Military

Archived Content

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

There is little reference in history books to the war effort by French Canadians. This is unfortunate because it prevents us from truly understanding how we contributed to the current state of the world, and deprives us of heroes. It is also isolating because it leads us to believe that French Canadians were absent from the major events that shaped modern history.

This was not the case. During the Second World War, Francophones took part in numerous military campaigns. Proportionately, their war effort was just as impressive as that of the other linguistic groups in Canada.

Unfortunately, it is difficult to identify precisely the number of Francophones from the Canadian Confederation that served in the three forces (the Royal Canadian Navy, the Royal Canadian Air Force and the Army) during the Second World War.

The political context of the day as well as sparse statistics (which are open to interpretation) have distorted the picture for a long time. This has prevented many French Canadians from fully understanding, accepting and respecting the important role that their Veterans played in establishing the democratic, social and economic foundations of the world we know today.

Some would argue that it is obvious when comparing the total population of a province to the total number of soldiers enlisted that Quebec lagged behind. While in some other provinces the percentage of the male population between 18 and 45 enlisted during the Second World War reached as high as 50.47 per cent, only 25.69 per cent of men in the same age range enlisted in Québec.

Such figures make it easy to believe that the French Canadians did not participate fully in the war effort, but two factors merit close attention:

  1. All statistics cannot be interpreted equally. These figures do not take into consideration the larger number of men available in the other provinces-that is, all the men between the ages of 18 and 45 deemed fit for wartime service by the government. For example, British Columbia, with a much smaller total population than Quebec, had a much higher coefficient of available men. In other words, this province could provide a higher percentage of military personnel, despite its smaller population.
  2. All Francophones were not necessarily from Quebec. Just like today, there were Francophones living all over the country! Statistics that only look at Quebec to determine the number of French-speakers in Canada (especially at that time) distort reality at the outset.

In actuality, there were 57 French-speaking or bilingual units, battalions and batteries during the Second World War, just in the army and infantry alone! Some of the most famous were:

  • the Royal 22e Régiment
  • the Régiment de la Chaudière
  • the Régiment de Maisonneuve
  • the Fusiliers Mont-Royal

In a nutshell, there were enough French Canadian infantry forces in the Second World War to form an entire division of the Canadian Army, had circumstances so permitted!

Add in the navy, the air force (including the famous 425 "Alouettes" Squadron, attached to the British Royal Air Force), the merchant navy and the Veterans Guard of Canada (over half of whom were Francophones), and it becomes eminently clear that Francophones did their part.

In French Canadians and Bilingualism in the Canadian Forces, a book we heartily recommend to grasp the full scope of a situation that is impossible to describe here in just a few lines, Serge Bernier and Jean Pariseau estimate that, of the some 730,625 Canadian military personnel, both men and women, who served overseas or on the home front, over 139,550 were Francophones.

And if we take into consideration the civilian war effort (see the Civilians section of this Web site), the gap between the actual contribution by French Canadians and what we know about it widens considerably.

Though French Canadians generally viewed the war much differently than English Canadians, particularly in terms of their denunciation of conscription and their indifference to the British Crown, they proved they were ready to defend their homeland. And, many of them had to do it in English, a language that was completely foreign to most of them.

Not only were there French Canadian heroes whom we can all be proud of, but there were many of them! We hope that their stories will lead you to see things as they really were, differently. . .

N.B.: We realize that this portrait of French Canadian soldiers in the Second World War is incomplete. For example, the historical and social context in Canada at that time has barely been touched upon. This is why we suggest you consult the books and hyperlinks indicated below to find out more.

Complementary Information:

Many photos used in this project were provided by Library and Archives Canada (LAC). Explore their photo collection.

Bibliography

Jean Pariseau and Serge Bernier. French Canadians and Bilingualism in the Canadian Armed Forces; Volume 1 1763-1969: the Fear of a Parallel Army, Department of Supply and Services (Canadian Government Publishing Center), 1986

Date modified:

Military

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

La Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Les livres d'histoire parlent très peu de l'effort de guerre des Canadiens de langue française. Ceci est un constat malheureux, d'une part, puisqu'il nous empêche de comprendre véritablement le rôle que nous avons joué dans l'état du monde actuel tout en nous privant de héros et d'autre part, aliénant, puisqu'il porte à croire que le soldat Canadien français était absent des grands évènements ayant modelé l'histoire moderne.

Pourtant, tel n'était pas le cas. Lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, par exemple, les francophones ont participé à de nombreuses campagnes militaires et, toutes proportions gardées, ont fourni un effort de guerre tout aussi imposant que les autres groupes linguistiques du Canada.

Malheureusement, il est difficile de dénombrer avec précision le nombre de francophones provenant de la confédération canadienne ayant servi au sein des trois armées (la Marine Royale du Canada, l'Aviation Royale Canadienne et l'Armée de terre) pendant ce conflit.

Le contexte politique de l'époque ainsi que de rares statistiques laissant place à l'interprétation ont longtemps faussé la donne, empêchant ainsi nombre de Canadiens français de comprendre, d'accepter et de respecter pleinement leurs anciens combattants et le rôle important qu'ils ont joué dans l'établissement des bases démocratiques, sociales et économiques auxquelles nous adhérons aujourd'hui.

Certains diront qu'il est évident, en comparant la population totale d'une province au pourcentage de soldats fournit, que le Québec était déficient car seulement 25.69 pour cent des hommes entre 18 et 45 s'y sont enrôlés pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale alors que d'autres provinces présentaient un impressionnant 50,47 pour cent !

Il est facile en lisant ceci de croire que les Canadiens français n'ont pas fait leur effort de guerre, mais il faut faire très attention à deux choses :

  1. L'interprétation des statistiques. Ces chiffres ne prenant pas en considération l'excédent d'hommes disponibles des provinces - c'est-à-dire tous les hommes entre 18 et 45 ans jugés aptes à guerroyer par le gouvernement. À titre d'exemple seulement, la Colombie-Britannique, bien qu'inférieure au Québec en population totale, avait un coefficient beaucoup plus élevé d'hommes disponibles. En d'autres mots, cette province pouvait fournir un pourcentage plus élevé de soldats malgré sa plus petite population.
  2. Tous les francophones n'étaient pas nécessairement tous au Québec. Comme aujourd'hui, il y en avait partout au pays ! Toute statistique ne parlant que du Québec pour décrire l'ensemble de la francophonie au Canada (surtout à cette époque) est donc faussée d'emblée.

Malgré cela, notons qu'uniquement du côté de l'armée de terre et de l'infanterie, il y eut 57 unités, bataillons et batteries de langue française ou bilingue au cours de la Seconde guerre. Certains des plus connus étant :

  • le Royal 22e Régiment
  • le Régiment de la Chaudière
  • le Régiment de Maisonneuve
  • les Fusiliers Mont-Royal

Simplement dit, il y aurait eu suffisamment de forces d'infanterie francophones lors de la Seconde Guerre pour former toute une division de l'armée canadienne si les circonstances l'avaient permis !

Ajoutons à cela la marine, les forces aériennes (dont la fameuse escadrille 425 des Alouettes rattachée à la Royal Air Force britannique), la marine marchande et la Veterans Guard of Canada (dont plus de 50 pour cent étaient francophones), et nous constatons que les francophones ont bel et bien fait leur part.

Dans un livre que nous vous conseillons fortement afin de bien saisir l'ampleur d'un contexte impossible à cerner en quelques lignes, Les Canadiens français et le bilinguisme dans les forces armées canadiennes, Serge Bernier et Jean Pariseau estiment que des quelques 730 625 hommes et femmes militaires canadiens ayant servi outremer ou sur le front intérieur plus de 139 550 étaient des francophones.

Et si nous considérons l'effort de guerre civil (voir la section Civils de ce site Web), l'écart entre le véritable apport des francophones et ce qu'on en sait devient de plus en plus vaste.

Bien que les Canadiens français aient eu une façon de voir la guerre bien différente des Canadiens anglais en général, notamment par leur dénonciation de la conscription et leur indifférence à la couronne britannique, ils ont su démontrer qu'ils étaient prêts à défendre leur patrie même s'ils avaient à le faire en anglais, langue qui pour plusieurs leur était étrangère.

Non seulement, y a-t-il eu des héros Canadiens français dont nous pouvons tous être fiers, mais il y en eut plusieurs ! Nous espérons que leurs témoignages sauront vous faire voir les choses, quelles qu'elles soient, autrement…

Notez bien : Nous sommes conscient que ce portrait des militaires francophones de la Seconde Guerre mondiale est incomplet. Entre autre, le contexte historique et socio politique canadien de l'époque a à peine été effleuré. C'est pourquoi nous vous suggérons de consulter les ouvrages et les hyperliens dont nous faisons mention ci-bas afin de vous faire votre propre idée.

Information complémentaire :

Plusieurs des photos utilisées dans le cadre de ce projet proviennent gracieusement de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC). Explorez vous-même leur banque de photos.

Bibliographie

Jean Pariseau et Serge Bernier. Les Canadiens Français et le bilinguisme dans les forces armées canadiennes; tome 1 1763-1969 : le spectre d’une armée bicéphale, Ministère des approvisionnements et services (Centre d'édition du gouvernement du Canada), 1986

Date de modification :