Memorial Scroll

Memorial Scroll

Contributors

Context

The Memorial Scroll is presented by Her Majesty’s Canadian Government to commemorate the sacrifice of military personnel who lay down their lives for their country.

Eligibility and Criteria

To be eligible, a CF member must have served in the Regular Force, Primary Reserve, Cadet Instructor Cadre or Canadian Rangers after 6 October 2001.

The Memorial Scroll is issued to commemorate the death of a member of the Canadian Forces as a result of an injury or disease related to military service and which has occurred on or after 7 October 2001.

One Scroll is issued for every eligible death and is presented to the beneficiary of the estate of the deceased (usually the person who will inherit the deceased’s medals).

When the death is clearly attributable to service such as in the case of direct hostile action, accidents while on training, etc., the Scroll will be issued immediately. When the death is not clearly and undeniably attributable to service such as in the case of natural deaths while at work (heart attack, stroke, etc), fatal illnesses, suicides, etc., the Scroll will not be issued until the Department of Veterans Affairs has made a official determination regarding the cause of death. In these cases, a delay of several months is to be expected.

Because the Scroll was reintroduced in January of 2009, the Scrolls for deaths which occurred between the start of eligibility and 2009 will be presented to the eligible recipients at the earliest opportunity, either on the occasion of other presentations such as for the Sacrifice Medal or additional Memorial Crosses where applicable, or on a separate occasion. The wishes of the beneficiary will be respected to the greatest possible extent. For current deaths, the Scroll will be presented, whenever possible, to the beneficiary before the funeral when the Memorial Bar, Memorial Crosses and any service medals the deceased may be entitled to will be presented.

Description

A cream-coloured scroll, 21.5 cm by 27.9 cm having a black border and bearing on its superior part the Royal Arms of Canada in full colour with the Royal Cypher (EIIR for Elizabeth II Regina) displayed in black on either side of the Crown and, below, the following inscription:

He whom this scroll commemorates was

numbered among those who, at the

call of their country, served in Her Majesty’s

Canadian Forces and, following the path of

duty, passed out of the sight of humanity,

giving up their lives in the service of Canada.

Let those who come after see to it

that his name be not forgotten.

or

She whom this scroll commemorates was

numbered among those who, at the

call of their country, served in Her Majesty’s

Canadian Forces and, following the path of

duty, passed out of the sight of humanity,

giving up their lives in the service of Canada.

Let those who come after see to it

that her name be not forgotten.

The substantive rank at time of death, given names, last name, postnominals (where applicable) and date of death of the person commemorated appear printed in deep red below the inscription. The scroll is produced in the first official language of the fallen.

The Scroll is presented in a black leatherette folder bearing the Royal Arms of Canada impressed in gold on the cover.

 

Bars

Not Applicable

Wearing

Not Applicable

Postnomials

Not Applicable

Historical Notes

The current Memorial Scroll was introduced in January 2009 (retroactive to 7 October 2001) but it is in fact the restoration of an old tradition. In the summer of 1916, in the middle of the First World War, which saw unprecedented numbers of casualties, discussion arose in the British House of Commons and then in the military hierarchy regarding some form of recognition for the families of the fallen. After careful consideration by various committees, it was decided the memorial should take the form of a bronze Plaque accompanied by a Scroll. King George V approved the proposal in March 1918 and distribution of the Scroll begun in June 1919. Because of delays, the Plaque only became available later. These memorials were distributed to the next-of-kin of all members of His Majesty’s Forces (including the Canadians) who died on active service between 4 August 1914 and the end of the War. By 1925, over 1,150,000 Plaques and Scrolls had been issued.

During the Second World War, the idea of a similar program was raised as early as September 1939. After committee work and many delays, it was decided to postpone a decision until the end of the War. As a result of the issue being raised in the British House of Commons a few days after VE-Day, the proposal was revived and after further delays, it was decided to proceed with the Scroll alone in 1947. It would appear however that the Canadian Government decided not to avail itself of this program but issued its Memorial Cross along with the Memorial Bar for this conflict.

In 1955, The British Government created another Scroll for those who had died in Korea and some Commonwealth countries did participate in this program but again, Canada decided to only issue the Memorial Cross and the usual letter of condolence.

With the current situation in Afghanistan and following recent changes to the Memorial Cross and the creation of the Sacrifice Medal, it was thought appropriate to take this opportunity to restore the tradition of the Memorial Scroll in Canada to complete our Memorial package so it now forms a more comprehensive expression of the nation’s appreciation and sympathy for the families of our fallen.

The modern Scroll is directly inspired, in text and form, from its predecessors so that it meets our current requirements while respecting a dignified and formal appearance.

The Directorate of Honours and Recognition of the Department of National Defence is responsible for the administration of the Memorial Scroll.

Date modified:

Parchemin commémoratif

Collaborateurs

Contexte

Le Parchemin commémoratif est présenté par le gouvernement canadien de Sa Majesté afin de commémorer la perte personnelle et le sacrifice relatif au décès d'un membre des Forces canadiennes qui a donné sa vie pour son pays.

Admissibilité et critère

Pour être éligible, un militaire doit avoir servi dans ou avec la Force régulière, la première réserve, le Cadre des Instructeurs de Cadets ou les Rangers canadiens après le 6 octobre 2001.

Le Parchemin commémoratif est présenté afin de commémorer le décès d’un militaire des Forces canadiennes qui est causé par une blessure ou une maladie liée au service militaire, et qui est survenu le ou après le 7 octobre 2001.

Un Parchemin est présenté pour chaque décès éligible au bénéficiaire principal de la succession du disparu (généralement la personne qui hérite des médailles du militaire).

Lorsque le décès est clairement imputable au service comme dans le cas d’action directe de l’ennemi, d’accident en cours d’entraînement, etc., le Parchemin sera présenté immédiatement. Lorsque le décès n’est pas clairement et sans contredit attribuable au service comme dans le cas de mort naturelle au travail (crise cardiaque, ACV, etc), maladie mortelle, suicide, etc, le Parchemin ne sera pas présenté avant que le Ministère des anciens combattants n’ait fait une détermination officielle au sujet de la cause du décès. Dans ces cas, on doit s’attendre à un délai de plusieurs mois.

Étant donné que le Parchemin fut réintroduit en janvier 2009, les Parchemins pour les décès survenus entre le début de l’éligibilité et 2009 seront présentés aux récipiendaires éligibles dans les meilleurs délais, soit à l’occasion d’une autre présentation à la famille comme la présentation de la Médaille du sacrifice, de Croix du souvenir supplémentaires, ou à une autre occasion. Les désirs du bénéficiaire seront respectés dans la mesure du possible. Pour les décès actuels, le Parchemin sera présenté, lorsque possible, au bénéficiaire avant les funérailles lorsque la Barrette commémorative, les Croix du souvenir et toute médaille à laquelle le défunt pourrait avoir droit seront présentées.

Description

Un Parchemin de couleur crème de 21.5 cm sur 27.9 cm comportant une bordure noire et ayant dans sa partie supérieure les armoiries royales du Canada en couleur avec le chiffre royal (EIIR pour Elizabeth II Regina) apparaissant en noir de part et d’autre de la couronne, et, en bas, l’inscription suivante:

Celui que ce parchemin commémore est 

compté parmi ceux qui, à l'appel de leur pays,

ont servi au sein des Forces canadiennes de Sa

 Majesté et qui, disparus dans l'exercice de leur

devoir, ont donné leurvie au service du Canada.

Puissent ceux qui viennent après nous

s'assurer que son nom ne soit jamais oublié.

Ou

Celle que ce parchemin commémore est

comptée parmi ceux qui, à l'appel de leur pays,

ont servi au sein des Forces canadiennes de Sa

Majesté et qui, disparus dans l'exercice de leur

devoir, ont donné leur vie au service du Canada.

Puissent ceux qui viennent après nous

s'assurer que son nom ne soit jamais oublié.

Le grade substantif au moment du décès, les prénoms, le nom, les initiales honorifiques (lorsque applicable) et la date de décès du disparu sont imprimés en rouge foncé sous l’inscription. Le Parchemin est produit dans le langage officiel premier du défunt.

Le Parchemin est présenté dans un écrin de cuirette noire portant les armoiries royales du Canada imprimées en or sur le couvercle.

 

Barrette(s)

Sans objet

Port de L'insigne

Sans objet

Initiales

Sans objet

Notes Historiques

Le Parchemin Commémoratif actuel fut introduit en janvier 2009 (rétroactif au 7 octobre 2001) mais il s’agit en fait de la restauration d’une ancienne tradition. Durant l’été 1916, au cœur de la Première Guerre mondiale, qui généra des pertes inégalées, le sujet de la reconnaissance des familles des disparus fut soulevé à la Chambre des communes britanniques et par la suite dans la hiérarchie militaire. Suite à une étude par plusieurs comités, il fut décidé que ce mémorial prendrait la forme d’une plaque en bronze accompagnée d’un parchemin. Le roi Georges V approuva cette proposition en mars 1918 et la distribution du Parchemin débuta en juin 1919. À cause de divers délais, la Plaque ne fut disponible que plus tard. Ces mémoriaux étaient distribués au plus proche parent de tous les membres des forces armées de Sa Majesté (incluant les Canadiens) qui sont morts en service actif entre le 4 août 1914 et la fin de la Guerre. En 1925, plus de 1,150,000 Plaques et Parchemins avaient été émis.

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l’idée d’un programme similaire fut soulevée dès septembre 1939. Après du travail de comité et plusieurs délais, il fut décidé de retarder la décision finale jusqu’à la fin de la Guerre. Suite à une discussion sur le sujet à la Chambre des communes britannique quelques jours après le jour de la Victoire en Europe, la proposition fut reprise et, après des délais supplémentaires, il fut décidé en 1947 d’aller de l’avant avec un Parchemin uniquement. Il semble que le Gouvernement canadien décida de ne pas profiter de ce programme mais octroya sa Croix du souvenir et sa Barrette commémorative pour ce conflit.

En 1955, le Gouvernement britannique créa un autre Parchemin pour ceux qui moururent en Corée et quelques pays du Commonwealth prirent part à ce programme mais, de nouveau, le Canada décida de ne décerner que sa Croix du souvenir et la lettre de condoléances habituelle.

Avec la situation actuelle en Afghanistan et suite aux changements récents à la Croix du souvenir et à la création de la Médaille du sacrifice, il fut jugé opportun de profiter de cette occasion pour restaurer la tradition du Parchemin commémoratif afin de compléter l’ensemble mémorial qui exprime mieux l’appréciation et la sympathie de la nation pour les familles de nos disparus.

Le Parchemin moderne est directement inspiré, dans son texte et sa forme, de ses prédécesseurs et, par conséquent, bien qu’il réponde à nos besoins actuels, il préserve une apparence formelle et traditionnelle.

La Direction – Distinctions honorifiques et reconnaissance du Ministère de la Défense nationale est responsable de l’administration du Parchemin commémoratif.

Date de modification :