Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Commander of the Order of the British Empire

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Contributors

Context

The order was established in June 1917. In December 1918, military and civil divisions were established. With the First World War lasting longer than expected and no suitable way to reward services to the war effort by civilians at home and servicemen in support positions, King George V created another order with five levels.

Eligibility and Criteria

The first two levels confer knighthood, and since 1935, have not been available to anyone retaining Canadian Citizenship. The other three levels - Commander, Officer and Member - have been available to Canadian citizens. The order could be given generously for services to the Empire at home, in India and in the Dominions and colonies. The order was created mainly to award non-combatant services to the war and was to include women, whom most existing orders excluded. When the order was created in 1917 it had only one division, but was divided into Civil and Military divisions in 1918. The order at any level can be awarded for gallantry as well as for service. The order took an abrupt change in 1937 when the insignia and the colour of the ribbon were changed.

Description

For the Commander of the Order of the British Empire there is no star and the neck badge is smaller than that of the Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire. For mounting a ring is attached to the top of the crown through which a larger ring passes.

Obverse of the medal:

Original Badge: A cross patonce (four arms with three points on each arm) of silver-gilt with the arms enameled pearl-grey, surmounted by an Imperial Crown. The circular centre, in gold, shows the figure of Britannia, holding a trident and seated beside a shield bearing the national flag. The centre is surrounded by a circular band, enameled crimson and bearing the motto FOR GOD AND THE EMPIRE in gold.

Current Badge (after 1937): As above except that in the centre, in gold, are the crowned effigies of King George V and his consort Queen Mary. Neither the original nor the current Officer of the Order of the British Empire and Member of the Order of the British Empire badges are enameled.

On the reverse of the medal is a rope circle with the current Royal Cypher, surmounted by an Imperial Crown and with a hallmark on the lower limb.

Original ribbon: The civil ribbon was purple. The military ribbon had a narrow central stripe of scarlet added.

Current ribbon (after 1937): The civil ribbon is rose-pink with pearl-grey edges. The military ribbon has a narrow central stripe of pearl-grey added.

Bars

A silver emblem of two oak leaves is worn on the riband when the appointment to the order is for gallantry.

Historical Notes

Date modified:

Commandeur de l’Ordre de l’Empire Britannique (C.B.E.)

Commandeur de l'Ordre de l'Empire britannique

Commandeur de l’Ordre de l’Empire Britannique (C.B.E.)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

L’Ordre a été créé en juin 1917, et en décembre 1918, l’on créait les divisions militaire et civile. Comme la Première Guerre mondiale durait plus longtemps qu’on ne s’y attendait et qu’il n’existait aucun moyen valable de reconnaître les services rendus à l’effort de guerre par les civils restés au pays et par les militaires affectés à des fonctions auxiliaires, le roi George V a créé un ordre comprenant cinq classes.

Admissibilité et critère

Les deux premiers ordres confèrent le rang de Chevalier et n’ont pas été décernés à des citoyens canadiens depuis 1935. Les trois autres ordres, soit celui de Commandeur, d’Officier et de Membre, ont été décernés à des Canadiens. L’Ordre pouvait être généreusement décerné pour les services rendus à l’Empire au Royaume-Uni, en Inde, dans les Dominions et dans les colonies. Il a été créé essentiellement pour accorder des distinctions aux services non combattants. Les femmes devaient y être admissibles, alors qu’elles étaient exclues de la plupart des ordres existant à l’époque. Au moment de sa création, en 1917, l’Ordre n’avait qu’une division, mais, dès 1918, il en a comporté deux, une civile et une militaire. Il peut être accordé à toutes les classes pour récompenser des actes de bravoure aussi bien que des services. En 1937, l’Ordre a subi d’importants changements, car on a modifié les insignes et changé la couleur du ruban.

Description

Il n’y a pas d’étoile de Commandeur (C.B.E.), et l’insigne en sautoir (2,5 po de largeur) du Commandeur est plus petit que celui du Chevalier (K.B.E.).

Pour montage un gros anneau est passé dans le petit anneau fixé sur le dessus de la couronne.

Avers de la médaille :

Insigne original : Une croix enhendée (à quatre branches, chacune à trois pointes) en argent doré aux branches d’émail gris perle, sommée de la couronne impériale. Le centre circulaire, en or, est chargé de Britannia tenant un trident assise à côté d’un bouclier portant le drapeau national. Il est entouré d’un anneau d’émail cramoisi portant la devise « FOR GOD AND THE EMPIRE » en lettres d’or.

Insigne actuel (depuis 1937): Le même, sauf que le centre, en or, porte les effigies couronnées du roi George V et de son épouse, la reine Marie. Ni les insignes originaux, ni les insignes actuels des officiers (O.B.E.) et des membres (M.B.E.) de l’Ordre ne sont émaillés.

Sure le revers se trouve un cercle de corde frappé du chiffre royal de l’époque, sommé de la couronne impériale et marqué au poinçon à la partie inférieure.

Ruban original : Le ruban civil était pourpre, tandis que le ruban militaire comportait une étroite bande centrale écarlate.

Ruban actuel (depuis 1937) : Le ruban civil est rose avec des bordures gris perle. Le ruban militaire comporte une étroite bande centrale gris perle.

Barrette(s)

Quand l’Ordre a été décerné pour bravoure, le ruban porte deux feuilles de chêne en argent.

Notes Historiques

Date de modification :