10 Quick Facts on... The South African War

  1. The South African War began on October 11, 1899. The conflict was between the British and the Boers, the descendants of Dutch Protestant farmers who had been the first White settlers in the region.
  2. In support of Britain, Prime Minister Wilfrid Laurier offered to send soldiers and military equipment, and pay for their transportation to South Africa. In turn, the British paid the wages for these volunteer soldiers and for their return home after their service.
  3. A thousand Canadians formed the first contingent that sailed from the city of Québec on October 30, 1899. The second contingent, made up of two regiments and three artillery batteries, sailed in January and February 1900. Other contingents of men and equipment sailed from Canada in March 1900, March 1901, January 1902 and May 1902.
  4. The Canadians received their “baptism of fire” at the Battle of Paardeberg on February 18, 1900, where they distinguished themselves in the first significant British victory of the conflict. In all, 18 Canadians were killed and 68 more were wounded on the first day of the battle. It was Canada’s bloodiest single day of fighting in the war.
  5. Canadians took part in many smaller actions throughout the war, such as the Battle of Leliefontein on November 7, 1900, which involved 3 Victoria Cross recipients.
  6. Five Canadians earned the Victoria Cross, the highest award for military valour in the British Empire, during the war: Sergeant Arthur Richardson, Lieutenant Hampden Cockburn, Lieutenant Richard Turner, Sergeant Edward Holland and Lieutenant William Nickerson.
  7. Prince Edward Island’s Georgina Pope led the Canadian Nursing Sisters in South Africa. It marked the first time Canadian women served with the military overseas, with 12 Nursing Sisters helping the sick and wounded in South Africa.
  8. It is estimated that 300,000 horses died during the South African War.
  9. More than 7,000 Canadians volunteered for service during the South African War. Approximately 280 died, most due to injury or illness brought on by the harsh conditions, and more than 250 were wounded.
  10. The South African War ended on May 31, 1902, with the signing of the Treaty of Vereeniging.
Date modified:

Dix faits en bref sur... la guerre d’Afrique du Sud

  1. La guerre d’Afrique du Sud éclata le 11 octobre 1899. Le conflit opposait la Grande-Bretagne aux Boers, les descendants d’agriculteurs protestants néerlandais qui avaient été les premiers Blancs à coloniser la région.
  2. Afin d’appuyer la Grande-Bretagne, le premier ministre Wilfrid Laurier mit à contribution des volontaires canadiens et de l’équipement militaire et il fit les arrangements nécessaires pour que ceux-ci se rendent en Afrique du Sud. En contrepartie, la Grande-Bretagne paya la solde de ces soldats et assura leur retour au Canada à la fin de leur service.
  3. Le premier contingent, formé d’un millier de Canadiens, quitta Québec le 30 octobre 1899. Le second contingent, composé de deux régiments et de trois batteries d’artillerie, partit en janvier et en février 1900. D’autres troupes quittèrent le Canada en mars 1900, en mars 1901, en janvier 1902 et en mai 1902.
  4. Le « baptême du feu » des soldats canadiens eut lieu le 18 février 1900, lors de la bataille de Paardeberg. Les troupes canadiennes s’y distinguèrent en conduisant la Grande-Bretagne à sa première victoire marquante dans le conflit. En tout, 18 Canadiens moururent au champ d’honneur et 68 autres furent blessés le premier jour de la bataille. Ce fut le jour de combat le plus sanglant que connut le Canada pendant cette guerre.
  5. Les Canadiens prirent part à de nombreuses autres offensives de moindre envergure durant la guerre, notamment le 7 novembre 1900 à la bataille de Leliefontein, à laquelle participèrent trois récipiendaires de la Croix de Victoria.
  6. Pendant la guerre, cinq Canadiens se virent décerner la Croix de Victoria, la plus haute décoration pour bravoure militaire de l’Empire britannique. Il s’agit du sergent Arthur Richardson, du lieutenant Hampden Cockburn, du lieutenant Richard Turner, du sergent Edward Holland et du lieutenant William Nickerson.
  7. Georgina Pope, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, était à la tête du corps d’infirmières militaires canadiennes en Afrique du Sud. C’était la première fois que des Canadiennes servaient à l’étranger. En tout, 12 infirmières militaires s’occupèrent des malades et des blessés en Afrique du Sud.
  8. On estime que 300 000 chevaux périrent pendant la guerre d’Afrique du Sud.
  9. Plus de 7 000 Canadiens se portèrent volontaires pour aller au front pendant la guerre d’Afrique du Sud. Environ 280 d’entre eux y laissèrent leur vie, la plupart par suite de blessures ou de maladies engendrées par les conditions difficiles, et plus de 250 autres furent blessés au combat.
  10. La guerre d’Afrique du Sud se termina le 31 mai 1902 par la signature du traité de Vereeniging.
Date de modification :