10 Quick Facts on... The Canadian Armed Forces

  1. The first large-scale Canadian peacekeeping mission started in Egypt on November 24, 1956. Since then, Canada’s commitment to international peace efforts and other overseas military actions has been constant and visible. Some of the other peacekeeping missions involving Canada have included Cyprus, the Golan Heights, the former Yugoslavia, Somalia, Rwanda and East Timor.
  2. There are approximately 65,000 Regular Force and 25,000 reservist members in the Canadian military. In 2011, women made up approximately 15% of the Canadian military, with more than 9,400 female personnel serving in the Regular Force and some 4,800 women serving in the Reserves.
  3. In Canada, August 9 is designated as National Peacekeepers’ Day. This date was selected to recognize the greatest single loss of Canadian lives on a peacekeeping mission, which occurred on that date in 1974. All nine Canadian peacekeepers that were on a United Nations-marked Canadian transport aircraft were killed when their plane was shot down by Syrian missiles.
  4. The first Persian Gulf War began on August 2, 1990, after Iraq invaded Kuwait. More than 4,000 Canadian Armed Forces personnel served in the Persian Gulf region in 1990–1991.
  5. Nearly 40,000 Canadian Armed Forces members served in support of multinational peace support operations in Balkans.
  6. In September 1993, Canadian soldiers experienced their most intense firefight since the Korean War when members of Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry were pounded with heavy machine gun fire, grenades, cannons and small arms fire in the Medak Pocket of Croatia.
  7. The Canadian Armed Forces also perform many other important functions such as search and rescue, patrolling our air space and territorial waters, supporting anti-drug operations and helping out in the aftermath of natural disasters. The Canadian Rangers, an element of the Reserves, provide a military presence in the sparsely populated areas of northern Canada. There are approximately 5,000 Canadian Rangers who provide support to domestic operations.
  8. In 1988, the Nobel Peace Prize was awarded collectively to UN peacekeepers in recognition of their efforts over the years to help restore peace to countries in turmoil.
  9. Canadian soldiers were deployed to Afghanistan in late 2001, in support of the United Nations Security Council resolution to root out terrorism. Approximately 40,000 Canadians served in that theatre of operations before the mission came to an end in March 2014.
  10. More than 175,000 members of the Canadian military have participated in dozens of international peace support efforts over the past six decades in countries all over the world. Of these, more than 1,700 have made the ultimate sacrifice in the defence of peace and freedom, and each of them is commemorated in the Seventh Book of RemembranceIn the Service of Canada.
Date modified:

Dix faits en bref sur... les Forces armées canadiennes

  1. La première mission canadienne de maintien de la paix d’envergure a débuté en Égypte le 24 novembre 1956. Depuis, l’engagement du Canada à l’égard des efforts internationaux de maintien de la paix et d’autres missions militaires à l’étranger a été constant et visible. Le Canada a participé à d’autres missions de paix, notamment à Chypre, au plateau du Golan, en ex-Yougoslavie, en Somalie, au Rwanda et au Timor-Oriental.
  2. Il y a environ 65 000 membres de la Force régulière et 25 000 réservistes au sein des forces militaires canadiennes. En 2011, les femmes représentaient environ 15 % des militaires canadiens. Plus de 9 400 d’entre elles servaient dans la Force régulière, et près de 4 800 faisaient partie de la Force de réserve.
  3. Au Canada, le 9 août est désigné Journée nationale des Gardiens de la paix. On a choisi cette date, car en cette journée en 1974, le Canada a subi ses pertes les plus lourdes en un seul incident durant une mission de maintien de la paix. Les neuf gardiens de la paix canadiens qui se trouvaient à bord d’un aéronef de transport canadien aux couleurs des Nations Unies sont morts lorsque leur avion a été abattu par des missiles syriens.
  4. En envahissant le Koweït, l’Iraq a déclenché la première guerre du golfe Persique le 2 août 1990. Plus de 4 000 membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont servi dans la région du golfe Persique en 1990-1991.
  5. Près de 40 000 membres des Forces armées canadiennes ont participé à des opérations de paix multinationales dans les Balkans.
  6. En septembre 1993, les soldats canadiens ont eu leur plus intense échange de coups de feu depuis la guerre de Corée lorsque des membres du Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry ont été la cible d’un tir nourri de mitrailleuses, de grenades, de canons et d’armes légères dans la « poche de Medak », en Croatie.
  7. Les Forces armées canadiennes exécutent aussi de nombreuses autres fonctions importantes. Citons notamment des opérations de recherche et de sauvetage, des patrouilles de l’espace aérien et des eaux territoriales du Canada, des services d’appui aux opérations antidrogues et des missions de soutien à la suite de désastres naturels. Les Rangers canadiens font partie de la Force de réserve et offrent une présence militaire dans les régions peu densément peuplées du Nord du Canada. Il y a environ 5 000 Rangers canadiens qui fournissent un appui aux opérations nationales.
  8. En 1988, le prix Nobel de la paix a été décerné collectivement aux gardiens de la paix des Nations Unies, en hommage aux efforts déployés au fil des ans pour rétablir la paix dans les pays déchirés par des conflits.
  9. Des soldats canadiens ont été déployés en Afghanistan à la fin de 2001 à l’appui de la résolution adoptée par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies en faveur de l’élimination du terrorisme. Environ 40 000 Canadiens et Canadiennes ont servi dans ce théâtre d’opérations avant que la mission ne prenne fin en mars 2014.
  10. Dans les six dernières décennies, plus de 175 000 militaires canadiens ont participé à des dizaines de missions internationales de paix dans des pays situés aux quatre coins de la planète. De ce nombre, plus de 1 700 personnes ont fait le sacrifice ultime pour défendre la paix et la liberté, et chacune est commémorée dans le Septième Livre du Souvenir - Au Service du Canada.
Date de modification :