1997 Remembrance Day Poster

The 1997 Remembrance Day Poster highlights the Korean War, featuring work by Canadian artist and Korean War veteran, Edward Zuber, of Seely’s Bay, Ontario. Zuber served in Korea from 1952 to 1953 as a member of The Royal Canadian Regiment.

Holding at Kapyong (detail)

By Edward Fenwick Zuber, 1990
Cat. No.: 90041
© Canadian War Museum

One of the most famous Canadian engagements of the Korean War, Kapyong illustrates the close-in, hillside fighting that Canadian troops frequently faced during the war.

On April 23-24, 1951, units of the Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI), located on Hill 677 near the Kapyong River, were attacked by greater numbers of Chinese and North Korean forces. The fighting became so fierce and close that one Canadian commander called for supporting artillery fire on his own position. Completely surrounded at one point, the PPCLI requested air drops of ammunition and supplies in order to continue their resistance. For their gallant and successful stand at Kapyong, the PPCLI received the United States Presidential Citation.

Daybreak, Gulf of Korea

By Edward Fenwick Zuber, 1989
Cat. No.: 90025
© Canadian War Museum

As a peninsula, Korea offered unusual scope for naval activities. Royal Canadian Navy destroyers were the first Canadian forces to arrive in Korea, and Canada, despite having a small peace-time navy, maintained three destroyers in the Korean theatre at all times throughout the war. In all, eight Canadian destroyers participated in the Korean War. Their activities included blockading the enemy coast, screening aircraft carriers, and bombarding enemy roads, trains and positions along the coast, as depicted in Zuber’s painting.

The Korean War, 1950-1953

On June 25, 1950, North Korean forces crossed the 38th Parallel into the Republic of Korea. The United Nations condemned the attack and Canada joined 15 other nations to resist the aggression. After initial reverses, the allies advanced north towards the Chinese border. On November 26, 1950, China entered the war on the side of North Korea and allied forces were forced south again to positions well below the 38th Parallel. By mid-1951, the allies had pushed the Chinese and North Koreans back across the 38th Parallel and as cease fire negotiations dragged on, a period of static warfare set it. The fighting ended with the signing of the Korea Armistice Agreement on July 27, 1953. But no formal end to the Korean War was ever concluded. An uneasy truce continues between North and South Korea.

Canada was the third largest contributor to the multi-national force in Korea. Canada provided pilots, naval units and significant ground forces, including the Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, The Royal Canadian Regiment and the Royal 22e Régiment. In all, 26,791 Canadians served in Korea, suffering 1,558 casualties, including 516 deaths.

Design: Aerographics Creative Services

Date modified:

L’affiche du jour du Souvenir 1997

L’affiche du jour du Souvenir de 1997 porte sur la guerre de Corée et présente des oeuvres d’un ancien combattant canadien de la guerre de Corée, M. Edward Zuber, de Seely’s Bay, en Ontario. Zuber a servi en Corée de 1952 à 1953 au sein du Royal Canadian Regiment.

Résistance à Kapyong (détail)

Par Edward Fenwick Zuber, 1990
Cat. No. : 90041
© Musée canadien de la guerre

C’est à Kapyong que les Canadiens livrèrent l’un de leurs plus formidables combats, un combat rapproché, à flanc de coteau comme les nombreux autres que les troupes canadiennes durent livrer tout au long de cette guerre.

Les 23 et 24 avril 1951, les unités du Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI), en poste sur la cote 677 près de la Kapyong, furent assaillies par une véritable nuée de combattants chinois et nord-coréens. Le combat fut féroce et quasi corps à corps. Un commandant canadien dut même demander l’appui du feu d’artillerie sur sa propre position. À un certain moment, les hommes du PPCLI étaient complètement encerclés. Approvisionnés par voie des airs, ils continuèrent à se battre. En récompense de leur bravoure, les hommes du PPCLI eurent droit à une citation du président des États-Unis.

L’aube, golfe de Corée

Par Edward Fenwick Zuber, 1989
Cat. No. : 90025
© Musée canadien de la guerre

La Corée étant une péninsule, elle présentait une situation assez spéciale à l’appui naval. Les destroyers de la Marine royale du Canada furent les premières forces canadiennes à arriver en Corée. Bien qu’il ne possédait qu’une petite force navale en temps de paix, le Canada maintint trois destroyers en tout temps sur le théâtre coréen, tout au long de la guerre. Au total, huit destroyers canadiens participèrent à la guerre de Corée. Ils maintinrent un blocus permanent de la côte ennemie, assurèrent la couverture des porte-avions, et bombardèrent les routes ennemies, les trains et diverses positions le long de la côte (comme le dépeint l’oeuvre de Zuber).

La guerre de Corée, 1950-1953

Le 25 juin 1950, les forces armées nord-coréennes franchissaient le 38e parallèle pour pénétrer dans la République de Corée. Les Nations Unies condamnèrent l’attaque, et le Canada se joignit à 15 autres pays pour s’opposer à l’agression. Après avoir subi quelques revers, les forces alliées progressèrent vers la frontière chinoise. Le 26 novembre 1950, la Chine entra en guerre du côté de la Corée du Nord, et les forces alliées furent refoulées de nouveau vers le sud, en deçà du 38e parallèle. Vers le milieu de 1951, les alliés avaient repoussé les Chinois et les Nord-Coréens au-delà du 38e parallèle et comme les négociations de cessez-le-feu traînaient en longueur, une période de combats statiques s’amorça. Les combats prirent fin lorsque l’accord d’armistice fut signé le 27 juillet 1953. Toutefois, la guerre de Corée ne se termina jamais de façon officielle. La trêve entre la Corée du Nord et la Corée du Sud demeure difficile.

Le Canada fut le troisième plus important collaborateur de la force multi-nationale en Corée. Il fournit des pilotes, des unités navales et des effectifs terrestres importants, dont le Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry, le Royal Canadian Regiment et le Royal 22e Régiment. Quelque 26 791 Canadiens ont servi en Corée. Le Canada subit 1 558 pertes, dont 516 morts.

Conception : Aerographics Creative Services

Date de modification :