2005 Remembrance Day Poster - Thank

The Government of Canada has declared 2005 the Year of the Veteran. Throughout the year, Canadians will celebrate, honour, thank and remember our Veterans, and teach our youth about the contributions and sacrifices of our Veterans.

The Thank poster is the third in a series of posters to be unveiled during 2005, the Year of the Veteran. Celebrate was the first poster to recognize Second World War Veterans and the 60th Anniversaries of the Liberation of the Netherlands and Victory in Europe (V-E Day). Honour was the second poster in the series to recognize First World War Veterans and featured the Canadian Vimy National Memorial in France. This Thank poster features Mr. Wesley Tremblay, a Korea War Veteran, with Scouting members Tristan Keyes, Louise Gilmer and Andrew Ross from Ottawa. A member of the Royal Canadian Regiment, Mr. Tremblay is currently the second vice-president of the Korea Veterans Association of Canada. He has been an active volunteer with Scouts throughout his life.

Scouting members say "thank you" to Veterans

To thank Canadian Veterans for their sacrifices, Scouts Canada, in partnership with Veterans Affairs Canada, has developed the "Invitation to Remember" program. This program aims to ensure the torch of remembrance is passed to future generations, and that the values for which Veterans fought are safeguarded. Throughout 2005, the Year of the Veteran, 150,000 "Thank You Crests" will be given to Veterans by individual Scouts. To learn about other Scouts Canada initiatives during the Year of the Veteran, visit Scouts Canada.

The Korean War 1950-1953

Canada was the third largest contributor to the multi-national force in Korea: 26,791 Canadians served in Korea between 1950-1953. Although the Korea Armistice Agreement was signed on July 27, 1953, an additional 7,000 Canadians served between the cease-fire and the end of 1955, with some Canadian troops remaining until 1957. The names of 516 Canadian war dead are inscribed in the Korea Book of Remembrance in the Peace Tower, Parliament Hill in Ottawa.

Photo credit: Dennis Drever Photography, Ottawa, Canada

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada represented by the Minister of Veterans Affairs, 2005.

Photo credit: Dennis Drever Photography, Ottawa, Canada

Date modified:

L’affiche du jour du Souvenir 2005 - Remercier

Le gouvernement du Canada a déclaré 2005 Année de l’ancien combattant. Durant cette année, les Canadiens et les Canadiennes rendront hommage aux anciens combattants en les remerciant, en célébrant leurs contributions, en se souvenant de leurs sacrifices et en en parlant aux jeunes.

L’affiche Remercier est la troisième d’une série d’affiches à être dévoilées au cours de l’Année de l’ancien combattant. La première affiche, Célébrer, porte sur les anciens combattants de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et sur deux 60e anniversaires, celui de la libération des Pays-Bas et celui de la Victoire en Europe (Jour de la Victoire en Europe). La deuxième affiche, Rendre hommage, sur laquelle on voit le magnifique Monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy, a été conçue en l’honneur des anciens combattants de la Première Guerre mondiale. Sur l’affiche Remercier, on voit monsieur Wesley Tremblay, ancien combattant de la guerre de Corée, en compagnie des scouts Tristan Keyes, Louise Gilmer et Andrew Ross d’Ottawa. Membre du Royal Canadian Regiment, M. Tremblay est présentement le second vice-président de l’Association canadienne des vétérans de la Corée. Toute sa vie, il a fait du bénévolat auprès des scouts.

Les scouts disent « Merci » aux anciens combattants

Scouts Canada, en coopération avec Anciens Combattants Canada, a mis sur pied un programme intitulé Invitation au Souvenir pour remercier les anciens combattants du Canada d’avoir fait tant de sacrifices. Ce programme vise à transmettre le flambeau du souvenir aux générations futures et à sauvegarder les valeurs que les anciens combattants ont défendues. En 2005, l’Année de l’ancien combattant, les scouts ont 150 000 écussons à remettre, en main propre, à des anciens combattants. Ce sera leur façon de leur dire « merci », un à la fois. Pour connaître les autres activités entreprises par Scouts Canada pendant l’Année de l’ancien combattant, visitez Scouts Canada.

La guerre de Corée, de 1950 à 1953

Les militaires canadiens constituaient la troisième force en importance de la force internationale en Corée. De 1950 à 1953, 26 791 Canadiens ont servi en Corée. Même si la Convention d’armistice en Corée a été signée le 27 juillet 1953, on a envoyé 7 000 Canadiens pendant la période s’étendant du cessez-le-feu à la fin de l’année 1955. Quelques troupes canadiennes sont demeurées en Corée jusqu’en 1957. Le nom des 516 victimes canadiennes de la guerre de Corée est inscrit dans le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre de Corée, lequel est exposé dans la Tour de la paix, sur la Colline du Parlement, à Ottawa.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par la ministre des Anciens Combattants, 2005.

Source : Photographie de Dennis Drever, Ottawa, Canada

Date de modification :