Profiles of Courage

William Hall

William Hall, VC.

William Hall, who served on the British Royal Navy Ship HMS Shannon, was the first Black person—and the first Nova Scotian—to receive the Victoria Cross (VC). The VC is a very rare honour which is considered to be the British Empire’s highest award for military valour. Hall earned his VC for exceptional valour during the siege of Lucknow, India, in 1857. He was one of only two gunners left alive and at their post, but their actions allowed the soldiers of the British garrison to escape the siege.

More information

Tommy Prince

Tommy Prince

Sergeant Tommy Prince is one of Canada’s most decorated First Nations soldiers. During the Second World War, he performed astonishing acts of bravery during missions in Italy and France. Sergeant Prince was subsequently summoned to Buckingham palace, where King George VI decorated him with both the Military Medal and, on behalf of the president of the United States, the Silver Star with ribbon. Tommy Prince was one of only 59 Canadians who were awarded the Silver Star during the Second World War. Only three of this group also possessed the Military Medal.

More information

John McCrae

John McCrae

While serving as a doctor in the trenches of the First World War, Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae wrote the poem In Flanders Fields, considered to be the most popular and hauntingly beautiful poems of that era.

In part because of the poem’s popularity, the poppy was adopted as the Flower of Remembrance for the war dead of Britain, France, the United States, Canada and other Commonwealth countries.

The symbolic poppy and John McCrae’s poems are still linked and the voices of those who have died in war continue to be heard each Remembrance Day.

More information

Elsie MacGill

Elsie MacGill

Elsie MacGill stands out among the hundreds of thousands of women who answered the call to work in industry during the Second World War.

MacGill was the first woman to receive an Electrical Engineering degree in Canada and the first female aircraft designer in the world. In 1942, the aeronautical engineer took on the important job of supervising the Canadian production of Hawker Hurricane fighter planes at the Canadian Car and Foundry Company in Fort William, Ontario. In the process, she would win acclaim for her trail blazing contributions and earn the nickname “Queen of the Hurricanes.”

Elsie MacGill stands out among the hundreds of thousands of women who answered the call to work in industry during the Second World War.

More information

Andrew Mynarski

Andrew Mynarski

A native of Winnipeg, Pilot Officer Andrew Mynarski earned the military’s highest honour for bravery in the Second World War. While on a mission over France, his aircraft came under fire and the pilot ordered the crew to bail out. In an extraordinary act of heroism, Mynarski remained onboard to try to save his friend, Pat Brophy, who was trapped. Unable to release Brophy after numerous attempts, Mynarski reluctantly bailed out of the plane with his clothes and parachute on fire. While Mynarski would succumb to his injuries, Pat Brophy miraculously survived. Andrew Mynarski was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously for his effort to save another’s life.

More information

Mark Isfeld

Master-Corporal Mark “Izzy” Isfeld of British Columbia worked clearing landmines. He was also known for putting smiles on children’s faces in war-torn countries by passing out little handmade dolls made by his mother. Sadly, Mark was killed in a landmine explosion in Croatia in 1994. After his death, his parents, Carol and Brian, worked to continue his legacy. They made dolls for Canadian Armed Forces members to help them spread a little comfort around the world.

More information

Date modified:

Portraits d’hommes courageux

Alexander Decoteau

Alexander Decoteau est né en 1887 dans la Première Nation Red Pheasant en Saskatchewan. Il est devenu le premier policier autochtone du pays lorsqu’il s’est enrôlé dans le corps de police d’Edmonton en 1909. Coureur de longue distance remarquable, il a également participé à la course du 5 000 m aux Olympiques de Stockholm en 1912. Alexander Decoteau a ensuite servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, mais a perdu la vie le 30 octobre 1917, au cours de la brutale bataille de Passchendaele.

Plus d’information

William Hall

William Hall, VC.

William Hall, qui a servi sur le navire NSM Shannon, de la Marine royale britannique, fut le premier Noir – et le premier Néo Écossais – à recevoir la Croix de Victoria (VC). La VC, un honneur très rare, est considérée comme la plus haute distinction de l’Empire britannique pour bravoure militaire. Hall a reçu la VC pour un acte de bravoure exceptionnel durant le siège de Lucknow, en Inde, en 1857. Il fut l’un des deux seuls canoniers à survivre et à rester à leur poste, mais leurs exploits ont permis aux soldats de la garnison britannique assiégée de s’échapper.

Plus d’information

Tommy Prince

Tommy Prince

Le sergent Tommy Prince est l’un des soldats canadiens des Premières nations à avoir reçu le plus grand nombre de décorations. Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il a accompli des actes de bravoure audacieux au cours de missions en Italie et en France. Le sergent Prince a plus tard été mandaté au palais de Buckingham, où le roi George VI le décora de la Médaille militaire et, au nom du président des États Unis, de la Silver Star avec ruban. Tommy Prince fut l’un des 59 Canadiens à qui l’on décerna la Silver Star au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Seuls trois membres de ce groupe reçurent aussi la Médaille militaire.

Plus d’information

John McCrae

John McCrae

Durant son service comme médecin dans les tranchées lors de la Première Guerre mondiale, le lieutenant-colonel John McCrae a écrit le poème In Flanders Fields, qui est considéré comme le poème le plus populaire et le plus envoûtant de cette époque.

Vu la popularité du poème, on a adopté le coquelicot comme fleur du Souvenir aux morts de guerre de la Grande-Bretagne, au Canada, en France, aux États-Unis et dans d’autres pays du Commonwealth.

Le coquelicot symbolique et le poème de John McCrae sont toujours liés et les voix des morts continuent de se faire entendre lors des cérémonies du jour du Souvenir.

Plus d’information

Elsie MacGill

Elsie MacGill

Elsie MacGill se démarque parmi les centaines de milliers de femmes qui ont répondu à l’appel pour travailler dans l’industrie pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Elsie MacGill a été la première femme à recevoir un baccalauréat en génie électrique au Canada et la première femme au monde à concevoir un avion. En 1942, l’ingénieure en aéronautique accepte l’importante tâche de superviser la production canadienne des avions de combat Hawker Hurricane à la Canadian Car and Foundry Company, à Fort William, en Ontario. Ce faisant, elle a été reconnue pour ses contributions avant gardistes, ce qui lui a valu le surnom de « Reine des Hurricanes ».

Plus d’information

Andrew Mynarski

Andrew Mynarski

Originaire de Winnipeg, le sous-lieutenant d’aviation Andrew Mynarski a reçu la plus haute distinction militaire pour acte de bravoure de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Au cours d’une mission au dessus de la France, son avion est attaqué et prend feu. Le pilote ordonne à l’équipage d’abandonner l’appareil. Dans un acte d’héroïsme extraordinaire, Mynarski reste à bord pour essayer de sauver la vie de son ami, Pat Brophy, qui est coincé. Incapable de dégager Brophy après de nombreuses tentatives, Mynarski abandonne l’appareil à regret; son parachute et ses vêtements sont en feu. Alors que Mynarski a succombé à ses blessures, Pat Brophy a survécu de façon miraculeuse. Andrew Mynarski a été décoré de la Croix de Victoria à titre posthume pour les efforts qu’il a déployés pour essayer de sauver la vie d’une autre personne.

Plus d’information

Mark Isfeld

Le caporal-chef Mark « Izzy » Isfeld, de la Colombie-Britannique, travaillait au déminage. Il était également connu pour les sourires qu’il suscitait chez les enfants des pays ravagés par la guerre en distribuant des petites poupées fabriquées par sa mère. Malheureusement, Mark a été tué dans une explosion de mine antipersonnel en Croatie, en 1994. Après son décès, ses parents, Carol et Brian, ont perpétué sa tradition. Ils ont continué de fabriquer des poupées que les membres des Forces armées canadiennes utilisent pour apporter un peu de réconfort dans le monde.

Plus d’information

Date de modification :