An Inspiring Runner

This publication is available upon request in alternate formats. PDF Version

Alexander Decoteau in 1942.

Alexander (Alex) Wuttunee Decoteau was born on the Red Pheasant Reserve in Saskatchewan in 1887. His father was Métis, and his mother was Cree. He moved to Alberta as a young man and became our country’s first Indigenous police officer when he joined the Edmonton force in 1909!

Alex was a remarkable long-distance runner and he won most of the major races in Western Canada during his athletic career. He even qualfied to represent Canada and compete in the 5,000-metre race at the 1912 Olympics in Stockholm, Sweden! He made it to the finals but, unfortunately, suffered leg cramps which affected his performance.

When the First World War was raging, Alex enlisted in the Canadian Army in 1916. He served with the 202nd Infantry Battalion (known as the Edmonton Sportsman's Battalion) and later with the 49th Battalion. His running skills were put to good use in his role as the battalion messenger, a very dangerous job of running messages across battlefields in the face of enemy fire. This did not stop him from running in races however. In fact, he continued to run and entered military races in England, where his group was training. At a military sports event in England (which were common distractions from war for the soldiers at the time) he won a five-kilometre race. King George V was watching the event and awarded him with his own personal gold pocket watch as a prize! He treasured this special watch and kept it in his pocket.

During the fall of 1917, Private Decoteau fought with the Canadian troops through endless rains and knee-deep mud to capture the small town of Passchendaele (pronounced Pa-chen-dale) in the country of Belgium. By November 10, 1917, the Canadians were successful in capturing the village from the Germans. However, the Battle of Passchendaele was one of the worst battles of the First World War and success came at a great cost. Approximately 16,000 Canadians were killed or wounded. A century later, the Battle of Passchendaele is remembered as one of the worst horrors of the First World War.

Tragically, one of those Canadians was Private Decoteau. He was killed on October 30, 1917 just before his 30th birthday. It is said that the German sniper who shot him kept the special watch that the King had awarded to Alex. However, his friends later recovered the treasured watch and sent it home to Decoteau’s mother.

Gravestone

Private Decoteau was buried in the Passchendaele British New Cemetery in Ypres, Belgium, overlooking the pastoral farmers' fields that spill out over the Belgian countryside. A small rose bush sits just to the right of his grave.

Since a proper Cree burial did not occur, his family and friends performed a special ceremony in 1985 that would bring his spirit home to Edmonton, the city where he made such an impact. Members of the Red Pheasant First Nation, the Canadian Armed Forces and the Edmonton Police Force were all in attendance.

It has been 100 years since Decoteau died, but his name lives on. He continues to inspire and he is remembered. In 1967, he was inducted into the Edmonton Sports Hall of Fame where many of his sports accomplishments are recorded. The Edmonton Police Museum and Archives holds a number of his personal and military trophies and awards, including a participation medal from the Olympics.

As a police officer and an athlete, Decoteau established a special relationship with children. As a fitting tribute today, he is still a role model to children and adults alike, and his dedication to Canada and athletics are remembered through Alex Decoteau remembrance runs! The City of Edmonton started their Alex Decoteau run in 2001. It also has a street named after him – Decoteau Way, and a park – Decoteau Park. A five-kilometre Alex Decoteau Run as well takes in Belgium every year through the historic battlefield.

Date modified:

L'histoire inspirante d'un coureur

Cette publication est disponible dans d’autres formats sur demande. PDF Version

Alexander Decoteau in 1942.

Alexander (Alex) Wuttunee Decoteau est né en 1887 sur la réserve de Red Pheasant, en Saskatchewan. Son père était métis et sa mère était crie. Alors qu’il était un jeune homme, il a déménagé en Alberta où il allait devenir le premier officier de police autochtone au pays lorsqu’il s’est joint au corps de police d’Edmonton, en 1909.

Coureur de fond exceptionnel, il a remporté la plupart des principales compétitions sportives du genre dans l’Ouest du Canada pendant sa carrière d’athlète. Il s’est même qualifié pour représenter le Canada à la course de
5 000 mètres aux Jeux olympiques de 1912 à Stockholm, en Suède! Il s’est qualifié pour l’épreuve finale, mais a malheureusement été affligé de crampes aux jambes, ce qui a affecté sa performance.

En 1916, alors que la Première Guerre mondiale faisait rage, Alex s’est enrôlé dans l’Armée canadienne. Il a servi dans le 202e Bataillon d’infanterie (le bataillon des sportifs d’Edmonton), puis dans le 49e Bataillon en tant que messager, une tâche très dangereuse consistant à livrer des messages à travers le champ de bataille, exposé aux tirs de l’ennemi. Cela ne l’a toutefois pas empêché de compétitionner. D’ailleurs, il a continué à courir et à participer à des courses organisées par l’armée en Angleterre, où son groupe s’entraînait. Lors d’un événement sportif militaire tenu dans ce pays (une distraction courante pour les soldats pendant la guerre), il a remporté une course de cinq kilomètres. Le roi George V qui y assistait lui a remis sa montre en or personnelle à titre de récompense! Alex en était très fier et la gardait précieusement dans sa poche.

Durant l’automne 1917, le soldat Decoteau a combattu avec les troupes canadiennes sous la pluie interminable et dans la boue jusqu’aux genoux pour s’emparer de la petite ville de Passchendaele (prononcée Pass-chen-daele), en Belgique. Les Canadiens ont finalement réussi à dérober la ville aux Allemands le 10 novembre 1917. Cependant, la bataille de Passchendaele a été l’une des pires batailles de la Première Guerre mondiale et cette victoire s’est avérée très coûteuse. Quelque 16 000 jeunes hommes canadiens ont été tués ou blessés. Un siècle plus tard, on se souvient de la bataille de Passchendaele comme l’une des pires horreurs de la Première Guerre mondiale, ayant causé la perte de tant de jeunes vies.

Tragiquement, le soldat Decoteau était l’un de ces jeunes hommes. Il a été tué en octobre 1917, juste avant son 30e anniversaire. L'histoire raconte que le tireur d'élite allemand qui a tué Decoteau lui a volé sa montre en or. Cependant, des camarades ont récupéré le précieux objet et l'ont fait parvenir à la mère du soldat Decoteau.

Gravestone

Le soldat Decoteau repose à Ypres, en Belgique, dans le Nouveau cimetière britannique de Passchendaele qui surplombe les champs paisibles de la campagne belge. Un rosier se trouve juste à droite.

Des amis et membres de sa famille ont tenu une cérémonie spéciale en 1985 afin de ramener son esprit sur sa terre natale, à Edmonton, la ville où il a eu une grande influence. Les membres de la Première nation de Red Pheasant, des Forces armées canadiennes et du service de police d'Edmonton étaient tous présents.

Cela fait maintenant cent ans que le soldat Decoteau est décédé, mais son nom perdure toujours et continue de nous inspirer. En 1967, Decoteau a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée des sports d'Edmonton où bon nombre de ses exploits sportifs ont été réalisés. Le Musée et centre d’archives du service de police d’Edmonton abrite plusieurs de ses trophées et distinctions personnelles et militaires, dont une médaille de participation aux Olympiques.

En tant qu’officier de police et athlète, Decoteau avait établi une relation spéciale avec les jeunes. Aujourd’hui, en guise d’hommage mérité, il représente toujours un modèle, tant pour les jeunes que pour les adultes, et son dévouement envers le Canada et l’athlétisme est commémoré grâce à la course Alex Decoteau. La ville d’Edmonton a créé cette course en 2001. Elle a aussi nommé une rue en son nom (Decoteau Way) et un parc. Une course Alex Decoteau de cinq kilomètres se tient également chaque année en Belgique, sur le champ de bataille historique.

Date de modification :