2002 Remembrance Day Poster

Each year Veterans Affairs Canada commissions the design of a poster to commemorate Veterans’ Week.

Over the years, the Veterans’ Week posters have been both artistic and photographic in nature. Themes have ranged from marking specific battles or events to portray the very personal side of war and peace.

Primary Photo

Brendan Matthews of Yellowknife, North West Terriories, visits the grave site of an unknown Canadian soldier in France. Brendan was one of 13 youths selected from all provinces and territories across Canada to participate in the 85th Anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge Learning Tour in April of 2002. Photo: Gail Ferris, Veterans Affairs Canada

Background Photos from left to right:

Sergeant Ernest (Smoky) Smith, VC, CM, CD, WWII veteran and Canada’s only surviving Victoria Cross recipient. This photo was taken during the unveiling of the National Aboriginal War Memorial in Ottawa. Photo: Bill Badets, Veterans Affairs Canada, June 21, 2001.

Private Joseph Meconse, 1st Battalion of Canadian Guards, photographed at the unveiling of the National Aboriginal War Memorial in Ottawa. Photo: Bill Badets, Veterans Affairs Canada, June 21, 2001.

Corporal Kim Burns, a member of the 105-member unit part of Canada’s Military Contribution to Interfet. This photo was taken while Cpl. Burns was attending the memorial service of Lieutenant John David Miller at the Adelaide River War Cemetery, Adelaide River, Australia. Photo: Sgt. Serge Peters, November 8, 1999

Date modified:

L’affiche du jour du Souvenir 2002

Chaque année, Anciens Combattants Canada passe une commande pour la conception de l’affiche de la Semaine des anciens combattants.

Au fil des ans, les affiches été aussi bien des dessins que des photos aux thèmes variés. Il y a eu des affiches portant sur une bataille en particulier et d’autres représentant le côté très personnel de la guerre et de la paix.

Photo principale :

Brendan Matthews de Yellowknife, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, visite la tombe d’un soldat canadien inconnu, en France. Brendan était au nombre des 13 jeunes provenant de chaque province et territoire au pays à participer au 85e anniversaire de la bataille de crête de Vimy. Photo : Gail Ferris, Anciens Combattants Canada.

Photos en arrière-plan, de gauche à droite :

Le sergent Ernest (Smoky) Smith, VC, CM, CD, ancien combattant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale est la seule personne décorée de la Croix de Victoria du Canada qui soit encore en vie. Cette photo fut prise pendant le dévoilement du Monument national érigé en l’honneur des anciens combattants des Premières Nations à Ottawa. Photo : Bill Badets, Anciens Combattants Canada, le 21 juin 2001.

Le soldat Joseph Meconse, du 1st Battalion of Canada des Canadian Guards, photographié lors du dévoilement du Monument national érigé en l’honneur des anciens combattants des Premières Nations à Ottawa. Photo : Bill Badets, Anciens Combattants Canada, le 21 juin 2001.

Le caporal Kim Burns, membre d’une unité de 105 soldats qui a fait partie de la contribution militaire du Canada à la Force internationale dépêchée au Timor Oriental. La photo a été prise au cimetière de guerre de Rivière Adelaide, en Australie, pendant le service commémoratif célébré en l’honneur du lieutenant John David Miller et auquel assistait le caporal Burns. Photo : sergent Serge Peters, le 8 novembre 1999.

Date de modification :