About Medals and Decorations

Service Awards Applications

Visit the Department of National Defence Website for more information on National and Military Honours and Awards beyond the Korean War.

Additional information regarding modern honours of Canada can also be found on the website of the Governor General of Canada.

For further information regarding medals issued in Britain by the Ministry of Defence Medal Office, please visit Ministry of Defence.

© The bulk of English textual material found in the Canadian Military Medals and Decorations section is owned exclusively under copyright law by The Unitrade Press of Toronto, Ontario and may be found in their English publication entitled Canadian Orders, Decorations and Medals, ISBN 1-895909-13-9. The Unitrade Press has granted permission to Veterans Affairs Canada to include this material on the Veterans Affairs Canada Web Site and the material was translated by the Translation Bureau. However, all rights thereto are reserved under the Pan-American and Universal Copyright Conventions by The Unitrade Press of Toronto, Ontario - 1994.

History, Meaning and Significance

When one thinks of medals, the image of veterans gathered for Remembrance Day often comes to mind. But while these honours are generally associated with military service, civilian equivalents exist to honour exceptional contributions to the nation in time of war, or for outstanding acts of citizenship.

History, Meaning and Significance

Mounting and Wearing of Decorations, Campaign Stars, and Medals

The following is provided in order that those awarded War Decorations, Campaign Stars and Medals, particularly those earned during the First World War, the Second World War and the Korean War, may know how they should be mounted and worn.

Mounting and Wearing of Decorations, Campaign Stars, and Medals

Medal Contact Information

Contact information for medals and decorations.

Medal Contact Information

Frequently Asked Questions

Requests for medals have come in from Veterans, families of deceased Veterans, as well as requests for general information, verification for additional awards, and much more.

Frequently Asked Questions

Date modified:

Au sujet des médailles et des décorations

Formulaires de demande de :

Visitez le site Web du ministère de la Défense nationale pour obtenir des renseignements sur les décorations et les citations militaires et nationales après la guerre de Corée.

Visitez le site Web du Gouverneur général du Canada, pour obtenir des renseignements sur les distinctions honorifiques canadiennes modernes.

Visitez le site Web du bureau de médailles du Ministère de défense britannique (Disponible en anglais seulement), pour obtenir des renseignements sur les médailles décernées par le Royaume-Uni.


© La plupart des renseignements textuels que renferme cette partie sont exclusivement la propriété de la société Unitrade Press de Toronto (Ontario). On les retrouve dans la publication anglaise de cette société intitulée "Canadian Orders, Decorations and Medals", ISBN 1-895909-13-9. La société Unitrade Press a autorisé Anciens Combattants Canada à inclure cette documentation dans le site Web d'Anciens Combattants Canada et les renseignements étaient traduits de la part du Bureau de la traduction. Cependant, la société Unitrade Press de Toronto (Ontario) - 1994, réserve tous droits d'auteur en vertu des conventions panamé ricaine et universelle sur le droit d'auteur.

Historique, sens et signification

Ces médailles évoquent l'image des anciens combattants réunis à l'occasion de la journée du Souvenir. Bien que ces honneurs soient généralement associés au service militaire, leurs équivalents civils existent aussi pour honorer ceux qui ont apporté une contribution exceptionnelle au pays, en temps de guerre, et ceux qui ont posé un geste de civisme hors du commun.

Historique, sens et signification

Renseignements relatifs au montage et au port des décorations, étoiles de campagne et médailles

Le texte qui suit vise à expliquer aux titulaires de décorations de guerre, d'étoiles de campagne et de médailles de guerre, notamment celles qui furent méritées au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et la guerre de Corée, la façon de monter et de porter les médailles.

Renseignements relatifs au montage et au port des décorations, étoiles de campagne et médailles

Renseignements au sujet des médailles

Coordonnées concernant les médailles et les décorations.

Renseignements au sujet des médailles

Questions et réponses

Les demandes de médailles proviennent d'anciens combattants et de parents d'anciens combattants décédés. Nous recevons aussi des demandes de renseignements généraux, de vérification concernant d'autres citations et bien d'autres choses.

Questions et réponses

Date de modification :