The 1942 Dieppe Raid

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats.
PDF Version

Introduction

The Raid on Dieppe, France, on August 19, 1942, was a pivotal moment in the Second World War. With virtually all of continental Europe under German occupation, the Allied forces faced a well-entrenched enemy. Some method had to be found to create a foothold on the continent, and the Raid on Dieppe offered invaluable lessons for the successful D-Day invasion in 1944, saving countless lives in that momentous offensive.

Canadians made up the great majority of the attackers in the raid. Nearly 5,000 of the 6,100 troops were Canadians. The remaining troops consisted of approximately 1,000 British Commandos and 50 American Rangers. The raid was supported by eight Allied destroyers and 74 Allied air squadrons, eight belonging to the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF). Major-General J.H. Roberts, Commander of the 2nd Canadian Division, was Military Force Commander, with Captain J. Hughes-Hallett, Royal Navy (RN) as Naval Force Commander and Air Vice-Marshal T.L. Leigh-Mallory as Air Force Commander.

Although extremely valuable lessons were learned in the Raid on Dieppe, a steep price was paid. Of the 4,963 Canadians who embarked for the operation, only 2,210 returned to England, and many of these were wounded. There were 3,367 casualties, including 1,946 prisoners of war; 916 Canadians lost their lives.

Looking for Solutions

The Allied situation in the spring of 1942 was grim. The Germans had penetrated deep into Russia, the British Eighth Army in North Africa had been forced back into Egypt, and, in Western Europe, the Allied forces had been pushed across the English Channel to Britain.

At this point the Allied forces weren't strong enough to mount "Operation Overlord," the full-scale invasion of Western Europe. Instead, the Allies decided to mount a major raid on the French port of Dieppe. It was designed to test new equipment, and gain the experience and knowledge necessary for planning a great amphibious assault that would one day be necessary to defeat Germany. Also, after years of training in Britain, some Canadian politicians and generals were anxious for Canadian troops to experience battle.

To achieve these goals, plans were made for a large-scale raid to take place in July 1942, called "Operation Rutter." Canadians would provide the main assault force, and, by May 20, troops of the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division were on the Isle of Wight, in the English Channel, training intensively in amphibious operations. Poor weather in July, however, prevented them from launching Operation Rutter. Many involved in the planning wanted to abandon the raid. Despite the debate, the operation was revived and given the new code name "Jubilee." The port of Dieppe on the French coast remained the objective.

The Raid on Dieppe took place on the morning of August 19, 1942. The forces attacked at five different points on a front roughly 16 kilometres long. Four simultaneous flank attacks were to go in just before dawn, followed half an hour later by the main attack on the town of Dieppe itself. Canadians were the force for the frontal attack on Dieppe, and also went in at gaps in the cliffs at Pourville, four kilometres to the west, and at Puys to the east. British commandos were assigned to destroy the coastal batteries at Berneval on the eastern flank, and at Varengeville in the west.

The Eastern Flank

As the assault force approached the coast of France in the early hours of August 19, the landing craft of the eastern sector unexpectedly encountered a small German convoy. There was a sharp, violent, sea fight, and that noise alerted the German coastal defences, particularly at Berneval and Puys. With the Germans ready to man their defences, the element of surprise was lost. The crafts carrying No. 3 Commando were scattered, and most of the unit never reached shore. Those who did were quickly overwhelmed. One small party of 20 commandos managed to get within 180 metres of the German battery. Their accurate sniping prevented the German guns from firing on the assault ships for two-and-a-half vital hours before they were safely evacuated.

At Puys, the Royal Regiment of Canada also suffered unexpected difficulties. The beach was extremely narrow, and was commanded by lofty cliffs where German soldiers were strategically placed. To be successful, the attackers needed surprise and darkness; they got neither. The naval landing was delayed, and as the Royal Regiment of Canada leapt ashore in the dawning light, they met violent machine-gun fire from the fully-alerted German soldiers. Only a few men were able to get over the heavily-wired seawall at the head of the beach; those who did were unable to get back. The rest of the troops, together with three platoons of reinforcements from the Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada, were pinned on the beach by mortar and machine-gun fire, and were later forced to surrender. It was impossible to evacuate them because of the German fire. Of those who landed, 200 were killed and 20 died later of their wounds; the rest were taken prisoner. It was the heaviest toll suffered by a Canadian battalion in a single day during the entire war. Also, the failure to clear the eastern headland allowed the Germans to defend the Dieppe beaches with firepower from both sides, and nullify the main frontal attack.

The Western Flank

The forces in the western sector attacked with some degree of surprise. In contrast to the misfortune encountered by the No. 3 Commandos on the east flank, the No. 4 Commando operation was completely successful. The units landed as planned and successfully destroyed the guns in the battery near Varengeville, and then withdrew safely.

At Pourville the Canadians surprised the enemy. Initial opposition was light, as the South Saskatchewan Regiment and Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada assaulted the beaches. Resistance intensified as the Saskatchewans, supported by Camerons, crossed the River Scie. After heavy fighting, they were stopped well short of the town of Dieppe. The main force of the Camerons, meanwhile, pushed on towards their objective, an inland airfield, and advanced three kilometres before they were forced to halt as well. Both regiments then attempted to withdraw.

The South Saskatchewan Regiment and Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada suffered heavy losses during the withdrawal. The enemy fired fiercely upon the beach from dominating positions east of Pourville, and also from the high ground to the west. The landing craft, however, came in through the storm of fire with self-sacrificing bravery and, supported by a courageous rearguard, the majority of both units successfully re-embarked, though many of the men were wounded. The rearguard itself could not be evacuated. They surrendered after they ran out of ammunition and further evacuation was impossible.

The Main Attack

The main attack was made across the pebble beach in front of Dieppe. It was timed to take place a half-hour later than the assault on its flanks. The German troops, concealed in clifftop positions and in buildings overlooking the promenade, were well prepared for the Canadians. As the men of the Essex Scottish Regiment assaulted the open eastern section, the enemy swept the beach with machine-gun fire. All attempts to breach the seawall were beaten back with terrible casualties. When one small platoon managed to infiltrate the town, a message was sent back to Headquarters offshore which misleadingly led General Roberts to believe that the Essex Scottish had established themselves in the town. To support them, the reserve battalion Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal was sent in. Like their comrades who had landed earlier, they found themselves pinned down on the beach and exposed to intense enemy fire.

The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry landed at the west end of the promenade opposite a large isolated casino. They were able to clear this strongly-held building and the nearby pillboxes and enter the town. Some men of the battalion crossed the bullet-swept boulevard and moved into the town, where they engaged in vicious street fighting.

The Calgary Regiment also encountered unexpected obstacles. Although they were supposed to land immediately after an intense air and naval bombardment, they were put ashore ten to fifteen minutes late. This left the infantry without support during the first critical minutes of the attack. Then, as the tanks came ashore, they met an inferno of fire and were brought to a halt. They were stopped not just by enemy guns, but also by the pebble beach and a seawall. The tanks which managed to overcome the seawall found their way blocked by concrete obstacles that sealed off the narrow streets. Still, the immobilized tanks continued to fight, supporting the infantry and contributing greatly to the withdrawal of many of the soldiers. The tank crews themselves became prisoners of war (POWs) or died in battle.

The last troops to land were part of the Royal Marine "A" Commando, which shared the terrible fate of the Canadians. They suffered heavy losses without being able to accomplish their mission.

The raid also produced a tremendous air battle. While the Allied air forces were able to provide protection for the ships off Dieppe from the Luftwaffe (the German air force), the cost was high. The Royal Air Force lost 106 aircraft, the highest single-day total of the war. The Royal Canadian Air Force lost 13 aircraft.

Lessons Learned

By early afternoon, August 19, 1942, Operation Jubilee was over. Debate over the merit of the raid continues to the present day. Some believe that it was a useless slaughter, others maintain that is was necessary for the success of the invasion of the continent two years later on D-Day. Without question, the Raid on Dieppe was studied carefully in planning later attacks against the enemy-held coast of France. There were improvements in the technique, fire support and tactics, which reduced D-Day casualties to an unexpected minimum. The lessons learned at Dieppe were instrumental in saving countless lives on June 6, 1944.

Victoria Cross Recipients

While individual acts of courage occur frequently during war, only a few are seen and recorded. They stand out as examples for all to admire and respect.

Two Canadians were awarded the Victoria Cross, the British Commonwealth's highest military decoration for bravery, for their actions during the Raid on Dieppe:

Charles Cecil Ingersoll Merritt

Following the landing at Pourville, the South Saskatchewan Regiment made their way toward the town of Dieppe. As they struggled to cross the bridge over the River Scie, Lieutenant-Colonel Cecil Merritt came forward and took charge himself. Walking calmly into the storm of fire on the bridge, he led party after party across by the sheer force of his example. Other men forded or swam the river. In spite of their valiant efforts, the advance was halted and they were forced to withdraw. Again, Lt.-Col. Merritt displayed outstanding courage. Although twice wounded, he commanded a vigorous rearguard action that permitted the majority of the units to successfully re-embark. The rearguard itself could not be rescued, and Lt.-Col. Merritt and his men became prisoners of war.

John Weir Foote

The Reverend John W. Foote was the first member of the Canadian Chaplain Services to be awarded the Victoria Cross. Calmly, through eight hours of gruelling battle, Reverend Foote, Chaplain of the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, continually exposed himself to very intense fire to help move the injured to an aid post, saving many lives through his brave efforts. Then, at the end of this ordeal, he jumped from the landing craft that would have taken him to safety. He walked courageously into the German positions to be taken prisoner, so he could minister to his fellow Canadians who were now POWs.

We Remember

The Dieppe Canadian War Cemetery is located approximately five kilometres south of Dieppe, in the town of Hautôt-sur-Mer. The hillside cemetery is unique in that its headstones have been placed back to back in long double rows. The Germans buried these war dead, the same way they buried their own. After they liberated the region, the Allies chose not to disturb the graves. Today, the cemetery is maintained by the Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Of the 944 members of the British and Allied Armed Forces buried at Dieppe, 707 are Canadian, most victims of the Raid on Dieppe. Some of the captured, wounded raiders died in hospital in Rouen, 58 kilometres away, and 37 are buried in that city. Casualties of the raid who later died in Britain are buried mainly in Brookwood Military Cemetery in Surrey, England.

The cemetery also contains the remains of one woman, Mary Janet Climpson, a British Salvation Army, Auxiliary Service Officer, who was killed two years earlier in May 1940.

Canadians "missing in action" in the Dieppe operation are commemorated on two memorials in England: members of the Army on the Brookwood Memorial and members of the RCAF on the Runnymede Memorial.

Regimental memorials erected by the survivors and their comrades stand today at all the landing places. On the beaches of Dieppe, Puys and Pourville, memorials pay tribute to members of the Essex Scottish Regiment, the Royal Regiment of Canada, the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, the Calgary Regiment, the South Saskatchewan Regiment and the Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada, who gave their lives in the raid.

Following the war, the town of Dieppe created a small park at the western end of the esplanade, where it has a memorial of its own. Standing in the centre of Square du Canada (Canada Square), the Dieppe-Canada Monument is a testimony to the long and warm association between Canadians and the people of the region, the Normans, which has existed since Samuel de Champlain sailed to found New France. The names of people and events which have linked Canada and Normandy over the centuries have been recorded on the monument. Mounted on the wall behind it is a plaque that commemorates the Raid on Dieppe:

On the 19th of August 1942
on the beaches of Dieppe
our Canadian cousins
marked with their blood
the road to our final liberation
foretelling thus their victorious return
on September 1, 1944. (translation)

Casualties

Canadian Army Units
Canadian Army Fatal Casualties
Headquarters and Miscellaneous Detachments 5
14th Army Tank Regiment (The Calgary Regiment (Tank)) 13
Royal Canadian Artillery 13
Corps of Royal Canadian Engineers 27
Royal Canadian Corps of Signals 9
The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada 4
The Royal Regiment of Canada 227
The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry (Wentworth Regiment) 197
Les Fusiliers Mont Royal 119
The Essex Scottish Regiment 121
The South Saskatchewan Regiment 84
The Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada 76
The Calgary Highlanders 0
The Toronto Scottish Regiment (MG) 1
Royal Canadian Army Service Corps 1
Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps 4
Royal Canadian Ordnance Corps 2
Canadian Provost Corps 1
Canadian Intelligence Corps 3
Total 907
Royal Canadian Navy Units
Royal Canadian Navy Fatal Casualties
Total 4
Royal Canadian Air Force Squadrons
Royal Canadian Air Force Fatal Casualties
400 Army Cooperation Squadron 0
401 Fighter Squadron 1
402 Fighter Squadron 0
403 Fighter Squadron 3
411 Fighter Squadron 0
412 Fighter Squadron 1
414 Army Cooperation Squadron 0
416 Fighter Squadron 0
418 Intruder Squadron (two aircraft) 0
Total 5
Total Dieppe Raid Casualties
Dieppe Raid Fatal Casualties
Total 916

Other Forces

In addition to the 4,963 Canadian troops taking part in the raid, there were 1,075 British troops (52 fatalities), 50 of the 1st U.S. Ranger Battalion (one fatality) and 20 of the No. 10 (Inter-Allied) Commando.

Air and sea support was provided mainly by British forces. Their casualties were: Royal Navy—75 killed or died of wounds and 269 missing or prisoners, and Royal Air Force—62 fatalities.

Remembering Their Sacrifice

The Canadians who fought in the Raid on Dieppe achieved and sacrificed much in their efforts to help bring peace and freedom to the people of Europe. Their task was a difficult and costly one, but their effort was not in vain. These combattants were among the more than one million men and women who served in Canada's Armed Forces during the Second World War. More than 42,000 Canadians gave their lives in the war. Canada and the world recognize the sacrifices and achievements of all Canadians, like those who fought in the Raid on Dieppe, who accomplished so much and left a lasting legacy of peace.

Map of Dieppe

Map showing the units that came ashore in occupied France during the Dieppe Raid of August 19, 1942. The South Saskatchewan Regiment and the Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders landed on "Green Beach" at Pourville. The Royal Regiment of Canada and the Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) landed on "Blue Beach" at Puys. The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, Essex Scottish, Fusiliers Mont-Royal, Royal Marine "A" Commando, 14th Canadian Army Tank Regiment (Calgary Regiment), Calgary Highlanders and Toronto Scottish Regiment landed on "Red Beach" and "White Beach" at Dieppe.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada represented by the Minister of Veterans Affairs, 2005.
Catalogue No. V32-29/2005 ISBN 0-662-68723-X

Date modified:

Le raid sur Dieppe, 1942

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande.
Version PDF

Introduction

Le raid sur Dieppe en France le 19 août 1942, marque un moment déterminant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Alors que la presque totalité de l'Europe continentale était sous contrôle des Allemands, les forces alliées faisaient face à un ennemi solidement retranché. Elles devaient trouver un moyen de prendre pied sur le continent, et elles tirèrent du débarquement à Dieppe des leçons inestimables pour le succès de l'invasion du jour J en 1944, qui permirent de sauver un nombre incalculable de vies lors de cette offensive capitale.

La grande majorité des attaquants lors du raid sont des Canadiens. En tout, 6 100 hommes y participent, dont 5 000 Canadiens, les autres étant environ 1 000 commandos britanniques et 50 American Rangers. Les forces d'appui comprennent huit destroyers de la Marine royale et 74 escadrilles aériennes alliées, dont huit appartiennent à l'Aviation royale du Canada. Le major général J.H. Roberts, officier général commandant de la 2e Division canadienne, est nommé chef de l'armée; le commandant J. Hughes-Hallett, de la Marine royale, chef des forces navales et le vice-maréchal de l'air T.L. Leigh-Mallory, chef des forces aériennes.

Il ne fait aucun doute que l'on a pu tirer des leçons précieuses de ce terrible matin du 19 août 1942, mais à quel prix! Sur les 4 963 Canadiens qui se sont embarqués pour cette opération, seuls 2 210 sont revenus en Angleterre, et bon nombre d'entre eux étaient blessés. Les pertes s'élevaient à 3 367, dont 1 946 prisonniers de guerre; 916 Canadiens ont donné leur vie.

À la recherche de solutions

Au printemps de 1942, la situation des Alliés était peu rassurante. Les Allemands avaient pénétré profondément en Russie, la 8e Armée britannique en Afrique du Nord avait dû se replier sur l'Égypte et en Europe de l'Ouest, les forces alliées avaient été repoussées de l'autre côté de la Manche en Grande-Bretagne.

À ce moment, les Alliés ne disposaient pas de forces suffisantes pour entreprendre l'opération Overlord, la grande invasion de l'Europe de l'Ouest. Il fut plutôt convenu d'organiser un raid contre le port français de Dieppe. Il s'agissait d'une occasion de mettre à l'essai un nouveau matériel et de fournir l'expérience et les connaissances nécessaires pour préparer une grande attaque amphibie qui serait déployée un jour pour défaire les Allemands. Puisque les troupes s'entraînaient depuis quelques années en Grande-Bretagne, certains politiciens et généraux canadiens avaient hâte de voir les soldats canadiens en action.

Afin d'atteindre les objectifs fixés, on prépara donc les plans d'un raid à grande échelle qui aurait lieu en juillet 1942. Ce raid porterait le nom de code l'Opération Rutter. Le Canada fournirait le gros des troupes d'attaque. Le 20 mai, les troupes de la 2e Division d'infanterie canadienne entreprennent à l'île de Wight un entraînement intensif en vue des opérations amphibies. Toutefois, le mauvais temps en juillet empêcha de déclencher le raid alors que certains soutenaient qu'il fallait y renoncer. Cependant, au bout de quelques semaines, le plan d'action est repris sous le nom de code Jubilee. L'objectif demeure toujours le port de Dieppe sur la côte française.

L'attaque sur Dieppe eut lieu le matin du 19 août 1942. Le plan prévoit des attaques en cinq points différents sur un front d'environ 16 kilomètres. Quatre débarquements de flanc simultanés doivent avoir lieu à l'aurore, suivis une demi-heure plus tard de l'attaque principale contre la ville de Dieppe elle-même. Ce sont les Canadiens qui sont chargés de l'attaque de front à Dieppe. Ils doivent également débarquer à Pourville, à quatre kilomètres à l'ouest, et à Puys à l'est. Les commandos britanniques doivent détruire les batteries côtières à Berneval, sur le flanc est, et à Varengeville à l'ouest.

Le secteur est

Le 19 août 1942, alors que les forces de débarquement s'approchent de la côte de France aux petites heures du matin, les péniches de débarquement du secteur est rencontrent un petit convoi allemand. Le bruit du bref et violent combat naval qui s'ensuit alerte les défenses côtières, particulièrement à Berneval et à Puys. Avec les Allemands maintenant en position de défense, l'élément de surprise disparaissait. Les péniches qui transportent le Commando no 3 sont éparpillées et la plupart des troupes n'arrivent pas à débarquer. Les soldats qui arrivent à le faire sont rapidement débordés. Une vingtaine de commandos réussissent à s'approcher à 180 mètres de la batterie allemande. Leur tir précis neutralise la batterie qui, pendant deux heures et demie d'une importance capitale, ne peut pas diriger le feu de ses canons contre les navires d'assauts. Ils sont ensuite évacués.

À Puys, le Royal Regiment of Canada partage cette malchance. La plage est extrêmement étroite, commandée par des falaises élevées où les soldats allemands sont stratégiquement déployés. Le succès exigeait la surprise et l'obscurité, qui font toutes deux défaut. Ce débarquement s'étant effectué en retard, les soldats allemands ont pu se préparer à soutenir une attaque. Les Canadiens sont accueillis par un violent tir de mitrailleuses à la lumière du jour qui se lève. Seuls quelques hommes réussissent à franchir le fort réseau de barbelés sur la digue à la tête de la plage; ils ne reviendront pas. Le reste des troupes, avec trois pelotons de renfort du Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) sont immobilisés sur la plage par le feu des mortiers et des mitrailleuses et sont finalement obligés de se rendre. Sous le feu des Allemands, l'évacuation est impossible. Parmi les soldats débarqués, 200 sont tués et 20 mourront plus tard de leurs blessures. Le reste est fait prisonnier. Ce sont là les plus lourdes pertes subies par un bataillon canadien en une même journée au cours de toute la guerre. Le promontoire est n'ayant pas été dégagé, les Allemands peuvent prendre les plages de Dieppe en enfilade et neutraliser l'attaque frontale principale.

Le secteur ouest

Entre-temps, dans le secteur ouest, l'effet de surprise n'est pas complètement perdu. Alors que le Commando no 3 n'a connu que des malheurs sur le flanc est, l'opération du Commando no 4 réussit parfaitement. Conformément au plan, le Commando débarque, détruit les canons de la batterie située près de Varengeville et se retire sans encombre.

À Pourville, les Canadiens surprennent l'ennemi. En débarquant sur les plages, le South Saskatchewan Regiment et le Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada ne rencontrent qu'une légère résistance. Celle-ci s'affermit cependant au moment où le South Saskatchewan, appuyé du Cameron, traversent la rivière Scie. Après de durs combats ils sont arrêtés bien avant d'atteindre la ville de Dieppe. La force principale du Cameron s'avance vers son objectif, un aérodrome intérieur, et franchit environ trois kilomètres avant d'être obligé de s'arrêter. Les deux régiments tentent alors de se replier.

Le South Saskatchewan Regiment et le Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada subirent de lourdes pertes pendant la retraite. L'ennemi fit porter un feu nourri sur la plage à partir des hauteurs à l'est et à l'ouest de Pourville. Cependant, les péniches de débarquement bravèrent la pluie de feu et, grâce à l'appui d'une vaillante arrière-garde, le gros des deux unités réussit à s'embarquer, bien que bon nombre des hommes aient été blessés. Il sera impossible de ramener l'arrière-garde. Les munitions faisant défaut et toute autre évacuation étant impossible, elle capitula.

L'attaque principale

L'attaque principale se déroula sur la plage de galets devant Dieppe. Elle devait avoir lieu une demi-heure après les débarquements sur ses flancs. Embusqués sur la falaise et dans les fenêtres des bâtiments qui surplombent la promenade, les soldats allemands attendaient les Canadiens de pied ferme. Dès que les hommes du Essex Scottish Regiment attaquèrent le secteur est, l'ennemi balaya la plage d'un feu de mitrailleuses. Toutes les tentatives de franchir la digue sont repoussées avec de lourdes pertes. Lorsqu'un petit peloton réussi à s'infiltrer dans la ville, un message trompeur fut reçu à bord du navire de commandement qui porta le général Roberts à croire que le Essex Scottish s'était établi dans la ville. Pour leur donner du renfort, on décida de faire entrer en action le bataillon de réserve des Fusiliers Mont-Royal. Comme leurs camarades débarqués plus tôt, ils se trouvèrent immobilisés sur la plage et exposés au feu nourri de l'ennemi.

Le Royal Hamilton Light Infantry débarqua à l'extrémité ouest de la promenade vis-à-vis un grand casino isolé. Ils réussirent à dégager ce bâtiment pourtant fortement défendu, ainsi que les emplacements de tirs abrités et entrèrent dans la ville. Certains des hommes de ce bataillon traversèrent le boulevard sous une pluie de balles et pénétrèrent dans la ville où ils livrèrent de violents combats de rue.

Le malheur s'acharna aussi sur le débarquement des chars du Calgary Regiment. Alors que les troupes devaient intervenir suivant un important bombardement aérien et naval, ils furent débarqués dix à quinze minutes plus tard. L'infanterie fut donc sans appui lors des premiers instants critiques de cette attaque.

En débarquant, les chars furent accueillis par un feu d'enfer et s'immobilisèrent - arrêtés non seulement par les canons ennemis, mais aussi par les galets et la digue. Ceux qui réussirent à passer la digue se heurtèrent aux barricades de béton qui bloquaient les rues étroites. Néanmoins, les chars immobilisés continuèrent à se battre, soutenant l'infanterie et contribuant beaucoup à la retraite d'un grand nombre de soldats. Les équipages des chars seront faits prisonniers de guerre ou mourront au combat.

Les derniers soldats à débarquer faisaient partie du Commando " A " de la Marine royale. Ils partagèrent le sort terrible des Canadiens, subissant de très lourdes pertes sans pouvoir accomplir leur mission.

Le raid donna lieu à un formidable combat aérien. L'aviation alliée put s'acquitter de sa mission qui était de protéger de l’aviation allemande (Luftwaffe) la flotte de débarquement au large de Dieppe, mais elle paya très cher son succès. La Royal Air Force perdit 106 appareils. Les pertes de ce jour-là furent les plus élevées de la guerre. Quant à l'Aviation royale du Canada, elle perdit treize appareils.

Les leçons retenues

Tôt en après-midi, le 19 août 1942, l'Opération Jubilee prenait fin. Jusqu'à ce jour, on débat encore de la valeur de ce raid. Certains estiment que c'était un carnage inutile alors que d'autres soutiennent que l'opération était nécessaire au succès de l'invasion du continent deux ans plus tard lors du jour J. Un fait demeure, le raid sur Dieppe fit l'objet, par la suite, d'une étude minutieuse de la part de ceux qui étaient chargés de dresser les plans des opérations destinées à enfoncer les défenses ennemies, érigées le long des côtes de France. De cette étude résultèrent des améliorations en matière de tactique et de tir de soutien qui réduisirent les pertes du jour J à un minimum inespéré. Les leçons apprises à Dieppe contribuèrent à sauver des milliers de vies humaines en cet autre jour historique que fut le 6 juin 1944.

Récipiendaires de la Croix de Victoria

Bien que des actes individuels de grande bravoure surviennent fréquemment pendant la guerre, seulement un petit nombre d'entre eux sont vus et consignés. Ces actes servent d'exemples que tous admirent et respectent.

En reconnaissance de leurs exploits pendant le raid de Dieppe, deux Canadiens se sont vus décerner la Croix de Victoria qui est la décoration militaire la plus importante remise par le Commonwealth britannique pour un acte de bravoure.

Charles Cecil Ingersoll Merritt

À la suite du débarquement à Pourville, le South Saskatchewan Regiment s'avança vers la ville de Dieppe. Alors que les hommes s'efforçaient de traverser le pont de la rivière Scie, le lieutenant-colonel Cecil Merritt s'avança et prit lui-même le commandement. S'avançant avec le plus grand calme à travers l'ouragan de mitraille qui balayait le pont, il entraîna plusieurs groupes au-delà du pont. D'autres hommes traversèrent la rivière à gué ou à la nage. Malgré leurs vaillants efforts, l'avance fut arrêtée et ils furent forcés de se replier. Le lieutenant-colonel Merritt fit encore preuve d'un courage extraordinaire. Bien qu'il eût été blessé deux fois, il commanda un vigoureux combat d'arrière-garde et on réussit ainsi à embarquer la plupart des hommes des deux unités. L'arrière-garde elle-même ne put être évacuée et le lieutenant-colonel Merritt et ses hommes furent faits prisonniers de guerre.

John Weir Foote

Le révérend John W. Foote fut le premier membre du Service d'aumônerie à recevoir la Croix de Victoria. Calmement, pendant huit heures de combats acharnés, le révérend Foote, aumônier du Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, affronta sans arrêt le feu très nourri afin d'aider à transporter les blessés jusqu'à un poste de secours, sauvant de nombreuses vies grâce à ses braves efforts. Puis, à la fin de l'épreuve, il quitta la péniche de débarquement qui devait le ramener en lieu sûr et se dirigea d'un pas courageux vers les lignes allemandes pour les franchir et être fait prisonnier, et ainsi pouvoir offrir son ministère à ceux de ses camarades canadiens qui étaient maintenant prisonniers de guerre.

Nous nous souvenons

Le cimetière de guerre canadien de Dieppe se trouve à quelque cinq kilomètres au sud de Dieppe, dans la commune d'Hautôt-sur-mer. Le cimetière, à flanc de colline, est tout à fait unique en ce sens que les stèles sont placées dos à dos, et s'alignent en longues rangées doubles. Ce sont les Allemands qui y ont enseveli ces soldats morts à la guerre de la même façon qu'ils inhumaient les leurs. Les Alliés décidèrent plus tard de ne pas toucher à ces sépultures. Aujourd’hui, l'entretien du cimetière est assuré par la Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Sur les 944 membres des forces armées britanniques et alliées enterrés à Dieppe, 707 étaient des Canadiens, tombés pour la plupart lors du raid de Dieppe. Certains combattants, blessés et faits prisonniers, sont morts à l'hôpital de Rouen à une distance de 58 kilomètres; 37 d'entre eux ont été enterrés dans cette ville. Les victimes du raid de Dieppe qui sont mortes en Grande-Bretagne reposent pour la plupart au cimetière militaire de Brookwood dans le comté de Surrey en Angleterre.

La dépouille mortelle de Mary Janet Climpson, une officière britannique des services auxiliaires de l'Armée du Salut, tuée deux ans plus tôt en mai 1940, repose également dans le cimetière.

Deux monuments évoquent en Angleterre le souvenir des Canadiens portés disparus au cours du raid de Dieppe : le Brookwood Memorial pour l'Armée et le Runnymede Memorial pour l'ARC.

Les environs de Dieppe sont aujourd'hui parsemés de monuments érigés à la mémoire d'un régiment par les survivants et leurs camarades, qui marquent l'emplacement de tous les points de débarquement. Sur les plages de Dieppe, Puys et Pourville s'élèvent des monuments qui rappellent le souvenir des vaillants soldats du Essex Scottish Regiment, du Royal Regiment of Canada, de la Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, des Fusiliers Mont-Royal, du Calgary Regiment, du South Saskatchewan Regiment et des Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada, qui donnèrent leur vie lors du raid.

La ville de Dieppe a réservé un petit parc à l'extrémité ouest de l'esplanade dans laquelle elle a érigé son propre monument. La borne commémorative Dieppe-Canada qui se dresse au centre du Square du Canada témoigne de la cordiale amitié canado-normande qui remonte déjà à plusieurs siècles, au départ de Samuel de Champlain pour aller fonder la Nouvelle-France. Sur le monument figurent les noms des personnes et les événements qui lient la Normandie et le Canada depuis des siècles. Une plaque fixée au mur à l'arrière du monument rappelle le raid de Dieppe du 19 août 1942 :

Le dix-neuf août mil neuf cent quarante-deux
sur la plage de Dieppe
nos cousins canadiens
tracèrent de leur sang
la voie de notre libération finale
présageant ainsi leur retour victorieux
du premier septembre mil neuf cent quarante-quatre.

Pertes

Unités canadiennes qui ont participé au raid sur Dieppe
L'Armée canadienne Morts
Quartier général et détachements divers 5
14th Army Tank Regiment (The Calgary Regiment (Tank)) 13
L'Artillerie royale du Canada 13
Le Corps du Génie royal canadien 27
Le Corps royal canadien des transmissions 9
The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada 4
The Royal Regiment of Canada 227
The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry (Wentworth Regiment) 197
Les Fusiliers Mont Royal 119
The Essex Scottish Regiment 121
The South Saskatchewan Regiment 84
The Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada 76
The Calgary Highlanders 0
The Toronto Scottish Regiment (MG) 1
Corps royal de l'intendance de l'Armée canadienne 1
Le Corps de santé royal canadien 4
Corps royal canadien des magasins militaires 2
Le Corps de prévôté canadien 1
Service canadien des renseignements 3
Total 907
Unités de la Marine royale canadienne
La Marine royale canadienne Morts
Total 4
Escadrons de l’Aviation royale du Canada
Aviation royale du Canada Morts
400e Escadrille de coopération d'armée 0
401e Escadrille de chasse 1
402e Escadrille de chasse 0
403e Escadrille de chasse 3
411e Escadrille de chasse 0
412e Escadrille de chasse 1
414e Escadrille de coopération d'armée 0
416e Escadrille de chasse 0
418e Escadrille d'interception (deux avions) 0
Total 5
Total des morts du raid sur Dieppe
Le raid sur Dieppe Total des morts
Total 916

Autres Forces

Outre les 4 963 militaires canadiens qui ont participé au raid, il s'y trouvait 1 075 Britanniques (52 morts), 50 patrouilleurs américains du 1st U.S. Ranger Battalion (un mort) et 20 militaires du 10e Commando interallié.

Le soutien aéronaval a été fourni en grande partie par les forces britanniques. Royal Navy : 75 tués ou morts de leurs blessures et 269 disparus ou prisonniers; Royal Air Force : 62 morts.

En souvenir de leurs sacrifices

Les Canadiens qui ont pris part au raid de Dieppe ont beaucoup sacrifié pour rétablir la paix et pour rendre aux Européens leur liberté. Même si la mission a été difficile et qu'elle a coûté de nombreuses vies, les efforts des combattants n'ont pas été vains. Ces combattants sont au nombre de ce million et plus d'hommes et de femmes qui ont servi dans les Forces armées canadiennes au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Plus de 42 000 Canadiens ont donné leur vie dans cette guerre. Le Canada et le monde entier reconnaissent les sacrifices et les réalisations de tous les Canadiens, à l'image de ceux qui ont participé au raid sur Dieppe. L'héritage de paix et de liberté qu'ils nous ont laissé est inestimable.

Carte de Dieppe

Carte montrant les unités qui ont débarqué en France occupée lors du raid sur Dieppe le 19 août 1942. Le South Saskatchewan Regiment et le Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders ont débarqué sur la « Plage verte » à Pourville. Le Royal Regiment of Canada et le Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) ont débarqué sur la « Plage bleue » à Puys. Le Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, l'Essex Scottish, les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, Le Commando « A » de la Marine royale, le 14th Canadian Army Tank Regiment (Calgary Regiment), le Calgary Highlanders et le Toronto Scottish Regiment ont débarqué sur la « Plage rouge » et sur la « Plage blanche » à Dieppe.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par la ministre des Anciens Combattants, 2005.
No de catalogue V32-29/2005 ISBN 0-662-68723-X

Date de modification :