Operational Service Medal – Sierra Leone (OSM-SL)

Contributors

Context

This general service award has been created as a means to recognize in a timelier manner those who serve in or provide support to overseas operations and for which no other medals, such as United Nations or NATO medals, are available. Rather than creating a new honour for each new Canadian Forces operation as it arises, the Operational Service Medal - with its theatre or task specific

ribbons - can be awarded in future to honour participation in any operation that meets the criteria.

Eligibility and Criteria

The Operational Service Medal (OSM) is awarded to:

who served in a theatre of operations, provided direct support on a full-time basis to operations conducted in such a theatre or served under dangerous circumstances outside Canada.

The OSM is always issued with a ribbon specific to the theatre or type of service being recognized, and each ribbon has its own criteria.

The OSM with SIERRA LEONE ribbon is awarded to eligible persons who served in Sierra Leone or provided direct support to operations conducted in that country from outside Canada for at least 30 cumulative days commencing on July 31, 2002, provided the said service has not been otherwise recognized by a service medal other than the Canadian Peacekeeping Service Medal where applicable.

This currently includes those who served in Sierra Leone as part of the British-led International Military Advisory and Training Team (IMATT) following the signature of the Lomé Peace Agreement on 31 July 2002 (Operation SCULPTURE). Those who served before that date are not eligible for this medal as they received the British Operational Service Medal for Sierra Leone.

Also eligible are the Canadian police officers working for the Special Court in Sierra Leone from 31 July 2002 onwards.

Other eligible service may be added to the eligibility list for the ribbon by the Chief of the Defence Staff in consultation with Armed Forces Council and on the recommendation of the Canadian Forces Honours Committee provided the service in question meets the basic criteria and intent of the medal as described in the regulations.

Service with the United Nations Mission in Sierra Leone (Operation CROCODILE) is not eligible for this medal as it is recognized by the award of the UNOMSIL/UNAMSIL Medal.

The only civilians eligible are Members of the Public Service or Canadian civilians under contract serving under the authority of the CF or Canadian Police Forces in the theatre and at the dates indicated. Foreign civilians are not eligible for the OSM.

The only members of allied forces eligible are those who serve in theatre on behalf of Canada. They are usually foreign exchange personnel who deploy with our units or personnel seconded to the CF specifically to serve in our mission. In all cases, they must be on the CFTPO filling a Canadian position and they are usually assigned a CF service number. Foreign personnel working in concert with the CF or reporting to a Canadian superior in an international context are not eligible for Canadian service medals.

Aircrew flying into the theatre accumulate one day of service for the first sortie flown on any day, additional sorties flown on the same day receive no further credit.

The first and last days in theatre count as full days.

To be eligible to be awarded the Medal, service and direct support must be performed under exceptional circumstances and the person must have been deployed specifically to provide that service or support on a full-time basis to the operations. Only when there is a certain level of risk, threat, hardship or operational intensity can the Medal be awarded. Any service or support that is comparable in nature to normal duty or that is performed from the relative safety of a country distant from the theatre or area shall be excluded from eligibility.

Visits and inspections do not constitute qualifying service. Specifically, visits for the purpose of leadership, familiarization, ceremonial, or morale by civilian or military VIPs as well as Staff Assistance Visits (SAVs), Staff Inspection Visits (SIVs), and specialist visits for the conduct of summary/criminal/administrative investigations, courts martial, Boards of Inquiry, trial evaluations, academic studies, surveys, visits by embedded journalists or war artists or other similar activities, do not constitute eligible service.

Any person who dies or is evacuated because of injuries or medical reasons directly attributable to service is deemed to have satisfied the time criteria set out above. Any recipient of the Medal who dies or is evacuated because of injuries or medical reasons directly attributable to service shall be credited the entire period the person would have served should the person have completed their tour of duty for the purpose of calculating eligibility towards Rotation Bars.

The Medal and Rotation Bars shall be awarded for honourable service.

For more details, consult the Eligible service list.

Description

The OSM is a silver-coloured circular medal, 36 mm across bearing on the obverse a contemporary effigy of Her Majesty The Queen wearing a Canadian diadem composed of alternating maple leaves and snowflakes surrounded by the inscriptions “ELIZABETH II DEI GRATIA REGINA” and “CANADA” separated by small maple leaves. On the reverse of the Medal, from top to bottom, appear the Royal Crown on either side of which are three maples leaves conjoined on one stem, a Goode interrupted homolosine equal-area projection of the globe, and a laurel branch crossed with an oak branch.

The tradition generally followed since the mid-19th century has been to depict who the medal is from on the obverse, what the medal is for on the reverse and who the medal is granted to on the edge. The effigy of Her Majesty and the Crown represent not only The Queen as Canada’s Head of State (highlighted by the word CANADA and the maple leaves on both sides of the medal) but also as the FONS HONORIS (the Fount of All Honours). The Queen is the only person who can create an official honour in Canada and all Canadian Honours are bestowed in Her name. The maple leaves obviously represent Canada with those conjoined on one stem on the reverse coming from the Royal Arms of Canada. The globe represents the spectrum of Canada’s involvement and service throughout the world while the laurel and oak leaves represent honour, strength and victory.

A claw at the top of the medal is attached to a straight slotted bar.

The ribbon is 32 mm wide with a central stripe of light green (22 mm), on either side of which are stripes of white (2.5 mm) and red (2.5 mm). Red and white are the official colours of Canada as appointed by King George V in 1921, and the green comes from the flag of Sierra Leone.

The Rotation Bars for the Medal are silver in colour with a raised edge and bear either one or five maple leaves.

 

Bars

Rotation Bar

Rotation Bars are awarded to recognize a further 180 days of eligible service following qualification for the Medal or the last Rotation Bar the person has earned. One bar bearing five maple leaves is worn in lieu of five bars bearing one maple leaf.

Wearing

The OSM-SL shall be worn in the sequence prescribed in the Canadian Orders, Decorations and Medals Directive, and in the following manner:

Postnomials

The use of a post-nominal is not authorized for this medal.

Historical Notes

The OSM was created in Toronto by Her Majesty The Queen on 5 July 2010. The inaugural presentation ceremony took place on 6 December 2010 in the Ballroom of Rideau Hall in Ottawa. On this occasion, His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, CC, CMM, COM, CD, Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada, presented the Medal to 50 representative recipients, including five police officers and two civilians. The OSM ribbons were represented as follows at the ceremony: 5 SIERRA LEONE; 20 HAITI; 6 SUDAN; 15 HUMANITAS; and 4 EXPEDITION.

Major Carl Gauthier of the Directorate of Honours & Recognition and Cathy Bursey-Sabourin, Fraser Herald at the Canadian Heraldic Authority at the Chancellery of Honours, Rideau Hall, collaborated to create the design.

The Medal is made of cupro-nickel and lacquered to prevent tarnishing. It is manufactured by the Royal Canadian Mint.

The Medal is engraved on the edge with the service number, abbreviated rank, initials and surname of military and police recipients and with the forenames and name of civilian recipients.

As of 1 June 2012, 106 awards had been made.

Date modified:

Médaille du service opérationnel – Sierra Leone (MSO-SL)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

Cette distinction de service général a été créée dans le but de rendre hommage plus rapidement aux personnes qui ont servi au sein, ou fourni un appui direct à, des opérations outre-mer et pour lesquelles aucune autre médaille, des Nations Unies ou de l’OTAN par exemple, n’est disponible. Au lieu de créer au fur et à mesure une nouvelle distinction pour chaque nouvelle opération des Forces canadiennes, la Médaille du service opérationnel (MSO) - avec des rubans spécifique au théâtre ou au type de service en question - pourra être décernée à l’avenir pour souligner la participation à toute opération répondant aux critères d’admissibilité.

Admissibilité et critère

La Médaille du service opérationnel (MSO) est décernée aux :

qui ont servi dans un théâtre d’opérations, ont fourni un appui direct, à temps plein, aux opérations conduites dans un tel théâtre ou ont servi dans des circonstances dangereuses à l’extérieur du Canada.

La MSO est toujours remise avec un ruban spécifique au théâtre ou au type de service qu’on souligne, et chacun des rubans a ses propres critères d’admissibilité.

Cela inclus présentement ceux qui ont servi au Sierra Leone dans la cadre de l’Équipe internationale de mentorat et d’entraînement (IMATT) dirigée par les britanniques suite à la signature de l’Accord de paix de Lomé le 31 juillet 2002 (Opération SCULPTURE). Ceux qui ont servi avant cette date ne sont pas admissibles car ils ont reçu la Médaille du service opérationnel britannique pour le Sierra Leone.

Également éligibles sont les agents de police canadiens qui ont servi auprès du tribunal spécial pour le Sierra Leone à compter du 31 juillet 2002.

D’autre service éligible peut être ajouté à la liste d’éligibilité pour ce ruban par le Chef d’état-major de la Défense en consultation avec le Conseil des Forces armées et sur la recommandation du Comité des Forces canadiennes sur les distinctions honorifiques à condition que le service en question respecte le critère et l’intention de base de la médaille tel que décrit dans le règlement.

Le service avec la mission des Nations Unies au Sierra Leone (Opération CROCODILE) n’est pas éligible pour cette médaille car il est reconnu par la Médaille UNOMSIL/UNAMSIL.

Les seuls civils éligibles sont les membres de la fonction publique ou les civils canadiens à contrat servant sous l’autorité des FC et des policiers canadiens dans le théâtre et aux dates indiquées. Les civils étrangers ne sont pas éligibles à la MSO.

Les seuls membres des forces alliées éligibles sont ceux qui servent en mission au nom du Canada. Il s’agit généralement de personnel étranger en échange avec les FC qui sont déployés avec ses unités ou du personnel étranger prêté au FC spécifiquement pour servir avec nos missions. Dans tous les cas, ils doivent être sur les effectifs canadiens et remplir une position canadienne et on leur attribue généralement un numéro de service des FC. Le personnel étranger qui sert de concert avec les FC ou qui se rapportent à un supérieur canadien dans un contexte international ne sont pas éligible aux médailles de service canadiennes.

Les pilotes et les membres d’équipage accumulent une journée de service pour la première sortie effectuée en théâtre dans une journée, les autres sorties effectuées le même jour ne donnant droit à aucun crédit supplémentaire.

Les premiers et derniers jours en théâtre comptent comme des jours complets.

Pour être admissible à recevoir la Médaille, le service et l’appui direct doivent être fournis dans des circonstances exceptionnelles et il faut avoir été déployé dans le but précis de fournir ce service ou cet appui à temps plein aux opérations. La Médaille ne peut être décernée que lorsqu’il existe un certain niveau de risque, de menace, de difficulté ou d’intensité opérationnelle. Tout service ou appui comparable en nature aux fonctions habituelles ou qui est fourni à partir d’un pays relativement sûr et distant du théâtre n’est pas pris en considération.

Les visites et inspections ne constituent pas une période de service admissible. Spécifiquement, les visites aux fins de leadership, de commandement ou de familiarisation, et les visites protocolaire ou visant à augmenter le moral des troupes effectué par des dignitaires civils ou militaires ainsi que les visites d'aide d'état-major (VAEM) et les visites d'inspection d'état-major (VIEM) ne sont pas admissibles. De plus, les visites de spécialiste pour la conduite d’enquête sommaire, criminel ou administrative, les cours martiales, les commissions d’enquêtes, les évaluations de procès, les études académiques, sondages ou autres activités administratives similaires, les visites de journalistes intégrés ou d'artistes de guerre, sont exclues des critères d’admission.

Toute personne qui meurt ou qui est évacuée en raison de blessures ou pour des raisons médicales directement attribuables au service est présumée avoir satisfait aux conditions relatives à la période de service décrite ci-haut. Tout récipiendaire de la Médaille qui meurt ou qui est évacué en raison de blessures ou pour des raisons médicales directement attribuables au service reçoit un crédit pour l’ensemble de la période de service prévue, aux fins de la détermination de l’admissibilité aux Barrettes de rotation.

La Médaille et les Barrettes de rotation sont décernées pour service honorable.

Pour plus de détails, consultez la liste du service éligible.

Description

La MSO est une médaille circulaire de couleur argent, de 36 mm de diamètre, dont l’avers porte l'effigie de Sa Majesté la Reine du Canada portant un diadème canadien composé en alternance de feuilles d’érable et de flocons de neige, entourée des inscriptions « ELIZABETH II DEI GRATIA REGINA » et « CANADA » séparées par de petites feuilles d’érable. Sur le revers, on aperçoit de haut en bas la couronne royale, dont chaque côté est orné de trois feuilles d’érable sur une même tige, la projection mondiale homolographique sinusoïdale équivalente de Goode et une branche de laurier croisée avec une branche de chêne.

La tradition généralement respectée depuis le milieu du 19e siècle veut que la médaille illustre de qui la distinction émane à l’avers, ce que la distinction représente au revers et à qui elle est remise sur la tranche. L’effigie de Sa Majesté de même que la Couronne représentent non seulement la Reine en tant que chef d’état du Canada (souligné par le mot ‘CANADA’ et les feuilles d’érable des deux côtés de la médaille) mais aussi en tant que FONS HONORIS (la source de tous les honneurs). La Reine est la seule personne qui peut créer une distinction officielle au Canada et toutes les distinctions canadiennes sont décernées en son nom. Les feuilles d’érable représentent évidemment le Canada, celles étant jointes à une même tige provenant des armoiries royales du Canada. Le globe représente l’étendue de l’implication et du service canadien à travers le monde tandis que les feuilles de laurier et de chêne représentent l’honneur, la force et la victoire.

Une griffe fixée à la partie supérieure de la Médaille est attachée à une barrette droite perforée.

Le ruban SIERRA LEONE fait 32 mm de large et comprend une rayure centrale vert clair (22 mm) bordée de rayures blanches (2.5 mm) et rouges (2.5 mm). Le rouge et le blanc sont les couleurs officielles du Canada tel que décidé par le roi George V en 1921, alors que le vert provient du drapeau du Sierra Leone.

Les barrettes de rotation pour la Médaille sont de couleur argent avec le bord relevé et portent soit une ou cinq feuilles d’érable.

 

Barrette(s)

La Barrette de rotation

Les Barrettes de rotation sont décernées pour reconnaître 180 jours cumulatifs de plus que la période de service donnant droit à la Médaille ou à la dernière Barrette de rotation reçue. Une barrette portant cinq feuilles d’érable est portée en lieu et place de cinq barrettes portant une feuille d’érable.

Port de L'insigne

La MSO-SL se porte conformément à l’ordre de préséance prescrit dans la Directive canadienne sur les ordres, décorations et médailles, et de la manière suivante:

Initiales

L’utilisation d’initiales honorifiques n’est pas autorisée pour cette distinction.

Notes Historiques

La MSO fut créée par Sa Majesté la Reine à Toronto le 5 juillet 2010. La cérémonie de présentation inaugurale eu lieu le 6 décembre 2010 dans la salle de bal de Rideau Hall à Ottawa. À cette occasion, Son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston, CC, CMM, COM, CD, Gouverneur général et Commandant en chef du Canada présenta la Médaille à 50 récipiendaires représentatifs, incluant cinq policiers et deux civils. Les rubans de la MSO étaient représentés comme suit à la cérémonie: 5 SIERRA LEONE; 20 HAÏTI; 6 SOUDAN; 15 HUMANITAS; and 4 EXPÉDITION.

Le major Carl Gauthier de la Direction – Distinctions honorifiques et reconnaissance et Cathy Bursey-Sabourin, Héraut Fraser de l’Autorité héraldique du Canada à la Chancellerie des Distinctions honorifiques de Rideau Hall, ont collaborés afin de créer le dessin de la Médaille.

La Médaille est faite de cupro-nickel et est laquée afin de prévenir l’oxydation. Elle est fabriquée par la Monnaie royale du Canada.

La tranche de la Médaille porte le numéro de service, grade abrégé, initiales des prénoms et nom des récipiendaires militaires ou policiers ou les prénoms et nom des récipiendaires civils.

En date du 1er juin 2012, 106 octrois avaient été faits.

Date de modification :