Guest Speakers

Looking for a Veteran or Canadian Forces member to speak at your school or community group? There is no better way to help young people understand what it is like to serve in the cause of peace and freedom than to hear from someone who has done so personally. While Veterans Affairs Canada does not directly arrange these visits, there are a number of options available to you.

  • Historica Canada's Memory Project Speakers Bureau is a national, bilingual program that arranges for Veterans and Canadian Forces members to visit schools and community groups year-round to share their stories of serving Canada.
  • The Department of National Defence has a National Veterans' Week Speakers Program each fall that arranges for Canadian Forces members to visit schools to talk about their experiences in uniform. You could also try contacting your town's armoury to see if any local Canadian Forces members are available for speaking engagements with young people.
  • Your local branch of the Royal Canadian Legion may be able to connect you with local Veterans who are available for speaking engagements with youth.

If you are unable to arrange for a guest speaker to come in person, consider showing a Veteran interview video. Veterans Affairs Canada's 'Heroes Remember' collection features a searchable database with a wide selection of on-line interviews with Veterans from across Canada. You may find an interview with a Veteran from your own province!

Date modified:

Conférenciers invités

Souhaiteriez-vous qu'un vétéran ou un membre des Forces armées canadiennes vienne parler à votre école ou à votre groupe communautaire? C'est une excellente façon d'aider les jeunes à comprendre l'importance de servir pour la cause de la paix et de la liberté et d'écouter les témoignages de quelqu'un qui a déjà servi. Bien qu'Anciens Combattants Canada n'organise pas ces visites, il y a plusieurs options à votre disposition.

  • Le Bureau des orateurs du Projet Mémoire, de Historica Canada, est un programme national bilingue qui permet à des vétérans et des membres des Forces armées canadiennes de visiter des écoles et des groupes communautaires tout au long de l'année afin qu'ils puissent partager des histoires de leur service militaire pour le Canada.
  • Le ministère de la Défense nationale offre chaque automne le Programme national des conférenciers de la Semaine des vétérans, qui coordonne les visites de membres des Forces armées canadiennes aux écoles. Ces visites permettent aux membres de raconter leurs expériences vécues durant le service. Nous vous suggérons également de prendre contact avec le manège militaire de votre ville pour demander s'il y a des membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui sont disponibles pour partager leurs expériences avec des jeunes.
  • Votre filiale locale de la Légion royale canadienne pourrait également vous mettre en contact avec des vétérans qui accepteraient de venir parler à des jeunes.

Si vous ne pouvez pas organiser une visite avec un conférencier invité, envisagez de présenter la vidéo d'une entrevue avec un vétéran. La collection « Des héros se racontent » d'Anciens Combattants Canada offre un vaste choix d'entrevues avec des vétérans de partout du Canada. Vous pourriez même y trouver une entrevue avec un vétéran de votre propre province!

Date de modification :