2007 Remembrance Day Poster

The Veterans’ Week 2007 poster features Canadian troops continuing the noble tradition of taking an active role in bringing stability and peace to parts of the world that have seen turmoil and upheaval. Canadian Forces members shown in this poster are on a training exercise before leaving for the international mission in Afghanistan. These men and women are continuing Canada’s legacy, passed on by our Veterans, of defending peace, freedom and the preservation of human values worldwide.

The soldiers featured in the background of this poster stand with great pride. They stand for all Canadians who answered the call when their country was in need. They stand as a reminder of the sacrifices and accomplishments of the brave men and women who defended the values Canadians enjoy today.

In the upper-left corner of the poster a silhouette of a lone Veteran bows his head in remembrance. He stands in sombre solitude, honouring the many Canadian Veterans who have paid the ultimate sacrifice for their country.

Canada’s New Government is dedicated to helping all Canadians, especially youth, understand and appreciate the sacrifices made by our Veterans. Each year Canadians are called to take an active role in commemoration and to ensure that the selfless dedication of Canadian Veterans is never forgotten.

Lest we forget.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Veterans Affairs, 2007

Photo credits:

Main image: Combat Camera, National Defence

Background image: Troops of "B" Company, 2nd Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry in North Korea, February 1951. National Defence / Library and Archives Canada/PA-115034

Silhouette image: Veteran Affairs Canada

Date modified:

L’affiche du jour du Souvenir 2007

L’affiche de la Semaine des anciens combattants 2007 nous montre des membres des Forces canadiennes perpétuant la noble tradition d’instaurer la paix et la stabilité dans des pays en chaos. On les voit lors d’un exercice avant de partir pour la mission internationale en Afghanistan, continuant ainsi une tradition transmise par les anciens combattants canadiens qui ont défendu la paix, la liberté et les valeurs humaines dans le monde entier.

En arrière-plan, des soldats représentent fièrement les Canadiens et les Canadiennes qui ont répondu à l’appel chaque fois que le pays a eu besoin d’aide. Ils nous rappellent les sacrifices et les réalisations des braves hommes et femmes qui ont défendu les valeurs que le Canada chérit aujourd’hui.

À la gauche de l’affiche, on voit la silhouette d’un ancien combattant recueilli à la mémoire des nombreux anciens combattants canadiens qui ont consenti l’ultime sacrifice à la défense de leur pays.

Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada entend aider les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, surtout les jeunes, à comprendre la valeur des sacrifices consentis par nos anciens combattants. Année après année, on leur demande de participer à des activités commémoratives et de veiller à ce que personne n’oublie la grande abnégation dont firent preuve les anciens combattants canadiens.

N’oublions pas.

Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Anciens Combattants, 2007

Source des photos :

Image principale : Caméra de combat, Défense nationale

Image en arrière-plan : Soldats de la Compagnie B, du 2e bataillon du Princess Patricia Canadian Light Infantry en Corée du Nord, février 1951. Défense nationale et Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-115034

Image en silhouette : Anciens Combattants Canada

Date de modification :