Distinguished Service Order (DSO)

Distinguished Service Order.  A gold cross, enamelled gold and edged in gold.

Distinguished Service Order (DSO)

Contributors

Context

Instituted on 6 September 1886 by Queen Victoria in a Royal Warrant published in the London Gazette on 09 November 1886. The order was established for rewarding individual instances of commendable or distinguished service in war.

Eligibility and Criteria

This is a military order for officers only, and while normally given for service under fire or under conditions equivalent to service in actual combat with the enemy, it was awarded between 1914 and 1916 under circumstances which could not be regarded as under fire. After 01 January 1917, commanders in the field were instructed to recommend this award only for those serving under fire. Prior to 1943, the order could be given only to someone Mentioned-in-Dispatches. The order is generally given to officers in command, above the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel and awards to ranks below this are usually for a high degree of gallantry just short of deserving the Victoria Cross.

Description

A gold cross, enameled gold and edged in gold. For mounting, there is a ring at the top of the medal attaches to a ring at the bottom of a gold bar, ornamented with laurel. At the top of the ribbon is a second gold bar ornamented with laurel.

On the obverse, in the centre, within a wreath of laurel, enameled green, the Imperial Crown in gold upon a red enameled ground.

On the reverse, within a wreath of laurel, enameled green, the Royal Cypher in gold upon a red enameled ground.

The red ribbon is 1.125 inches wide with narrow blue edges. A rosette is worn on the ribbon in undress to signify the award of a bar.

Bars

A bar is awarded for an act which would have earned the order in the first place. The bar is plain gold with an Imperial Crown in the centre. The year of the award is engraved on the reverse.

Historical Notes

Date modified:

Ordre du Service distingué (D.S.O.)

Ordre du Service distingué.  Une croix d'or pattée arrondie émaillée blanc et bordée d'or.

Ordre du Service distingué (D.S.O.)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

Créé le 6 septembre 1886 par la Reine Victoria dans un décret royal qui a été publié dans la Gazette de Londres le 9 novembre 1886, cet ordre vise à reconnaître le service individuel méritoire ou distingué en temps de guerre

Admissibilité et critère

C’est un ordre militaire auquel seuls les officiers sont admissibles. Bien qu’il soit normalement décerné en reconnaissance du service au combat ou dans des situations équivalant au combat, il l’a été entre 1914 et 1916 dans des circonstances qui ne pouvaient pas être considérées comme au combat. Après le 1er janvier 1917, on a enjoint aux commandants en campagne de ne recommander cette distinction que pour les officiers servant au combat. Avant 1943, l’Ordre ne pouvait être décerné qu’à un officier cité à l’ordre du jour. Il est généralement décerné à des officiers commandants au-dessus du grade de lieutenant-colonel et n’est attribué à des officiers d’un grade inférieur que pour une bravoure exceptionnelle, juste en dessous de celle qui justifierait la Croix de Victoria.

Description

Une croix d’or pattée arrondie émaillée blanc et bordée d’or. Pour le montage, il y a un anneau intégré au haut de la branche supérieure de la médaille est fixé à un autre anneau assujetti au bas d’une barrette d’or ornée de feuilles de laurier. Le haut du ruban est fixé à une deuxième barrette d’or ornée de feuilles de laurier.

Sur l’avers, dans le centre en émail vert, chargé de la couronne impériale d’or entourée d’une couronne de laurier d’émail vert.

Sur le revers, dans le centre en émail rouge chargé du chiffre royal d’or dans une couronne de laurier en émail vert.

Le ruban rouge de 1,125 po de largeur est bordé de deux étroites bandes bleues. En petite tenue, la barrette est représentée par une rosette sur le ruban.

Barrette(s)

Une barrette est décernée pour un acte subséquent qui aurait justifié l’attribution de l’ordre. La barrette unie est en or et porte la couronne impériale en son centre. L’année à laquelle elle a été décernée est gravée au revers.

Notes Historiques

Date de modification :