Ste. Anne’s Hospital Transfer Project

Government Institution

Veterans Affairs Canada

Government Official Responsible for the Privacy Impact Assessment

Faith McIntyre

Director General responsible for the Ste. Anne’s Hospital Transfer Project

Head of the government institution / Delegate for section 10 of the Privacy Act

Crystal Garrett-Baird

Director, Privacy and Information Management

Name of Program or Activity of the Government Institution

Ste. Anne’s Hospital Transfer Project

Description of Program or Activity:

Following the First World War, with the influx of returning soldiers, the Government of Canada owned and operated hospitals because of the special needs of Veteran patients and the variations in the care that was publicly available from one province to another. Since its establishment in 1917, Ste. Anne’s Hospital’s “raison d'être” has been to serve Veterans, to provide them with the highest standards of care, and to be a symbol of remembrance for the community and the country.

Since the introduction of the Canada Health Act and Medicare in the 1960s, the federal government began a process to transfer its 18 Veterans’ hospitals to provinces, thereby respecting provincial jurisdiction in matters of heath care. Ste. Anne’s Hospital (SAH) was the last remaining federally owned Veterans hospital and officially transferred to the Government of Quebec on April 1, 2016, becoming part of the new Centre intégré universitaire de santé et services sociaux (CIUSSS) de l’Ouest-de-l’Île-de-Montréal. The Ste. Anne’s Hospital transfer agreement negotiated positions agreed upon between both levels of government in the transfer of the Hospital.

Following the transfer, the distinct expertise in long-term care offered at Ste. Anne’s Hospital to Veterans will also benefit the local community. Post transfer, in addition to eligible war Veterans, all Veterans and other civilians who need long-term care could be admitted. As is the case in other long-term care facilities across the country, Veterans Affairs Canada will provide financial support and priority access to eligible war Veterans for contract beds at the Hospital. Veterans not eligible for contract beds but who are eligible due to a service related disability may have access to the provincial community beds at Ste. Anne’s Hospital. Ste. Anne’s Hospital will undergo the same provincial monitoring as other Quebec provincial long-term care facilities and will be subject to an accreditation process recognized by the province.

Description of the Class of Record and Personal Information Bank associated with the program or activity:

Class of Record: Ste. Anne’s Hospital (VAC MVA 715)

Personal Information Bank: Ste. Anne’s Hospital (VAC PPU 280)

Legal Authority for Program or Activity - VAC

Order in Council P.C. 2015-0432 (Ste. Anne’s Hospital Transfer)

Department of Veterans Affairs Act – sections 4 and 5

Financial Administration Act (FAA) – sections 11 to 13

Privacy Act

The legal authorities for Government of Quebec programs or activities:

An Act Respecting Health Services and Social Services

Organization and Management of Institutions Regulation (chapter S-5, r.5)

An Act Respecting Access to Documents Held by Public Bodies and the Protection of Personal Information

Bill 59

Risk Area Identification & Categorization

The following section contains risks identified in the PIA for the new or modified program. A risk scale has been included. The numbered risk scale is presented in ascending order: the first level represents the lowest level of potential risk for the risk area; the fourth level (4) represents the highest level of potential risk for the given risk area. Please refer to “Appendix C” of the TBS Directive on PIAs to learn more about the risk scale.

1) Type of Program or Activity

Administration of Programs / Activity and Services

Personal information is used to make decisions that directly affect the individual (i.e. determining eligibility for programs including authentication for accessing programs/services, administering program payments, overpayments, or support to clients, issuing or denial of permits/licenses, processing appeals, etc.).

Level of risk to privacy – 2

2) Type of Personal Information Involved and Context

Social Insurance Number, medical, financial or other sensitive personal information and/or the context surrounding the personal information is sensitive. Personal information of minors or incompetent individuals or involving a representative acting on behalf of the individual.

Sensitive personal information, including detailed profiles, allegations or suspicions, bodily samples and/or the context surrounding the personal information is particularly sensitive.

Level of risk to privacy – 3 & 4

3) Program or Activity Partners and Private Sector Involvement

With other institutions or a combination of federal, provincial, and/or municipal governments.

Level of risk to privacy – 3

4) Duration of the Program or Activity

Long-term program.

Level of risk to privacy – 3

5) Program Population

The program affects certain employees for internal administrative purposes.

The program affects certain individuals for external administrative purposes.

Level of risk to privacy – 1 & 3

6) Technology & Privacy

a) Does the new or modified program or activity involve the implementation of a new electronic system, software or application program including collaborative software (or groupware) that is implemented to support the program or activity in terms of the creation, collection or handling of personal information?

Risk to privacy –No

b) Is the new or modified program or activity a modification of an IT legacy systems and / or services?

Risk to privacy –Yes

c) Enhanced identification methods - This includes biometric technology (i.e. facial recognition, gait analysis, iris scan, fingerprint analysis, voice print, radio frequency identification (RFID), etc…) as well as easy pass technology, new identification cards including magnetic stripe cards, “smart cards” (i.e. identification cards that are embedded with either an antenna or a contact pad that is connected to a microprocessor and a memory chip or only a memory chip with non-programmable logic).

Risk to privacy –No

d) Use of Surveillance - This includes surveillance technologies such as audio/video recording devices, thermal imaging, recognition devices, RFID, surreptitious surveillance / interception, computer aided monitoring including audit trails, satellite surveillance etc.

Risk to privacy –No

e) Use of automated personal information analysis, personal information matching and knowledge discovery techniques - For the purposes of the Directive on PIA, government institutions are to identify those activities that involve the use of automated technology to analyze, create, compare, cull, identify or extract personal information elements. Such activities would include personal information matching, record linkage, personal information mining, personal information comparison, knowledge discovery, information filtering or analysis. Such activities involve some form of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning to uncover knowledge (intelligence), trends/patterns or to predict behavior.

Risk to privacy –No

7) Personal Information Transmission

The personal information is used within a closed system. (No connections to Internet, Intranet or any other system. Circulation of hardcopy documents is controlled.)

The personal information is used in a system that has connections to at least one other system. (The program or activity involves one or more connections to the Internet, Intranet or any other system. Circulation of hardcopy documents is not controlled.)

The personal information is transferred to a portable device or is printed. (USB key, diskette, laptop computer, any transfer of the personal information to a different medium.)

Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2 & 3

8) Risk Impact to the Institution

Organizational harm

Reputational harm, embarrassment, loss of credibility

Level of risk to privacy – 2 & 4

9) Risk Impact to the Individual or Employee

Inconvenience

Reputational harm, embarrassment

Physical harm

Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2 & 4

Date modified:

Projet de transfert de l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne

Institution fédérale

Anciens Combattants Canada

Fonctionnaire responsable de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Faith McIntyre

Directrice générale responsable du projet du transfert de l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne

Chef de l’institution fédérale ou son délégué pour l’application de l’article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Crystal Garrett-Baird

Directrice, Gestion de l’information et des renseignements personnels

Nom du programme ou de l'activité de l'institution fédérale

Projet de transfert de l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne

Description du programme ou de l’activité:

Après la Première Guerre mondiale, étant donné l’afflux de soldats de retour du front, le gouvernement du Canada exploitait ses propres hôpitaux en raison des besoins spéciaux des anciens combattants et de la capacité inégale des soins publics d’une province à l’autre. Depuis la construction de l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne en 1917, la raison d’être de l’Hôpital a été de servir les anciens combattants, de leur fournir des soins de la meilleure qualité possible et d’être un symbole du Souvenir pour la collectivité et l’ensemble du pays.

Dans les années 1960, lorsque la Loi canadienne sur la santé a été adoptée et le régime d’assurance-maladie a été mis en place, le gouvernement fédéral a commencé à céder aux provinces ses 18 hôpitaux pour anciens combattants, respectant ainsi les compétences provinciales pour ce qui est des soins de santé. L’Hôpital Sainte-Anne, le dernier hôpital pour anciens combattants de compétence fédérale a été officiellement cédé au gouvernement du Québec le 1er avril 2016 pour faire partie du Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux de l’Ouest-de-l’Île-de-Montréal (CIUSSS). L’entente de transfert de l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne était l’engagement officiel à l’égard des positions négociées qui ont fait l’objet d’un commun accord entre les deux paliers de gouvernement pour le transfert de l’Hôpital.

Grâce au transfert, les membres de la communauté locale pourront dorénavant bénéficier eux aussi de l’expertise distincte dans la prestation de soins de longue durée à l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne. Après le transfert, en plus des anciens combattants ayant servi en temps de guerre admissibles, tous les vétérans et les civils qui nécessitent des soins de longue durée pourraient être admis à l’Hôpital. Comme c’est le cas dans d’autres établissements de soins de longue durée au pays, Anciens Combattants Canada fournira un soutien financier et donnera la priorité d’accès aux anciens combattants ayant servi en temps de guerre admissibles aux lits qu’il retient par contrat à l’Hôpital. Les vétérans qui ne sont pas admissibles aux lits retenus par contrat, mais qui sont admissibles à des soins en raison d’une invalidité liée au service peuvent avoir accès aux lits communautaires provinciaux se trouvant à l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne. L’Hôpital Sainte-Anne fera l’objet de la même surveillance provinciale qui s’applique à d’autres établissements de soins de longue durée provinciaux du Québec et il sera assujetti au processus d’agrément reconnu par la province.

Description des catégories de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels associés au programme ou à l'activité:

Catégorie de document: Hôpital Sainte-Anne (ACC MAC 715)

Fichier de renseignement personnel: Hôpital Sainte-Anne (ACC PPU 280)

Autorisation légale relative au programme ou à l’activité d’ACC

Décret CP 2015-0432 (transfert de l’Hôpital Sainte-Anne)

Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants – articles 4 et 5

Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques – articles 11 à 13

Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (LPRP)

Autorisations légales relatives aux programmes ou aux activités du gouvernement du Québec:

Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux

Règlement sur l'organisation et l'administration des établissements (chapitre S-5, r.5)

Loi sur l'accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Projet de loi no 59

Détermination et catégorisation des facteurs de risque

La section qui suit porte sur les risques soulevés par l’EFVP relativement à un nouveau programme ou à un programme modifié. L’échelle de risques incluse consiste en une suite de nombres ascendants : le nombre 1 correspond au plus bas niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur, tandis que le nombre 4 correspond au plus haut niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur. Veuillez consulter l’annexe C de la Directive sur l'évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor pour en savoir davantage sur l’échelle de risques.

1) Type de programme ou d’activité

Administration de programmes/activités et de services

Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés pour prendre des décisions qui touchent directement la personne concernée (la détermination de l’admissibilité à certains programmes, y compris l’authentification en vue d’accorder l’accès aux programmes ou aux services, l’administration des paiements effectués en vertu d’un programme, l’administration des trop-perçus, le soutien à la clientèle ou la délivrance ou le refus de permis et de licences, le traitement des appels, etc.).

Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2

2) Type de renseignements personnels recueillis et contexte

Numéro d’assurance sociale, renseignements médicaux ou financiers ou autres renseignements personnels sensibles et/ou éléments contextuels sensibles liés aux renseignements personnels. Renseignements personnels sur des mineurs ou des personnes incapables, ou encore concernant une personne ayant qualité pour agir au nom de l’intéressé.

Renseignements personnels sensibles, y compris des profils détaillés, des allégations ou soupçons, des échantillons de substances corporelles et/ou éléments contextuels particulièrement sensibles liés aux renseignements personnels.

Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3 et 4

3) Participation des partenaires et du secteur privé au programme ou à l’activité

Avec une autre administration publique fédérale, provinciale ou municipale, ou une combinaison de celles-ci.

Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

4) Durée du programme ou de l'activité

Programme à long terme

Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

5) Population visée par le programme

Le programme touche certains employés à des fins administratives internes.

Le programme touche certains individus à des fins administratives externes.

Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1 et 3

6) Technologie et vie privée

a) L’activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) comporte-t-il la mise en œuvre d’un nouveau système électronique, logiciel ou programme d’application, y compris un collecticiel (ou logiciel de groupe) qui est mis en œuvre pour soutenir le programme ou l’activité quant à à la création, à la collecte ou à la manipulation de renseignements personnels?

Risque pour la vie privée – Non

b) L’activité ou le programme nouveau ou modifié exige-t-il une modification de systèmes ou services existants de TI?

Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

c) Méthodes d’identification améliorées – Cela comprend la technologie biométrique (comme la reconnaissance faciale, l’analyse de la démarche, le balayage de l’iris, l’analyse des empreintes digitales, l’empreinte vocale, l’identification par radiofréquence [IRF], etc.) ainsi que la technologie des laissez-passer facilités (Easy pass), les nouvelles cartes d’identification comportant des bandes magnétiques, comme les « cartes intelligentes » (c. à d. des cartes d’identité sur lesquelles est gravée soit une antenne soit une plage de contact connectée à un microprocesseur et une puce mémoire ou uniquement à une puce mémoire avec matrice logique non programmable).

Risque pour la vie privée – Non

d) Recours à la surveillance – Cela comprend les technologies de surveillance tels que les appareils d’enregistrement audio/vidéo, l’imagerie thermique, les appareils de reconnaissance, l’IRF, la surveillance/l’interception clandestine, le contrôle assisté par ordinateur, y compris les pistes de vérification, la surveillance par satellite, etc.

Risque pour la vie privée – Non

e) Utilisation de l’analyse automatisée des renseignements personnels, du couplage de renseignements personnels et des techniques de découverte de connaissances – Aux fins de la directive sur l’EFVP, les institutions fédérales doivent préciser quelles activités comportent le recours à des technologies d’analyse, de création, de comparaison, de tri, d’identification ou d’extraction automatiques d’éléments de renseignements personnels. Ces activités comprendraient le couplage (ou appariement) de renseignements personnels, le couplage de dossiers, l’exploration de renseignements personnels, la comparaison de renseignements personnels, la découverte de connaissances et le filtrage ou l’analyse d’informations. De telles activités comportent une forme ou une autre d’intelligence artificielle et/ou d’apprentissage machine pour découvrir des connaissances (renseignements), des tendances ou des modèles, ou encore pour prédire des comportements.

Risque pour la vie privée – Non

7) Transmission des renseignements personnels

Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés dans un système fermé. (Aucune connexion à Internet, à l’intranet ou à tout autre système. La circulation des documents sur support papier est contrôlée.)

Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés dans un système qui comporte des connexions à au moins un autre système. (Le programme ou l'activité compte au moins une connexion à Internet, à l'intranet ou à un autre système. La circulation des documents sur support papier n’est pas contrôlée.)

Les renseignements personnels sont transférés à un appareil portable ou sont imprimés.

(Clé USB, disquette, ordinateur portatif, tout transfert des renseignements personnels à un différent médium.)

Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 2 et 3

8) Incidences des risques pour l’institution

Répercussions négatives au niveau organisationnel

Atteinte à la réputation, embarras, perte de crédibilité

Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2 et 4

9) Incidences des risques pour l’individu ou l’employé

Inconvénient

Atteinte à la réputation, embarras

Préjudice physique

Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 2 et 4

Date de modification :