General Campaign Star – SOUTH-WEST ASIA (GCS-SWA)

Contributors

Context

This general service award has been created as a means to recognize - in a timelier manner - those who serve in operations in the presence of an armed enemy. Rather than creating a new honour for each new Canadian Forces operation as it arises, the General Campaign Star and General Service Medal - with their theatre or service specific ribbons - can be awarded in future to honour participation in any operation that meets the criteria.

Eligibility and Criteria

The General Campaign Star (GCS) is awarded to members of the Canadian Forces and members of allied forces working with the Canadian Forces who deploy into a defined theatre of operations to take part in operations in the presence of an armed enemy.

The GCS is always issued with a ribbon specific to the theatre or type of service being recognized, and each ribbon has its own criteria.

The GCS with South-West Asia ribbon is awarded to Canadian Forces members and members of allied forces working with the Canadian Forces who served either:

Canadian civilians under contract with the CF and Canadian Police Officers serving under the authority of the CF in Afghanistan with units described at the link above and between the dates indicated qualify for the GSM with South-West Asia ribbon after 30 days of service.

The only members of allied forces eligible are those who serve in missions on behalf of Canada. They are usually exchange personnel who deploy with our units or personnel seconded to the CF specifically to serve in our missions. In all cases, they must be on the CFTPO filling a Canadian position and they are usually assigned a CF service number. Foreign personnel working in concert with the CF or reporting to a Canadian superior in an international context are not eligible for Canadian service medals.

Service in South-West Asia between 11 September 2001 and 31 July 2009 which was not under the NATO-led ISAF is not eligible for this award but may be eligible for the South-West Asia Service Medal, see the page for this medal for further details.

Aircrew flying into the theatre accumulate one day of service for the first sortie flown on any day, additional sorties flown on the same day receive no further credit.

The first and last days in theatre count as full days.

Visits and inspections do not constitute qualifying service. Specifically, visits for the purpose of leadership, familiarization, ceremonial, or morale by civilian or military VIPs as well as Staff Assistance Visits (SAVs), Staff Inspection Visits (SIVs), and specialist visits for the conduct of summary/criminal/administrative investigations, courts martial, Boards of Inquiry, trial evaluations, academic studies, surveys or other similar administrative activities are excluded from qualification.

Any person who dies or is evacuated because of injuries or medical reasons directly attributable to service is deemed to have satisfied the time criteria set out above. Any recipient of the Star who dies or is evacuated because of injuries or medical reasons directly attributable to service shall be credited the entire period the person would have served should the person have completed their tour of duty for the purpose of calculating eligibility towards Rotation Bars.

When a person meets the criteria for the GCS-SWA or a Bar to it and the GSM-SWA or a Bar to it within a period of 180 days, the person shall only be awarded the GCS or a Bar to it. In other words, one cannot earn both the GCS and the GSM for SWA (or bars to them) during a six months period.

The Star and Rotation Bars shall be awarded for honourable service.

For more details, consult the Eligible service list.

Description

 

The GCS is a gold-coloured four-pointed star, 44 mm across, representing the cardinal points of a compass bearing on the obverse, built-up in order from the back: a wreath of maple leaves terminating at the top with the Royal Crown, two crossed swords, the blades and hilts forming four additional points to the star, an anchor and a flying eagle. The wreath represents honour, the maple leaves represent Canada, the anchor, crossed swords and eagle represent the three services of the Canadian Forces and the Crown represents the Queen of Canada and her role as the fount of all honours. On the reverse appear within a raised circle, from top to bottom: the Royal Cypher ensigned by the Royal Crown, a plain space for engraving, and three maple leaves on one stem.

The ribbon passes through a ring attached to a small ball at the top point of the star.

The ribbon is 32 mm wide with a central stripe of green (12 mm), on either side of which are stripes of white (2 mm) and red (8 mm). Red and white are the official colours of Canada as appointed by King George V in 1921 and green represents service.

The rotations bars for the Star are gold in colour with a raised edge and bear either one or five maples leaves.

 

Bars

Rotation Bar

Rotation Bars are awarded to recognize a further 180 days of eligible service following qualification for the Star or the last Rotation Bar the person has earned. One bar bearing five maple leaves is worn in lieu of five bars bearing one maple leaf.

Wearing

The GCS-SWA shall be worn in the sequence prescribed in the Canadian Orders, Decorations and Medals Directive, and in the following manner:

On the left breast, suspended from the ribbon described above, between the General Campaign Star with ALLIED FORCE ribbon and the General Campaign Star with EXPEDITION ribbon;

Postnomials

The use of a post-nominal is not authorized for this medal.

Historical Notes

The following is a list of Canadian Forces members who have died while performing service eligible for this award:

Allard J.P.G.M. Cpl

Anderson J. Cpl

Arnal J.H. Cpl

Arndt R.F. MCpl

Arnold G.H. Cpl

Audet P.Y. MCpl

Baker J.C. Cpl

Bartsch C.D. Cpl

Bason C.S.F. MCpl

Beauchamp N.R. Cpl

Beerenfenger R.C. Cpl

Blais K.M.N. Cpl

Blake C. PO2

Bobbitt C. Cpl

Bouthillier J. Pte

Bouzane S.F. Cpl

Boyes J.G. Lt

Boyes J.J. Sgt

Braun D.R. Cpl

Brown D.R. WO

Bulger N.A. Cpl

Byers D.R.J. Pte

Caswell D.J. Pte

Chidley G.W. Pte

Collier B.J. Pte

Costall R.H. Pte

Courcy S.J.G. Pte

Couturier J.J.S. Cpl

Crooks T.K.G. Pte

Curwin J.M.R. Pte

Cushley W.J.J. Pte

Dallaire K.Y.R. Pte

Dawe M.J. Capt

Diab M.H. Pte

Dion J.J. Pte

Diplaros D. Pte

Doyle E.M. MCpl

Drouin J.F. Cpl

Dubé J.R.M. Cpl

Duchesne C.J.T.A MCpl

Eades S.A. Sgt

Eykelenboom A.J. Cpl

Faught J. Sgt

Fitzpatrick D.J. Cpl

Fortin J.D.O. Cpl

Francis J.C. Capt

Freeman M.B. Pte

Giesebrecht K. MCpl

Gillam C.P. Sgt

Girouard R.M.J. CWO

Gonthier J.F.E. Pte

Good B.R. Pte

Goudreault M. Sgt

Graham M.A. Pte

Greenfield S.D. Pte

Greenslade D.R. Pte

Greff B.G. MCpl

Grenon A.P. Cpl

Hamilton T.J. Cpl

Hayakaze M.Y. Pte

Hayes C.J. Pte

Horn C.J. Pte

Hornburg N. Cpl

Ingram V. Sgt

Joannette M.M. Cpl

Jones J.P. Pte

Karigiannis C. Sgt

Keating S.P. Cpl

Keller B.J. Cpl

Kennedy K.V. Pte

Klukie J.J. Pte

Kruse G.J. Sgt

Labbé E.B. Pte

Leary R.S. Capt

Levesque M. Pte

Longtin J.M.S.S. Pte

Lormand P.J. Pte

Lucas D.J. Sgt

MacNeil J. Sgt

Marshall S.J. Pte

Martin J.L.S. Cpl

Massouh H. WO

McCormack Z. Cpl

McCully M.J.C. Cpl

McKay K.T. Pte

McLaren M.R. Cpl

Megeney R.K. Cpl

Mellish F.R. WO

Mendes M.L. Maj

Mercier J.C.M.M. MWO

Michaud C.P. MCpl

Miller A. Pte

Miok G. Sgt

Mitchell R.T.J. Cpl

Morley K.I. Cpl

Murphy J.B. Cpl

Nolan R.F. WO

Nuttall A.R. Lt

O'Quinn K.C. Cpl

Ouellet J. Cpl

Parker G. Col

Paul F.C. Capt

Péloquin A.J. Pte

Pentland P.J. Pte

Pépin J.Y.F.S. Maj

Pinksen B.N.C.R. Cpl

Poland B.D. Cpl

Priede D.J. MCpl

Reid C.J. Cpl

Renaud J.M.G.R Pte

Roberge J.M.F.G. WO

Roberts J.B. MCpl

Ruckpaul R.M. Maj

Rudd L. Pte

Scherrer M.A.Y. Cpl

Seggie M.J.A. Cpl

Shipway P. Sgt

Short R.A. Sgt

Snyder J.S. Capt

Stachnik S.H. Sgt

Stannix C.P. Cpl

Starker M.G. Cpl

Stewart A.M.J. MCpl

Stock S.J. Pte

Storm A.H. Cpl

Street T.J. Pte

Taylor K. Sgt

Tedford D.S. Sgt

Todd T.W. Pte

Vernelli S.F. MCpl

Walsh J.S. MCpl

Wasden D.R.R.J. Cpl

Watkins L.W.T. Pte

Wiebe J.V. Pte

Williams A.E. Cpl

Williamson B.N. Pte

Wilmot C.W. Pte

Wilson M.A. Pte

Wilson R.J. WO

The GCS and GSM were created by Her Majesty The Queen in March 2004. Initially both medals were issued each with only one ribbon (those currently used for South-West Asia) with bars specifying the operation being recognized. Two bars were created, namely ALLIED FORCE and ISAF+FIAS.

The inaugural ceremony took place on 29 November 2004 in the ballroom of Rideau Hall in Ottawa. On this occasion, Her Excellency, the Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, CC, CMM, COM, CD, Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada, presented the Star to 28 representative recipients (8 with ALLIED FORCE bar and 20 with ISAF+FIAS bar), including the families of three of the casualties listed above. The first presentations of the General Service Medal were also made during that event.

In 2009, the GCS and GSM were modified so that the existing bars were abolished, being replaced with theatre or service-specific ribbons thus allowing the use of bars to recognize multiple rotations where appropriate. As a result, recipients of the original GCS with ISAF+FIAS bar must have their medal remounted without the bar but using the same ribbon. The ISAF+FIAS bars shall be returned to DH&R. Moreover, because the provision that no one could earn both the GCS and the GSM for ISAF service has been modified, some recipients who had to relinquish their GSM in order to receive the GCS will be able to claim it back provided they did not meet the criteria for both awards within the same period of six months.

Captain Carl Gauthier of the Directorate of History and Heritage, DND, designed the award. The Canadian Heraldic Authority at the Chancellery of Honours, Rideau Hall, completed the final artwork.

The Star is engraved on the reverse with the service number, abbreviated substantive rank, initials and name of the recipient.

As of 1 June 2012, 30 114 awards had been made.

Date modified:

Étoile de campagne générale – Asie du Sud-Ouest (ÉCG-ASO)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

Cette distinction de service général a été créée dans le but de rendre hommage - plus rapidement - aux personnes ayant servi dans le cadre d’opérations en présence d’un ennemi armé. Au lieu de créer au fur et à mesure une nouvelle distinction pour chaque nouvelle opération des Forces canadiennes, l’Étoile de campagne générale et la Médaille du service général - avec des rubans spécifique au théâtre ou au type de service en question - pourront être décernées à l’avenir pour souligner la participation à toute opération répondant aux critères d’admissibilité.

Admissibilité et critère

L’Étoile de campagne générale (ÉCG) est décernée aux membres des Forces canadiennes et aux membres de forces alliés travaillant avec les Forces canadiennes qui se déploient dans un théâtre d’opérations défini pour prendre part à des opérations en présence d’un ennemi armé.

L’ÉCG est toujours remise avec un ruban spécifique au théâtre ou au type de service qu’on souligne, et chacun des rubans a ses propres critères d’admissibilité.

L’ÉCG avec ruban Asie du Sud-Ouest est décernée aux membres des Forces canadiennes et aux membres d’une force alliée travaillant avec les Forces canadiennes ayant servi soit :

Les civils canadiens sous contrat avec les Forces canadiennes et les agents de police canadiens servant sous l’autorité des Forces canadiennes en Afghanistan avec les unités et durant les périodes indiquées au lien ci-dessus sont admissibles à la Médaille du service général (MSG) avec ruban Asie du Sud-Ouest après 30 jours de service.

Les seuls membres des forces allies éligibles sont ceux qui servent en mission au nom du Canada. Il s’agit généralement de personnel étranger en échange avec les FC qui sont déployés avec ses unités ou du personnel étranger prêté au FC spécifiquement pour servir avec nos missions. Dans tous les cas, ils doivent être sur les effectifs canadiens et remplir une position canadienne et on leur attribue généralement un numéro de service des FC. Le personnel étranger qui sert de concert avec les FC ou qui se rapportent à un supérieur canadien dans un contexte international ne sont pas éligible aux médailles de service canadiennes.

Le service en Asie du Sud-Ouest entre le 11 septembre 2001 et le 31 juillet 2009 qui n’était pas sous la FIAS de l’OTAN n’est pas admissible pour cette médaille mais peut être éligible à la Médaille du service en Asie du Sud-ouest, voir la page concernant cette médaille pour plus de détails.

Les pilotes et les membres d’équipage accumulent une journée de service pour la première sortie effectuée en théâtre dans une journée, les autres sorties effectuées le même jour ne donnant droit à aucun crédit supplémentaire.

Les premiers et derniers jours en théâtre comptent comme des jours complets.

Les visites et inspections ne constituent pas une période de service admissible. Spécifiquement, les visites aux fins de leadership, de commandement, de familiarisation, et les visites protocolaire ou visant à augmenter le moral des troupes effectué par des dignitaires civils ou militaires ainsi que les visites d'aide d'état-major (VAEM) et les visites d'inspection d'état-major (VIEM) ne sont pas admissibles. De plus, les visites de spécialiste pour la conduite d’enquête sommaire, criminel ou administrative, les cours martiales, les commissions d’enquêtes, les évaluations de procès, les études académiques, sondages ou autres activités administratives similaires sont exclues des critères d’admission.

Toute personne qui meurt ou qui est évacuée en raison de blessures ou pour des raisons médicales directement attribuables au service est présumée avoir satisfait aux conditions relatives à la période de service décrite ci-haut. Tout récipiendaire de l’Étoile qui meurt ou qui est évacué en raison de blessures ou pour des raisons médicales directement attribuables au service reçoit un crédit pour l’ensemble de la période de service prévue, aux fins de la détermination de l’admissibilité aux Barrettes de rotation.

Lorsqu’une personne satisfait aux critères pour recevoir l’ÉCG-ASO ou une Barrette associée à l’Étoile ET pour la MSG-ASO ou une Barrette associée à la Médaille dans une période de 180 jours, elle ne peut recevoir que l’Étoile ou une Barrette associée à l’Étoile. Autrement dit, personne ne peut recevoir l’ÉCG et la MSG pour l’ASO (ou leur barrettes) pour la même période de six mois.

L’Étoile et les Barrettes de rotation sont décernées pour service honorable.

Pour plus de détails, consultez la liste du service éligible.

Description

L’ÉCG est une étoilé dorée à 4 pointes, de 44 mm de diamètre, représentant les points cardinaux d’une boussole dont l’avers présente en superposition du bas vers le haut : une couronne de feuilles d’érable, la couronne royale, deux épées croisées, les lames et les poignées formant quatre pointes additionnelles à l’étoile, une ancre ainsi qu’un aigle en vol. La couronne représente l’honneur; les feuilles d’érable représentent le Canada; l’ancre, les deux épées croisées et l’aigle représentent les trois armes constituant les Forces canadiennes, tandis que la couronne royale symbolise la Reine du Canada et son rôle comme source de tous les honneurs. Sur le revers, on aperçoit à l’intérieur d’un cercle en relief, du haut vers le bas : le monogramme royal orné de la couronne royale, un espace vide pouvant être gravé ainsi que trois feuilles d’érable sur une tige.

Le ruban passe dans un anneau attaché à une petite boule se trouvant à l’extrémité de la pointe supérieure de l’étoile.

Le ruban ASIE DU SUD-OUEST fait 32 mm de large et comprend une rayure centrale verte (12 mm) bordée de rayures blanches (2 mm) et rouges (8 mm). Le rouge et le blanc sont les couleurs officielles du Canada tel que décidé par le roi George V en 1921, alors que le vert représente le service.

Les barrettes de rotation pour l’Étoile sont de couleur or avec le bord relevé et portent soit une ou cinq feuilles d’érables.

 

Barrette(s)

La Barrette de Rotation

Les Barrettes de rotation sont décernées pour reconnaître 180 jours cumulatifs de plus que la période de service donnant droit à l’Étoile ou à la dernière Barrette de rotation reçue. Une barrette portant cinq feuilles d’érable est portée en lieu et place de cinq barrettes portant une feuille d’érable.

Port de L'insigne

L’ÉCG-ASO se porte conformément à l’ordre de préséance prescrit dans la Directive canadienne sur les ordres, décorations et médailles, et de la manière suivante :

Initiales

L’utilisation d’initiales honorifiques n’est pas autorisée pour cette distinction.

Notes Historiques

Voici une liste des membres des Forces canadiennes qui sont décédés alors qu’ils rendaient du service éligible pour cette médaille:

Allard J.P.G.M. cpl

Anderson J. cpl

Arnal J.H. cpl

Arndt R.F. cplc

Arnold G.H. cpl

Audet P.Y. cplc

Baker J.C. cpl

Bartsch C.D. cpl

Bason C.S.F. cplc

Beauchamp N.R. cpl

Beerenfenger R.C. cpl

Blais K.M.N. cpl

Blake C. m2

Bobbitt C. cpl

Bouthillier J. sdt

Bouzane S.F. cpl

Boyes J.G. lt

Boyes J.J. sgt

Braun D.R. cpl

Brown D.R. adj

Bulger N.A. cpl

Byers D.R.J. sdt

Caswell D.J. sdt

Chidley G.W. sdt

Collier B.J. sdt

Costall R.H. sdt

Courcy S.J.G. sdt

Couturier J.J.S. cpl

Crooks T.K.G. sdt

Curwin J.M.R. sdt

Cushley W.J.J. sdt

Dallaire K.Y.R. sdt

Dawe M.J. capt

Diab M.H. sdt

Dion J.J. sdt

Diplaros D. sdt

Doyle E.M. cplc

Drouin J.F. cpl

Dubé J.R.M. cpl

Duchesne C.J.T.A cplc

Eades S.A. sgt

Eykelenboom A.J. cpl

Faught J. sgt

Fitzpatrick D.J. cpl

Fortin J.D.O. cpl

Francis J.C. capt

Freeman M.B. sdt

Giesebrecht K. cplc

Gillam C.P. sgt

Girouard R.M.J. adjuc

Gonthier J.F.E. sdt

Good B.R. sdt

Goudreault M. sgt

Graham M.A. sdt

Greenfield S.D. sdt

Greenslade D.R. sdt

Greff B.G. cplc

Grenon A.P. cpl

Hamilton T.J. cpl

Hayakaze M.Y. sdt

Hayes C.J. sdt

Horn C.J. sdt

Hornburg N. cpl

Ingram V. sgt

Joannette M.M. cpl

Jones J.P. sdt

Karigiannis C. sgt

Keating S.P. cpl

Keller B.J. cpl

Kennedy K.V. sdt

Klukie J.J. sdt

Kruse G.J. sdt

Labbé E.B. sdt

Leary R.S. capt

Levesque M. sdt

Longtin J.M.S.S. sdt

Lormand P.J. sdt

Lucas D.J. sgt

MacNeil J. sgt

Marshall S.J. sdt

Martin J.L.S. cpl

Massouh H. adj

McCormack Z. cpl

McCully M.J.C. cpl

McKay K.T. sdt

McLaren M.R. cpl

Megeney R.K. cpl

Mellish F.R. adj

Mendes M.L. maj

Mercier J.C.M.M. adjum

Michaud C.P. cplc

Miller A. sdt

Miok G. sgt

Mitchell R.T.J. cpl

Morley K.I. cpl

Murphy J.B. cpl

Nolan R.F. adj

Nuttall A.R. lt

O'Quinn K.C. cpl

Ouellet J. cpl

Parker G. col

Paul F.C. capt

Péloquin A.J. sdt

Pentland P.J. sdt

Pépin J.Y.F.S. maj

Pinksen B.N.C.R. cpl

Poland B.D. cpl

Priede D.J. cplc

Reid C.J. cpl

Renaud J.M.G.R sdt

Roberge J.M.F.G. adj

Roberts J.B. cplc

Ruckpaul R.M. maj

Rudd L. sdt

Scherrer M.A.Y. cpl

Seggie M.J.A. cpl

Shipway P. sgt

Short R.A. sgt

Snyder J.S. capt

Stachnik S.H. sgt

Stannix C.P. cpl

Starker M.G. cpl

Stewart A.M.J. cplc

Stock S.J. sdt

Storm A.H. cpl

Street T.J. sdt

Taylor K. sgt

Tedford D.S. sgt

Todd T.W. sdt

Vernelli S.F. cplc

Walsh J.S. cplc

Wasden D.R.R.J. cpl

Watkins L.W.T. sdt

Wiebe J.V. sdt

Williams A.E. cpl

Williamson B.N. sdt

Wilmot C.W. sdt

Wilson M.A. sdt

Wilson R.J. adj

L’ÉCG et la MSG furent créées par Sa Majesté la Reine en mars 2004. Initialement, les deux médailles n’avaient qu’un ruban chacune (ceux présentement utilisés pour l’Asie de Sud-Ouest) avec des barrettes précisant l’opération étant reconnue. Deux barrettes furent créées, soit ALLIED FORCE et ISAF+FIAS.

La cérémonie inaugurale eu lieu le 29 novembre 2004 dans la salle de bal de Rideau Hall à Ottawa. À cette occasion, Son Excellence, la très honorable Adrienne Clarkson, CC, CMM, COM, CD, Gouverneure générale et Commandante en chef du Canada présenta l’Étoile à 28 récipiendaires représentatifs (8 avec la barrette ALLIED FORCE et 20 avec la barrette ISAF+FIAS), incluant les familles de trois victimes listées ci-haut. Les premières présentations de la Médaille du service général furent également faites au cours de cet événement.

En 2009, l’ÉCG et la MSG furent modifiées de sorte que les barrettes existantes furent abolies et remplacées par des rubans spécifiques au théâtre ou au type de service permettant ainsi l’usage de barrettes pour reconnaître les rotations multiples lorsqu’approprié. Conséquemment, les récipiendaires de l’ÉCG avec barrette ISAF+FIAS originale doivent faire remonter leur médaille sans la barrette mais en utilisant le même ruban. Les barrettes ISAF+FIAS doivent être retournées à la DDHR. De plus, étant donné que la règle empêchant une personne de recevoir l’ÉCG et la MSG pour le service avec la FIAS a été modifiée, certains récipiendaires qui ont dû remettre leur MSG afin d’obtenir l’ÉCG pourront la réclamer pourvu qu’ils n’aient pas rencontrés le critère des deux médailles dans la même période de six mois.

Le Capitaine Carl Gauthier de la Direction – Histoire et patrimoine, au MDN, a conçu le design de l’Étoile. L’Autorité héraldique du Canada, à la Chancellerie des distinctions honorifiques à Rideau Hall, a complété le design et a produit l’œuvre finale.

Le numéro matricule, le grade substantif abrégé, les initiales et le nom du récipiendaire sont gravés sur le revers de l’Étoile.

En date du 1er juin 2012, 30 114 octrois avaient été faits.

Date de modification :