Children Following a Course of Instruction

Issuing Authority: Director General, Policy
Effective Date: November 28, 2013

Purpose

The purpose of this policy is to provide direction respecting the payment of additional pension for children following a course of instruction.

Policy

General

  1. No pension shall be paid to or in respect of a child after the last day of the month in which the child attains the age of eighteen years except where the child is following and making satisfactory progress in a course of instruction approved by the Minister.

Satisfactory Progress

  1. Full-time attendance at a school or college shall be taken to mean that the child is making satisfactory progress.

Course of Instruction

  1. “Full time” shall be as defined by the institution. Universities define as “full time” a minimum of four courses. Five courses are the norm. Each day-time course in university involves a minimum of two to three hours instruction a week. Secondary school full time courses require a minimum of approximately 25 hours a week.
  2. Part time or correspondence courses generally will not qualify but special circumstances may receive individual consideration. It is assumed that persons taking correspondence or part-time courses are earning or are able to earn.
  3. Income from on-the-job training will normally exempt children from additional pension; however, there may be instances that will require special consideration.
  4. On-the-job training includes medical internships, nurses in hospital training schools, lawyers who are articled, etc., or trades in which the apprentice is paid.
  5. University students enrolled in full-time, co-operative work experience courses involving a period of study followed by a work experience, followed by return to university and so on, are not normally considered to be undertaking a full-time type of on-the-job training and will normally be eligible for additional pension to be paid on their behalf for the full period of the university training course including work experience time.

Application Made Subsequent to Death of Veteran

  1. Where additional pension had been in payment but was discontinued prior to the pensioner’s death, because the pensioner had not submitted evidence that the child was continuing his or her education; additional pension for that child shall not be granted after the death of the pensioner.
  2. Where additional pension was not in payment because the pensioner did not apply for such pension during his lifetime, and he had the opportunity to do so; additional pension for a child shall not be granted after the death of the pensioner.
  3. While it is considered that the above policy should be used as a general guide, there could be exceptional cases that have to be dealt with on their own merits. An example would be the case of the pensioner who died after an award for disability had been made but before he had the opportunity to apply for additional pension; or if he had applied, and died before such additional pension was authorized or paid.

Discontinuation and Suspension of Additional Pension

  1. A school year is deemed to be that period commencing on the first day of September and ending on the last day of the following August.
  2. Additional pension for a child who has completed a course of instruction and does not pursue further instruction in the next school year will be continued until the first day of the month following the month in which instruction ceased.
  3. Additional pension will be discontinued if a child abandons a course of instruction during the school year prior to fulfilling the attendance or curriculum requirements of the institution providing the instruction. In this case, the pension will be discontinued the first day of the month following the month during which instruction ceased.
  4. Additional pension will be suspended if the pensioner does not submit proof (after having been requested by the Department to do so) that his child will be discontinuing his or her education.
  5. Pension payable on behalf of a child will be discontinued with effect from:
    1. the day of the child’s twenty-fifth birthday;
    2. the first day of the month following the child’s death.

References

Pension Act, section 34

Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Act, subsection 2(1)

Care has been taken to ensure these policies accurately reflect the acts and regulations. Should any inconsistencies be found, the acts and regulations will prevail.

Date modified:

Enfants aux études

Autorité compétente : Directeur général, Politiques
Date d’entrée en vigueur : 28 novembre 2013

Objectif

La présente politique a pour objet d’expliquer la marche à suivre pour le paiement d’une pension supplémentaire quand un enfant suit un cours d’enseignement.

Politique

Généralités

  1. Aucune pension n’est payée à un enfant, ou à son égard, après le dernier jour du mois où il a atteint l’âge de dix-huit ans, sauf dans le cas où l’enfant suit un cours d’enseignement approuvé par le Ministre, et y fait des progrès satisfaisants.

Progrès satisfaisants

  1. La fréquentation d’une école ou d’un collège à temps plein suppose que l’enfant doit y faire des progrès satisfaisants.

Cours d’enseignement

  1. La définition d’« études à temps plein » est établie par l’établissement d’enseignement. Dans les universités, des études à temps plein signifient généralement un minimum de quatre cours. Cinq cours constituent la norme. Chaque cours de jour suivi dans une université suppose un minimum de deux à trois heures d’enseignement par semaine. Dans une école secondaire, des cours à temps plein supposent un minimum d’environ 25 heures par semaine.
  2. Les cours à temps partiel ou par correspondance ne satisfont pas généralement aux critères d’admissibilité, mais dans des circonstances particulières, les demandes peuvent être prises en considération individuellement. On estime que les étudiants qui suivent des cours à temps partiel ou des cours par correspondance travaillent ou sont capables de travailler.
  3. Les enfants qui touchent un revenu dans le cadre d’une formation en cours d’emploi n’ont normalement pas droit à une pension supplémentaire; cependant, certains cas peuvent faire l’objet d’une considération spéciale.
  4. La formation en cours d’emploi peut comprendre un internat en médecine, une formation en soins infirmiers en milieu hospitalier, un stage en droit, etc., ou un stage payé pour l’apprentissage d’un métier.
  5. Les étudiants de niveau universitaire inscrits à un programme à temps plein d’expérience de travail coopératif incluant une période d’études, suivie d’une expérience de travail, suivie d’un retour à l’université, etc. ne sont pas habituellement considérés comme suivant une formation en cours d’emploi à temps plein et ils sont normalement admissibles à une pension supplémentaire payable en leur nom durant toute leur période de formation universitaire, y compris leur période d’expérience en milieu de travail.

Demande soumise suite au décès d’un vétéran

  1. Si une pension supplémentaire était payable mais a été interrompue avant le décès du pensionné parce que le pensionné n’avait pas soumis une preuve attestant que son enfant poursuivait ses études, aucune pension supplémentaire ne peut être versée à l’enfant suite au décès du pensionné.
  2. Si aucune pension supplémentaire n’était payable parce que le pensionné n’en avait pas fait la demande mais avait eu l’occasion de le faire, aucune pension supplémentaire ne peut être versée à l’enfant suite au décès du pensionné.
  3. Bien que l’on considère que la politique ci-dessus devrait servir de lignes directrices générales, il peut se présenter des cas exceptionnels qui doivent être examinés selon leur bien-fondé. Voici un exemple : un pensionné décède après qu’on lui ait accordé une indemnité d’invalidité, mais avant qu’il n’ait eu l’occasion de demander une pension supplémentaire, ou, s’il en avait fait la demande, il décède avant que cette pension supplémentaire ne lui soit accordée ou payée.

Interruption et suspension d’une pension supplémentaire

  1. Une année scolaire désigne la période commençant le premier jour de septembre et se terminant le dernier jour d’août de l’année suivante.
  2. Toute pension supplémentaire pour un enfant qui a terminé un cours d’enseignement et ne suit pas un autre cours durant l’année scolaire suivante, continue d’être versée jusqu’au premier jour du mois suivant le mois durant lequel l’enseignement a pris fin.
  3. Toute pension supplémentaire sera interrompue si l’enfant abandonne son cours d’enseignement durant l’année scolaire avant d’avoir rempli les exigences liées à la présence au cours et les exigences liées au programme d’études de l’établissement d’enseignement. Dans un tel cas, la pension sera interrompue le premier jour du mois suivant le mois durant lequel l’enseignement a pris fin.
  4. Toute pension supplémentaire sera suspendue si le pensionné ne soumet pas une attestation (suite à une demande faite par le Ministère) prouvant que son enfant continuera ses études.
  5. Toute pension payable au nom d’un enfant sera interrompue et prendra effet :
    1. le jour du vingt-cinquième anniversaire de l’enfant;
    2. le premier jour du mois suivant le décès de l’enfant.

Références

Loi sur les pensions, article 34

Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d’indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes, paragraphe 2(1)

Nous avons pris soin de nous assurer que les politiques reflètent avec exactitude les lois et les règlements en question. S’il y a divergence ou contradiction, ces lois et règlements ont préséance.

Date de modification :