Companion of the Order of the Bath (CB)

Companion of the Order of the Bath

Companion of the Order of the Bath (CB)

Contributors

Context

The order was founded in 1725 and the KCB was first awarded to a Canadian in 1815. The Most Honourable and Ancient Order of The Bath was presented for service of the highest caliber.

Eligibility and Criteria

The order has a civil and a military division with three levels in each division: Knight Grand Cross (GCB); Knight Commander (KCB); and Companion (CB).The first two levels confer knighthood, and since 1935, have not been available to anyone retaining Canadian Citizenship. The Companion level was presented to the military for service in the Second World War and one was presented to a Canadian in Korea.

Description

Military Companions (CB) wear only the neck badge (1.5 inches wide). The badge is a gold Maltese cross of eight points, enameled white, each point tipped with a gold ball, and in each angle between the arms of the cross, a gold lion. The central device consists of the rose, thistle and shamrock issuing from a sceptre and three crowns. Surrounding the central device is a red enameled bandlet with TRIA JUNCTA IN UNO in gold. Around this circle are two branches of laurel, enameled green, and below this is a blue enamel scroll with ICH DIEN in gold. For mounting the Maltese crosses are worn from a ribbon passing through a large gold ring linked to the ring attached to the top of the crown (between the top two points of the star). The badge of a Civil Companion is worn from a ribbon passing through a large gold ring linked to the gold scroll-work at the top of the badge.

Civil Companions (CB) wear only the badge (1 inch wide x 1.5 inches high). The civil badge is oval with gold filigree work and consists of the motto in a bandlet around the edge and, in the centre, the rose, thistle and shamrock issuing from a sceptre and the three crowns. At the top is an ornate gold scroll with a ring attached, through which a larger gold ring passes. A GCB or KCB civil companion wears this badge in a larger size rather than the military badge.

Each of the badges has a reverse that is similar in appearance to its obverse.

The crimson ribbon is 1.5 inches wide.

Historical Notes

Date modified:

Compagnon de l’Ordre du Bain (C.B.)

Compagnon de l'Ordre du Bain

Compagnon de l’Ordre du Bain (C.B.)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

L’Ordre a été fondé en 1725 et la Croix de Chevalier commandeur (K.C.B.) a été décernée pour la première fois à un Canadien en 1815. Le très honorable et ancien Ordre du Bain est décerné pour services exceptionnels.

Admissibilité et critère

Il comprend deux divisions, civile et militaire, chacune ayant trois classes : Chevalier Grand-Croix (G.C.B.); Chevalier Commandeur (K.C.B.) et Compagnon (C.B.). Les récipiendaires des deux premières classes sont anoblis, avec le titre de chevalier. Depuis 1935, les citoyens canadiens ne peuvent accepter cette distinction, à moins de renoncer à leur citoyenneté. Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le rang de Compagnon était décerné à titre militaire, et un Canadien a été nommé Compagnon pendant la guerre de Corée.

Description

Le Compagnon à titre militaire (C.B.) porte seulement l’insigne en sautoir (1,5 po de largeur), une croix de Malte à huit pointes en émail blanc, chaque pointe sommée d’une boule d’or, avec un lion lui aussi d’or dans chacun des angles formés par les branches de la croix. Le motif central, circulaire, est chargé d’une rose, d’un chardon et d’un trèfle jaillissant d’un sceptre et de trois couronnes, le tout entouré d’un anneau d’émail rouge portant l’inscription « TRIA JUNCTA IN UNO » en lettres d’or. L’anneau est lui-même entouré de deux branches de laurier en émail vert au bas desquelles un cartouche d’émail bleu porte l’inscription « ICH DIEN », elle aussi en lettres d’or. Pour montage, les croix de Malte sont fixées à un ruban passant dans un grand anneau d’or lui-même passé dans l’anneau fixé à la partie supérieure de la couronne (placé entre les deux pointes de la branche supérieure de la croix). L’insigne du Compagnon civil est porté fixé à un ruban passant dans un grand anneau d’or lui-même fixé au listel d’or du haut de l’insigne.

Le Compagnon à titre civil (C.B.) porte simplement un insigne formé d’un filigrane oval d’or (1 po de largeur sur 1,5 po de hauteur), avec la devise gravée sur un anneau en bordure, le centre chargé de la rose, du chardon et du trèfle jaillissant d’un sceptre et des trois couronnes. Le haut de l’insigne porte un listel d’or ouvragé auquel est fixé un anneau dans lequel on passe un anneau plus gros. Le G.C.B. ou le K.C.B. à titre civil porte un insigne identique (sauf qu’il est plus gros), plutôt que l’insigne militaire.

L’avers de chacune de ces décorations est identique à son revers.

Le ruban cramoisi a 1,5 po de largeur.

Notes Historiques

Date de modification :