2009 Remembrance Day Poster

How Will You Remember?

The Veterans’ Week 2009 poster pays tribute to Canada’s service men and women who have served this nation from the First World War to current missions.

The Veteran featured in the background on the left of the poster is Harold Wishart as he salutes his fallen comrades. Mr. Wishart was a pilot in the Second World War and since then he has done so much to preserve the memory of the achievements made by Canadians in wartime and in peace. Over the years, Mr. Wishart was a very active member of the Wartime Pilots’ and Observers’ Association and the former provincial chairman of the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) Benevolent Fund.

The image seen in the background features Canadian Forces soldiers on the international mission in Afghanistan as they pause for remembrance. These men and women are continuing Canada’s legacy, passed on by our Veterans, of defending peace, freedom and the preservation of human values worldwide.

The central image features a young girl, Brianna Arsenault, whose reflections on the contributions of our Veterans and Canadian Forces members in Afghanistan are demonstrated in her creation of a poppy. The image reflects this year’s call to action to all Canadians through the phrase “How will you Remember?” which asks Canadians to think about their own remembrance and participation in remembrance activities.

Canadians are encouraged to take an active role in commemoration and to ensure that the selfless dedication of Canadian Veterans is never forgotten. Talk with Veterans and Canadian Forces members about their service to Canada, learn how serving our nation has changed their lives, and pass on what you have learned to your peers.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Veterans Affairs, 2009

Photo credits: Central image: Veterans Affairs Canada; upper right image: Combat Camera, National Defence; upper left image: Veterans Affairs Canada.

Date modified:

L’affiche du jour du Souvenir 2009

Comment te souviendras-tu?

L’affiche de la Semaine des anciens combattants de 2009 rend hommage aux militaires qui servent le Canada, et ce depuis la Première Guerre mondiale.

L’ancien combattant que l’on voit dans la partie supérieure gauche est Harold Wishart saluant ses camarades morts au combat. Monsieur Wishart était pilote durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et, depuis, il en a fait énormément pour s’assurer que les réalisations des Canadiens et des Canadiennes en temps de guerre et en temps de paix ne tombent jamais dans l’oubli. M. Wishart était un membre très dévoué de l’Association des pilotes et observateurs du temps de guerre et il est un ancien président provincial de la Caisse de bienfaisance de l’Aviation royale du Canada.

Un peu en arrière-plan, plus au centre de l’affiche, on voit des soldats des Forces canadiennes en mission en Afghanistan observant une minute de silence. Ces hommes et ces femmes poursuivent dans la lignée des anciens combattants canadiens en protégeant la paix, la liberté et les valeurs humaines dans le monde.

La jeune fille que l’on voit en avant-plan au bas de l’affiche est Brianna Arsenault. Le coquelicot qu’elle vient de terminer est sa façon de se souvenir des contributions faites par nos anciens combattants et par les membres des Forces canadiennes en Afghanistan. Cette photo illustre la question « Comment te souviendras-tu? » qu’on a lancée cette année aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes pour leur faire penser de trouver des façons de se souvenir et de participer à des activités de commémoration.

Tout le monde au pays devrait prendre part à l’élan commémoratif et ainsi s’assurer que le dévouement à autrui des militaires d’hier et d’aujourd’hui ne tombe jamais dans l’oubli. Demandez à un ancien combattant ou à un membre des Forces canadiennes de vous parler de son service et de la manière dont celui-ci a changé sa vie, et transmettez à d’autres ce que vous avez appris.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Anciens Combattants, 2009

Source des photos : Photo de la jeune fille : Anciens Combattants Canada; photo des soldats : Caméra de combat, Défense nationale; photo de M.Wishart : Anciens Combattants Canada.

Date de modification :