Learning Videos

Download Full Learning Video

Right-click on the "Download Full Learning Video" link and choose "Save Target As" or "Save Link As".

Legacy

New Altars of the Memorial Chamber [7 min. 47 sec.]

To mark the 100th anniversary of the First World War, six wooden altars within Parliament Hill's Memorial Chamber were replaced by ones made of stone. Watch the video to see the new altars and to hear the story of this sacred place.

Link to video
Memorial Chamber

First World War

A Voyage of Discovery - 85th Anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge [30 min. 25 sec.]

See the transformation of thirteen young Canadians from all across Canada as they travel through the cemeteries, battlefield sites and commemorative battlefield parks of France and Belgium as they begin to learn and truly understand the role Canadians played in the First World War. Present day video footage, mixed with archival history footage, narration and the reflections of the youth tell of the discoveries they made during their time overseas.

Trailer Download Full Learning Video
Young Canandians at Vimy

Innocence Lost : A Nation Found - Canada Remembers: The First World War 1914-1918 [19 min. 24 sec.]

Twelve Canadian teenagers travel to France, on a Veteran’s pilgrimage to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge. Because of this journey, they develop a new respect for what Canadian Veterans endured in capturing the ridge from its German defenders in April, 1917.

Trailer Download Full Learning Video
Young Candian with a Veteran in France

Canada and the Great War 1914-1918: A Nation Born [19 min. 49 sec.]

Canada's role in the First World War is told through the eyes of a young student researching a school project. From mobilization, to the 1915 gas attack at Ypres, the Newfoundland Regiment and the Battle of the Somme, the victory at Vimy Ridge, the tragedy of Passchendaele, and the final days of the war, as the long period of trench warfare ends and the allies advance through enemy lines to victory, this video gives an excellent overview of the war.

Trailer Download Full Learning Video
Soldiers in France

Second World War

Canada Remembers: Holland [22 min. 14 sec.]

Follow ten young Canadians as they travel with Canadian Veterans to the Netherlands and witness how they are revered and respected by the Dutch people for liberating their country from German occupation during the closing days of the Second World War.

Trailer Download Full Learning Video
Two soldiers in a war cemetery in Holland

Sacrifice, Achievement and Legacy: Canadians and the Second World War 1939-1945 [22 min. 09 sec.]

In this comprehensive video, learn about how Canadians rallied at home and overseas, in the face of the biggest threat the country ever faced. Through archival Second World War footage and Veteran interviews, discover the contributions Canadians made in Hong Kong, Dieppe, Italy, Normandy, Holland and in the Far East, as well as in the skies and at sea around the globe.

Trailer Download Full Learning Video
Three soldiers in the Second World War

Canada Remembers the Far East [24 min. 24 sec.]

Working on a school project, watch three French-Canadian teenagers discover the important role that Canadians played in the Far East during the Second World War. With the use of archival footage, Veteran testimony and historical narration, learn about the Canadians' participation in the defence of Hong Kong, the harsh treatment of the Hong Kong prisoners of war by the Japanese, the air force's role in delivering supplies to the troops on the ground in Burma, the "Saviour of Ceylon" and much more.

Trailer Download Full Learning Video
Wounded civilians in the Second World War

The Korean War

Canada Remembers: A War for Peace [29 min. 47 sec.]

Travel with Canadian Veterans and students who go to Korea to mark the 45th Anniversary of the Korean War cease fire. Through personal stories and anecdotes by Veterans, interspersed with actual footage of the pilgrimage and archival footage of the 1950 - 1953 period, you will see the important part Canadians played in the Korean War and how this journey personally affected all those who participated in the event.

Trailer Download Full Learning Video
Explosion on a Korean War battlefield
Date modified:

Vidéos d'apprentissage

Téléchargez la vidéo d'apprentissage complète :

Faites un clic droit sur le lien « Téléchargez la vidéo d'apprentissage complète » et sélectionnez « Enregistrez la cible sous » ou « Enregistrez le lien sous ».

Patrimoine

Nouveaux autels de la Chapelle du Souvenir [7 min 47 sec]

Afin de souligner le 100e anniversaire de la Première Guerre mondiale, six autels en bois se trouvant dans la Chapelle du Souvenir sur la Colline du Parlement ont été remplacés par des autels en pierre. Consultez la vidéo pour voir les nouveaux autels et vous renseigner sur cet endroit sacré.

Vidéo
Chapelle du Souvenir

Première Guerre mondiale

Un voyage de découverte - 85e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy [31 min 06 sec]

Voyez comment treize jeunes Canadiens provenant d'ici et là au pays se transforment lors d'un voyage, alors qu'ils visitent des cimetières, des champs de bataille et des parcs de champ de bataille commémoratifs de France et de Belgique qui leur font découvrir et comprendre vraiment le rôle qu'ont joué les Canadiens dans la Première Guerre mondiale. Séquences vidéo actuelles entremêlées d'images d'archives historiques, récits et réflexions des jeunes qui parlent des découvertes qu'ils ont faites au cours de leur séjour outre-mer.

Bande annonce Téléchargez la vidéo d'apprentissage complète
De jeunes Canadiens à Vimy

La perte de l’innocence… La naissance d’une Nation - Le Canada se souvient de la Grande Guerre de 1914-1918 [19 min 31 sec]

Douze adolescents canadiens se rendent en France dans le cadre d'un pèlerinage d'anciens combattants pour souligner le 80e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy. Leur séjour leur permet d'acquérir un nouveau respect pour les anciens combattants et pour ce qu'ils ont enduré lorsqu'ils ont arraché la crête de Vimy aux mains des Allemands en avril 1917.

Bande annonce Téléchargez la vidéo d'apprentissage complète
Un jeune Canadien avec un vétéran en France

Le Canada et la Grande Guerre de 1914-1918 : Naissance d’une nation [19 min 25 sec]

Le rôle qu'a joué le Canada pendant la Première Guerre mondiale est raconté du point de vue d'une élève dans le cadre d'un projet de recherche scolaire. Cette vidéo présente un excellent aperçu de la guerre : depuis la mobilisation des troupes, l'attaque au gaz toxique de 1915, à Ypres, le Newfoundland Regiment et la bataille de la Somme, la victoire à la crête de Vimy, la tragédie de Passchendaele, jusqu'aux derniers jours de la guerre, alors que la longue période de guerre des tranchées prenait fin et que les Alliés avançaient sur les lignes ennemies vers la victoire.

Bande annonce Téléchargez la vidéo d'apprentissage complète
Des soldats en France

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le Canada se souvient : Pays-Bas [22 min 14 sec]

Suivez le parcours de dix jeunes Canadiens alors qu'ils se rendent aux Pays-Bas avec des anciens combattants canadiens et constatent à quel point ceux-ci sont respectés par les Néerlandais pour avoir libéré leur pays de l'occupation allemande durant les derniers jours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Bande annonce Téléchargez la vidéo d'apprentissage complète
Deux soldats dans un cimetière de guerre aux Pays-Bas

Sacrifice, réalisations et legs : Les Canadiens et la Seconde Guerre mondiale : 1939-1945 [21 min 50 sec]

Cette vidéo détaillée vous fait découvrir comment les Canadiens se sont ralliés au pays et à l'étranger, devant la plus grande menace à laquelle le pays avait été confronté. Des images d'archives de la Seconde Guerre mondiale ainsi que des entrevues avec des anciens combattants vous font découvrir les contributions des Canadiens à Hong Kong, à Dieppe, en Italie, en Normandie, en Hollande et en Extrême-Orient, ainsi que leurs réalisations dans les airs et en mer aux quatre coins du globe.

Bande annonce Téléchargez la vidéo d'apprentissage complète
Trois soldats lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le Canada se souvient : Extrême-Orient [29 min 56 sec]

Dans le cadre d'un projet d'école, trois adolescents franco-canadiens découvrent le rôle important qu'ont joué les Canadiens en Extrême-Orient durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Grâce à des images d'archives, des témoignages et des récits historiques d'anciens combattants, cette vidéo vous permet d'en apprendre davantage sur la participation des Canadiens à la défense de Hong Kong, les mauvais traitements qu'ont infligés les Japonais aux prisonniers de guerre à Hong Kong, le rôle qu'a joué la Force aérienne dans le ravitaillement des troupes au sol en Birmanie, le « sauveur de Ceylan » et bien plus encore.

Bande annonce Téléchargez la vidéo d'apprentissage complète
Des civils blessés lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Guerre de Corée

Les Canadiens se souviennent : Une guerre pour la paix [29 min 45 sec]

Suivez des élèves et des anciens combattants canadiens alors qu'ils se rendent en Corée en vue de souligner le 45e anniversaire du cessez-le-feu de la guerre de Corée. Des anecdotes et des histoires personnelles racontées par des anciens combattants, intercalées de scènes réelles du pèlerinage et d'images d'archives de la période 1950-1953, vous feront découvrir la part importante que prirent les Canadiens dans la guerre de Corée et comment cette guerre a personnellement touché tous ceux qui y ont participé.

Bande annonce Téléchargez la vidéo d'apprentissage complète
Explosion sur un champ de bataille en Corée
Date de modification :