2005 Remembrance Day Poster - Honour

The Government of Canada has declared 2005 the Year of the Veteran. Throughout the year, Canadians will remember, honour, celebrate, and teach our youth about the contributions and sacrifices of our veterans.

The Honour poster is the second in a series of posters to be unveiled during the Year of the Veteran. The first poster was entitled Celebrate. The Battle of Vimy Ridge took place on April 9, 1917 and marks the first time that all four divisions of the Canadian Corps fought side-by-side. The victorious battle is one of the greatest Canadian accomplishments of the First World War and gave Canada an honoured place among the community of nations. The scene depicted on this poster demonstrates that, 88 years later, Canadian veterans are still honoured and remembered for their contribution to the First World War.

The Canadian National Vimy Memorial, designed by Canadian sculptor and architect Walter Allward and pictured on this poster, was unveiled in France in 1936. It pays tribute to all Canadians who served their country in battle or risked their lives during the First World War. Inscribed on the Memorial are the names of 11,285 Canadian soldiers who were posted "missing, presumed dead" in France during the First World War.

During times of military conflict or peace, Canada's armed forces have consistently played an important role in establishing and maintaining peace in countries around the world. During 2005, and in the years to come, Veterans Affairs Canada is committed to honouring veterans and their service in Canada and abroad.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada represented by the Minister of Veterans Affairs, 2005.

Photo Credit: DND Photograph: ISC00-964

May 22, 2000
Vimy, France
Canadian National Vimy Memorial

Photo by Sgt France Dupuis

Date modified:

L’affiche du jour du Souvenir 2005 - Rendre hommage

Le gouvernement du Canada a proclamé 2005 l’Année de l’ancien combattant. Tout au long de cette année, les Canadiens et les Canadiennes commémoreront, honoreront et célébreront les contributions et les sacrifices des anciens combattants, et en parleront aux jeunes.

L’affiche Rendre hommage est la deuxième d’une série de plusieurs qui seront dévoilées au cours de l’Année de l’ancien combattant. La première est intitulée Célébrer. La bataille de la crête de Vimy s’est déroulée le 9 avril 1917 et elle est la première à laquelle les quatre divisions du Corps d’armée canadien ont pris part côte-à-côte. La victoire qu’elles y ont remportée est non seulement l’un des plus grands exploits accomplis par les troupes canadiennes au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, mais elle a permis au Canada de se tailler une place d’honneur au sein de la communauté internationale. La scène qui illustre l’affiche nous indique que les anciens combattants canadiens sont, quatre-vingt-huit ans plus tard, encore au centre des honneurs et que la contribution qu’ils ont apportée au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale n’est pas tombée dans l’oubli.

Conçu par le sculpteur et architecte canadien Walter Allward, le Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy a été dévoilé en France en 1936 et il a été érigé en hommage aux soldats canadiens qui ont risqué leur vie au combat au nom de leur pays pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Les noms qui y sont gravés sont ceux des 11 285 soldats canadiens portés « disparus ou présumés morts » en France au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Que ce soit en temps de conflits militaires ou en temps de paix, les forces armées du Canada ont toujours joué un rôle important dans l’établissement et le maintien de la paix partout dans le monde. En 2005, et dans les années à venir, Anciens Combattants Canada s’engage à rendre hommage aux anciens combattants et à les remercier du service qu’ils accomplissent autant au Canada qu’à l’étranger.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par la ministre des Anciens Combattants, 2005.

Source : Photographie du MDN: ISC00-964

Le 22 mai 2000
Vimy (France)
Le Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy

Photo par Sgt France Dupuis

Date de modification :