My VAC Account

Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) Addendum Summary (2017)

Government Institution

Veteran Affairs Canada

Government Official Responsible for the Privacy Impact Assessment

Kim Andrews
A/Director General, Program Management and Service Delivery

Head of the government institution / Delegate for section 10 of the Privacy Act

Crystal Garrett-Baird
Director, Privacy and Information Management

Name of Program or Activity of the Government Institution

My VAC Account – Interoperability for Benefit Applications

Description of Program or Activity:

The initial 2011 Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) documented the risks and mitigation measures of implementing the My VAC Account (MVA). In 2013, the PIA was updated to assess the privacy impacts of the evolution of the portal.

Recently enhanced MVA functionality now allows for an electronic exchange of information between VAC and the Department of National Defense (DND). The electronic extraction of specified DND data elements will provide VAC with up-to-date, real-time service history and personal information about still-serving and recently released CAF members that is needed for the adjudication of benefits and services at VAC. The collection of service history and personal information from DND by VAC is not new but the electronic exchange of information between DND and VAC is a more efficient means of collecting only specific required data elements.

The focus of the 2017 PIA addendum is the automated exchange of information between VAC and the Department of National Defense (DND) through the MVA portal. The exchange is designed to enable two things:

  • Data Matching

    An identity authentication process will confirm the service information of Veterans and still-serving members of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) who are applying for VAC benefits and services. This will be achieved through a data linkage and will verify a serving member’s or recently released Veteran’s service with the CAF.

  • Data Extraction for Benefit Claims

    Electronic extraction of specified data elements (e.g. release date, release type, etc.) from DND will support a streamlined application process for members and Veterans who apply for VAC benefits and services.

    Risks identified though the Addendum have either been mitigated or addressed through mitigation plans.

Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) Summary (2013)

Government Institution

Veteran Affairs Canada

Government Official Responsible for the Privacy Impact Assessment

John Walker
Director General
Service Delivery and Program Management Division

Head of the government institution / Delegate for section 10 of the Privacy Act

Shawn MacDougall
Director
ATIP Coordinator

Name of Program or Activity of the Government Institution

My VAC Account

Description of Program or Activity:

In 2011, as a commitment to client service, VAC introduced an online portal available to VAC Veterans. This portal, entitled, My VAC Account enabled individuals to view and update basic personal information (such as name and address), communicate with the department via secure messaging, complete certain applications online, access the status of some of their services and change their direct deposit information. This was only one additional point of access as individuals could still request information and make changes to their information in person or by calling the National Call Centre Network (NCCN).

In 2011, a Privacy Impact Assessment was completed that documented risks and mitigation measures. Since that point, there have been changes to My VAC Account and an updated PIA is required in order to ensure the risks identified in 2011 have been addressed, document the evolution of the portal and identify any risks that may have arisen due to the modifications.

In addition, this PIA will document the relationship and use of the My VAC Account technology by the Veterans Review and Appeal Board (VRAB) and representatives from the Royal Canadian Legion (RCL).

By December 31, 2015 VAC officials are anticipating that there will be 18,000 individuals accessing their information through their My VAC Account.

Description of the class of records and Personal Information Banks associated with the program or activity

Class of Records and Personal Information banks can be reviewed at: VAC's Info Source Chapter

Legal Authority for Program or Activity

It is important to note that My VAC Account is linked to multiple programs/services within VAC, each of which operates under their own legal authorities.

The legal authority derives from the Department of Veterans Affairs Act and from Section 4 of the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada.

Risk Area Identification & Categorization

The following section contains risks identified in the 2013 PIA. A risk scale has been included. The numbered risk scale is presented in ascending order: the first level represents the lowest level of potential risk for the risk area; the fourth level (4) represents the highest level of potential risk for the given risk area. Please refer to “Appendix C” of the TBS Directive on PIAs to learn more about the risk scale.

Where risks associated with the enhancements assessed in the 2017 addendum differ from the 2013 PIA, this difference is noted.

  1. Type of Program or Activity
    • Administration of Programs / Activity and Services - Personal information is used to make decisions that directly affect the individual (i.e. determining eligibility for programs including authentication for accessing programs/services, administering program payments, overpayments, or support to clients, issuing or denial of permits/licenses, processing appeals, etc.).
    • Level of risk to privacy – 2

  2. Type of Personal Information Involved and Context
    • Sensitive personal information, including detailed profiles, allegations or suspicions, bodily samples and/or the context surrounding the personal information is particularly sensitive. For example: the personal information by association indirectly reveals intimate details on the health, financial situation, religious or lifestyle choices of the individual and other individuals, such as relatives.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 41

  3. Program or Activity Partners and Private Sector Involvement
    • Private sector organizations or international organizations or foreign governments
    • Level of risk to privacy – 12

  4. Duration of the Program or Activity
    • Long-term program - Existing program that has been modified or is established with no clear “sunset”.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 3

  5. Program Population
    • The program affects certain individuals for external administrative purposes.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 3

  6. Technology & Privacy
    1. Does the new or modified program or activity involve the implementation of a new electronic system, software or application program including collaborative software (or groupware) that is implemented to support the program or activity in terms of the creation, collection or handling of personal information?

      Risk to privacy – No

    2. Does the new or modified program or activity require any modifications to IT legacy systems and / or services?

      Risk to privacy – Yes

    3. Enhanced identification methods - This includes biometric technology (i.e. facial recognition, gait analysis, iris scan, fingerprint analysis, voice print, radio frequency identification (RFID), etc…) as well as easy pass technology, new identification cards including magnetic stripe cards, “smart cards” (i.e. identification cards that are embedded with either an antenna or a contact pad that is connected to a microprocessor and a memory chip or only a memory chip with non-programmable logic).

      Risk to privacy – No

    4. Use of Surveillance - This includes surveillance technologies such as audio/video recording devices, thermal imaging, recognition devices, RFID, surreptitious surveillance / interception, computer aided monitoring including audit trails, satellite surveillance etc.

      Risk to privacy – No

    5. Use of automated personal information analysis, personal information matching and knowledge discovery techniques - For the purposes of the Directive on PIA, government institution are to identify those activities that involve the use of automated technology to analyze, create, compare, cull, identify or extract personal information elements. Such activities would include personal information matching, record linkage, personal information mining, personal information comparison, knowledge discovery, information filtering or analysis. Such activities involve some form of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning to uncover knowledge (intelligence), trends/patterns or to predict behavior.

      Risk to privacy – No3

  7. Personal Information Transmission
    • The personal information is used in system that has connections to at least one other system.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 24

  8. Risk Impact to the Institution
    • Reputation harm, embarrassment, loss of credibility. Decrease confidence by the public, elected officials under the spotlight, institution strategic outcome compromised, government priority compromised, impact on the Government of Canada Outcome areas.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 4

  9. Risk Impact to the Individual or Employee
    • Reputations harm, embarrassment
    • Level of risk to privacy – 25

Date modified:

Mon dossier ACC

Sommaire de l’addenda à l’Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFRVP) de 2017

Institution fédérale

Anciens Combattants Canada

Fonctionnaire responsable de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Kim Andrews
Directrice générale p.i., Gestion des programmes et de la prestation des services

Responsable de l’institution fédérale ou son délégué pour l’article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Crystal Garrett-Baird
Directrice, Protection des renseignements personnels et gestion de l’information

Nom du programme ou de l’activité de l’institution fédérale

Mon dossier ACC – Interopérabilité pour les demandes de prestations

Description du programme ou de l’activité

Une première évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) réalisée en 2011 a permis de documenter les risques et les mesures d’atténuation liés à la mise en œuvre de Mon dossier ACC. En 2013, l’EFVP a été mise à jour pour documenter l’évolution du portail.

Les récentes améliorations fonctionnelles qui ont été apportées à Mon dossier ACC permettent maintenant l’échange électronique des renseignements entre Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) et le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN). Grâce à l’extraction électronique d’éléments précis du MDN, ACC pourra obtenir en temps réel des renseignements à jour sur les membres encore en service et les vétérans récemment libérés des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), notamment en ce qui concerne leurs renseignements personnels et les antécédents de leur service, soit l’information nécessaire pour rendre des décisions relatives aux avantages et aux services. La collecte de données sur les antécédents du service et les renseignements personnels auprès du MDN se faisait déjà, mais l’échange électronique de l’information entre les deux ministères est un moyen plus efficace pour recueillir uniquement les éléments d’information requis.

L’addenda à l’EFRVP de 2017 porte sur l’échange automatisé de l’information entre ACC et le MDN par le biais du portail Mon dossier ACC. Cet échange d’information vise deux objectifs :

  • Le couplage des données

    Un processus de validation de l’identité confirmera l’information sur le service des vétérans et des membres encore en service des FAC qui présentent une demande d’avantages et de services d’ACC. Ce processus sera effectué à l’aide du couplage de données pour vérifier le service des membres encore en service et des vétérans récemment libérés des FAC.

  • L’Extraction des données pour les demandes de prestations

    L’extraction électronique d’éléments précis d’information (p. ex. date de libération, type de libération, etc.) du MDN favorisera un processus de demande simplifié pour les membres et les vétérans qui présentent une demande d’avantages et de services d’ACC.

    Les risques cernés dans l’addenda ont été atténués ou éliminés au moyen de plans d’atténuation.

Sommaire de l’Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFRVP) 2013

Institution fédérale

Anciens Combattants Canada

Fonctionnaire responsable de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

John Walker
Directeur général
Direction générale de la gestion des programmes et de la prestation des services

Responsable de l’institution fédérale ou son délégué pour l’article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Shawn MacDougall
Directeur, Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP)
Coordonnateur de l’AIPRP

Nom du programme ou de l’activité de l’institution fédérale

Mon dossier ACC

Description du programme ou de l’activité

En 2011, dans le cadre de son engagement à l’égard du service à la clientèle, ACC a mis en place un portail en ligne offert aux clients anciens combattants. Ce portail, intitulé « MON DOSSIER ACC », permet aux individus de consulter et mettre à jour des renseignements personnels de base (comme un nom ou une adresse); de communiquer avec le Ministère par messagerie sécurisée; de remplir certaines demandes en ligne; de suivre l’état de certains des services offerts; de modifier leur adresse et les détails de leur dépôt direct; et de changer leurs renseignements ayant trait au dépôt direct. Ce portail n’est qu’un point d’accès additionnel, puisque les clients peuvent toujours demander des renseignements et apporter des changements à leurs renseignements soit en personne ou par téléphone, en appelant le Réseau national des centres d’appels (RNCA).

Une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) qui a été réalisée en 2011 a permis de documenter les risques et les mesures d’atténuation. Depuis, des changements ont été apportés à « Mon dossier ACC », et une mise à jour de l’EFVP est nécessaire pour s’assurer que les risques cernés en 2011 ont été réglés, pour documenter l’évolution du portail, et pour déterminer si d’autres risques sont survenus à la suite de ces changements.

Cette EFVP permettra en outre de documenter la relation avec la technologie (Mon dossier ACC) et l’utilisation de cette dernière par le Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel) et des représentants de la Légion royale canadienne (LRC).

Les fonctionnaires d’ACC prévoient que, d’ici le 31 décembre 2015, quelque 18 000 personnes accéderont à leurs renseignements par l’entremise du portail « MON DOSSIER ACC ».

Description des catégories de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels associées au programme ou à l’activité

Les catégories de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels peuvent être examinés à l’adresse : Chapitre Info Source d’ACC

Autorisation légale relative au programme ou à l’activité

Il est important de souligner que Mon dossier ACC est lié à plusieurs programmes et services au sein d’ACC, chacun d’entre eux étant régi conformément à ses propres autorisations légales.

Ces autorisations légales sont issues de la Loi sur le ministère des Anciens Combattants et de la section 4 de la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada.

Identification et catégorisation des secteurs de risques

La section qui suit porte sur les risques soulevés par l’EFVP relativement à un nouveau programme ou à un programme modifié. Une échelle de risque est incluse. L’échelle de risque chiffrée est présentée en ordre croissant : le premier niveau représente le niveau de risque le plus bas pour le secteur; le quatrième niveau représente le niveau de risque le plus élevé pour le secteur. Veuillez consulter l’annexe C de la Directive sur l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée du SCT pour en savoir davantage sur l’échelle de risque.

Where risks associated with the enhancements assessed in the 2017 addendum differ from the 2013 PIA, this difference is noted.

  1. Type de programme ou d’activité
    • Administration de programmes/activités et de services – Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés pour prendre des décisions qui touchent directement l’intéressé (p. ex., déterminer l’admissibilité à des programmes, y compris procéder à l’authentification pour permettre l’accès à des programmes ou services, administrer les paiements de programme, les trop-payés ou le soutien à la clientèle, délivrer ou refuser des permis ou des licences, traiter des appels, etc.).
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2

  2. Type de renseignements personnels recueillis et contexte
    • Renseignements personnels sensibles, y compris des profils détaillés, des allégations ou soupçons, des échantillons de substances corporelles et/ou éléments contextuels particulièrement sensibles entourant les renseignements personnels. Par exemple, le cas où les renseignements personnels révèlent directement par association des détails intimes sur la santé, la situation financière, la religion ou le mode de vie de la personne visée et d’autres personnes, comme les proches.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 41

  3. Participation des partenaires et du secteur privé au programme ou à l’activité
    • Organisations du secteur privé, organisations internationales ou gouvernements étrangers.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 12

  4. Durée du programme ou de l’activité
    • Programme à long terme – Programme établi qui a été modifié ou qui est établi sans date de péremption claire.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  5. Personnes concernées par le programme
    • Le programme touche certains individus à des fins administratives externes.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  6. Technologie et vie privée
    1. L’activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) comporte-t-il l’implantation d’un nouveau système électronique, logiciel ou programme d’application, y compris un collecticiel (ou logiciel de groupe) qui est implanté pour soutenir le programme ou l’activité eu égard à la création, la collecte ou la manipulation de renseignements personnels?

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non

    2. L’activité ou le programme nouveau ou modifié exige-t-il une modification de systèmes ou services existants de TI?

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

    3. Méthodes d’identification améliorées – Cela comprend la technologie biométrique (comme la reconnaissance faciale, l’analyse de la démarche, la lecture ou le balayage de l’iris, l’analyse des empreintes digitales, la signature ou empreinte vocale, l’identification par radiofréquence (IRF) etc.) ainsi que la technologie d’accès rapide (easy pass), les nouvelles cartes d’identité, y compris les cartes à bande magnétique et les « cartes intelligentes » (c. à d. les cartes d’identité qui sont imbriquées soit dans une antenne, soit dans un écran tactile connecté à un microprocesseur et à une puce mémoire ou seulement à une puce mémoire sans logique programmable).

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non

    4. Recours à la surveillance – Cela comprend les technologies de surveillance tels que les appareils d’enregistrement audio/vidéo, l’imagerie thermique, les appareils de reconnaissance, l’IRF, la surveillance/interception clandestine, le contrôle assisté par ordinateur, y compris les pistes de vérification, la surveillance par satellite, etc.

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non

    5. Utilisation de l’analyse automatisée des renseignements personnels, du couplage de renseignements personnels et des techniques de découverte/acquisition de connaissances – Aux fins de la directive sur l’EFVP, les institutions fédérales doivent préciser quelles activités comportent le recours à des technologies d’analyse, de création, de comparaison, de tri, d’identification ou d’extraction automatiques, d’éléments de renseignements personnels. Ces activités comprendraient le couplage (ou appariement) de renseignements personnels, le couplage de dossiers, l’exploration de renseignements personnels, la comparaison de renseignements personnels, la découverte de connaissances et le filtrage ou l’analyse d’informations. De telles activités comportent une forme ou une autre d’intelligence artificielle et/ou d’apprentissage machine pour découvrir des connaissances (renseignements), des tendances ou des modèles, ou encore pour prédire des comportements.

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non3

  7. 7) Transmission des renseignements personnels
    • Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés dans un système qui comporte des connexions à au moins un autre système.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 24

  8. 8) Incidences des risques pour l’institution
    • Atteinte à la réputation, embarras, perte de crédibilité. Diminution de la confiance du public, élus placés sous les projecteurs, résultats stratégiques de l’institution compromis, priorité gouvernementale compromise, répercussions sur les secteurs de résultats du gouvernement du Canada.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 4

  9. 9) Incidences des risques pour l’individu ou l’employé
    • Atteinte à la réputation, embarras.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 25

Date de modification :