Candlelight Tribute Ceremony

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Introduction

Candlelight ceremonies began in the Netherlands to show thanks and to honour those who liberated the country and its people from German occupation during the Second World War.

In 1995, the people of the Netherlands held a special ceremony to commemorate their liberation by Canadian forces fifty years earlier. Dutch children placed lit candles on the graves of Canadian soldiers and the candles remained lit overnight in silent tribute. Residents were drawn to the cemeteries by the soft red glow of the candles burning in the dark. As a result, commemorative candlelight tributes have now become annual ceremonies in the Netherlands and other European countries.

Similar tributes take place across Canada in both public and private cemeteries. Encouraging youth, their families, Veterans and Canadian Forces (CF) members to interact with one another is an important element of the commemorative event.

Aims

  • To engage youth in remembrance activities.
  • To increase awareness and understanding of the price paid by many Canadians to protect peace and freedom at home and around the world.
  • To help participants experience the emotional impact of a candlelight ceremony.

Candlelight Tribute Ceremony at the 2nd Canadian Sunken Road Cemetery near Beaumont-Hamel, France. 30 June 2006. (Veterans Affairs Canada)

Anticipated Time Frame

Approximately 40 minutes.

Materials and Resources

  • Candles (preferably in fire-resistant cases)
  • Lighters/matches
  • Copies of the Commitment to Remember
  • Copies of the Act of Remembrance
  • Copies of O Canada

Introduction and Ceremony

Young people are encouraged to plan and organize the candlelight tribute or similar type of remembrance ceremonyFootnote 1. Getting actively involved will help youth feel a sense of ownership in the event. When choosing a site for a candlelight vigil, consider the Veterans section of any community cemetery in Canada or, if you are overseas, one of the hundreds of Commonwealth War Graves Commission cemeteriesFootnote 2. The ideal time for the ceremony is at dusk when the mood created by the lit candles is the most powerful.

One to two people should act as masters of ceremony (MCs), while others may serve as wreath bearers, wreath layers and readers of the Commitment to Remember.

Commitment to Remember

They were young, as we are young,
They served, giving freely of themselves.
To them, we pledge, amid the winds of time,
To carry their torch and never forget.
We will remember them.

Response: We will remember them.

Also two Veterans, if available, youth leaders or teachers should recite the Act of Remembrance, a key part of the ceremony.

Act of Remembrance

They shall grow not old,
as we that are left grow old.
Age shall not weary them,
nor the years condemn [sic].
At the going down of the sun,
and in the morning.
We will remember them.

Response: We will remember them.

While it would be more meaningful to have Veterans in attendance, the ceremony may be conducted just with youth and their leaders.

When participants enter the cemetery, they branch off in different directions. The Veterans and youth leaders move to the front and right of the Cross of Sacrifice or monument. The youth move to the left front and line up on opposite sides of the Cross facing one another. If the cemetery is small or does not have a cross or monument, these plans can be adapted. For example, the youth may line up on one side of the cemetery and the Veterans or youth leaders may line up on the opposite side, facing inward towards the rows of graves.

If available, a podium with a microphone may be located at the front of the cemetery, next to the Cross of Sacrifice or next to a monument. Every youth should receive a candle when they come into the cemetery. Veterans or youth leaders are given a lighter. Copies of the Commitment to Remember and the National Anthem are also given to everyone in attendance.

If a piper, bugler or other musical group is participating in the ceremony they should stand behind the Cross of Sacrifice or monument or off to one side. If live music is not available, taped music can be used.

Sequence of Events

  • Arrival of participants.
  • Greetings. This may include a brief history of the cemetery as well as background on the battle(s) fought by soldiers buried at the cemetery. The significance of the Cross of Sacrifice as well as the purpose and history of the candlelight tributeFootnote 3 should be explained.
  • Veterans or youth leaders (who are pre-selected) recite the Act of Remembrance in both English and French, as appropriate.
  • Veterans or youth leaders move toward the youths to light their candles.
  • Youth meet Veterans and youth leaders half-way for candle lighting. A number of youth, corresponding to the number of Veterans or youth leaders in attendance, come together in the lighting ceremony. The remaining youth wait until the first group's candles are lit.
  • Once all of the candles are lit, the youth are directed to the first row of graves where candles are to be placed. The lead youth walks to the end of the row with each person falling in behind and then stopping at a grave marker (one youth to one grave). Each youth should face the side of the grave marker bearing the inscription.
  • The process is repeated in each row until all of the candles are lit and each youth is facing a grave marker. The Veterans or youth leaders remain standing near the Cross of Sacrifice or monument.

By now the sun is setting and falling below the horizon. At dusk, the lit candles provide a warm and tranquil ambiance to the ceremony.

  • The youth step forward as a group and place their lit candle on the top of the gravemarker. Ensure that the candle is stable and unlikely to fall.
  • Playing of the Last Post, minute of silence, Rouse and Lament.
  • Selected youth lead the group in reciting the Commitment to Remember in English and French, if both languages are appropriate.
  • Laying of a wreath on behalf of the youth of Canada. Wreath bearers carry the wreath forward for the wreath layers. The wreath is placed at the base of the Cross while music plays.
  • The National Anthem is sung.
  • End of ceremony.

Follow-up Activities

  • At the conclusion of the ceremony Veterans, youth leaders and guests mix with the youth and visit graves. Together, they can reflect on the event and its meaning. Allow approximately twenty minutes for the visit.
  • Ask youth to learn more about the soldier buried in the grave where they placed their candle. Youth can research the individual to understand more about their sacrifice. This will help ensure their memory is kept alive for future generations. Information about fallen soldiers buried overseas can be found by visiting the Canadian Virtual War Memorial. For Veterans buried in cemeteries in your community, visit your local archives or library.
  • Before leaving the cemetery, the youth should take their candle with them. The candle is not only a keepsake—it is a reminder of their duty to share with their family and friends what they have learned and experienced during the event.

Note about websites: Supplementary information offered by non-Government of Canada websites, that are not subject to the Official Languages Act, and which appear in this document, may be available only in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

Date modified:

Cérémonie à la chandelle

Cette publication est disponible dans d'autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Introduction

C'est aux Pays-Bas qu'on a commencé à tenir des cérémonies à la chandelle, en signe de gratitude et d'hommage à ceux qui ont libéré le pays et sa population de l'occupation allemande pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

En 1995, les Néerlandais ont organisé une cérémonie spéciale pour commémorer leur libération par les Forces canadiennes il y a 50 ans. À cette occasion, des enfants plaçaient sur les tombes des soldats canadiens des chandelles qui restaient allumées toute la nuit, en guise d'hommage silencieux. Les gens de l'endroit étaient attirés dans les cimetières par la douce luminosité des chandelles qui brûlaient dans la nuit. Depuis, des cérémonies à la chandelle se déroulent chaque année aux Pays-Bas et dans d'autres pays d'Europe.

Des cérémonies similaires ont maintenant lieu partout au Canada, dans les cimetières publics et privés. L'intéraction qu'ils engendrent entre les jeunes, leurs familles, les anciens combattants et les membres des Forces canadiennes (FC) est une de leurs caractéristiques principales.

Buts

  • Faire participer les jeunes aux activités de commémoration.
  • Faire mieux connaître et comprendre le sacrifice ultime de nombreux Canadiens à la défense de la paix et de la liberté, ici et ailleurs dans le monde.
  • Donner aux participants l'occasion de ressentir l'émotion inhérente à une cérémonie à la chandelle.

Cérémonie à la chandelle tenue au 2e cimetière canadien de Sunken Road situé près de Beaumont-Hamel, en France. 30 juin 2006. (Anciens Combattants Canada)

Durée prévue

Environ 40 minutes.

Matériels et ressources

  • Chandelles (de préférence dans un contenant résistant au feu)
  • Briquets ou allumettes
  • Les paroles de la Promesse du Souvenir
  • Les paroles de l'Acte du Souvenir
  • Les paroles du O Canada

Introduction et cérémonie

On encourage les jeunes à organiser une cérémonie à la chandelle ou toute autre forme de cérémonie commémorative1. La participation active des jeunes à la cérémonie éveille en eux un sentiment d'appartenance par rapport à l'événement. Quant à l'endroit où tenir une cérémonie à la chandelle, on pourra choisir, au Canada, la section des anciens combattants de tout cimetière public ou, à l'étranger, un des cimetières parmi la centaine dont s'occupe la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth2. Idéalement, la cérémonie aura lieu au crépuscule, moment où l'ambiance créée par les chandelles est la plus saisissante.

Une ou deux personnes joueront le rôle de maître(s) de cérémonie. D'autres agiront comme porteurs et poseurs de couronne ainsi que comme lecteurs de la Promesse du Souvenir.

Promesse de se souvenir

Ils étaient jeunes, jeunes comme nous
Ils ont servi, donnant généreusement d'eux-mêmes.
Nous leur promettons, en dépit du temps qui passe,
De porter le flambeau et de ne jamais oublier.
Nous nous souviendrons d'eux.

Réponse : Nous nous souviendrons d'eux.

En outre, deux anciens combattants, si possible, ou deux animateurs de jeunes ou deux enseignants devraient réciter l'Acte du Souvenir, un moment important de la cérémonie.

Acte du Souvenir

Ils ne vieilliront pas comme nous,
qui leur avons survécu.
Ils ne connaîtront jamais l'outrage,
ni le poids des années.
Quand viendra l'heure du crépuscule et celle de l'aurore,
nous nous souviendrons d'eux.

Réponse : Nous nous souviendrons d'eux.

Quoique la cérémonie revêtra une plus grande signification si des anciens combattants y participent, elle peut se dérouler uniquement en présence des jeunes et de leurs animateurs.

En arrivant au cimetière, les participants se diviseront et iront dans des directions différentes. Les anciens combattants et les animateurs de jeunes se placeront à l'avant-droite de la Croix du Sacrifice ou du monument. Les jeunes s'aligneront à l'avant-gauche de la croix, en se faisant face. Si le cimetière est petit et n'a pas de croix ou de monument, on adaptera le plan en conséquence. Par exemple, les jeunes s'aligneront d'un côté du cimetière et les anciens combattants ou les animateurs se mettront en rang de l'autre côté, en faisant face aux rangées de tombes.

Un podium avec microphone pourra être installé à l'avant du cimetière, près de la Croix du Sacrifice ou d'un monument. En arrivant au cimetière, chaque jeune recevra une chandelle. Un briquet sera remis aux anciens combattants et aux animateurs. Les paroles de la Promesse du Souvenir et de l'hymne national seront également distribuées à toutes les personnes présentes.

Si un joueur de cornemuse, un joueur de clairon ou un groupe musical participe à la cérémonie, il devrait se tenir derrière la Croix du Sacrifice ou du monument, ou sur un des côtés. En l'absence de musiciens, on pourra faire jouer une musique enregistrée.

Déroulement de la cérémonie

  • Arrivée des participants
  • Salutations. Cette partie peut comprendre un bref historique du cimetière et l'évocation des batailles auxquelles ont participé les soldats qui y sont enterrés. Il serait bon de souligner l'importance de la Croix du Sacrifice et de faire l'historique des cérémonies à la chandelle3.
  • Des anciens combattants ou des animateurs (désignés d'avance) récitent l'Acte du Souvenir en français et en anglais, s'il y a lieu.
  • Des anciens combattants ou des animateurs se dirigent vers les jeunes pour allumer leurs chandelles.
  • Ils se rassemblent en groupes formés d'un nombre de jeunes équivalant à celui des anciens combattants ou celui des animateurs présents. Les jeunes vont à la rencontre des anciens combattants et des animateurs pour allumer leurs chandelles. Les autres jeunes attendent que les chandelles du premier groupe soient allumées avant de s'avancer.
  • Une fois toutes les chandelles allumées, les jeunes se dirigent vers la première rangée de tombes sur lesquelles les chandelles doivent être placées. Le premier jeune du groupe avance jusqu'à la fin de la rangée, suivi des autres et chacun s'arrête devant une pierre tombale (un jeune par pierre tombale). Chaque jeune fait face à l'inscription de la pierre tombale.
  • On répète le déroulement à chaque rangée, jusqu'à ce que toutes les chandelles soient allumées et que chaque jeune soit en face d'une pierre tombale. Les anciens combattants ou les animateurs restent debout près de la Croix du Sacrifice ou du monument.

Nous arrivons alors au moment où le soleil se couche et disparaît derrière l'horizon. Dans le crépuscule, les chandelles allumées créent une ambiance chaleureuse et paisible.

  • Les jeunes s'avancent à l'unisson et placent leur chandelle allumée sur le haut de la pierre tombale, en veillant à ce que la chandelle soit stable et ne risque pas de tomber.
  • La Dernière sonnerie est entendue, suivie d'une minute de silence, du Réveil et de l'élégie.
  • Certains jeunes font réciter au groupe la Promesse du Souvenir, en français et en anglais s'il y a lieu.
  • Une couronne est déposée au nom de la jeunesse canadienne. Les porteurs de couronne présentent celle-ci à ceux qui la déposeront. La couronne est placée au pied de la croix pendant que la musique joue.
  • On chante l'hymne national.
  • Fin de la cérémonie.

Activités complémentaires

  • À la conclusion de la cérémonie, les anciens combattants, les animateurs et les invités rejoignent les jeunes devant les tombes. Ensemble, ils reviennent sur la cérémonie et sur sa signification. Prévoir environ vingt minutes pour cette activité.
  • Demander aux jeunes d'en apprendre davantage sur le soldat enterré dans la tombe sur laquelle ils ont placé leur chandelle. Ils pourront faire des recherches sur cette personne en vue de mieux comprendre son sacrifice. Cela les aidera à perpétuer le Souvenir pour les générations suivantes. On trouvera des renseignements sur les soldats enterrés à l'étranger dans le site du Mémorial virtuel de guerre du Canada et sur les anciens combattants enterrés dans les cimetières canadiens dans les archives ou les bibliothèques locales.
  • En quittant le cimetière, les jeunes devraient emporter avec eux leur chandelle. Elle sera pour eux plus qu'un simple souvenir, leur rappelant qu'ils ont le devoir de partager avec leurs parents et amis ce qu'ils ont appris et ressenti durant la cérémonie.

Commentaire relatif aux sites Web : Certains renseignements supplémentaires retrouvés dans ce document ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi sur les langues officielles s'ils ne sont la propriété du gouvernement du Canada. Ces renseignements pourraient en outre être disponibles uniquement dans la ou les langues utilisées par les sites en question.

Date de modification :