Air Force Medal (AFM)

Air Force Medal.  An oval, silver medal, 1.375 inches wide and 1.625 inches long.

Air Force Medal (AFM)

Contributors

Context

This medal was instituted on 03 June 1918.

Eligibility and Criteria

The Air Force Medal (AFM) is awarded to non-commissioned officers and non-commissioned members for an act or acts of valour, courage or devotion to duty performed whilst flying, though not in active operations against the enemy.

Description

An oval, silver medal, 1.375 inches wide. For mounting a bomb is attached to the bar and ribbon by two wings.

Obverse:

On the reverse, a wreath of laurel, Hermes (facing right) is shown, mounted on a hawk in flight and bestowing a wreath. The date 1918 appears behind Hermes on the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth II medals. The year of the award is engraved on the reverse.

The ribbon is 1.25 inches wide, and consists of alternate red and white stripes leaning 45 degrees to the left. A red stripe is to appear in the bottom left and upper right corners when viewed on the wearer's chest. Until 1919, the stripes were horizontal.

Bars

A straight slip-on silver bar is awarded for a further act that would have warranted the medal. The year it was awarded is engraved on the reverse.

Historical Notes

Date modified:

Médaille de l’Aviation (A.F.M.)

Médaille de l'Aviation.  Médaille ovale en argent de 1,375 pouce de largeur et 1,625 pouce de longueur.

Médaille de l’Aviation (A.F.M.)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

Cette médaille a été créée le 3 juin 1918.

Admissibilité et critère

La Médaille de l’Aviation est décernée aux militaires dont le grade est inférieur à celui d’adjudant en reconnaissance d’un ou plusieurs actes de vaillance, de courage ou de dévouement exceptionnels accomplis en vol, mais pas au cours d’opérations actives contre l’ennemi.

Description

Médaille ovale en argent de 1,375 po de largeur. Pour montage, une bombe fixée au haut de la médaille est reliée par deux ailes à l’agrafe et au ruban.

Avers:

Sur le revers, une couronne de laurier, Hermès, tourné à droite, est monté sur un faucon en vol et décernant une couronne. L’inscription 1918 apparaît derrière Hermès, à la gauche de la médaille, sur les versions du roi George VI et de la reine Elizabeth II. L’année où elle a été décernée est gravée sur le revers.

Le ruban a 1,25 po de largeur; il est composé de bandes rouges et blanches alternées, disposées en oblique à partir de la gauche, à un angle de 45°. Quand la médaille est portée sur la poitrine, une bande rouge doit figurer aux coins inférieur gauche et supérieur droit du ruban. Jusqu’en 1919, les bandes étaient horizontales.

Barrette(s)

Une barrette droite d'argent est décernée pour un acte subséquent qui aurait justifié la médaille. L'année où elle a été décernée est gravée au revers.

Notes Historiques

Date de modification :