Air Force Cross (AFC)

Air Force Cross.  A silver cross (1.625 inches across), shaped as a thunderbolt in the form of a cross, the arm terminates with a bomb. The cross is surmounted by another cross composed of aeroplane propeller blades, with the ends of the four blades enscribed with the Royal Cypher.

Air Force Cross (AFC)

Contributors

Context

The Air Force Cross was awarded for meritorious service and was established on 3 June 1918, the birthday of King George V.

Eligibility and Criteria

The Air Force Cross is awarded to an officer or a Warrant Officer for an act or acts of valour, courage or devotion to duty whilst flying, but not while in active operations against an enemy.

Description

A silver cross, 1.625 inches in width, shaped as a thunderbolt in the form of a cross, the arm terminates with a bomb. The cross is surmounted by another cross composed of airplane propeller blades, with the ends of the four blades inscribed with the Royal Cypher. For the Second World War DFCs the letters G (top), R (left), VI (bottom), and I (right) and for the Korea DFCs E (top), II (left), R (right), and the bottom blank. The top arm is ensigned by an Imperial Crown. For mounting, a small link at the top of the crown attaches to a slot in two sprigs of laurel firming the underside of a straight clasp. The medals are issued unnamed.

In the centre of the obverse is a roundel displaying Hermes, mounted on a hawk in flight, bestowing a wreath.

On the reverse within a central circle, the current Royal Cypher (GV, GVI, EIIR) appears above the date 1918. The year of award appears on the lower arm.

The ribbon is 1.25 inches wide, and consists of alternating red and white stripes leaning to the left at 45 degrees from the vertical. The red colour is to appear in the bottom left and upper right corners when viewed on the wearer's chest. Until 1919, the stripes were horizontal.

Bars

A bar is awarded for an additional act which would have warranted the AFC. The silver bar slides over the ribbon and has an eagle in the center. The year of the award is engraved on the reverse.

Historical Notes

Date modified:

Croix de ’l’Aviation (A.F.C.)

Croix de l'Aviation.  Une croix d'argent (de 1,625& pouce de largeur) aux branches en forme de foudre jointes par des ailes, la branche inférieure se terminant par une bombe. La croix est chargée d'une autre croix en forme de pales d'hélice d'aéroplane aux extrémités frappées du chiffre royal.

Croix de ’l’Aviation (A.F.C.)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

Cette distinction honorifique a été créée le 3 juin 1918, jour de l’anniversaire du roi George V.

Admissibilité et critère

La Croix de l’est décernée aux officiers ou aux adjudants pour un ou des actes de vaillance, de courage ou de dévouement accomplis en vol, mais pas au cours d’opérations actives contre l’ennemi.

Description

Une croix d’argent (de 1,625 po de largeur) aux branches en forme de foudre jointes par des ailes, la branche inférieure se terminant par une bombe. La croix est chargée d’une autre croix en forme de pales d’hélice d’aéroplane aux extrémités frappées du chiffre royal. Pour les médailles décernées pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les lettres inscrites sur les pales sont G (en haut), R (à gauche), VI (au bas) et I (à droite); pour les médailles décernées pendant la guerre de Corée, les lettres sont E (en haut), II (à gauche) et R (à droite), la pale du bas ne portant aucun chiffre. Le haut de la croix est sommé de la couronne impériale. Pour montage, un petit chaînon fixé au sommet de la couronne s’insère dans une fente entre les deux feuilles de laurier qui consolident le bas de l’agrafe droite. Les médailles étaient décernées sans que le nom du récipiendaire y soit gravé.

Le centre de l’avers est chargé d’un besant où Hermès, monté sur un faucon volant, décerne une couronne.

Sur le revers, dans un cercle central chargé du chiffre royal de l’époque (GV, GVI, EIIR) au-dessus de l’année 1918. L’année où la croix a été décernée figure sur la branche inférieure.

Le ruban a 1,25 po de largeur; il est composé de bandes rouges et blanches alternées, disposées en oblique de haut en bas à partir de la gauche, à un angle de 45°. Quand la Croix est portée sur la poitrine de son porteur, une bande rouge doit figurer aux coins inférieur gauche et supérieur droit du ruban. Jusqu’en 1919, les bandes étaient horizontales.

Barrette(s)

Une barrette est décernée pour un acte subséquent qui aurait justifié la Croix de l’Aviation. La barrette droite d’argent se glisse sur le ruban et porte un aigle en son centre. L’année où elle a été décernée est gravée au revers.

Notes Historiques

Date de modification :