2000 Remembrance Day Poster

How we Remember

On Remembrance Day - November 11 - at 11:00 a.m., we pause for "2 Minutes of Silence" to honour the men and women who served our country for the cause of freedom.

We wear the poppy, which was adopted for symbolic purposes after the First World War, as a reminder of those who died fighting for peace.

The Peacekeeping Monument in Ottawa recognizes the service of Canadian Forces. It is the first monument of its kind in the world.

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier at the National War Memorial in Ottawa is a Government of Canada millennium initiative and represents our country’s commitment to peace and freedom in the past, in the present and in the future.

Be part of the Action

Attend ceremonies at your local cenotaph or watch the national Remembrance Day services on television.

Invite to your club, society or school - as speakers or as guests-veterans.

Plan a candlelight tribute to mark a special anniversary of a regiment, air force group or naval association in your community.

Visit a veterans’ or seniors’ residence to talk to senior citizens about their lives and experiences during times of war.

Hold a series of readings during the Week on books by or about veterans and the wars.

Consult Veterans Affairs Canada’s Web site regularly for news and information on Veterans’ Week activities.

Did you know that......?

Winnie the Pooh dates back to the First World War when a young soldier from Winnipeg adopted a black bear cub that travelled with him overseas and was later left in the care of the London Zoo. It was at the zoo that A.A. Milne’s son, Christopher Robin, befriended Winnie who inspired the popular children’s books.

John McCrae served as a brigade surgeon during the First World War. He took with him his horse, Bonfire, and sent his young nieces and nephews letters supposedly written by Bonfire and signed with a hoof print.

During the First World War, boys aged 15 and over were put to work on farms to help meet the severe labour shortage.

During the Second World War, Canadian children gave up their toys to the war effort for scrap metal to build armoured vehicles, and Boy Scouts and Girl Guides conducted many fund-raising activities.

When the HMCS Charlottetown fell victim to a U-Boat attack during the Battle of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, seaman John Garland went below to save the ship’s mascot Screech - a dog to which he was devoted - and perished in the attempt.

Women roll up their sleeves

More than 3,000 women served as nursing sisters in the First World War. They were known as the "bluebirds" by the soldiers for whom they cared because of their blue cotton dresses and white veils. Women who worked with lumberjacks and loggers during the Second World War were called "lumberjills".

In 1942, the ferry Caribou was torpedoed by a U-Boat in Cabot Strait killing the only female member of the Newfoundland Merchant Navy, Bride Fitzpatrick, and the only Canadian Nursing Sister, Agnes Wilkie, to die due to direct enemy action during the Second World War.

In Service to the public

Brigadier Magistrate Oliver Milton Martin, a Mohawk from the Six Nations Grand River Reserve, was a veteran of the First and Second World Wars. He reached the highest military rank ever held by an Aboriginal in Canada and was the first Native to hold a judicial post in Ontario.

Georges Philias Vanier who served during the First World War, was a founding member and commander of the Royal 22nd Regiment. He became Governor General of Canada in 1959.

Lester B. Pearson, a First World War veteran, former minister of External Affairs and Canadian Prime Minister, proposed sending an international force to the Suez under the United Nations flag. In 1957, Mr. Pearson was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Gilles Lamontagne, a distinguished military officer and a prisoner of war during the Second World War, became Mayor of Québec City, Minister of two federal departments and Lieutenant-Governor of Quebec.

Some extraordinary families

Mrs. Wood watched as eleven of her twelve children left to serve in the First World War. Only two sons came back without any injuries. Known as Winnipeg’s War Mother, Mrs. Wood received King George V’s Silver Jubilee Medal (1935).

Aboriginal veteran John McLeod served overseas in the First World War. Six of his sons and one of his daughters enlisted in the Second World War. Two sons gave their lives in battle and two others were wounded. John’s wife, Mary, became the first Aboriginal woman to be named Canada’s Silver Cross Mother.

Canadian Heroes

Flying ace Billy Bishop was awarded the Victoria Cross and several other decorations for his daring exploits during the First World War. He is credited with shooting down 72 enemy planes.

During the Second World War, Tommy Prince served in what was nicknamed by the enemy "the Devil’s Brigade". In the 1950s, he served in Korea. In all, he received 11 medals and became one of the most decorated veterans of our time.

Warrant Officer Frances MacTaggart served in peacekeeping missions in Cyprus, Cambodia and the former Yugoslavia. In 1993, she pulled 15 passengers and the pilot out of a burning helicopter before it exploded. She was awarded a Medal of Bravery for her heroic actions.

Date modified:

L’affiche du jour du Souvenir 2000

Souvenons-nous

Le 11 novembre, jour du Souvenir, à 11 heures, nous faisons une pause de « 2 minutes de silence » en hommage aux hommes et aux femmes qui ont servi notre pays pour défendre la cause de la liberté.

Nous portons le coquelicot qui, après la Première Guerre mondiale, est devenu le symbole du Souvenir et rappelle le souvenir de ceux et celles qui ont donné leur vie pour la paix.

Le Monument au maintien de la paix à Ottawa commémore le service des Forces canadiennes. C’est le premier monument du genre au monde.

La Tombe du Soldat inconnu, située au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, à Ottawa, est une initiative du millénaire du Gouvernement du Canada et témoigne de l’engagement de notre pays à l’égard de la paix et de la liberté, hier, aujourd’hui et demain.

Participez aux activités

Assistez aux cérémonies au cénotaphe local ou regardez les cérémonies nationales du jour du Souvenir à la télévision.

Invitez un ancien combattant à prendre la parole à votre club, association ou école.

Organisez une veille à la chandelle pour souligner un anniversaire spécial d’un régiment, d’une association des forces aériennes ou navales de votre région.

Visitez une résidence d’anciens combattants ou de personnes âgées pour qu’ils vous racontent ce qui’ils ont vécu pendant la guerre.

Au cours de la Semaine, organisez des ateliers de lecture de livres écrits par des anciens combattants ou qui traitent des anciens combattants ou de la guerre.

Consultez le site Web d’Anciens Combattants Canada pour y trouver des nouvelles et de l’information concernant la Semaine des anciens combattants.

Saviez-vous que...?

Le personnage Winnie the Pooh remonte à la Première Guerre mondiale. Un jeune soldat de Winnipeg adopta un ourson noir qu’il amena outre-mer. Plus tard, il le laissa aux bons soins du zoo de Londres. C’est là que le fils d’A.A. Milne, Christopher Robin, se lia d’amitié avec Winnie qui lui inspira le personnage de ses livres pour enfants.

John McCrae était chirurgien pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il emmena son cheval Bonfire avec lui. McCrae écrivait des lettres à ses jeunes neveux et nièces et prétendait qu’elles avaient été écrites par Bonfire qui les signait de son sabot.

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les garçons de 15 ans et plus durent travailler dans les fermes pour pallier la forte pénurie de main-d’oeuvre.

Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, des enfants canadiens ont participé à l’effort de guerre en donnant leurs jouets pour qu’on récupère le métal afin de construire des véhicules blindés. Les éclaireurs et les guides organisaient de nombreuses activités de levée de fonds.

Le NCSM Charlottetown fut torpillé par un U-boot pendant la bataille du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Le matelot John Garland descendit sauver la mascotte du navire, Screech, un chien qu’il aimait beaucoup. Cette tentative devait lui coûter la vie.

Les femmes retroussent leurs manches

Plus de 3 000 femmes ont servi à titre d’infirmières militaires pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Les soldats qu’elles soignaient les appelaient les « merles bleus » à cause de leur tenue de coton bleu et de leur voile blanc. Les femmes qui travaillaient dans les camps forestiers lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiales étaient appelées « bûcheronnes ».

En 1942, lorsque le traversier Caribou fut coulé par un U-boot dans le détroit de Cabot, Bride Fitzpatrick devint la seule femme de la marine marchande de Terre-Neuve à être victime de l’ennemi et Agnes Wilkie, la seule infirmière militaire canadienne à avoir perdu la vie pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Au service de la population

Le brigadier-juge Oliver Milton Martin, un Mohawk de la réserve Grand River des Six-Nations, servit pendant la Première et la Seconde Guerres mondiales. Il obtint le plus haut grade militaire jamais détenu par un Autochtone au Canada et fut le premier Autochtone à détenir un poste judiciaire en Ontario.

Georges Philias Vanier servit durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il fut l’un des membres fondateurs ainsi que commandant du Royal 22e Régiment. Il devint gouverneur général du Canada en 1959.

Lester B. Pearson servit au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il fut ministre des Affaires extérieures et premier ministre du Canada. Il proposa d’envoyer une force internationale à Suez sous le drapeau des Nations Unies. Cette proposition des plus remarquables lui valut le prix Nobel de la paix en 1957. Gilles Lamontagne, un officier décoré et un prisonnier de guerre lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, fut élu maire de la ville de Québec, deux fois Ministre au fédéral et fut aussi lieutenant-gouverneur du Québec.

Des familles remarquables

Mme Wood vit partir onze de ses douze enfants à la Première Guerre mondiale. Deux d’entre eux en revinrent sains et saufs. Mme Wood fut Mère de guerre de Winnipeg et reçu la Médaille du Jubilé du roi George V (1935).

John McLeod, un ancien combattant Autochtone, servit outre-mer durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Six de ses fils et une de ses filles se sont enrôlés pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Deux de ses fils perdirent la vie et deux autres furent blessés. Son épouse, Mary, fut la première Autochtone nommée Mère de la Croix d’argent du Canada.

Héros Canadiens

L’as pilote Billy Bishop reçut la Croix de Victoria et plusieurs autres décorations militaires pour ses exploits remarquables pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il enregistra 72 victoires, c’est-à-dire qu’il a abattu 72 avions ennemis.

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Tommy Prince servit au sein d’une brigade que l’ennemi appelait « la Brigade du diable ». Au cours des années 1950, il servit en Corée. Il s’est mérité onze médailles et est l’un des anciens combattants les plus décorés de notre époque.

L’adjudant Frances MacTaggart a servi dans des missions de maintien de la paix à Chypre, au Cambodge et dans l’ancienne Yougoslavie. En 1993, elle sortit le pilote et les 15 passagers d’un hélicoptère en flammes avant qu’il n’explose. Ses actes héroïques lui ont valu une Médaille de bravoure.

Date de modification :