Financial Benefits Program

Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) Summary

Government Institution

Veteran Affairs Canada

Government Official Responsible for the Privacy Impact Assessment

Mary Nicholson
Director, Health Care, Rehabilitation and Income Support Programs

Head of the government institution / Delegate for section 10 of the Privacy Act

Crystal Garrett-Baird
Director, Privacy and Information Management

Name of Program or Activity of the Government Institution

Financial Benefits Program

Description of Program or Activity:

The Financial Benefits Program (FBP) was designed to recognize and compensate for the economic impact that a career-ending or service-related disability may have on a Veteran’s ability to earn an income following release from the Canadian Armed Forces. The FBP Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) which was initially completed in 2007 was updated in November of 2014. The updated PIA examined Veterans Affairs Canada’s (VAC’s) delivery of the four specific programs delivered under the umbrella of the Financial Benefits Program: Earnings Loss Benefit (ELB), Canadian Forces Income Support (CFIS), Career Impact Allowance (CIA) and accompanying CIA Supplement (CIAS), and Supplementary Retirement Benefit (SRB). Addendums to the FBP PIA were completed in 2015 to assess the changes to the Earnings Loss Benefits (ELB) provided to part-time Reserve Force Veterans and to assess the Retirement Income Security Benefit (RISB), a new financial benefit which came into effect on July 1, 2015.

An additional addendum was completed in March 2017 following amendments to the program as a result of the Budget Implementation Act, 2016 (BIA 2016). These amendments included the following which came into effect October 1, 2016 and April 1, 2017 respectively:

  • Changes to the Earnings Loss Benefit (ELB), including increasing the monthly Earnings Loss Benefit from 75% to 90% of the recipient’s gross pre-release military salary, setting the minimum pre-release salary to provide income support of at least $44,496.00 per year, and adjusting the calculation amount annually so that the Earnings Loss Benefit will keep pace with inflation.
  • Changes to the CIA program, including renaming the benefit to “Career Impact Allowance (CIA)” to better reflect the intent of the program and the introduction of a new assessment to be completed in some cases to determine career impact.

Earnings Loss Benefit (ELB)

A monthly income replacement program that ensures the income of eligible participants does not fall below 90% of their gross pre-release military salary (as determined by VAC), or 90% of the salary of a senior Private, whichever is higher. This benefit is taxable and is payable while an individual is taking part in the rehabilitation or vocational assistance program, or to the age of 65 if the recipient is unable to engage in suitable, gainful employment. This benefit is also available to eligible survivors and dependent children of deceased Veterans.

Canadian Forces Income Support (CFIS)

A tax-free benefit payable to eligible participants that have completed the Rehabilitation Program and are able to work but have not been able to find a job or have a low-paying job. Applicants may qualify for CFIS if they are a CAF Veteran who no longer qualifies for Earnings Loss Benefits; need financial help because the household income is not enough to meet basic needs; are looking for a suitable job but have not been able to find one; and live in Canada. This benefit is also available to eligible survivors and dependent children of deceased Veterans.

Career Impact Allowance and Supplement

A monthly taxable allowance payable to eligible applicants whose future economic earning potential has been negatively impacted due to a permanent and severe impairment.

Individuals may qualify for a Career Impact Allowance if they are a CAF Veteran who has a physical and/or mental impairment that is severe and permanent; have a rehabilitation plan that has been approved by VAC for this impairment; and received a disability award or a disability pension related to this impairment.

An additional monthly taxable benefit (indexed annually) is payable if an applicant is in receipt of a Career Impact Allowance and is not capable of suitable, gainful employment due to their permanent physical or mental health problem.

Supplementary Retirement Benefit (SRB)

A payment designed to compensate for the lower pension contributions made because applicants are unable to work as a result of being totally and permanently incapacitated. This is a one-time, taxable cash award. Applicants may qualify for a Supplementary Retirement Benefit if they are a CAF Veteran who is totally and permanently incapacitated and no longer qualify for Earnings Loss Benefits. This benefit is also available to eligible survivors of deceased Veterans.

Retirement Income Security Benefit (RISB)

The RISB is a monthly, taxable benefit that works with VAC’s existing services and benefits to establish a continuum of support that spans an eligible Veteran’s or survivor’s entire life. Beginning at age 65, RISB provides eligible Veterans with an income support level equivalent to at least 70% of their pre-age 65 income level from VAC Financial Benefits. Eligible survivors are provided with income support that assures their income does not fall below 50% of the income threshold for which the deceased Veteran was approved.

Description of the class of record and the Personal Information Bank

Class of Record: Financial Benefits (VAC MVA 845)
Personal Information Banks:
Earnings Loss (VAC PPU 607)
Canadian Forces Income Support (VAC PPU 608)
Career Impact Allowance and Supplement (VAC PPU 610)
Supplementary Retirement Benefit (VAC PPU 609)
Retirement Income Security Benefit (VAC PPU 701)
This information can be reviewed at: VAC’s Info Source Chapter

Legal Authority for Program or Activity

The Canadian Forces Members and Veterans Re-establishment and Compensation Act (CFMVRCA) and related Regulations are the program’s authority to collect and use personal information to administer the program. The Budget Implementation Act (BIA) is the authority for the one-time compensation payment for Disability Pension offset for ELB and CFIS.

Financial Benefit Program Section(s) of CFMVRC Act Establishing Authority for Program Section(s) of CFMVRC Act and Regulations Related to the Collection of Personal Information Section(s) of CFMVRC Act and Regulations Related to the Use of Personal Information Section(s) of CFMVRC Act Related to Disclosure of Personal Information
Earnings Loss Sections 18-24 of the Act
18(1) Veteran
22(1) Survivor/Orphan
Sections 76(1), 80 and 82 of the Act and section 17 of the Regulations Sections 18-24 of the Act and sections 17-27 of the Regulations Sections 81 and 82 of the Act
Supplementary Retirement Benefit Sections 25-26 of the Act Sections 76(1) and 80 of the Act and section 28 of the Regulations Sections 25-26 of the Act and sections 28-29 of the Regulations Sections 81 and 82 of the Act
Canadian Forces Income Support Supplement Sections 27-37 of the Act Sections 76(1), 80 and 82 of the Act and section 30 of the Regulations Sections 27-37 of the Act and sections 30-39 of the Regulations Sections 81 and 82 of the Act
Permanent Impairment Allowance/Supplement Sections 38-40 of the Act 38(3) Supplement Sections 76(1) and 80 of the Act and section 40 of the Regulations Sections 38-40 of the Act and sections 40-46 of the Regulations Sections 81 and 82 of the Act
Retirement Income Security Benefit Sections 40.1-40.5 of the Act. Sections 40.5, 76, 80 and 82(a) of the Act Sections 40.1-40.6 and 76(2) of the Act Sections 81 and 82(b) of the Act.
Legal Authority for Program or Activity
One-Time Compensation Payment Section(s) of Budget Implementation Act Establishing Authority for Program
Earnings Loss Benefit Section 6 of the Act
Canadian Forces Income Support Section 6 of the Act

Risk Area Identification & Categorization

The following section contains risks identified in the PIA for the new or modified program. A risk scale has been included. The numbered risk scale is presented in ascending order: the first level (1) represents the lowest level of potential risk for the risk area; the fourth level (4) represents the highest level of potential risk for the given risk area. Please refer to “Appendix C” of the TBS Directive on PIAs to learn more about the risk scale.

  1. Type of Program or Activity
    • Administration of Programs / Activity and Services.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 2

  2. Type of Personal Information Involved and Context
    • Social Insurance Number, medical, financial or other sensitive personal information and/or the context surrounding the personal information is sensitive. Personal information of minors or incompetent individuals or involving a representative acting on behalf of the individual.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 3

  3. Program or Activity Partners and Private Sector Involvement
    • Within the institution (amongst one or more programs within the same institution)
    • With other federal institutions
    • Level of risk to privacy – 1 and 2

  4. Duration of the Program or Activity
    • Long-term program
    • Level of risk to privacy – 3

  5. Program Population
    • The program affects certain individuals for external administrative purposes.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 3

  6. Technology & Privacy
    1. Does the new or modified program or activity involve the implementation of a new electronic system, software or application program including collaborative software (or groupware) that is implemented to support the program or activity in terms of the creation, collection or handling of personal information?

      Risk to privacy – Yes

    2. Does the new or modified program or activity require any modifications to IT legacy systems and/or services?

      Risk to privacy – Yes

    3. Enhanced identification methods - This includes biometric technology [i.e., facial recognition, gait analysis, iris scan, fingerprint analysis, voice print, radio frequency identification (RFID), etc.] as well as easy pass technology, new identification cards including magnetic stripe cards, “smart cards” (i.e., identification cards that are embedded with either an antenna or a contact pad that is connected to a microprocessor and a memory chip or only a memory chip with non-programmable logic).

      Risk to privacy – No

    4. Use of Surveillance - This includes surveillance technologies such as audio/video recording devices, thermal imaging, recognition devices, RFID, surreptitious surveillance/interception, computer aided monitoring including audit trails, satellite surveillance, etc.

      Risk to privacy – No

    5. Use of automated personal information analysis, personal information matching and knowledge discovery techniques - For the purposes of the Directive on PIA, government institutions are to identify those activities that involve the use of automated technology to analyze, create, compare, cull, identify or extract personal information elements. Such activities would include personal information matching, record linkage, personal information mining, personal information comparison, knowledge discovery, information filtering or analysis. Such activities involve some form of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning to uncover knowledge (intelligence), trends/patterns or to predict behavior.

      Risk to privacy – Yes

  7. Personal Information Transmission
    • The personal information is used within a closed system.
    • The personal information is used in a system that has connections to at least one other system.
    • The personal information is transferred to a portable device or is printed.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2 and 3

  8. Risk Impact to the Institution
    • Managerial harm; financial harm; and reputational harm, embarrassment, loss of credibility.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 1, 3 and 4

  9. Risk Impact to the Individual or Employee
    • Inconvenience; reputational harm, embarrassment; and financial harm.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 1, 2 and 3

Date modified:

Programme d’avantages financiers

Sommaire de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFRVP)

Institution fédérale

Anciens Combattants Canada

Fonctionnaire responsable de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Mary Nicholson
Directrice, Programmes de soins de santé et de réadaptation

Chef de l’institution fédérale ou délégué pour l’article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Crystal Garrett-Baird
Directrice, Protection des renseignements personnels et gestion de l’information

Nom du programme ou de l’activité de l’institution fédérale

Programme d’avantages financiers

Description du programme ou de l’activité

Le Programme d’avantages financiers vise à reconnaître et à indemniser les répercussions économiques d’une invalidité liée au service ou qui met fin à la carrière sur la capacité d’un vétéran à gagner un revenu après sa libération des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC). L’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) du Programme d’avantages financiers, qui a initialement été réalisée en 2007, a été mise à jour en novembre 2014. La nouvelle version de l’EFVP portait sur l’exécution, par Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC), des quatre programmes offerts dans le cadre du Programme d’avantages financiers, notamment l’allocation pour perte de revenus (APR), l’allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes (ASRFC), l’allocation pour incidence sur la carrière (AIC) et le supplément à l’AIC (SAIC), et la prestation de retraite supplémentaire (PRS). En 2015, des addendas ont été intégrés à l’EFVP du Programme d’avantages financiers afin d’évaluer les changements apportés à l’APR offerte aux vétérans qui étaient membres de la Force de réserve à temps partiel, ainsi que la nouvelle allocation de sécurité du revenu de retraite (ASRR), entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2015.

Un autre addenda a été intégré à l’EFVP en mars 2017 à la suite des modifications apportées au programme dans le cadre de la Loi d’exécution du budget de 2016 (LEB 2016). Parmi ces modifications figuraient celles qui portaient sur les deux allocations suivantes :

  • Allocation pour perte de revenus (APR) : augmentation de l’APR mensuelle pour qu’elle passe de 75 % à 90 % de la solde brute avant la libération; établissement de la solde minimale avant la libération de sorte à fournir un revenu d’au moins 44 496 $ par année; rajustement annuel du montant utilisé pour le calcul de sorte que l’APR suive le rythme de l’inflation. Ces modifications sont entrées en vigueur le 1er octobre 2016.
  • Allocation pour incidence sur la carrière : remplacement du nom de l’allocation pour déficience permanente par « allocation pour incidence sur la carrière (AIC) » afin de mieux refléter l’intention du programme; mise en œuvre d’une nouvelle évaluation devant être menée dans certains cas pour déterminer l’incidence sur la carrière. Ces modifications sont entrées en vigueur le 1er avril 2017.

Allocation pour perte de revenus (APR)

L’allocation pour perte de revenus est une allocation mensuelle de remplacement de revenu qui permet aux participants admissibles de s’assurer que leur revenu n’est pas inférieur à 75 % de la solde brute qu’ils touchaient avant leur libération (comme ACC l’a établi), ou à 75 % de la solde d’un caporal de niveau de base, selon le plus élevé des deux. Cette allocation est imposable et est versée pendant que la personne participe au programme de réadaptation professionnelle ou d’assistance professionnelle, ou jusqu’à l’âge de 65 ans si le bénéficiaire est dans l’incapacité de trouver un emploi rémunérateur et convenable. L’APR est également offerte aux survivants ou enfants à charge admissibles du vétéran décédé.

Allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes (ASRFC)

L’allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes est une prestation de soutien du revenu libre d’impôt versée aux participants admissibles qui ont terminé le programme de réadaptation professionnelle et qui sont jugés aptes au travail, mais qui n’ont pas trouvé d’emploi ou qui occupent un emploi peu rémunérateur. Tout vétéran des FAC résidant au Canada qui n’est plus admissible à l’allocation pour perte de revenus, a besoin d’une aide financière parce que le revenu du ménage ne permet pas de subvenir à ses besoins essentiels, recherche un travail convenable, mais est toujours sans emploi peut être admissible à l’ASRFC. Cette allocation est également offerte aux survivants ou enfants à charge admissibles du vétéran décédé.

Allocation pour incidence sur la carrière (AIC) et supplément à l’AIC

L’AIC est une allocation mensuelle imposable versée aux demandeurs admissibles dont la capacité de gain future a été touchée négativement par une déficience grave et permanente.

Tout vétéran des FAC souffrant d’une incapacité physique ou mentale grave et permanente pour qui un plan de réadaptation a été élaboré et approuvé par ACC et qui reçoit une indemnité ou une pension d’invalidité pour son incapacité peut être admissible à l’AIC.

Une somme mensuelle supplémentaire imposable (indexée annuellement) peut être versée aux bénéficiaires de l’allocation pour incidence sur la carrière qui, en raison du degré de leur problème de santé physique ou mentale permanent, ne peuvent pas trouver un emploi rémunérateur et convenable.

Prestation de retraite supplémentaire (PRS)

La prestation de retraite supplémentaire est un montant forfaitaire imposable qui vise à compenser les situations où les contributions qui ont été faites à un régime de pension sont moins élevées du fait que le vétéran est incapable de travailler en raison de la gravité et de la permanence de son incapacité. Tout vétéran des FAC qui est atteint d’une invalidité totale et permanente et qui n’a plus droit à l’allocation pour perte de revenus peut être admissible à la PRS. La PRS est également offerte aux survivants admissibles du vétéran décédé.

Allocation de sécurité du revenu de retraite (ASRR)

L’allocation de sécurité du revenu de retraite est une prestation mensuelle imposable qui fonctionne de concert avec les services et avantages existants d’ACC en vue d’établir un continuum de soutien tout au long de la vie du vétéran admissible atteint d’une invalidité ou tout au long de la vie de son survivant. L’ASRR permet d’assurer que le revenu annuel du vétéran admissible n’est pas inférieur à 70 % du montant des avantages financiers mensuels d’ACC qu’il touchait avant l’âge de 65 ans. Quant aux survivants admissibles, ils reçoivent une aide financière permettant d’assurer que leur revenu n’est pas inférieur à 50 % du seuil de revenu qui avait été établi pour le vétéran décédé.

Description des catégories de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels

Catégorie de documents : Avantages financiers (ACC MAC 845)
Fichiers de renseignements personnels : Allocation pour perte de revenus (ACC PPU 607)
Allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes (ACC PPU 608)
Allocation pour déficience permanente et supplément (ACC PPU 610)
Prestation de retraite supplémentaire (ACC PPU 609)
Allocation de sécurité du revenu de retraite (ACC PPU 701)
La catégorie de documents et les fichiers de renseignements personnels peuvent être examinés à l’adresse : Chapitre Info Source d’ACC

Autorisation légale relative au programme ou à l’activité

L’autorisation accordée à ACC de recueillir et d’utiliser des renseignements personnels pour le Programme d’avantages financiers est établie dans la Loi sur les mesures de réinsertion et d’indemnisation des militaires et vétérans des Forces canadiennes (LMRIMVFC) et son règlement d’application. L’autorisation de verser un paiement d’indemnisation unique pour la déduction de la pension d’invalidité dans le calcul de l’allocation pour perte de revenus et de l’allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes est établie dans la Loi d’exécution du budget.

Autorisation légale relative au programme ou à l’activité
Programme d’avantages financiers Article ou articles de la LMRIMVFC établissant l’autorisation du Programme Article ou articles de la LMRIMVFC et de son règlement d’application portant sur la collecte de renseignements personnels Article ou articles de la LMRIMVFC et de son règlement d’application portant sur l’utilisation de renseignements personnels Article ou articles de la LMRIMVFC portant sur la divulgation de renseignements
Allocation pour perte de revenus Articles 18 à 24 de la Loi
18(1) vétéran
22(1) survivant/orphelin
Articles 76(1), 80 et 82 de la Loi et article 17 du Règlement Articles 18 à 24 de la Loi et articles 17 à 27 du Règlement Articles 81 et 82 de la Loi
Prestation de retraite supplémentaire Articles 25 et 26 de la Loi Articles 76(1) et 80 de la Loi et article 28 du Règlement Articles 25 et 26 de la Loi et articles 28 et 29 du Règlement Articles 81 et 82 de la Loi
Allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes Articles 27 à 37 de la Loi Articles 76(1), 80 et 82 de la Loi et article 30 du Règlement Articles 27 à 37 de la Loi et articles 30 à 39 du Règlement Articles 81 et 82 de la Loi
Allocation pour déficience permanente / Supplément Articles 38 à 40 de la Loi 38(3) supplément Articles 76(1) et 80 de la Loi et article 40 du Règlement Articles 38 à 40 de la Loi et articles 40 à 46 du Règlement Articles 81 et 82 de la Loi
Allocation de sécurité du revenu de retraite Articles 40.1 à 40.5 de la Loi Articles 40.5, 76, 80 et 82a) de la Loi Articles 40.1 à 40.6 et 76(2) de la Loi Articles 81 et 82b) de la Loi
Autorisation légale relative au programme ou à l’activité
Paiement d’indemnisation unique Article ou articles de la Loi d’exécution du budget établissant l’autorisation du Programme
Allocation pour perte de revenus Article 6 de la Loi
Allocation de soutien du revenu des Forces canadiennes Article 6 de la Loi

Détermination et catégorisation des facteurs de risque

La section qui suit porte sur les risques soulevés par l’EFVP relativement à un nouveau programme ou à un programme modifié. Une échelle de risques est incluse. L’échelle de risques consiste en une suite de nombres ascendants : le nombre 1 correspond au plus bas niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur, tandis que le nombre 4 correspond au plus haut niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur. Veuillez consulter l’annexe C de la Directive sur l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée du SCT pour en savoir davantage sur l’échelle de risques.

  1. Type de programme ou d’activité
    • Administration des programmes/activités et services.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2

  2. Type de renseignements personnels recueillis et contexte
    • Numéro d’assurance sociale, renseignements médicaux ou financiers ou autres renseignements personnels délicats et/ou éléments contextuels de nature délicate entourant les renseignements personnels. Renseignements personnels sur des mineurs ou des personnes inaptes ou encore concernant une personne ayant qualité pour agir au nom de l’intéressé.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  3. Participation des partenaires et du secteur privé au programme ou à l’activité
    • Au sein de l’institution (dans le cadre d’un seul programme ou de plusieurs programmes au sein de la même institution)
    • Avec d’autres institutions fédérales
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1 et 2

  4. Durée du programme ou de l’activité
    • Programme à long terme.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  5. Population visée par le programme
    • Le programme touche certaines personnes à des fins administratives externes.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  6. Technologie et vie privée
    1. L’activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) comporte-t-il la mise en œuvre d’un nouveau système électronique, logiciel ou programme d’application, y compris un collecticiel (ou logiciel de groupe) qui est mis en œuvre pour soutenir le programme ou l’activité ayant trait à la création, la collecte ou la manipulation de renseignements personnels?

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

    2. L’activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) exige-t-il une modification de systèmes ou services existants de TI?

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

    3. Méthodes d’identification améliorées – Cela comprend la technologie biométrique [comme la reconnaissance faciale, l’analyse de la démarche, la lecture ou le balayage de l’iris, l’analyse des empreintes digitales, la signature ou empreinte vocale, l’identification par radiofréquence (IRF), etc.] ainsi que la technologie des laissez-passer facilités (Easy pass), les nouvelles cartes d’identité comportant des bandes magnétiques, comme les « cartes intelligentes » (c. à d. des cartes d’identité sur lesquelles est gravée soit une antenne soit une plage de contact connectée à un microprocesseur et une puce mémoire ou uniquement à une puce mémoire avec matrice logique non programmable).

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non

    4. Recours à des moyens de surveillance – Cela comprend les technologies de surveillance telles que les appareils d’enregistrement audio/vidéo, l’imagerie thermique, les appareils de reconnaissance, l’IRF, la surveillance/l’interception clandestine, le contrôle assisté par ordinateur, y compris les pistes de vérification, la surveillance par satellite, etc.

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non

    5. Utilisation de l’analyse automatisée des renseignements personnels, du couplage de renseignements personnels et des techniques de découverte/l’acquisition de connaissances – Aux fins de la directive sur l’EFVP, les institutions fédérales doivent préciser quelles activités comportent le recours à des technologies d’analyse, de création, de comparaison, de tri, d’identification ou d’extraction automatiques, d’éléments de renseignements personnels. Ces activités comprendraient le couplage de renseignements personnels, le couplage de dossiers, l’exploration de renseignements personnels, la comparaison de renseignements personnels, la découverte de connaissances et le filtrage ou l’analyse d’information. De telles activités comportent une forme ou une autre d’intelligence artificielle et/ou d’apprentissage machine pour découvrir des connaissances (renseignements), des tendances ou des modèles, ou encore pour prédire des comportements.

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

  7. Transmission des renseignements personnels
    • Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés à l’intérieur d’un système fermé.
    • Les renseignements personnels sont utilisés dans un système qui comporte des connexions à au moins un autre système.
    • Les renseignements personnels sont transférés à un appareil portable ou sont imprimés.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 2 et 3

  8. Incidences des risques pour l’institution
    • Répercussions négatives au niveau de la direction/gestion, préjudice financier, atteinte à la réputation, embarras, perte de crédibilité.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 3 et 4

  9. Incidences des risques pour l’individu ou l’employé
    • Inconvénients, atteinte à la réputation, embarras et préjudice financier.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1, 2 et 3

Date de modification :