Private Storage of Records

Government Institution

Veteran Affairs Canada

Government Official Responsible for the Privacy Impact Assessment

Michael Johnson
Director, IM and IT Operations

Head of the government institution / Delegate for section 10 of the Privacy Act

Shawn MacDougall
Director, Access to Information and Privacy

Name of Program or Activity of the Government Institution

Private Storage of Records

Description of Program or Activity:

VAC has established a contract with Iron Mountain Canada, a private storage company, for the storage of all VAC records. Iron Mountain Canada will provide document storage, information retrieval and document destruction services in secure facilities across Canada. These facilities are monitored 24 hours a day, seven days a week for fire, floods and unauthorized entry.

The contract with Iron Mountain Canada includes clauses required by VAC’s Security and ATIP Divisions to meet privacy and security requirements for the transfer, storage, retrieval and secure destruction of personal information.

Description of the class of record and the Personal Information Bank

As Private Storage is available to every VAC program, every class of record where a program may use Private Storage will be relevant, with limited exception. All applicable VAC Personal Information Banks will be updated to ensure clients/employees are informed of the potential storage of their records within a private facility. Class of Records and Personal Information Banks can be reviewed at: VAC's Info Source Chapter

Legal Authority for Program or Activity

Information contained in the files that may be located in private storage is created and captured for the purposes of documenting all activities related to the operations of mandated programs delivered by Veterans Affairs Canada and the Veterans Review and Appeal Board as well as the administrative activities that support the operations of the Department.

The legal authority for these programs and activities stems from Departmental enabling legislation and regulations as well as Government of Canada legislation regarding the administrative functions of government. A comprehensive list of this legislation can be made available.

Risk Area Identification & Categorization

The following section contains risks identified in the PIA for the new or modified program. A risk scale has been included. The numbered risk scale is presented in ascending order: the first level represents the lowest level of potential risk for the risk area; the fourth level (4) represents the highest level of potential risk for the given risk area. Please refer to “Appendix C” of the TBS Directive on PIAs to learn more about the risk scale.

  1. Type of Program or Activity
    • Program or activity that does not involve a decision about an identifiable individual
    • Level of risk to privacy – 1

  2. Type of Personal Information Involved and Context
    • Social Insurance Number, medical, financial or other sensitive personal information and/or the context surrounding the personal information is sensitive. Personal information of minors or incompetent individuals or involving a representative acting on behalf of the individual.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 3

  3. Program or Activity Partners and Private Sector Involvement
    • Private sector organizations or international organizations or foreign governments
    • Level of risk to privacy – 4

  4. Duration of the Program or Activity
    • Long-term program
    • Level of risk to privacy – 3

  5. Program Population
    • The program affects certain individuals for external administrative purposes.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 3

  6. Technology & Privacy
    1. Does the new or modified program or activity involve the implementation of a new electronic system, software or application program including collaborative software (or groupware) that is implemented to support the program or activity in terms of the creation, collection or handling of personal information?

      Risk to privacy – Yes

    2. Does the new or modified program or activity require any modifications to IT legacy systems and / or services?

      Risk to privacy – No

    3. Enhanced identification methods - This includes biometric technology (i.e. facial recognition, gait analysis, iris scan, fingerprint analysis, voice print, radio frequency identification (RFID), etc…) as well as easy pass technology, new identification cards including magnetic stripe cards, “smart cards” (i.e. identification cards that are embedded with either an antenna or a contact pad that is connected to a microprocessor and a memory chip or only a memory chip with non-programmable logic).

      Risk to privacy – Yes

    4. Use of Surveillance - This includes surveillance technologies such as audio/video recording devices, thermal imaging, recognition devices, RFID, surreptitious surveillance / interception, computer aided monitoring including audit trails, satellite surveillance etc…

      Risk to privacy – Yes

    5. Use of automated personal information analysis, personal information matching and knowledge discovery techniques - For the purposes of the Directive on PIA, government institution are to identify those activities that involve the use of automated technology to analyze, create, compare, cull, identify or extract personal information elements. Such activities would include personal information matching, record linkage, personal information mining, personal information comparison, knowledge discovery, information filtering or analysis. Such activities involve some form of artificial intelligence and/or machine learning to uncover knowledge (intelligence), trends/patterns or to predict behavior.

      Risk to privacy – No

  7. Personal Information Transmission
    • The personal information is transmitted using wireless technologies.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 4

  8. Risk Impact to the Institution
    • Reputational harm, embarrassment, loss of credibility (Decrease confidence by the public, elected officials under the spotlight, institution strategic outcome compromised, government priority compromised, impact on the Government of Canada Outcome areas.)
    • Level of risk to privacy – 4

  9. Risk Impact to the Individual or Employee
    • Potential for reputational harm, embarrassment; and financial harm.
    • Level of risk to privacy – 2 & 3

Date modified:

Entreposage privé des dossiers

Institution fédérale

Anciens Combattants Canada

Fonctionnaire responsable de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Michael Johnson
Directeur, Opérations GITI

Chef de l’institution fédérale ou son délégué pour l’application de l’article 10 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Shawn MacDougall
Directeur, Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels

Nom du programme ou de l’activité de l’institution fédérale

Entreposage privé des dossiers

Description du programme ou de l’activité

ACC a conclu un contrat avec Iron Mountain Canada, une entreprise d’entreposage privé, pour l’entreposage de tous les dossiers d’ACC. Iron Mountain Canada fournira des services d’entreposage de documents, de récupération d’information et de destruction de documents dans des installations sécurisées partout au Canada. Ces installations font l’objet d’une surveillance en tout temps, tous les jours de la semaine afin de réagir en cas d’incendie, d’inondation et d’entrée non autorisée.

Le contrat avec Iron Mountain Canada comprend les dispositions requises par la Direction de la protection et de la sécurité et la Direction générale de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) en vue de se conformer aux exigences en matière de transfert, d’entreposage, de récupération et de destruction sécuritaires de renseignements personnels.

Description des catégories de documents et des fichiers de renseignements personnels

Comme l’entreposage privé est possible pour chaque programme d’ACC, chaque catégorie de documents pour laquelle l’entreposage privé peut être utilisé dans le cadre d’un programme est concernée, à part quelques exceptions. Tous les fichiers de renseignements personnels applicables d’ACC seront mis à jour pour s’assurer que les clients et les employés sont informés de l’entreposage possible de leurs dossiers dans une installation privée.

La catégorie de documents et les fichiers de renseignements personnels peuvent être examinés à l’adresse : Chapitre Info Source d’ACC

Autorisation légale relative au programme ou à l’activité

L’information contenue dans les dossiers qui peuvent se trouver dans un entreposage privé est créée et saisie afin de documenter toutes les activités liées à l’exécution des programmes autorisés offerts par Anciens Combattants Canada et le Tribunal des anciens combattants (révision et appel) ainsi que les activités administratives qui appuient les opérations du Ministère.

L’autorisation légale pour ces programmes et activités est établie dans les lois et règlements habilitants du Ministère et les mesures législatives du gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne les fonctions administratives du gouvernement. Une liste complète de ces lois et règlements peut être fournie.

Détermination et catégorisation des facteurs de risque

La section qui suit porte sur les risques soulevés par l’EFVP relativement à un nouveau programme ou à un programme modifié. Une échelle de risques est incluse. L’échelle de risques consiste en une suite de nombres ascendants : le nombre 1 correspond au plus bas niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur, tandis que le nombre 4 correspond au plus haut niveau de risques possible pour ce secteur. Veuillez consulter l’annexe C de la Directive sur l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée du SCT pour en savoir davantage sur l’échelle de risques.

  1. Type de programme ou d’activité
    • Programme ou activité qui ne nécessite pas la prise d’une décision concernant un individu identifiable
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 1

  2. Type de renseignements personnels recueillis et contexte
    • Numéro d’assurance sociale, renseignements médicaux ou financiers ou autres renseignements personnels délicats et/ou éléments contextuels de nature délicate entourant les renseignements personnels. Renseignements personnels sur des mineurs ou des personnes inaptes ou encore concernant une personne ayant qualité pour agir au nom de l’intéressé.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  3. 3) Participation des partenaires et du secteur privé au programme ou à l’activité
    • Organisations du secteur privé ou organisations internationales ou gouvernements étrangers
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 4

  4. Durée du programme ou de l’activité
    • Programme à long terme.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  5. Population visée par le programme
    • Le programme touche certains individus à des fins administratives externes.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 3

  6. Technologie et vie privée
    1. L’activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) comporte-t-il la mise en œuvre d’un nouveau système électronique, logiciel ou programme d’application, y compris un collecticiel (ou logiciel de groupe) qui est mis en œuvre pour soutenir le programme ou l’activité ayant trait à la création, la collecte ou la manipulation de renseignements personnels?

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

    2. L’activité ou le programme (nouveau ou modifié) exige-t-il une modification de systèmes ou services existants de TI?

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non

    3. Méthodes d’identification améliorées – Cela comprend la technologie biométrique [comme la reconnaissance faciale, l’analyse de la démarche, la lecture ou le balayage de l’iris, l’analyse des empreintes digitales, la signature ou empreinte vocale, l’identification par radiofréquence (IRF), etc.] ainsi que la technologie des laissez-passer facilités (Easy pass), les nouvelles cartes d’identité comportant des bandes magnétiques, comme les « cartes intelligentes » (c. à d. des cartes d’identité sur lesquelles est gravée soit une antenne soit une plage de contact connectée à un microprocesseur et une puce mémoire ou uniquement à une puce mémoire avec matrice logique non programmable).

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

    4. Recours à des moyens de surveillance – Cela comprend les technologies de surveillance telles que les appareils d’enregistrement audio/vidéo, l’imagerie thermique, les appareils de reconnaissance, l’IRF, la surveillance/l’interception clandestine, le contrôle assisté par ordinateur, y compris les pistes de vérification, la surveillance par satellite, etc.

      Risque pour la vie privée – Oui

    5. e) Utilisation de l’analyse automatisée des renseignements personnels, du couplage de renseignements personnels et des techniques de découverte/l’acquisition de connaissances – Aux fins de la directive sur l’EFVP, les institutions fédérales doivent préciser quelles activités comportent le recours à des technologies d’analyse, de création, de comparaison, de tri, d’identification ou d’extraction automatiques d’éléments de renseignements personnels. Ces activités comprendraient le couplage de renseignements personnels, le couplage de dossiers, l’exploration de renseignements personnels, la comparaison de renseignements personnels, la découverte de connaissances et le filtrage ou l’analyse d’information. De telles activités comportent une forme ou une autre d’intelligence artificielle et/ou d’apprentissage machine pour découvrir des connaissances (renseignements), des tendances ou des modèles, ou encore pour prédire des comportements.

      Risque pour la vie privée – Non

  7. Transmission des renseignements personnels
    • Les renseignements personnels sont transmis à l’aide de technologies sans fil.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 4

  8. Incidences des risques pour l’institution
    • Tort à la réputation, embarras, perte de crédibilité (diminution de la confiance du public, élus placés sous les projecteurs, résultats stratégiques de l’institution compromis, priorité gouvernementale compromise, répercussions sur les secteurs de résultats du gouvernement du Canada.)
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 4

  9. Incidences des risques pour l’individu ou l’employé
    • Possibilité d’inconvénient, de tort à la réputation, d’embarras et de préjudice financier.
    • Niveau de risque pour la vie privée – 2 et 3

Date de modification :