Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve Officers' Decoration (VRD)

Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve Officers' Decoration.  An oval silver gilt medallion formed by the Royal Cypher GRI and surrounded by a loop of cable tied at the bottom in a reef knot and surmounted by a gilt crown

Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve Officers' Decoration (VRD)

Contributors

Context

This long service decoration is for 20 years of service as a commissioned officers in the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve.

Eligibility and Criteria

Awarded for service by commissioned officers in the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve (RCNVR), and the Royal Canadian Naval Reserve (RCNR) after 01 January 1946. The dates were 1938 to 01 September 1959 for those enlisting before 01 September 1939.

Description

An oval silver gilt medallion formed by the Royal Cypher GRI and surrounded by a loop of cable tied at the bottom in a reef knot and surmounted by a gilt crown. For mounting purposes, there is a hole in the back of the top point of the crown through which a larger ring passes.

The obverse features the Royal Cypher GRI or EIIR in the centre.

The plain reverse has the recipient's rank and name engraved.

The ribbon is 1.5 inches wide with navy blue edge stripes. There is a dark green centre, flanked by thin red stripes.

Historical Notes

Date modified:

Décoration pour officiers de la Réserve volontaire de la Marine Royale du Canada (V.R.D.)

Décoration pour Officiers de la Réserve Volontaire de la Marine Royale du Canada.  Une médaille ovale en argent doré chargée du chiffre royal GRI entouré d'une boucle de câble nouée en noeud plat au bas et sommée d'une couronne dorée.

Décoration pour officiers de la Réserve volontaire de la Marine Royale du Canada (V.R.D.)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

Cette décoration de long service est remise pour 20 ans de service à titre d’officier commandé dans la Réserve volontaire de la Marine Royale du Canada (RVMRC).

Admissibilité et critère

La décoration est décernée pour service à titre d’officier commandé dans la RVMRC, et la Réserve de la Marine Royale du Canada (RMRC) après le 1er janvier 1946. Les dates de remise de la médaille allaient de 1938 au 1er septembre 1959 pour ceux qui s'étaient enrôlés avant le 1er septembre 1939.

Description

Une médaille ovale en argent doré chargée du chiffre royal GRI entouré d'une boucle de câble nouée en nœud plat au bas et sommée d'une couronne dorée. À des fins de montage, un anneau est passé dans l'œillet intégré à l'arrière du point culminant de la couronne.

L’avers comprend le chiffre royal (GRI ou EIIR) au centre.

Sur le revers sont gravés le grade et le nom du récipiendaire.

Le ruban de 1,5 po de largeur est composé de bandes bleu foncé en bordure de chaque côté. Au centre, une bande vert foncé est entourée d’étroites bandes rouges.

Notes Historiques

Date de modification :