The Occupation of the Netherlands

German forces crossed the eastern frontier of the Netherlands in several places early on May 10, 1940, while additional troops landed on the beaches north of The Hague and parachutists dropped near Rotterdam and The Hague seizing vital bridges and isolating the capital. The Dutch Army was relatively small and resistance complicated by the fact that German points of attack were widely separated. The government immediately appealed to Great Britain for help and a force of 200 Marines and a composite Guards battalion (2nd Battalion Irish Guards and 2nd Battalion Welsh Guards) was dispatched. On May 12th, the German columns from the east linked up with the parachutists. That same day, the British forces arrived and advanced towards The Hague but quickly realized that without strong reinforcements they would have to be withdrawn. On the 13th, Her Majesty Queen Wilhelmina embarked for England in a British destroyer. That night the Dutch government also left. The British troops returned to Dover at noon on May 14th, the day Rotterdam was bombed by some fifty German aircraft resulting in the deaths of numerous civilians and the destruction of a large part of the city. Utrecht was threatened with a similar fate, but in the evening the Dutch forces surrendered.

During the Occupation

  • 234,000 Dutch citizens lost their lives, they died:
    • in concentration camps
    • in captivity
    • by execution
    • by acts of war
    • from forced labour
    • as a consequence of the "Hunger Winter" of 1944-45 (by April 1945, the official daily ration per person in the Netherlands was only 320 calories)
    • from sickness, disease and a general decline in national health as a result of war conditions (ie. lack of food and lack of fuel for heating, cooking and transportation)
  • In 1940 there were 86,000 Jews in Amsterdam
  • By 1945 there were only 10,000 Jews in this city
  • Anne Frank was one of those who died in the Holocaust
    • it was in a house on the Prinsengracht in Amsterdam where Anne Frank and her family hid in an annex
    • today, the house is a museum visited by thousands annually

Apeldoorn

The city was of Apeldoorn one of the first Allied objectives in the advance to the North Sea. The 1st Canadian Infantry Brigade was set to make a decisive strike against the town on April 16, 1945. The plan called for Apeldoorn to be isolated and then the infantry would enter, without artillery. As the Canadians neared, the German garrison abandoned the town.

The Royal Canadian Regiment was in control of the eastern edge of the town by 4:30 a.m. on April 17. The Hastings and Prince Edward Regiment and the 48th Highlanders followed at dawn. By mid-morning, the Highlanders had secured the north-western section, the Hastings were on the grounds of Het Loo Palace* and the Royal Canadian Regiment was in the town square. The West Nova Scotia Regiment of the 3rd Brigade took over the south-western perimeter of the town before noon.

Fighting in the region between April 11-17 cost the 1st Canadian Division 506 casualties. Very little damage was done to Apeldoorn itself, as the Canadian forces were aware it was full of refugees. After the town was liberated, there were huge celebrations with Dutch colours flying from every house and shop.

A parade of veterans is a regular highlight of town activities to commemorate the nation's liberation. In 1995, during the 50th anniversary of the liberation of the Netherlands, over 1,000 Canadian veterans marched or rode, along with a number of Allied veterans, to the cheers of approximately 150,000 Dutch men, women and children who lined the route.

* Het Loo, the summer residence of the Dutch Royal Family, was built for William, Prince of Orange, between 1702 and 1865.

Groningen

Groningen is the largest Dutch city in the northern part of the country. This city was liberated by the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division after a heated battle.

On April 13, 1945 troops from the 4th Royal Hamilton Light Infantry entered the city from the southwest, meeting strenuous resistance from German S.S. troops. Fighting off snipers, and in many cases clearing buildings room by room, the 6th Canadian Brigade (including the 11th-12th Les Fusiliers Mont Royal, the South Saskatchewan Regiment, the Royal Regiment of Canada and the Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada) entered the city from the south. On April 14, the 5th Canadian Brigade (the Black Watch of Canada, le Regiment de Maisonneuve and the Calgary Highlanders) entered the city from the west. The German Commander and his staff surrendered on April 16; the four-day battle cost the 2nd Division 209 casualties and accounted for 2,400 enemy prisoners. General Crerar's despatch records that after the surrender "...only isolated pockets of resistance remained at various places along the coast, the most stubborn of these, according to expectations, occurring in the area of Delfzijl and along the adjacent shore of the Dollart Inlet opposite Emden."

Groningen is home to one of the largest and oldest universities in the Netherlands. The University of Groningen, which celebrated its 360th anniversary in 1999, houses a Canadian Studies Centre.

Nijverdal

Nijverdal is located just a few kilometres north of Holten War Cemetery, and was liberated by the 2nd Canadian Infantry Division.

From operations at the Twente Canal south of Holten, to Ommen and finally to Groningen in the northern reaches of the country, the 2nd Division, including the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry, the Essex Scottish Regiment, the Cameron Highlanders of Canada and the Royal Regiment of Canada, met small pockets of resistance.

Utrecht

Following the liberation of Arnhem, the 1st Canadian Corps' next objective was to clear the Germans out of the western Netherlands. The plan called for the British 49th Division to advance from Arnhem and occupy the National Highway south of Utrecht. The 5th Canadian Armoured Division would secure high ground west of Amersfoort, and then the 1st Canadian Division would take Amersfoort, relieve the 5th and capture Utrecht. Later phases of the offensive would target Gouda, The Hague, Rotterdam and Amsterdam. Although citizens in the region were at grave risk of starvation, the plan was called off. It was feared that liberation by force might result in the Germans opening the dykes and ruining the low-lying countryside between Utrecht and the sea.

On April 12th, the Corps was directed to stand fast a dozen miles east of Utrecht. The British Air Ministry, meanwhile, worked on a plan to drop supplies by air. Negotiations with the Germans proved fruitful and, while they would not surrender and would continue to occupy the provinces of North and South Holland and Utrecht, they would allow the importation of food and coal into the western Netherlands - provided the Allies halted east of the Grebbe River line. By April 19th, offensive operations on the 1st Corps front had virtually ceased. Flooding had already occurred, however, with the area around Utrecht suffering some of the most serious economic damage.

On May 1st, the Germans agreed to create a "truce" corridor for the passage of supplies, running from the railway linking Arnhem and Utrecht to the Waal at Ochten. The relief operation was in full swing within days. Following the German surrender on May 5th, the 1st Canadian Corps entered the western Netherlands on May 7th, with the 49th Division taking over the Utrecht region, from the Ijsselmeer to the Lek. The 1st Canadian Division took control in the remaining territory to the west. Their objectives took them through Amersfoort and Utrecht, towards Rotterdam. On May 8th, the division reported, "Every village, street and house was bedecked with red, white and blue Dutch flags and organ streamers which in the brilliant sunlight made a gay scene. The Dutch people had had a rumour of our arrival and were lining the roads, streets in thousands to give us a tumultuous welcome."*

Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, page 650.

Wageningen

After pausing in Arnhem to reorganize, the British 56th brigade moved west on two axes toward Wageningen and Bennekom early on April 17, 1945. Facing light opposition, they made rapid progress along the right bank of the Rhine. Mines and other obstacles slowed them in places, but the British troops frequently found alternative routes which the enemy had not had time to mine or block. By the end of the day both Wageningen and Bennekom were captured.

Wageningen is also where the 25th German Army officially surrendered in a battered hotel on May 5th. The surrender was signed by the commander of German forces in the Netherlands, Col.-Gen. Johannes Blaskowitz, in the Hotel de Wereld. The surrender was accepted by Lt.-Gen. Charles Foulkes, commander of the 1st Canadian Corps. (The street is now named General Foulkesweg 1.) Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands was also present at the surrender ceremony, as was Major-General George Kitching, who at the time was Foulkes' senior staff officer.

Over 117,000 German troops were in the western Netherlands at the time of the surrender. The 1st Canadian Corps took over the area previously controlled by the Germans and entered the region on May 7th to be greeted by ecstatic Dutch citizens.

Westerbork Transit Camp

Camp Westerbork was the site of a large transit and work camp in the Dutch province of Drente. Over 100,000 Jews, Gypsies and resistance members were taken to Westerbork. The camp consisted of an orphanage, school, industrial barracks, punishment barracks, housing barracks, a larger square for roll-call and a railway. While interned at Westerbork in 1942, Bob Cahen described camp life in a letter:

"More and more new people have arrived in the camp. The barracks have become crowded, overcrowded. The smithy is working flat out producing beds, one after the other. Straw mattresses or other mattresses haven't been available for a long time now. The people just have to lie down without one, on the iron. People were lying or sitting outside. At night, they would sleep in or under barrows or under the open sky. There was not enough food."

Anne Frank was among the thousands held at Westerbork and part of the wall of the hut where she stayed while at Westerbork remains intact. Anne died with her sister in Bergen-Belsen in April 1945, just weeks before the end of the war.

The last train left Westerbork September 13, 1944 carrying 77 young children who had been taken away from their hiding places by the Nazis.

Westerbork was liberated April 12, 1945 and 876 prisoners were set free when the Canadian Army came upon the camp. After the liberation, the camp remained in service and various activities took place there, but in 1971 the last barracks were torn down. Kamp Westerbork is now a commemoration centre.

Date modified:

L'histoire - L'occupation des Pays-Bas

Le 10 mai 1940, les forces allemandes franchirent la frontière est du pays à plusieurs endroits. D'autres troupes débarquaient sur les plages au nord de La Haye et des parachutistes touchaient le sol près de Rotterdam et de La Haye pour s'emparer de ponts stratégiques et isoler la capitale. L'effectif de l'armée néerlandaise était relativement limité et la résistance difficile du fait que les points d'attaque allemands étaient disséminés. Le gouvernement lança immédiatement un appel à l'aide à la Grande-Bretagne et une force comprenant 200 fusiliers marins et un bataillon mixte (2e Bataillon des Irish Guards et 2e Bataillon des Welsh Guards) furent envoyés. Le 12 mai, les colonnes allemandes venant de l'est rejoignirent les parachutistes. Les forces britanniques arrivèrent le même jour. Elles avancèrent vers La Haye, mais se rendirent rapidement compte qu'elles devraient se replier si elles ne recevaient pas de renforts. Le 13 mai, Sa Majesté la reine Wilhelmine monta à bord d'un destroyer britannique à destination de l'Angleterre. Les membres du gouvernement néerlandais quittèrent le pays au cours de la nuit. Les troupes britanniques retournèrent à Douvres le 14 mai, à midi, soit le jour du bombardement de Rotterdam par quelque 50 avions allemands, qui causa la mort de nombreux civils et la destruction d'une bonne partie de la ville. L'ennemi menaça Utrecht du même sort, mais dans la soirée, les forces néerlandaises se rendirent.

Pendant l'occupation

  • 234 000 citoyens néerlandais perdirent la vie :
    • dans des camps de concentration
    • en captivité
    • furent exécutés
    • par des actes de guerre
    • à cause de travaux forcés
    • en conséquence de « l'hiver de la famine » en 1944-1945 (en avril 1945, la ration quotidienne par personne aux Pays-Bas n'était que de 320 calories)
    • à cause de la maladie et du dépérissement de la santé nationale par suite des circonstances de la guerre (le manque de nourriture et de combustible pour le chauffage, la cuisine et le transport)
  • En 1940, il y avait 86 000 Juifs à Amsterdam
  • En 1945, il n'y en avait plus que 10 000
  • Anne Frank fut l'une de celles qui périrent dans l'Holocauste
    • c'est dans une maison de la rue Prinsengracht à Amsterdam qu'Anne Frank et sa famille vécurent cachées dans une annexe
    • aujourd'hui, la maison est un musée que visitent chaque année des milliers de personnes

Apeldoorn

La ville d'Apeldoorn était l'un des premiers objectifs des Alliés dans la poussée vers la mer du Nord. La 1re Brigade canadienne d'infanterie devait porter un coup décisif contre la ville le 16 avril 1945. Le plan visait à isoler Apeldoorn et de faire ensuite entrer l'infanterie, sans artillerie. À l'approche des Canadiens, la garnison allemande abandonna la ville.

Le Royal Canadian Regiment put se rendre maître de l'extrémité est de la ville, le 17 avril, à 4 h 30. Le Hastings et le Prince Edward Regiment, et le 48th Highlanders suivirent à l'aube. Dès le milieu de la matinée, le Highlanders s'était emparé du secteur nord-ouest d'Apeldoorn tandis que le Hastings était dans les jardins du palais Het Loo* et le Royal Canadian Regiment s'installait sur la place centrale. Le West Nova Scotia Regiment de la 3e Brigade occupait le sud-ouest de la ville avant midi.

Entre le 11 et le 17 avril, la 1re Division canadienne subit 506 pertes. La ville avait subi peu de dégâts du fait que les Forces canadiennes savaient qu'elle était remplie de réfugiés. Après la libération de la ville, il y eut de grandes célébrations. Les drapeaux néerlandais flottaient sur toutes les maisons et les boutiques de la ville.

Le défilé des anciens combattants est l'un des faits saillants des activités organisées afin de commémorer la libération du pays. En 1995, à l'occasion du 50e anniversaire de la libération des Pays-Bas, plus de 1 000 anciens combattants canadiens y ont pris part, de même qu'un bon nombre d'anciens combattants alliés, sous les acclamations de quelque 150 000 Néerlandais - hommes, femmes et enfants.

*Het Loo, lieu de la résidence d'été de la famille royale des Pays-Bas, fut construit pour Guillaume, prince d'Orange, entre 1865 et 1702.

Groningen

Groningen est la ville néerlandaise la plus importante du nord des Pays-Bas. La ville fut libérée par la 2e Division canadienne d'infanterie après de vifs combats.

Le 13 avril 1945, des troupes du 4th Royal Hamilton Light Infantry entrèrent dans la ville par le sud-ouest et furent accueillies par une vive résistance des troupes S.S. allemandes. Ils durent affronter des tireurs isolés, et nettoyer les immeubles pièce par pièce. La 6e Brigade canadienne (comprenant la 11e et la 12e, les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, le South Saskatchewan Regiment, le Royal Regiment of Canada, et le Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders of Canada) entra dans la ville par le sud. Le 14 avril, la 5e Brigade canadienne (le Black Watch of Canada, le Régiment de Maisonneuve et le Calgary Highlanders) pénétra par l'ouest. Le commandant allemand et ses hommes se rendirent le 16 avril; la bataille de quatre jours occasionna 209 pertes parmi les soldats de la 2e Division, et il y eut 2 400 prisonniers ennemis. Voici un extrait d'une dépêche envoyée par le général Crerar après la reddition : « ... il ne reste plus que quelques zones de résistance le long de la côte, les plus coriaces - comme prévu - se trouvaient dans le secteur de Delfzijl et le long du rivage adjacent au Dollart Inlet qui fait face à Emden. »

Groningen compte l'une des plus importantes et des plus anciennes universités des Pays-Bas. L'Université de Groningen, dans laquelle se trouve un Centre d'études canadiennes, a célébré son 360e anniversaire en 1999.

Nijverdal

Nijverdal est situé à quelques kilomètres au nord du Cimetière de guerre de Holten et fut libéré par la 2e Division canadienne d'infanterie.

Des opérations du canal Twente, au sud de Holten, jusqu'à Ommen, et finalement jusqu'à Groningen aux confins nord du pays, la 2e Division d'infanterie y compris le Royal Hamilton Infantry, l'Essex Scottish Regiment, le Cameron Highlanders of Canada et le Royal Regiment of Canada affrontèrent une faible résistance.

Utrecht

Après la libération d'Arnhem, l'objectif du 1er Corps d'armée canadien était de déloger les Allemands de l'ouest des Pays-Bas. Selon le plan, la 49e Division britannique devait, à partir d'Arnhem, occuper la route nationale au sud d'Utrecht. La 5e Division blindée canadienne devait s'emparer des hauteurs situées à l'ouest d'Amersfoort, puis la 1re Division canadienne devait prendre possession d'Amersfoort, relever la 5e Division et s'emparer ensuite d'Utrecht. Les offensives ultérieures visaient Gouda, La Haye, Rotterdam et Amsterdam. Bien que les citoyens de la région étaient en proie à la famine, le plan fut annulé. On craignait que la libération par la force inciterait les Allemands à ouvrir les digues et à détruire ainsi les terres basses entre Utrecht et la mer.

Le 12 avril, le Corps d'armée reçut l'ordre de faire halte à une douzaine de milles à l'est d'Utrecht. Entre-temps, le ministère de l'Air britannique préparait un plan en vue de ravitailler les Pays-Bas par voie des airs. Les négociations avec les Allemands s'avérèrent fructueuses. Bien qu'ils refusèrent toute reddition et continuèrent d'occuper les provinces du nord et du sud des Pays-Bas et d'Utrecht, ils permirent l'importation de vivres et de charbon pour l'ouest des Pays-Bas - sous réserve que les Alliés s'arrêtent à l'est de la ligne Grebbe. Le 19 avril, les opérations offensives du 1er Corps avaient pratiquement cessé. Toutefois, l'économie néerlandaise fut très sérieusement atteinte du fait des inondations qui avaient commencé dans la région d'Utrecht.

Le 1er mai, les Allemands acceptèrent d'établir un corridor de trêve allant au sud du chemin de fer d'Arnhem à Utrecht jusqu'à la Waal, à Ochten, par lequel passerait le ravitaillement. L'opération de secours battit son plein en quelques jours. Les Allemands capitulèrent le 5 mai, et le 1er Corps d'armée canadien entra à l'ouest des Pays-Bas, le 7. La 49e Division prit en charge la région d'Utrecht, de Ijsselmeer jusqu'à Lek. La 1re Division canadienne prit le contrôle de reste du territoire à l'ouest. Les Canadiens traversèrent Amersfoort et Utrecht, afin de se rendre à Rotterdam. Le 8 mai, la Division fit le compte rendu suivant :

« Les villages, les rues et les maisons étaient décorés du drapeau rouge, blanc et bleu de la Hollande, ainsi que de banderoles orange qui jetaient une note vive dans ce jour ensoleillé. Les Hollandais avaient été prévenus de notre arrivée et bordaient les routes et les rues par milliers pour nous accorder une bienvenue tumultueuse. »*

Colonel C.P. Stacey, « Histoire officielle de l'Armée canadienne au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale », page 650.

Wageningen

Après s'être arrêtée à Arnhem pour se réorganiser, au début de la journée du 17 avril 1945, la 56e Brigade britannique se dirigea vers l'ouest, sur deux axes, contre Wageningen et Bennekom. Elle progressa rapidement le long de la rive droite du Rhin, ne rencontrant qu'une faible opposition. L'avance fut ralentie à quelque endroits par des mines et d'autres obstacles, mais les troupes britanniques trouvèrent d'autres voies que l'ennemi n'avait pas eu le temps de miner ou de bloquer. À la fin de la journée, la brigade avait capturé Wageningen et Bennekom.

C'est également à Wageningen, le 5 mai, dans un hôtel délabré, que la 25e Armée allemande se rendit officiellement. La reddition fut signée, à l'hôtel de Wereld, par le commandant des forces allemandes aux Pays-Bas, le colonel-général Johannes Blaskowitz, et acceptée par le lieutenant-général Charles Foulkes, commandant du 1er Corps d'armée canadien. (La rue porte aujourd'hui le nom de General Foulkesweg 1.) Le prince Bernhard des Pays-Bas était également présent lors de la cérémonie de reddition, tout comme le major-général George Kitching qui était à l'époque l'officier supérieur d'état-major du lieutenant-général Foulkes.

Il y avait plus de 117 000 soldats allemands dans le secteur ouest des Pays-Bas au moment de la reddition. Le 1er Corps d'armée canadien s'empara du secteur jusque-là sous contrôle allemand. Il pénétra dans la région le 7 mai, et reçut un accueil délirant des Néerlandais.

Le camp de transition de Westerbork

C'est à Westerbork que les Allemands établirent le plus important camp de transition. Plus de 100 000 Juifs, gitans et résistants furent envoyés à Westerbork. À partir du 12 juillet 1942, des trains quittèrent le camp à destination d'Auschwitz et d'autres camps de la mort.

Le camp comprenait un orphelinat, une école, des bâtiments industriels, des bâtiments de châtiment, des bâtiments de logement, un grand terrain de rassemblement et une voie ferrée. Bob Cahen fut interné au camp Westerbork en 1942. Voici un extrait d'une lettre dans laquelle il raconte ce qui s'y passait :

« Il y a de plus en plus de nouveaux arrivants au camp. Les bâtiments sont bondés, pleins à craquer. La forge ne cesse de fabriquer des lits. Il n'y a plus de matelas de paille, en fait plus de matelas du tout, depuis un bon bout de temps. Les gens sont obligés de s'étendre sur les lits de fer. Des gens sont couchés ou assis dehors. La nuit, ils dorment à l'intérieur, sous des brouettes ou à la belle étoile. Il n'y a pas assez de nourriture. »

Anne Frank était du nombre des milliers de Juifs qui furent internés à Westerbork, et une partie du mur de la hutte dans laquelle elle vécut à Westerbork est encore debout. Anne et sa soeur moururent à Bergen-Belsen en avril 1945, quelques semaines avant la fin de la guerre.

Le dernier train partit de Westerbork le 13 septembre 1944. Il transportait 77 jeunes enfants qui avaient été arrachés par les Nazis des endroits où ils se cachaient.

Westerbork fut libéré le 12 avril 1945 et 876 prisonniers furent remis en liberté lorsque les soldats canadiens entrèrent dans le camp. Après la libération, le camp resta ouvert et diverses activités s'y déroulèrent, mais les derniers bâtiments furent démolis en 1971.

Westerbork est devenu aujourd'hui un centre commémoratif. Il a été restauré tel qu'il était à l'époque de manière à ce que l'on puisse identifier les endroits où se trouvaient les bâtiments jadis. En guise de symbole, les voies ferrées qui menaient aux camps de concentration ont été soulevées, tordues en forme de cercles afin que jamais un train ne puisse un jour les emprunter de nouveau. On a reconstruit certaines routes et certains autres chemins. Sur le terrain de rassemblement, on a déposé 102 000 pierres qui témoignent du passage des déportés de Westerbork qui furent assassinés. Kamp Westerbork est devenu aujourd'hui un centre commémoratif.

Date de modification :