Officer of the Order of Military Merit (OMM)

Contributors

Context

The Order of Military Merit was established to provide a worthy means of recognizing conspicuous merit and exceptional service by members of the Canadian Forces, both Regular and Reserve. Military nominations shall be processed through the chain of command in accordance with A-AD-200-000/AG-000 - Honours, Flags and Heritage Structure of the Canadian Forces.

Eligibility and Criteria

Appointment to the level of Officer is made for outstanding meritorious service in duties of responsibility. This has been interpreted to mean that, as a guideline, officers of the ranks of Lieutenant-Commander or Major to Captain(N) or Colonel are generally appointed to this level. Occasionally, a Flag or General Officer, A Lieutenant(N) or Captain, a Chief Petty Officer 1st Class or Chief Warrant Officer may be appointed as an Officer if it is more appropriate for their level or responsibility. For the latter (CPO1 and CWO), this usually occurs through promotion within the Order.

Description

The badge of the order is a blue-enamelled, straight-end cross pattee (four arms, narrow at the centre and expanding towards the ends). The badge is edged in gold, and bears a gold maple leaf in its center, on a white background, surrounded by an annulus enamelled red which bears the inscription "MERIT-MERITE-CANADA" in gold, the annulus being surmounted by the Royal Crown enamelled in full colours. The reverse is plain with the exception of an inventory number.

A small ring on the top arm through which another small ring attaches to the ring at the bottom of a gold laurelled bar (3 rings in all).

The ribbon is blue, 38 mm wide, with gold edges (4.8 mm).

 

Bars

There is no bar to this Order but one can be promoted within the Order.

Wearing

The insignia of the Order shall be worn in sequence prescribed in the Canadian Orders, Decorations and Medals Directive, and in the following manner: on the left breast, suspended from the ribbon described above, after a Commander of the Royal Victorian Order and before an Officer of the Order of Merit of the Police Forces.

The lapel badge, a blue cross with a gold maple leaf centre, is worn on the undress ribbon.

Elevations within the order are indicated by the wearing of the lapel badge of the current and previous levels on the undress ribbon.

Postnomials

Officers may use the post-nominal letters "OMM".

Historical Notes

Each badge is numbered on the reverse but not named.

The names of the appointees are published in the Canada Gazette. Appointments are usually made in July and December of each year and one cannot be appointed to the Order posthumously.

As of 1 June 2012, there have been 1 101 appointments at the Officer level of the Order since its institution in 1972.

The insignia was designed by Bruce Beatty.

Date modified:

Officier de l'Ordre du mérite militaire (OMM)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

L'Ordre du mérite militaire a été créé afin de reconnaître à leur juste valeur le mérite particulier et le service exceptionnel des membres de la Régulière et de la Réserve des Forces canadiennes.

Admissibilité et critère

Les nominations au grade d'Officier de l'Ordre du mérite militaire reconnaissent les services méritoires exceptionnels dans des fonctions comportant des responsabilités. L'interprétation de ce critère, sous forme de ligne directrice, souligne que généralement, les officiers du grade de capitaine de corvette ou major à capitaine de vaisseau ou colonel sont nommés Officiers de l'Ordre. Occasionellement, des officiers généraux, lieutenants de vaisseau ou capitaines et des premiers maîtres de 1re classe ou adjudants-chef peuvent être nommés Officiers si cela correspond mieux à leur niveau de responsabilité. Dans ce dernier cas (PM1 et Adjuc), cela arrive habituellement par voie de promotion au sein de l'Ordre.

Description

Une croix pattée droite (quatre branches étroites au centre et s'élargissant vers les extrémités) émaillée de couleur bleue. L'insigne est bordé d'or et porte en son centre une feuille d'érable rouge sur un fond blanc entourée d'un anneau rouge portant l'inscription "MERIT-MERITE-CANADA" en lettres d'or, le tout surmonté de la Couronne royale émaillée en couleur. Le revers ne porte qu'un numéro d'inventaire.

L'insigne de Commandeur est muni d'un petit anneau à son sommet. Ce petit anneau est traversé par un autre anneau plus gros dans lequel le ruban est enfilé afin que l'insigne puisse être porté autour du cou.

Le ruban de 38 mm est bleu aux bordures dorées (4,8 mm)

 

Barrette(s)

Il n'existe aucune barrette pour cet Ordre mais un individu peut être promu au sein de l'Ordre.

Port de L'insigne

L'insigne de l'Ordre est porté dans l'ordre prévu par la Directive canadienne sur les ordres, décorations et médailles et de façon suivante : sur le côté gauche de la poitrine, suspendu au ruban décrit ci-haut, après un Commandeur de l'Ordre royal de Victoria et avant un Officer de l'Ordre du mérite des corps policiers.

L'insigne-boutonnière, une croix bleue chargée d'une feuille d'érable en or, est porté sur le ruban de petite tenue.

Les promotions dans l'Ordre sont indiquées par le port de l'insigne-boutonnière du grade actuel et des grades antérieurs sur le même ruban de petite tenue.

Initiales

Un Officier de l'Ordre du mérite militaire peut faire suivre son nom des lettres « OMM ».

Notes Historiques

Tous les insignes sont numérotés au revers, sans autre identification.

Les noms sont publiés dans la Gazette du Canada. Les nominations sont généralement annoncées en juillet et en décembre. Nul ne peut être admis à cet Ordre à titre posthume.

En date du 1er juin 2012, il y avait eu 1 101 nominations au niveau d'Officier de l'Ordre depuis son institution en 1972.

Le design de l'insigne a été créé par Bruce Beatty

Date de modification :