware of their accomplishments and sacrifices.

Please note that other criteria, in addition to Veteran status, are needed to qualify for services from the Department.

Our Raison d'être, Mandate and Role

Raison d'être

Canada's development as an independent country with a unique identity stems partly from its achievements in times of war. Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) exists to assist and help those whose courageous efforts gave us this legacy and contributed to our growth as a nation.

The Department of Veterans Affairs Act provides authority to the Minister of Veterans Affairs to administer Acts of Parliament and orders in council as are not by law assigned to any other federal department or any Minister for the care, treatment and re-establishment in civil life of Veterans and the care of their dependents and survivors, and such other matters as the Governor in Council may assign.

Mandate and Role

Veterans Affairs Canada's mandate is to support the well-being of Veterans and their families, and to promote recognition and remembrance of the achievements and sacrifices of those who served Canada in times of war, military conflict and peace. To achieve this mandate, the Department focuses on its four main roles:

  • Provide leadership as a champion of Veterans, and administer and coordinate needed benefits and services; whether through the Government of Canada or in partnership with provincial and community programs and non-governmental organizations.
  • Help Veterans access the supports and services they need, from all levels of government and the community at large, and maintain a leadership role in the care and support of all Veterans and their families.
  • Listen to the suggestions of Veterans, their representatives and stakeholders to guide work and research, and strive to design and deliver programs that meet the modern and changing needs of Veterans and their families.
  • Engage Canadians of all ages in paying tribute to Veterans and those who died in service, ensuring that the legacy of their tremendous contributions to peace and freedom is preserved for generations to come.

Veterans Affairs Canada fulfills its mandate and role through the delivery of programs such as disability benefits, financial benefits, rehabilitation, pension advocacy, education, and training supports. The Department also works to commemorate the achievements and sacrifices of Canadians during periods of war, military conflict and peace.

Veterans Affairs Canada serves a highly diverse group, reflecting the remarkable breadth of Canada's contributions to world peace, including:

Veterans:

  • Armed Forces and Merchant Navy Veterans who served during the First World War, Second World War or Korean War;
  • Former and current members of the Canadian Forces, including those who served in Special Duty Areas and in peacekeeping; and
  • Allied Veterans who:
    • have served with one of the Allied forces during the Second World War or the Korean War; and
    • have lived in Canada for at least 10 years or lived in Canada prior to enlisting.

Others:

  • Civilians who are entitled to benefits because of their war time services;
  • Former and, in certain cases, serving members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police; and
  • Survivors and dependants of the previous groups.

Veterans Affairs Canada also assists members of the public who request information regarding departmental programs, services and activities.

For more information on the Department's commitments, see the Minister's mandate letter.

Our Mission

To provide exemplary, client-centred services and benefits that respond to the needs of Veterans, our other clients and their families, in recognition of their services to Canada; and to keep the memory of their achievements and sacrifices alive for all Canadians.

Our Vision

To provide exemplary service which honours the sacrifice and achievements of our Veterans and clients.

Our Values and Ethics

At Veterans Affairs Canada we value our clients' contributions to the development of Canada as a nation and honour the sacrifices they have made in the defence of freedom and the pursuit of world peace. In expressing Canada's gratitude to them, we strive to exemplify the high principles which they have defended.

Integrity
We act with honesty and fairness and always strive to do the right thing.
Respect
We treat everyone with respect. We recognize the dignity that is inherent in all people and celebrate the strength that comes from the diversity of people and ideas.
Service
We take pride in our role as public servants and are dedicated to service excellence. We are committed to responsive, quality service, delivered with timeliness, courtesy and fairness.
Accountability
We are accountable and responsible for our actions and accept the consequences of our decisions.
Teamwork
We value teamwork, and promote the principles of partnership, consultation and open communication.
Balance
We encourage the achievement of a healthy balance in the working and personal lives of employees, believing that this contributes to the vitality of individuals, our organization and our communities.
Date modified:

Mandat, mission, vision et valeurs

Définition d'un vétéran

Tout ancien membre des Forces armées canadiennes qui a réussi son entraînement de base et a été libéré avec mention honorable.

En règle générale, quand on pense à un ancien combattant, l'image d'un soldat de la Première Guerre mondiale, de la Seconde Guerre mondiale ou de la guerre de Corée vient à l'esprit. Alors que ces anciens combattants traditionnels ne posent aucun problème dans l'esprit de la plupart des gens au pays, il n'en est pas de même pour les ex-militaires des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), ceux et celles qui ont servi le Canada après la guerre de Corée.

En réalité, certains ex-militaires des FAC ne se considèrent pas comme étant des anciens combattants. Le Ministère veut changer cette mentalité et il veille à faire en sorte que les ex-militaires des FAC reçoivent l'honneur et la reconnaissance qu'ils méritent tant.

Selon Anciens Combattants Canada, tout ancien membre des Forces armées canadiennes libéré avec mention honorable qui a réussi son entraînement de base est un ancien combattant, ou un vétéran selon la définition donnée dans la Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d'indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes.

Leur accorder ce statut est reconnaître le risque que les membres des FAC assument en revêtant l'uniforme et en prêtant le serment d'allégeance. Les vétérans de l'ère moderne perpétuent les traditions, les valeurs et l'héritage des anciens combattants du temps de guerre. Tout le monde au pays, particulièrement les jeunes, devrait connaître les réalisations et les sacrifices des vétérans de l'ère moderne.

Rappel : Outre le statut d'ancien combattant ou de vétéran, d'autres critères s'appliquent pour avoir droit aux services du Ministère.

Notre raison d'être, mandat et rôle

Raison d'être

C'est en partie grâce à ses réalisations en temps de guerre que le Canada est devenu un pays indépendant doté d'une identité unique. Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) a pour raison d'être d'aider les personnes dont les efforts courageux nous ont laissé cet héritage et qui ont permis à notre nation de s'épanouir.

La Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants confère au ministre des Anciens Combattants le pouvoir d'exécuter les lois du Parlement et les décrets qui ne sont pas, de droit, du ressort d'autres ministres ou ministères en ce qui a trait aux soins, au traitement ou à la réinsertion dans la vie civile des vétérans et aux soins de leurs survivants ou des personnes à leur charge, ainsi qu'aux domaines que le gouverneur en conseil désigne.

Mandat et rôle

Anciens Combattants Canada a pour mandat de veiller au bien-être des vétérans et de leur famille et de promouvoir la reconnaissance et la commémoration des réalisations et des sacrifices de ceux et celles qui ont servi le Canada en temps de guerre et de conflit comme en temps de paix. Pour s'acquitter de ce mandat, le Ministère se concentre sur ses quatre principaux rôles :

  • Assurer le leadership à titre de champion des vétérans et administrer et coordonner les avantages et les services nécessaires; que ce soit par l'entremise du gouvernement du Canada ou en partenariat avec des programmes provinciaux et communautaires et d'organisations non gouvernementales.
  • Faciliter l'accès au soutien et aux services gouvernementaux et communautaires dont les vétérans et leur famille ont besoin, tout en entendant continuer de jouer un rôle de premier plan à cet égard.
  • Écouter les suggestions des vétérans, de leurs représentants et des intervenants pour orienter le travail et la recherche, et s'efforcer de concevoir et d'offrir des programmes qui répondent aux besoins modernes et changeants des vétérans et de leur famille.
  • Inciter les Canadiens de tous âges à rendre hommage aux vétérans et à ceux qui sont morts en service, en veillant à ce que l’héritage de leurs formidables contributions à la paix et à la liberté soit préservé pour les générations à venir.

Anciens Combattants Canada s'acquitte de son mandat et de son rôle en offrant des programmes de prestations d'invalidité, d'avantages financiers, de réadaptation, de services de représentation et de conseils juridiques relativement aux pensions, d'éducation et de soutien à la formation. Le Ministère appuie et promeut également la commémoration des réalisations et des sacrifices des Canadiens et des Canadiennes pendant les périodes de guerre, de conflit militaire et de paix.

Anciens Combattants Canada sert un groupe très diversifié qui reflète l'ampleur des contributions canadiennes à la paix dans le monde, y compris :

Les vétérans :

  • les vétérans des Forces armées et de la marine marchande ayant servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, la Seconde Guerre mondiale ou la guerre de Corée;
  • les membres actuels et les anciens membres des Forces canadiennes, y compris les personnes qui ont servi en zone de service spécial et au maintien de la paix; et
  • les vétérans alliés qui :
    • ont servi avec l'une des forces alliées durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale ou de la guerre de Corée; et
    • ont vécu au Canada pendant au moins 10 ans ou ont vécu au Canada avant de s'enrôler.

Les autres :

  • les civils ayant droit aux avantages en raison de leur service en temps de guerre;
  • les anciens membres et, dans certains cas, les membres actuels de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada; et
  • les survivants et les personnes à charge des groupes susmentionnés;

Anciens Combattants Canada aide aussi les membres du public qui demandent de l'information sur les programmes, les services et les activités ministériels.

Pour en savoir plus sur les engagements du Ministère, consultez la lettre de mandat du ministre.

Notre mission

Fournir des services et des avantages axés sur le client qui soient exemplaires et adaptés aux besoins des anciens combattants, de nos autres clients et des familles de ceux-ci, de manière à reconnaître les services qu'ils ont rendus au Canada et à graver dans la mémoire de tous les Canadiens et de toutes les Canadiennes le souvenir de leurs réalisations et de leurs sacrifices.

Notre vision

Fournir un service exemplaire qui honore les réalisations et les sacrifices que nos anciens combattants et nos autres clients se sont imposés.

Nos valeurs

À Anciens Combattants Canada, nous apprécions les contributions de nos clients à l'édification de la nation canadienne et nous rendons hommage aux sacrifices qu'ils se sont imposés au nom de la défense de la liberté et du maintien de la paix dans le monde. Tout en leur exprimant la reconnaissance profonde du Canada, nous nous efforçons d'agir selon les principes nobles qu'ils ont défendus.

Intégrité
Nous agissons avec honnêteté et équité et nous essayons en tout temps de bien faire.
Respect
Nous traitons tout le monde avec respect; nous reconnaissons la dignité intrinsèque de chaque personne et nous voulons mettre en valeur la diversité des gens et des idées.
Service
Nous sommes fiers du rôle que nous jouons à titre de fonctionnaires, et l'excellence du service nous tient à coeur. Nous nous engageons à fournir, en temps opportun, un service attentif, courtois et équitable.
Responsabilité
Nous répondons de nos actes et acceptons les conséquences de nos décisions.
Travail d'équipe
Nous attachons une grande importance au travail d'équipe ainsi qu'aux principes de partenariat, de consultation et de communication ouverte.
Équilibre
Nous encourageons les employés à s'efforcer de maintenir un sain équilibre entre leur vie professionnelle et leur vie personnelle, car nous sommes convaincus que cela contribue à leur vitalité personnelle et à celle de notre organisme et de nos collectivités.
Date de modification :