Memorial Bar

Memorial Bar

Contributors

Context

The Memorial Bar is presented by Her Majesty’s Canadian Government to commemorate the sacrifice of military personnel who lay down their lives for their country.

Eligibility and Criteria

To be eligible, a CF member must have served in the Regular Force, Primary Reserve, Cadet Instructor Cadre or Canadian Rangers after 6 October 2001.

The Memorial Bar is issued to commemorate the death of a member of the Canadian Forces as a result of an injury or disease related to military service and which has occurred on or after 7 October 2001.

One Bar is issued for every eligible death and is presented to the primary beneficiary of the estate of the deceased (usually the person who will inherit the deceased’s medals).

When the death is clearly attributable to service such as in the case of direct hostile action, accidents while on training, etc., the Bar will be issued immediately. When the death is not clearly and undeniably attributable to service such as in the case of natural deaths while at work (heart attack, stroke, etc), fatal illnesses, suicides, etc., the Bar will not be issued until the Department of Veterans Affairs has made a official determination regarding the cause of death. In these cases, a delay of several months is to be expected.

Because the Bar was reintroduced in January of 2009, the Bars for deaths which occurred between the start of eligibility and 2009 will be presented to the eligible recipients at the earliest opportunity, either on the occasion of other presentations such as for the Sacrifice Medal or additional Memorial Crosses where applicable, or on a separate occasion. The wishes of the beneficiary will be respected to the greatest possible extent. For current deaths, the Bar will be presented, whenever possible, to the beneficiary before the funeral when the Memorial Scroll, Memorial Crosses and any service medals the deceased may be entitled to will be presented.

Description

A Sterling Silver bar, 14.5 mm in height, 67 mm in length and 1 mm in thickness, with a raised border decorated with knots and four holes in the corners to allow for attachment. The centre of the bar is engraved on three lines, in the first official language of the member, with:

The reverse of the bar is plain except for the small marks ‘BIRKS’ and ‘STERLING’ in opposite corners.

The Bar is presented in a deep purple cardboard folder 10.2 mm by 12.4 mm, decorated with the Royal Arms of Canada in silver. Purple stands for suffering and mystery and traditionally was the stained-glassmaker's color for black, expressing negation, mourning, and death. This folder is placed in a cream envelope which has the Royal Arms of Canada impressed in purple on its flap.

The Bar is intended to be included in a shadow box which could contain the medals and other mementoes of the fallen, to be affixed to a picture frame or used in any other way the family may judge appropriate.

 

Bars

Not Applicable

Wearing

Not Applicable

Postnomials

Not Applicable

Historical Notes

During the Second World War, the Canadian Government, in addition to granting the Memorial Cross, decided to create and issue this commemorative Bar. The Bars were manufactured by Birks, a reputable Canadian Jeweler, and were issued from 1941 to the next-of-kin of those who died during that conflict.

In 2008, it was discovered that Veterans Affairs Canada had a stock of original, blank, Second World War bars in stock. These were transferred to the Department of National Defence. With the current situation in Afghanistan and following recent changes to the Memorial Cross, the creation of the Sacrifice Medal, and concurrently with the restoration of the Memorial Scroll, it was thought appropriate to take this opportunity to restore the tradition of the Memorial Bar as well to complete our Memorial package so it now forms a more comprehensive expression of the nation’s appreciation and sympathy for the families of our fallen.

The current Bars, reintroduced in January 2009 (retroactive to 7 October 2001), are in fact original Second World War bars, which are cleaned, engraved and lacquered by the Royal Canadian Mint. The holder and envelope are almost exact replicas of the ones used during the War with the necessary change of the Royal Arms of Canada.

The Directorate of Honours and Recognition of the Department of National Defence is responsible for the administration of the Memorial Bar.

Date modified:

Barrette commémorative

Collaborateurs

Contexte

La Barrette commémorative est présentée par le gouvernement canadien de Sa Majesté afin de commémorer la perte personnelle et le sacrifice relatif au décès d'un membre des Forces canadiennes qui a donné sa vie pour son pays.

Admissibilité et critère

Pour être éligible, un militaire doit avoir servi dans ou avec la Force régulière, la première réserve, le Cadre des Instructeurs de Cadets ou les Rangers canadiens après le 6 octobre 2001.

La Barrette commémorative est présentée afin de commémorer le décès d’un militaire des Forces canadiennes qui est causé par une blessure ou une maladie liée au service militaire, et qui est survenu le ou après le 7 octobre 2001.

Une Barrette est présentée pour chaque décès éligible au bénéficiaire principal de la succession du disparu (généralement la personne qui hérite des médailles du militaire).

Lorsque le décès est clairement imputable au service comme dans le cas d’action directe de l’ennemi, d’accident en cours d’entraînement, etc., la Barrette sera présentée immédiatement. Lorsque le décès n’est pas clairement et sans contredit attribuable au service comme dans le cas de mort naturelle au travail (crise cardiaque, ACV, etc), maladie mortelle, suicide, etc, la Barrette ne sera pas présentée avant que le Ministère des anciens combattants n’ait fait une détermination officielle au sujet de la cause du décès. Dans ces cas, on doit s’attendre à un délai de plusieurs mois.

Étant donné que la Barrette fut réintroduite en janvier 2009, les Barrettes pour les décès survenus entre le début de l’éligibilité et 2009 seront présentées aux récipiendaires éligibles dans les meilleurs délais, soit à l’occasion d’une autre présentation à la famille comme la présentation de la Médaille du sacrifice, de Croix du souvenir supplémentaires, ou à une autre occasion. Les désirs du bénéficiaire seront respectés dans la mesure du possible. Pour les décès actuels, la Barrette sera présentée, lorsque possible, au bénéficiaire avant les funérailles lorsque le Parchemin commémoratif, les Croix du souvenir et toute médaille à laquelle le défunt pourrait avoir droit seront présentées.

Description

Une barrette en argent Sterling de 14.5 mm de hauteur, de 67 mm de longueur et de 1 mm d’épaisseur, avec une bordure surélevée décorée de nœuds et ayant quatre trous dans les coins pour fixation. Le centre de la barrette est gravé sur trois lignes, dans le langage officiel premier du militaire, de l’information suivante :

Le revers de la barrette est vierge à l’exception des petits poinçons ‘BIRKS’ et ‘STERLING’ dans les coins opposés.

La Barrette est présentée dans un écrin de carton pourpre foncé de 10.2 mm sur 12.4 mm, décoré des armoiries royales du Canada en argent. Le pourpre évoque la souffrance et le mystère et, dans la tradition, a été la couleur des créateurs de vitraux pour exprimer le noir, la négation, le deuil et la mort. Cet écrin est placé dans une enveloppe de couleur crème sur le rabat de laquelle figurent les armoiries royales du Canada imprimées en pourpre.

La Barrette peut être incluse dans un coffret ou cadre commémoratif contenant les médailles ou d’autres souvenirs du disparu, être fixée au cadre de sa photographie ou être utilisée de toute autre façon que la famille jugera appropriée.

 

Barrette(s)

Sans objet

Port de L'insigne

Sans objet

Initiales

Sans objet

Notes Historiques

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Gouvernement canadien, en plus d’octroyer la Croix du souvenir, décida de créer et de présenter cette Barrette. Les Barrettes furent manufacturées par Birks, une bijouterie canadienne prestigieuse, et furent présentées à compter de 1941 au plus proche parent de ceux qui perdurent la vie au cours de ce conflit.

En 2008, il fut découvert qu’Anciens Combattants Canada détenait toujours un inventaire de ces Barrettes de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, originales et non gravées. Elles furent transmises au Ministère de la Défense nationale. Avec la situation actuelle en Afghanistan et suite aux changements récents à la Croix du souvenir, à la création de la Médaille du sacrifice et à la restauration du Parchemin commémoratif, il fut jugé opportun de profiter de cette occasion pour restaurer la tradition de la Barrette commémorative afin de compléter l’ensemble mémorial qui exprime mieux l’appréciation et la sympathie de la nation pour les familles de nos disparus.

Les Barrettes actuelles, réintroduite en janvier 2009 (rétroactives au 7 octobre 2001), sont en fait des Barrettes originales de la Seconde Guerre mondiale qui sont nettoyées, gravées et laquées par la Monnaie royale canadienne. L’écrin et son enveloppe sont des répliques presque exactes de ceux utilisés durant la Guerre hormis le changement nécessaire des armoiries royales du Canada.

La Direction – Distinctions honorifiques et reconnaissance du Ministère de la Défense nationale est responsable de l’administration de la Barrette commémorative.

Date de modification :