10 Quick Facts on... The First World War

  1. The First World War began on August 4, 1914, with the Triple Entente (United Kingdom, France and Russia) and other nations (e.g., Canada and Australia) against the Triple Alliance (Germany, Austria-Hungary and Italy). However, Italy refused to join in the war effort and instead, in May 1915, it aligned with Britain and France and declared war against Germany and Austria-Hungary.
  2. Canadians saw their first major action at Ypres on April 22, 1915. Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae was inspired to write In Flanders Fields to honour a friend who died during this battle.
  3. The Battle of the Somme began early on the morning of July 1, 1916. The 1st Newfoundland Regiment suffered especially heavy losses on that day. Of the approximately 800 Newfoundlanders who went into battle, only 68 were at roll call the following morning.
  4. The Battle of Vimy Ridge began on the morning of April 9, 1917, and ended four days later. It was the first time all four divisions of the Canadian Corps fought together as one formation. The Canadian victory at Vimy Ridge is considered to be a key point in shaping Canada as a nation.
  5. Canadians took part in the Battle of Passchendaele from October to November 1917. In a muddy corner of Belgium, Canadians overcame almost unimaginable hardships to capture this strategic village.
  6. More than 2,800 Canadian Nursing Sisters served with the Canadian Army Medical Corps.
  7. Approximately 4,000 Aboriginal Canadians enlisted during the war. This represented nearly one-third of all Aboriginal-Canadian men eligible to serve.
  8. Approximately 70 Canadians were awarded the Victoria Cross for “most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy” during the First World War.
  9. More than 650,000 men and women from Canada and Newfoundland served during the First World War. More than 66,000 gave their lives and over 172,000 were wounded.
  10. The fighting ended on November 11, 1918, with the signing of the Armistice. The war officially ended with the signing of the Treaty of Versailles in 1919.
Date modified:

Dix faits en bref sur... la Première Guerre mondiale

  1. La Première Guerre mondiale, qui éclata le 4 août 1914, opposait la Triple-Entente (le Royaume-Uni, la France et la Russie) et d’autres pays (dont le Canada et l’Australie) à la Triple-Alliance (l’Allemagne, l’Autriche-Hongrie et l’Italie). Cependant, l’Italie refusa de participer à l’effort de guerre. En mai 1915, elle finit par se ranger du côté du Royaume-Uni et de la France et déclara la guerre contre l’Allemagne et l’Autriche-Hongrie.
  2. Les Canadiens livrèrent leur première grande bataille à Ypres le 22 avril 1915. Le lieutenant-colonel John McCrae écrivit le poème In Flanders Field (Au champ d’honneur) en souvenir d’un ami mort lors de ce premier affrontement.
  3. La bataille de la Somme débuta tôt dans la matinée du 1er juillet 1916. Le 1st Newfoundland Regiment subit des pertes particulièrement lourdes ce jour-là. Des quelque 800 Terre-Neuviens engagés dans ce combat, seulement 68 purent répondre à l’appel le lendemain matin.
  4. La bataille de la crête de Vimy débuta le 9 avril 1917 et se termina quatre jours plus tard. Il s’agissait de la première fois que les quatre divisions du Corps canadien combattaient ensemble en une formation unique. La victoire canadienne à la crête de Vimy est vue comme un tournant dans l’accession du Canada au titre de nation.
  5. Les Canadiens participèrent à la bataille de Passchendaele d’octobre à novembre 1917. Dans un coin boueux de la Belgique, ils surmontèrent des épreuves quasi inimaginables pour capturer ce village stratégique.
  6. Plus de 2 800 infirmières militaires canadiennes servirent au sein du Corps de santé de l’Armée canadienne.
  7. Environ 4 000 Canadiens d’origine autochtone s’enrôlèrent pendant la guerre. Ce chiffre représentait presque le tiers des hommes autochtones physiquement aptes à servir.
  8. Environ 70 Canadiens se virent décerner la Croix de Victoria pour leurs actes de bravoure exceptionnelle accomplis en présence de l’ennemi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.
  9. Plus de 650 000 hommes et femmes du Canada et de Terre-Neuve servirent pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Plus de 66 000 d’entre eux consentirent le sacrifice ultime et plus de 172 000 furent blessés.
  10. Les combats cessèrent le 11 novembre 1918, date de la signature de l’Armistice. La signature du Traité de Versailles mit officiellement fin à la guerre en 1919.
Date de modification :