Language selection

Friend or Foe

Transcript

Anchor: For many years before the war, the country had been under Japanese colonial rule but Korea was one, united. Differences in ideology had been born after the country's division but there is essentially no physical difference between a North Korean and a South Korean. As you may imagine, this makes things especially difficult and dangerous for foreign combatants who can hardly tell the difference between friend and foe.

Marcel Joanisse: There were a lot of young Koreans who helped soldiers.
(Photo of two Korean children smiling in front of a military tent)

Arthur St-Pierre: And it was all young people—14- or 15-year-olds or even younger.
(Photo of a Korean child smiling in front of a military camp)

Robert Donald Dunham: We had Korean houseboy look after our tent all the while we were there pretty well. His family was down in Seoul. We all paid him a little bit every week. He'd take his money and go home and look after his family.
(Photo of a Korean child sitting on the hood of a military jeep with two soldiers during winter)

Yvan Paquin: I think they gave them, I don't know how many Wons… A couple of bucks a day. A buck a day for them was total euphoria, so they clamoured to work for us.

Arthur St-Pierre: They did our laundry...

Yvan Paquin: Dug holes in the back, carried in rations and brought jerry cans of water.

Marcel Joanisse: I had a Korean, but he was killed while he was with me, unfortunately. He was a young guy, about 15 or 16 years old. He was being fed by the Army, and he was the one who carried the roll of wire.

Yvan Paquin: We didn't overload them with work. We asked them to do what they could under the circumstances, and they did it well.
(Photo of four Koreans digging a ditch on the side of a road, under the supervision of a soldier)

Arthur St-Pierre: It was good for them, because they got food. It may not look like much, but food was already a lot.

Yvan Paquin: That's how a few illegals who worked against us might have slipped in. There were some plans we made that the enemy had been warned about, and we assumed it wasn't our guys who told them.

William Kane: When you'd see somebody who was old enough to be in the army or in something connected with the army, but he wasn't, you'd wonder why. You'd wonder why he wasn't engaged in something to support the effort? He immediately became a suspect, even if he was a refugee. The others, what they called "line crossers". These were the people who could do us harm. They crossed the lines as refugees and then they were in a position to send information to the other side.
(Footage of a Korean walking near a wharf, carrying a load attached to a wooden pole sitting on his shoulders)
(Footage of Korean teenagers wearing North American-style pants and shirts. On the side, two female teenagers wear kimonos)
(Footage of a Korean carrying a heavy load on his back)

Gerald Edward Gowing: If you're North Korean, South Korean, there's no difference in them. Some of the South Koreans, what we thought was South Koreans, were soldiers by, farmers by day, soldiers by night, but they were North Koreans. You're walking up the road. All of a sudden a guy bend over and ‘pfft'!
(Photo of Koreans walking in a rice paddy, carrying bags on their heads or shoulders)

Edward Patrick Taylor: The way I looked and the rest of us looked at it you couldn't very well trust any of them, because the enemy used to walk through the villages dressed the same as the people down the village or from the hillside and stuff like that, so you just had to be careful because you didn't know who was the enemy or who was the friend, see, is the whole thing.
(Footage of Koreans walking in a muddy river bed)
(Footage of Koreans standing near metal barrels in a village)


Did you know ...

Human waste was the most common fertilizer on the rice paddies in Korea.

See more facts
Date modified:

Ami ou ennemi

Transcription

Présentatrice : Plusieurs années avant la guerre, la Corée avait été sous la domination coloniale du Japon, mais le peuple coréen alors ne formait qu'un. Si peu à peu des différences idéologiques étaient apparues dans le pays à la suite de sa division, il n'y a aucune différence physique entre un Coréen du nord et un Coréen du sud. Comme on peut l'imaginer, il n'était pas facile pour les soldats étrangers de distinguer les Coréens amis des Coréens ennemis.

Marcel Joanisse : Il y en avait beaucoup des jeunes Coréens qui aidaient aux soldats.
(Photo de deux enfants coréens souriant devant une tente militaire)

Arthur St-Pierre : Pis c'était tout du jeune monde, 14, 15 ans, même plus jeune que ça.
(Photo d’un jeune coréen souriant devant un campement militaire)

Robert Donald Dunham : Il y avait un jeune Coréen qui s'occupait de notre tente. Sa famille vivait à Séoul. On lui donnait tous un peu d'argent chaque semaine. Il prenait son argent, et il rentrait chez lui prendre soin de sa famille.
(Photo d’une jeune coréen assis sur le capot d’un jeep militaire, avec 2 soldats à ses côtés, en hiver)

Yvan Paquin : J'pense qu'ils leurs donnaient... bof... j'sais pas, des Wons... j'sais pas, une couple de piastres par jour. Ce qui était déjà énorme. Une piastre par jour pour eux autres c'était déjà l'euphorie totale fait qu'ils se garrochaient pour travailler pour nous autres.

Arthur St-Pierre : Ils travaillaient à nettoyer notre linge...

Yvan Paquin : Creuser des trous en arrière, monter les rations, monter les jerricanes à l'eau.

Marcel Joanisse : Moi j'avais un Coréen. Malheureusement, il s'est fait tuer avec moi. C'était un jeune d'à peu près 16 ans, 15 ou 16 ans. Il se faisait nourrir par l'armée pis c'est lui qui portait le rouleau de fil.

Yvan Paquin : On les a pas, comment je dirais, surtaxés de travail. On leur a demandé le possible dans la mesure, pis y'ont bien répondu à ce qu'on leur a demandé.
(Photo de quatre Coréens creusant un fossé en bordure d’une route supervisés par un soldat)

Arthur St-Pierre : C'était bon pour eux, y'avaient de la nourriture. Vous savez, ça prend pas grand chose, mais c'était déjà beaucoup.

Yvan Paquin : C'est là que y'a peut-être pu se glisser les illégaux qui ont travaillé contre nous. Parce que y'a des affaires qu'on a fait qui se sont su d'avance pis on présume que c'est pas nos gars à nous autres qui leur ont dit.

William Kane : Pour une raison ou une autre, tu vois que quelqu'un a juste l'âge pour être dans le militaire, pour être dans quelque chose qui assiste du côté militaire pis il l'est pas. Pourquoi ? Comment ça se fait qu'y'est pas engagé dans quelque chose pour supporter le programme ? Il devient suspect tout de suite, quand même qu'il est réfugié. Les autres, ce qu'ils appellent en anglais line crossers, ça veut dire du monde qui pourrait nous faire tort. Ils passent dans les lignes comme réfugiés pis là, ils sont permis, ils sont en place pour envoyer des informations sur l'autre bord.
(Vidéo d’un Coréen marchant près d’un quai portant deux paquets en équilibre sur un bout de bois reposant sur ses épaules)
(Vidéo d’adolescents coréens portant des pantalons et une chemise de style nord-américain. Sur les côté, deux adolescentes en kimono)
(Vidéo d’un Coréen transportant une lourde charge sur son dos)

Gerald Edward Gowing : Il n'y avait pas de différence entre un Nord-Coréen et un Sud-Coréen. Une partie de ce qu'on croyait être des Sud-Coréens, étaient des cultivateurs le jour et des soldats le soir, mais en fait, ils étaient des Nord-Coréens. Tu marches sur la route… tout à coup, un type se penche en avant et « pfft! ».
(Photo de Coréens marchant dans une rizière, transportant des sacs sur leur tête ou leurs épaules)

Edward Patrick Taylor : On ne pouvait faire confiance à aucun d'eux, parce que l'ennemi traversait les villages habillé comme les gens du village ou des collines environnantes. Il fallait être prudent parce qu'on ne savait jamais si on avait affaire, à un ami ou à un ennemi. Vous voyez, tout le problème était là.
(Vidéo de Coréens marchant dans le lit boueux d’une rivière)
(Vidéo de Coréens dans un village, près de barils de métal)


Saviez-vous ...

La Corée du Nord n’a aucun sous-marin.

Autres renseignements
Date de modification :