2013 Remembrance Day Poster

Take Time to Remember

Veterans’ Week 2013, November 5 to 11

The 2013 Veterans’ Week poster is a visual journey through time. Photos of Canadian military personnel from the First World War, the Second World War, the Korean War and modern-day missions, whose courage and valour served Canada through periods of armed conflict and peace, are layered from the background to the foreground.

Prominently placed at the top are images of current Canadian Armed Forces missions, including Afghanistan, along with more subtle images of the First World War. Other sepia-toned images of the Second World War and greyscale images of the Korean War take us further on the journey. Rich, full-colour images at the poster’s centre depict Veterans and modern-day members and missions of the Canadian Armed Forces.

A close-up image of a 60-year-old Korean War photo in the hands of a Canadian Veteran captures the eye. This focal point invites each of us to join the Veteran in remembering his Korean War experience.

The film strip imagery evokes the evolution from wartime to present-day missions.

Take the Remembrance Challenge

Your challenge is to take time to remember. By wearing a poppy, attending a local Remembrance Day ceremony and changing a Facebook profile picture to a poppy, you remember and honour Canadians who have served their country from past to present. Visit veterans.gc.ca to get interactive and share your thoughts or to find commemorative events in your community.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Veterans Affairs, 2013

Date modified:

L’affiche de la Semaine des vétérans de 2013

Prendre le temps de se souvenir

La Semaine des vétérans, du 5 au 11 novembre

L’affiche de la Semaine des vétérans 2013 est un voyage visuel à travers le temps. Interposées de l’arrière à l’avant-plan, des photos laissent voir des militaires canadiens de la Première Guerre mondiale, de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, de la guerre de Corée et de missions des temps modernes, qui ont servi avec courage et bravoure en périodes de conflit armé et de paix.

Bien visibles au haut de l’affiche, on peut voir des images de missions des Forces armées canadiennes, notamment en Afghanistan, ainsi que des images plus floues de la Première Guerre mondiale. On voit ensuite d’autres images aux tons sépia de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et d’autres encore en échelle de gris de la guerre de Corée. Les images hautes en couleurs au centre de l’affiche montrent des vétérans et des militaires, ainsi que des missions modernes des Forces armées canadiennes.

En gros plan, on aperçoit un vétéran canadien tenant entre ses mains une photo vieillie de la guerre de Corée. Cette image est une invitation à nous joindre au vétéran qui rappelle à son souvenir l’expérience vécue lors de la guerre de Corée.

La pellicule cinématographique symbolise l’évolution qui s’est opérée dans les missions du temps de guerre à celles d’aujourd’hui.

Relevez le défi du Souvenir

Votre défi est de prendre le temps de vous souvenir. En épinglant un coquelicot sur vos vêtements, en assistant à une cérémonie du jour du Souvenir et en substituant un coquelicot à votre photo sur Facebook, vous vous souvenez des vétérans qui ont servi leur pays dans le passé et de nos jours, et vous leur rendez hommage. Consultez veterans.gc.ca pour vous joindre aux échanges, partager vos sentiments ou trouver les activités commémoratives de votre collectivité.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Anciens Combattants, 2013

Date de modification :