10 Quick Facts on... The Second World War

  1. For Canada, the Second World War officially began on September 10, 1939, with a declaration of war against Germany. This occurred following the declaration of war made by England and France on September 3rd.
  2. The Dieppe Raid occurred on August 19, 1942. Known as Operation Jubilee, it involved more than 6,000 men, including almost 5,000 Canadians. The soldiers went ashore at five different points along a 16-kilometre stretch of heavily defended coastline. More than 3,350 Canadians became casualties, including approximately 1,950 who were taken as prisoners of war. In total, 916 Canadians died during the ill-fated raid.
  3. What is known as the Italian Campaign began when Allied Forces, including Canada, went ashore in Sicily on July 10, 1943, during Operation Husky. The Allies fought for more than four weeks before defeating the Italians. The fall of Sicily cleared the way for the Allies’ next step on September 3, 1943: landing in mainland Italy. Canadian casualties in the Italian Campaign totaled more than 26,000, of which nearly 6,000 died.
  4. D-Day occurred on June 6, 1944, when the Allies went ashore on the heavily fortified beaches of Normandy, France. More than 14,000 Canadians participated in what was known as Operation Overlord. Ground, sea and air forces rehearsed endlessly for over a year prior to the landings to make sure their timing and coordination were perfect.
  5. More than 50,000 women served in the military with the Canadian Women’s Army Corps (CWACs), the Royal Canadian Air Force – Women’s Division (WDs), the Women’s Royal Canadian Naval Service (Wrens) and as Nursing Sisters.
  6. At least 3,000 Aboriginal Canadians volunteered to serve in the Second World War.
  7. Sixteen Canadians were awarded the Victoria Cross for most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy during the war.
  8. The Royal Canadian Navy began the war with 13 vessels and 3,500 sailors, and ended it as the third largest Allied navy with 373 ships and more than 110,000 sailors.
  9. More than one million Canadians and Newfoundlanders served in the Second World War. More than 45,000 gave their lives and another 55,000 were wounded.
  10. The Second World War officially ended on May 8, 1945, in Europe (V-E Day) and on August 15, 1945, in the Pacific (V-J Day).
Date modified:

Dix faits en bref sur... la Seconde Guerre mondiale

  1. En ce qui concerne le Canada, la Seconde Guerre mondiale commença officiellement le 10 septembre 1939 quand le pays déclara la guerre à l’Allemagne. Cette déclaration suivit celle faite par l’Angleterre et la France le 3 septembre.
  2. Le raid sur Dieppe fut lancé le 19 août 1942. Dans le cadre de l’opération Jubilee, plus de 6 000 hommes, dont près de 5 000 Canadiens, débarquèrent à cinq endroits différents sur une bande de 16 kilomètres de littoral solidement défendu. L’offensive se solda par la perte de plus de 3 350 Canadiens, dont environ 1 950 qui furent faits prisonniers de guerre. En tout, 916 Canadiens périrent au cours de ce raid malheureux.
  3. La campagne d’Italie commença le 10 juillet 1943 avec le débarquement en Sicile des forces alliées, comprenant celles du Canada, au cours de l’opération Husky. Les Alliées y affrontèrent les Italiens pendant plus de quatre semaines. La chute de la Sicile ouvrit la voie à la prochaine offensive des Alliés : une descente sur l’Italie continentale le 3 septembre 1943. La campagne d’Italie entraîna de lourdes pertes pour le Canada : plus de 26 000 blessés, dont près de 6 000 moururent.
  4. Les Alliés débarquèrent sur les plages solidement fortifiées de la Normandie, en France, le 6 juin 1944, soit le jour J. Plus de 14 000 Canadiens prirent part à cette mission du nom d’opération Overlord. Les forces terrestres, maritimes et aériennes s’étaient exercées sans répit pendant plus d’un an avant l’opération pour que leurs manœuvres soient parfaitement coordonnées et synchronisées.
  5. Plus de 50 000 femmes servirent dans les forces armées où elles se joignirent au Service féminin de l’Armée canadienne, à la Division féminine de l’Aviation royale du Canada, au Service féminin de la Marine royale du Canada et au corps des infirmières militaires.
  6. Au moins 3 000 Autochtones canadiens se portèrent volontaires pour servir pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
  7. Seize Canadiens se virent décerner la Croix de Victoria pour un acte de bravoure exceptionnel en présence de l’ennemi pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
  8. Au début de la guerre, la Marine royale du Canada comptait 13 navires et 3 500 marins. À la fin de la guerre, elle était la troisième marine en importance des pays alliés avec ses 373 navires et ses plus de 110 000 marins.
  9. Plus d’un million de Canadiens et de Terre-Neuviens servirent pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Au-delà de 45 000 d’entre eux y laissèrent leur vie et 55 000 autres en revinrent blessés.
  10. La Seconde Guerre mondiale prit officiellement fin le 8 mai 1945 en Europe (le jour de la Victoire en Europe) et le 15 août 1945 dans le Pacifique (jour de la Victoire sur le Japon).
Date de modification :