Member of the Order of Military Merit (MMM)

Contributors

Context

The Order of Military Merit was established to provide a worthy means of recognizing conspicuous merit and exceptional service by members of the Canadian Forces, both Regular and Reserve.Military nominations shall be processed through the chain of command in accordance with A-AD-200-000/AG-000 - Honours, Flags and Heritage Structure of the Canadian Forces.

Eligibility and Criteria

Appointment to the level of Member is made for exceptional service or performance of duty. This has been interpreted to mean that, as a guideline, Non-Commissioned Members (NCMs), Petty Officers, Warrant Officers, and Junior Officers are generally appointed to this level. This is a guideline however and occasionally, Lieutenant-Commanders or Majors are appointed as Members if this is more appropriate for their level of responsibility.

Description

The badge of the order is a blue-enamelled, straight-end cross pattee (four arms, narrow at the centre and expanding towards the ends). The badge is edged in silver, and bears a silver maple leaf in its center, on a white background, surrounded by an annulus enamelled red which bears the inscription "MERIT-MERITE-CANADA" in silver, the annulus being surmounted by the Royal Crown enamelled in full colours. The reverse is plain with the exception of an inventory number.

A small ring on the top arm through which another small ring attaches to the ring at the bottom of a silver laurelled bar (3 rings in all).

The ribbon is blue, 38 mm wide, with gold edges (4.8 mm).

 

Bars

There is no bar to this Order but one can be promoted within the Order.

Wearing

The insignia of the Order shall be worn in sequence prescribed in the Canadian Orders, Decorations and Medals Directive, and in the following manner: on the left breast, suspended from the ribbon described above, after a Lieutenant of the Royal Victorian Order and before an Member of the Order of Merit of the Police Forces.

The lapel badge, a blue cross with a silver maple leaf centre, is worn on the undress ribbon.

Postnomials

Members may use the post-nominal letters "MMM".

Historical Notes

Each badge is numbered on the reverse but not named.

The names of the appointees are published in the Canada Gazette. Appointments are usually made in July and December of each year and one cannot be appointed to the Order posthumously.

As of 1 June 2012, there had been 2 527 appointments at the Member level of the Order since its institution in 1972.

The insignia was designed by Bruce Beatty.

Date modified:

Membre de l'Ordre du mérite militaire (MMM)

Collaborateurs

Contexte

L'Ordre du mérite militaire a été créé afin de reconnaître à leur juste valeur le mérite particulier et le service exceptionnel des membres de la Régulière et de la Réserve des Forces canadiennes.

Admissibilité et critère

Les nominations au grade de Membre de l'Ordre du mérite militaire reconnaissent les services exceptionnels dans l'exécution des fonctions du récipiendaire. L'interprétation de ce critère, sous forme de ligne directrice, souligne que généralement, les sous-officiers, les maîtres, les adjudants et les officiers juniors peuvent être nommés à ce grade. Ce n'est cependant qu'une ligne directrice et à l'occasion, des capitaines de corvette ou des majors sont nommés Membres si cela correspond mieux à leur niveau de responsabilité.

Description

Une croix pattée droite (quatre branches étroites au centre et s'élargissant vers les extrémités) émaillée de couleur bleue. L'insigne est bordé d'argent et porte en son centre un feuille d'érable argent sur un fond blanc entourée d'un anneau rouge portant l'inscription "MERIT-MERITE-CANADA" en lettres d'argent, le tout surmonté de la Couronne royale émaillée en couleur. Le revers ne porte qu'un numéro d'inventaire.

L'insigne de Membre est muni au sommet de la branche supérieure d'un oeillet auquel est attaché un petit anneau fixé dans un autre anneau solidaire de la partie inférieure d'une barrette de couleur argent ornée de feuilles de laurier (trois anneaux en tout).

Le ruban de 38 mm est bleu aux bordures dorées (4,8 mm)

 

Barrette(s)

Il n'existe aucune barrette pour cet Ordre mais un individu peut être promu au sein de l'Ordre.

Port de L'insigne

L'insigne de l'Ordre est porté dans l'ordre prévu par la Directive canadienne sur les ordres, décorations et médailles et de façon suivante : sur le côté gauche de la poitrine, suspendu au ruban décrit ci-haut, après un Lieutenant de l'Ordre royal de Victoria et avant un Membre de l'Ordre du mérite des corps policiers.

L'insigne-boutonnière, une croix bleue chargée d'une feuille d'érable en argent, est porté sur le ruban de petite tenue.

Initiales

Un Membre de l'Ordre du mérite militaire peut faire suivre son nom des lettres « MMM ».

Notes Historiques

Tous les insignes sont numérotés au revers, sans autre identification.

Les noms sont publiés dans la Gazette du Canada. Les nominations sont généralement annoncées en juillet et en décembre. Nul ne peut être admis à cet Ordre à titre posthume.

En date du 1er juin 2012, il y avait eu 2 527 nominations au niveau de Membre de l'Ordre depuis son institution en 1972.

Le design de l'insigne a été créé par Bruce Beatty

Date de modification :