2016 Veterans' Week Poster

Remember Them

Veterans’ Week 2016, November 5 to 11

Remembering Vimy

The 100th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge will be marked in April 2017 with special events in France and Canada. The First World War’s Battle of Vimy Ridge was fought April 9 to 12, 1917, in northern France. There, the Canadian Corps won a remarkable victory over the Germans, capturing the heavily-defended ridge that the Allies had previously attempted to take.

The 2016 Veterans’ Week poster features the Canadian National Vimy Memorial in the foreground. This beautiful and richly symbolic monument commemorates Canadians who served during the bloody First World War. Engraved on its walls are the names of the 11,285 Canadians who died in France and have no known grave. Two towering pylons sitting on a massive base represent Canada and France. The monument also incorporates 20 large stone sculptures of figures that represent ideals for which Canada fought, such as truth, justice, hope and peace.

In the background of the poster, “Canada Bereft” is featured in detail: a striking statue of a woman, her chin forlornly resting on her hand as she gazes downward brooding over the graves of her valiant dead. The statue represents those who were left behind to mourn their loss.

An historical photograph taken during the Battle of Vimy Ridge completes the poster’s design. It depicts the advance of the Canadian Corps’ 29th (Vancouver) Battalion across No Man’s Land and through the German barbed wire at Vimy. In total, some 3,600 Canadians lost their lives and over 7,000 more were wounded.

2017 marks the 150th anniversary of Confederation. It is very fitting that this same year includes the centenary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge, where many suggest that Canada came of age as a nation.

Photo credits:
Canadian National Vimy Memorial and Canada Bereft images: Veterans Affairs Canada
Battlefield scene: Library and Archives Canada PA-001086

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Veterans Affairs, 2016.

Date modified:

L’affiche de la Semaine des vétérans 2016

Ne les oubliez pas

La Semaine des vétérans 2016, du 5 au 11 novembre

Se souvenir de Vimy

Le 100e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy sera souligné en avril 2017 à l’occasion d’événements spéciaux tenus en France et au Canada. La bataille de la crête de Vimy a fait rage du 9 au 12 avril 1917 dans le nord de la France durant la Première Guerre mondiale. À cet endroit même, le Corps canadien a remporté une victoire remarquable sur les Allemands, en prenant d’assaut la crête solidement défendue que les Alliés avaient tentée de prendre précédemment.

L’affiche de la Semaine des vétérans 2016 présente en premier plan le Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy. Ce magnifique monument hautement symbolique commémore les Canadiens qui ont servi durant la sanglante Première Guerre mondiale. Sur ses murs sont gravés les noms des 11 285 Canadiens qui sont morts en France et n’ont pas de tombe connue. Les deux tours qui se dressent à partir de la base massive représentent le Canada et la France. Le monument comprend également 20 grandes sculptures en pierre de figures qui incarnent les idéaux pour lesquels le Canada s’est battu, notamment la vérité, la justice, l’espoir et la paix.

L’arrière-plan de l’affiche présente en détail le « Canada en deuil ». Il s’agit de la statue saisissante d’une femme songeuse, le menton appuyé sur sa main, les yeux baissés vers le sol surplombant le champ de bataille où de vaillants soldats sont tombés au combat. La statue représente ceux laissés derrière qui pleurent la perte de ces êtres chers.

Une photographie historique prise durant la bataille de la crête de Vimy complète la conception de l’affiche. La photo illustre l’avancée du 29e bataillon du Corps d’armée canadien (Vancouver) dans le no man’s land et à travers les fils barbelés à Vimy. Au total, près de 3 600 Canadiens ont perdu la vie et plus de 7 000 autres ont été blessés.

L’année 2017 marque le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération. Il est tout à fait approprié que cette même année comprenne la célébration du centenaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy, qui est vue par un bon nombre de gens comme le moment où le Canada est vraiment devenu une nation.

Références photographiques :
Images du Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy et du Canada en deuil : Anciens Combattants Canada
Scène du champ de bataille : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada PA-001086

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Anciens Combattants, 2016.

Date de modification :