1914 Star

1914 Star. A bronze star measuring 1.75 inches wide and 2.25 inches top to bottom.

1914 Star

Contributors

Context

This First World War medal was authorized in April 1917, and the bar on 19 October 1919. It is often called the 'MONS STAR'.

Eligibility and Criteria

The star was awarded to all officers, non-commissioned officers and non-commissioned members of the British and Indian Expeditionary Forces, (including civilian medical practitioners, nursing sisters, nurses and others who were employed with military hospitals), serving in France or Belgium on the establishment of the British Expeditionary Forces between 05 August 1914 and midnight of 22/23 November 1914. The medal was not issued for service afloat.

Description

A bronze star measuring 1.75 inches in width. A four-pointed star has its uppermost point replaced by a crown. Across the face of the star are two crossed swords (blades upward), the blades and hilts of which protrude and thus form additional points of the star. For mounting purposes, the ring for suspension is stamped out solid with the piece and is attached to the top point of the crown.

On the obverse, in the centre are three scrolls; on the top scroll is the month AUG, with the date wreath and on the bottom of the wreath is superscribed the Royal Cypher GV (with the V inside a larger G).1914 and the month NOV on the middle and bottom scrolls. The three scrolls are surrounded by a laurel.

The reverse is plain and displays the recipient's number, rank, name and unit. The Canadian 1914 Stars most commonly show: 2-STA.HOSP.C.A.M.C. .

The watered ribbon is 1.25 inches wide and shaded left to right: red, white, and blue. The recipient of a bar wears a small silver rosette on the ribbon in undress.

Bars

5th Aug. - 22nd Nov. 1914: The bar was awarded to those who served under fire or were present on duty within range of the enemy mobile artillery in France or Belgium between the above dates and on the strength of units and formations contained in the official lists.

Historical Notes

Date modified:

Étoile de 1914

Étoile de 1914. Une étoile de bronze a quatre rais de 1,75 pouce de largeur et 2,25 pouce de hauteur.

Étoile de 1914

Collaborateurs

Contexte

Cette médaille de la Première Guerre Mondiale a été autorisée en avril 1917; la barrette l’a été le 19 octobre 1919. Elle est souvent appelée l'« ÉTOILE DE MONS ».

Admissibilité et critère

L'Étoile était décernée aux officiers et au personnel non-officier des forces expéditionnaires britanniques et indiennes (y compris les médecins civils, infirmières militaires et civiles et autres personnes employées dans les hôpitaux militaires) ayant servi en France ou en Belgique à la constitution des British Expeditionary Forces, entre le 5 août 1914 et minuit dans la nuit du 22 au 23 novembre 1914. Cette décoration n'était pas décernée pour le service en mer.

Description

Une étoile de bronze à quatre rais de 1,75 po de largeur et 2,25 po de hauteur, le rai du haut remplacé par une couronne. L’étoile est chargée de deux épées croisées pointes en chef dont les pointes et les poignées dépassent, formant quatre autres rais. À des fins de montage, l’anneau dont la médaille dépend y est intégré; il est fixé au haut de la couronne.

Sur l’avers, le centre est chargé de trois listels portant chacun une inscription différente, AUG sur le listel du haut, 1914 sur celui du milieu et NOV sur celui du bas. Les trois listels sont encerclés d'une couronne de laurier de 0,75 po de diamètre, sur la partie inférieure de laquelle est superposé le chiffre royal GV (le V à l'intérieur du G).

Le revers est uni et porte le numéro matricule, le grade, le nom et le nom de l'unité du récipiendaire. Le nom de l'unité le plus fréquemment trouvé sur les Étoiles de 1914 décernées à des Canadiens est : 2 - STA.HOSP.C.A.M.C.

Le ruban moiré de 1,25 po de largeur est composé de trois bandes rouge, blanc et bleu. En petite tenue, la barrette est représentée par une petite rosette d'argent sur le ruban.

Barrette(s)

5 août – 22 novembre 1914: La barrette était décernée à ceux qui avaient servi au combat ou qui étaient présents en service à portée de l'artillerie mobile ennemie en France ou en Belgique et inscrits à l'effectif des unités et des formations figurant dans les listes officielles.

Notes Historiques

Date de modification :