Government On-Line Benefits and Health Services On-Line - Nursing Component

About Government On-Line (GOL)

An initiative of the Government of Canada, the goal of the GOL initiative is to use information and communication technology to provide Canadians with increased access to citizen-centred, integrated services – anytime, anywhere – in the language of their choice. This initiative allows Canadians and organizations to access general information about Government of Canada programs and services, to apply for services on-line, and, in some cases, allows individuals to access personal information about themselves collected and used by various government institutions.

This Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) describes the Benefits and Health Services On-Line (B&HSOL) system and demonstrates the considerations and steps taken to protect the client's personal information when it is being transferred electronically.

About the B&HSOL system

Veterans Affairs (VA) has developed a system for on-line submissions of electronic health assessment forms using the B&HSOL system. The B&HSOL system will allow VA District Office Nurses (DON) to select specific forms for clients and forward them to a contracted health professional for completion. The System will allow VA's contracted health professionals to digitally receive, sign and submit standard nursing assessment reports (or forms) on-line once the health professional has registered for a Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate and enrolled in the B&HSOL system.

Once the appropriate DON closes a form, it will be available for viewing only through the Client Inquiry functionality in B&HSOL and the Client Service Delivery Network (CSDN), an integrated system that supports the delivery of benefits and services associated with the Disability Pension, Economic Support and Health Care programs of the Department. Only VA employees will have access to view completed client assessment forms; contracted health professionals will not have access to the Client Inquiry functionality. A VA employee's access to view completed forms will be based on restricted system access profile grids for B&HSOL and CSDN. Clients will not have on-line access to their completed forms, but this information will be accessible to clients through a formal request under the Privacy Act.

To support the on-line system, VA will subscribe to the service provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada's (PWGSC) Secure Applications and Key Management Service (SAKMS) to enable electronic program delivery via the Internet in a secure environment This information is protected by Secure Socket Layers (SSL), Entrust TruePass technology and based on guidelines from the Communications Security Establishment (CSE). VA will use major elements of Secure Channel's service capabilities to support communication and interaction between VA and its contracted health professionals including SCNet -- a government-wide telecommunications network for connecting departmental systems.

About the PIA

Veterans Affairs is committed to protecting the personal information of its clients and has taken measures to ensure that this system conforms to the principles of the Privacy Act and Regulations and the Treasury Board policy on Privacy and Data Protection that govern the collection, use, correction, protection, retention and disposal of personal information.

The Outstanding Issues portion of this PIA identifies two privacy-related issues. Both issues relate to processes within VA and are considered to be low risk.

  • Control and Custody of Records: Third-party health professionals need to be made aware that their obligations with respect to record retention and client information, currently written into standard contracts, carry over into the electronic domain. A formal notification process for third-party users will mitigate this risk.
  • Electronic Document Management: As VA does not currently have an electronic document management system, all forms will have to be printed and sent to VA's Records section. This issue will continue to be explored by the Strategic Information Management Group as it has been addressed in the recent Information Management Capacity Check (IMCC).
Date modified:

Gouvernement en direct - Prestations et services de santé en direct – Composante de soins infirmiers

Le projet Gouvernement en direct (GeD)

Dans le cadre de l’initiative Gouvernement en direct (GeD), le Gouvernement du Canada veut tirer parti des technologies de l’information et des communications pour fournir aux citoyens un meilleur accès à des services intégrés personnalisés, partout et en tout temps, dans la langue officielle de leur choix. Cette initiative permet aux particuliers et aux organisations du pays de consulter de l’information générale sur les programmes et les services du Gouvernement du Canada et de présenter des demandes de services par voie électronique; dans certains cas, elle donne aussi aux particuliers accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant recueillis et utilisés par divers organismes gouvernementaux.

La présente Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (ÉFVP) décrit le système de Prestations et services de santé en direct (PSSD) et explique les considérations et les étapes envisagées pour protéger les renseignements personnels des clients quand ils sont transmis par voie électronique.

À propos du système de PSSD

En tirant parti du système PSSD, Anciens combattants Canada (ACC) a élaboré un système de transmission par voie électronique des formulaires d’évaluation de la santé; ainsi, les infirmières du bureau de district (IBD) seront en mesure de choisir pour leurs clients des formulaires particuliers et de les envoyer à un professionnel de la santé sous contrat avec le Ministère pour qu’il le remplisse. Une fois qu’ils auront obtenu un certificat de l’Infrastructure à clé publique (ICP) et seront inscrits au système de PSSD, ces professionnels pourront recevoir, signer et soumettre par voie électronique les rapports d’évaluation infirmière standards (ou les formulaires).

Quand l’IBD touchée aura fermé un formulaire, ce dernier ne pourra être consulté que par l’entremise de la fonctionnalité Demande de renseignements sur les clients de PSSD et du Réseau de prestation des services aux clients (RPSC), un système intégré qui appuie la livraison d’avantages et de services liés aux programmes ministériels de Pensions d’invalidité, de Soutien économique et de Soins de santé. Seuls les employés d’ACC pourront consulter les formulaires d’évaluation des clients; les professionnels de la santé contractuels n’auront pas accès à la fonctionnalité de Demande de renseignements sur les clients. La capacité pour un employé d’ACC de consulter les formulaires remplis sera déterminée au moyen de grilles de profil d’accès restreint au système pour PSSD et le RPSC. Les clients eux-mêmes ne pourront pas consulter en direct leurs formulaires complétés, mais pourront y avoir accès en présentant une demande officielle en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Pour soutenir le système en direct, Anciens combattants Canada s’inscrira au Service d'applications protégées et de gestion de clés (SAPGC) de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC), qui veillera à ce que le programme soit dispensé par Internet dans un environnement sécurisé. Les renseignements transmis sont protégés par un protocole de sécurisation et par la technologie TruePass d’ENTRUST, conformément aux lignes directrices du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications. ACC se servira des principales fonctionnalités de service de la Voie de communication protégée pour gérer ses communications et ses rapports avec les professionnels de la santé contractuels, y compris de SCNet, un réseau de télécommunications national qui relie entre eux les systèmes ministériels.

À propos de l’ÉFVP

Anciens combattants Canada est résolu à protéger les renseignements personnels sur ses clients et a adopté des mesures pour veiller à ce que le système PSSD respecte les principes de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de ses règlements, ainsi que la politique du Conseil du Trésor en matière de Confidentialité et de Protection des données qui gouverne la collecte, l’utilisation, la correction, la protection, la conservation et l’élimination des renseignements personnels.

La portion Points laissés en suspens de la présente ÉFVP cerne deux questions liées à la confidentialité; dans les deux cas, il s’agit de processus internes à ACC, qui sont considérés à faible risque :

  • Contrôle et garde des dossiers : Il y a lieu d’informer les professionnels de la santé contractuels que leurs obligations en matière de conservation des dossiers et de renseignements sur les clients, telles que décrites dans les contrats standards, s’appliquent également au domaine électronique. L’envoi d’avis officiels aux utilisateurs externes contribuera à atténuer ce risque.
  • Gestion électronique des documents : Étant donné qu’ACC n’a pas encore de système de gestion électronique des documents, tous les formulaires devront être imprimés et envoyés à la section des Dossiers d’ACC. Cette question demeurera à l’ordre du jour du Groupe de la gestion stratégique de l’information, car il en a été question dans la récente Évaluation des capacités de la gestion de l’information (ECGI).
Date de modification :