History of the Books of Remembrance

Table of Contents

Introduction Peace Tower and the Books of Remembrance First World War Book of Remembrance Second World War Book of Remembrance Newfoundland Book of Remembrance Korean War Book of Remembrance South African War / Nile Expedition Book of Remembrance Merchant Navy Book of Remembrance In the Service of Canada Book of Remembrance Memorial Chamber

Introduction

The seven Books of Remembrance lie in the Memorial Chamber in the Peace Tower on Parliament Hill. Together, they commemorate the lives of more than 118,000 Canadians who, since Confederation, have made the ultimate sacrifice while serving our country in uniform.

Peace Tower and the Books of Remembrance

On July 1, 1917, Prime Minister Sir Robert Borden dedicated a site in the Centre Block of the Houses of Parliament. He said the new structure would be a "memorial to the debt of our forefathers and to the valour of those Canadians who, in the Great War, fought for the liberties of Canada, of the Empire, and of humanity." It was two years later that the Prince of Wales laid the corner stone of "The Tower of Victory and Peace," which today is known as the Peace Tower.

When the Peace Tower was first created, the intention was that all names of Canadians who died during the battles of the First World War would be engraved on the walls of the Memorial Chamber. However, it was soon realized that there would not be enough space on the walls to contain the more than 66,000 names of those who died.

So began the process of brainstorming for a solution. Eventually, one came from Colonel A. Fortesque Duguid, DSO. He is credited with suggesting the idea for a Book of Remembrance. The plan was accepted and minor alterations were made to the Memorial Chamber to accommodate the Book.

The Prince of Wales returned to Canada on August 3, 1927, to unveil the altar—a gift from the British Government—upon which the First World War Book of Remembrance would rest.

First World War Book of Remembrance

The first Book of Remembrance created, and the largest of the Books, is the First World War Book of Remembrance. It contains more than 66,000 names.

The artist chosen to work on the Book was James Purves of London, Ontario. At that time, it was expected that the First World War Book of Remembrance would take five years to complete and would cost $35,000. However, the Book was not completed until 1942, 11 years after the committee was formed. The reasons for the delay were many. For instance, Purves required many rare materials to create the Book. Also, all the tools and materials had to come from the British Empire.

First World War Book of Remembrance

James Purves died in 1940, at which time only the preliminary work had been completed on the Book and only one page was fully illuminated and illustrated. As a result, all of Purves' work was handed over to Alan Beddoe, an artist from Ottawa and an assistant of Purves for many years. Beddoe had the First World War Book of Remembrance completed two and a half years after taking over, much to his credit. Beddoe was a conscientious administrator and an accomplished artist who devoted 30 years of his life to the creation of Canada's Books of Remembrance. He died in 1975.

Second World War Book of Remembrance

The Second World War Book of Remembrance contains more than 44,000 names. In 1948, it was decided that a Book of Remembrance would be created to commemorate the Canadians who lost their lives in the Second World War. Allan Beddoe was again selected to do the work. In his written thoughts of the project he wrote: " . . . I am most anxious to produce a work that will be a fitting tribute to those who died, but further still to create something that may be regarded as one of the great works of its kind in modern times. This demands art, and while I am fully attentive to the fact that this project is being paid for out of public funds and should therefore be kept within reasonable costs, I am nevertheless equally conscious of my responsibility as an artist to the people of Canada in that they will expect something exceptionally fine for the money spent."

Second World War Book of Remembrance

The work was scheduled to begin in the spring of 1948 and to be completed by August 1952. During the first three years of the project, however, Beddoe ran into a series of delays. The calf skin vellum did not arrive from England until nine months after the time it was originally expected. The Printing Bureau required an additional six months to attach the linen guards to the individual sheets of vellum. There was some difficulty verifying the correct spelling of the names of men and women of French origin. The Inter Service Records Committee had many problems retrieving the names of Canadians who died while serving in other forces. The Historical Sections of the three services were seven months behind schedule, due to the pressures of the branches' other duties after the war. It also took six months for Beddoe and his staff to find proper working quarters where temperature and humidity could be kept within certain limits to prevent damage to the delicate vellum.

It was not until the fall of 1949 that the writing and illustrating could begin. More problems arose in 1950 and 1951 when major policy changes affected the work's progress. For instance, it was decided that abbreviations of infantry and regiments would be included rather than just the corps designations. All of these decisions were made after nearly half of the more than 44,000 names had already been entered. The completed names had to be discarded and the work started again.

Beddoe decided to make a few changes of his own when redoing the Book. The script was changed to a style known as Foundation hand. He hired another writer to make up for some of the lost time. Gold-filled nibs were made especially to complete the Second Book's calligraphy. Beddoe included approximately 75 names per page in the Second World War Book of Remembrance, as compared to 125 names per page in the First World War Book. Beddoe also decided to incorporate many pages commemorating particular actions, battles, and places that were significant to Canadians during the war.

Beddoe's staff included a chief assistant, five assistant artists, two writers, an accounting officer and a proof-reader. The Second World War Book of Remembrance was placed in the Memorial Chamber on Remembrance Day 1957.

Newfoundland Book of Remembrance

The Newfoundland Book of Remembrance commemorates the men and women of Newfoundland who gave their lives in defence of freedom during both the First and Second World Wars—before Newfoundland became a province of Canada on April 1, 1949. Those listed are from all three branches of the military—the Navy, Air Force and Army. The book includes memorials to First World War campaigns, including Gallipoli and Beaumont-Hamel, and Second World War campaigns, including North Africa and Italy, and Northwest Europe. The Newfoundland Book of Remembrance, containing more than 2,300 names, was installed in the Memorial Chamber of Parliament in 1973, and a replica was placed in the Confederation Building in St. John's.

Newfoundland Book of Remembrance

Korean War Book of Remembrance

The Korean War Book of Remembrance commemorates those Canadians who gave their lives during the Korean War (1950—1953). On June 25, 1950, the forces of North Korea crossed the 38th Parallel into the Republic of Korea. This marked the beginning of hostilities which were to rage for more than three years, throughout the country known to its people as the Land of the Morning Calm. The Canadian casualties numbered more than 1,500, including 516 who lost their lives. The names of those lost are inscribed in the Korean War Book of Remembrance, which includes a page decorated with the United Nations symbol surrounded by the Arms of the 17 countries which participated in the United Nations Forces. The Book was dedicated in the Memorial Chamber on November 11, 1962 by the Governor-General Major General Georges Vanier, DSO, MC, CD.

Korean War Book of Remembrance

South African War / Nile Expedition Book of Remembrance

The South African War / Nile Expedition Book of Remembrance commemorates Canadians who died during the South African War (1899—1902) and the Nile Expedition (1884—1885). The Nile Expedition in 1884 marked the first time Canada took part in a war overseas. Four hundred volunteers skilled in river navigation served in the expedition; sixteen gave their lives. The South African War broke out on October 11, 1899. This war marked the first occasion in which large contingents of Canadian troops served abroad. More than 7,000 Canadians volunteered to fight in the South African War. Almost 300 names are listed in the South African War / Nile Expedition Book of Remembrance. The Book was dedicated and placed in the Memorial Chamber on May 31, 1962, the 60th anniversary of the signing of the Peace of Vereeniging, which ended the war in South Africa.

South African War Book of Remembrance

Merchant Navy Book of Remembrance

The Merchant Navy Book of Remembrance commemorates the men and women of the Merchant Marine who gave their lives while serving Canada at sea during both the First World War and the Second World War. In addition to the names of those lost, this Book includes poetry, maps and ocean-related images. During the First World War, merchant ships quickly became the target of enemy surface raiders, and by April 1915, 54 Allied merchant ships had been sunk. By 1917, 1,220 had been sunk. There is no record of the number of merchant mariners who served on the high seas during the Great War, but it is known that more than 570 of them died.

Merchant Navy Book of Remembrance

In August 1939, the Royal Canadian Navy took control of all merchant ships. Merchant mariners were not compelled to sail, but an estimated 12,000 of them did. More than 1,600 Canadian merchant navy men and women were killed in action in the Second World War. The Merchant Navy Book of Remembrance was dedicated in 1993.

In the Service of Canada Book of Remembrance

In the Service of Canada Book of Remembrance lists the names of more than 1,800 members of the Canadian Armed Forces (Navy, Army, Air Force) who have died while on duty in Canada or serving abroad since October 1, 1947, with the exception of those who are commemorated in the Korean War Book of Remembrance. This includes those who died in times of conflict, or during peacetime training exercises, peacekeeping deployments abroad or other military duty.

The Book begins with the date of October 1, 1947, the day after eligibility for entry in the Second World War Book of Remembrance closed.

In the Service of Canada Book of Remembrance

Memorial Chamber

Each year, more than half a million visitors view Canada's Books of Remembrance in the Memorial Chamber on the second level of the Peace Tower on Parliament Hill.

Date modified:

Histoire des Livres du Souvenir

Table des matières

Introduction La Tour de la Paix et les Livres du Souvenir Le Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale Le Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale Le Livre du Souvenir de Terre-Neuve Le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre de Corée Le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre en Afrique du Sud / L'Expédition sur le Nil Le Livre du Souvenir de la Marine marchande Le Livre du Souvenir - Au service du Canada La Chapelle du Souvenir

Introduction

Les sept Livres du Souvenir sont gardés dans la Chapelle du Souvenir de la Tour de la Paix au Parlement. Ils commémorent plus de 118 000 Canadiens qui, depuis la Confédération, ont consenti le sacrifice ultime en servant notre pays dans les forces militaires.

La Tour de la Paix et les Livres du Souvenir

C'est le 1er juillet 1917 que le premier ministre Sir Robert Borden a dédié un lieu dans l'édifice du Centre du Parlement, qu'il a décrit comme « un monument à la mémoire de nos ancêtres et du courage de ces Canadiens qui, pendant la Grande Guerre, ont combattu pour défendre les libertés du Canada, de l'Empire et de l'humanité ». Deux ans plus tard, le prince de Galles posait la pierre angulaire de « la Tour de la Victoire et de la Paix », aujourd'hui, la Tour de la Paix.

Originalement, l'intention était de graver tous les noms des soldats canadiens sur les murs de la Chapelle du Souvenir. Mais on a finalement constaté qu'il n'y avait pas assez de place pour contenir les quelque 66 000 noms des militaires qui donnèrent leur vie lors des batailles de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Il a fallu songer à d'autres solutions. C'est Le colonel A. Fortesque Duguid, DSO, a suggéré l'idée d'un livre du Souvenir. Le plan a été accepté et des modifications mineures ont dû être effectuées dans la Chapelle pour y installer le Livre.

Le prince de Galles est retourné au Canada le 3 août 1927 pour dévoiler l'autel, un cadeau du gouvernement britannique, sur lequel repose le Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Le Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale

Le Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale est le premier Livre du Souvenir qui a été réalisé, et le plus volumineux des Livres. Il contient plus de 66 000 noms.

L'artiste choisi pour faire le travail était James Purves de London, en Ontario. À ce moment-là, on s'attendait à ce que la réalisation du Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale prenne cinq ans et coûte 35 000 $. Cependant, le travail n'a pas été achevé avant 1942, c'est-à-dire onze ans après la formation du comité chargé du projet. Les raisons de ce retard étaient nombreuses. Purves avait notamment besoin de matériaux rares et tous les outils et les matériaux devaient venir de l'Empire britannique.

Le Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale

James Purves est mort en 1940. Il n'avait eu le temps de faire que le travail préliminaire. Le travail d'enluminure et d'illustration n'avait été effectué que sur une seule page du manuscrit. Par conséquent, tout le travail de Purves a été confié à Allan Beddoe, un artiste d'Ottawa et un assistant de Purves pendant plusieurs années. Le Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale a été complété deux ans et demi après que Beddoe ait pris la relève. Beddoe a été un administrateur consciencieux qui a consacré 30 ans de sa vie à la création des Livres du Souvenir du Canada. Il est mort en 1975.

Le Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale contient plus de 44 000 noms. En 1948, on décida de créer un Livre du Souvenir à la mémoire des Canadiens qui avaient perdu la vie au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Allan Beddoe a été choisi à cette occasion aussi pour faire le travail. Dans les notes qu'il a préparées sur le projet, Beddoe a écrit : « Je tiens à ce que mon travail soit un hommage approprié à la mémoire de tous ceux qui sont morts, mais également une œuvre qui soit parmi les plus belles réussites du genre à l'époque moderne. C'est un travail qui demande beaucoup d'application et de soin. Je n'ignore pas qu'il soit financé à l'aide des deniers publics et qu'il faut maintenir les coûts le plus bas possible. Mais je suis néanmoins conscient de la responsabilité qui m'échoit en tant qu'artiste face au peuple canadien, qui s'attend certainement à ce que ces fonds soient employés à la production d'une œuvre d'une beauté exceptionnelle ».

Le Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale

M. Beddoe devait entreprendre la réalisation de ce deuxième Livre au printemps de 1948 et comptait avoir terminé en août 1952. Au cours des trois premières années, Beddoe a rencontré une série de problèmes. Notamment le vélin (cuir de veau) est arrivé d'Angleterre neuf mois plus tard que prévu, puis il a fallu six mois à l'Imprimerie nationale pour attacher les gardes de toile au vélin. D'autres difficultés sont survenues lorsqu'il a fallu établir l'orthographe exacte des noms des femmes et des hommes d'origine française. Le comité interarmé des archives a eu beaucoup de difficulté à retracer les noms de Canadiens morts au combat au sein d'autres forces armées. Les sections historiques des trois services ont connu un retard de sept mois, en raison des autres obligations des diverses sections après la guerre. En plus, Beddoe et son équipe de travail ont passé six mois à chercher des lieux de travail convenables où la température et l'humidité pouvaient être contrôlées de façon à ne pas endommager le vélin délicat des livres.

À l'automne de 1949, on a finalement pu commencer la composition et l'illustration du livre. En 1950 et 1951, d'importantes modifications en matière de politique ont retardé la progression des travaux. Par exemple, on a décidé que les abréviations des régiments d'infanterie et des régiments blindés devaient être incluses au lieu de simplement inscrire les appellations désignant les divers corps. Quand ces décisions ont été prises, près de la moitié des plus de 44 000 noms avaient déjà été inscrits. Il a donc fallu rejeter tout ce travail et le reprendre à nouveau.

Beddoe a alors décidé d'apporter d'autres changements au Livre. Il a adopté une nouvelle calligraphie appelée « Foundation Hand ». Il engagea un autre rédacteur pour terminer la calligraphie du Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Beddoe inscrivit environ 75 noms par page dans le Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale comparativement à 125 par page dans le Livre du Souvenir de la Première Guerre mondiale. Beddoe a décidé aussi d'incorporer des pages soulignant des actes, des batailles et des lieux qui ont été significatifs pour les Canadiens pendant la guerre.

L'équipe de travail de Beddoe comprenait un chef adjoint, cinq artisans adjoints, deux rédacteurs, un agent comptable et un correcteur. Le Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale a été placé dans la Chapelle du Souvenir à l'occasion du jour de Souvenir, en 1957.

Le Livre du Souvenir de Terre-Neuve

Le Livre du Souvenir de Terre-Neuve commémore les hommes et les femmes de Terre-Neuve qui ont donné leur vie au nom de la liberté pendant la Première et la Seconde Guerres mondiales, avant que Terre-Neuve devienne officiellement une province du Canada, le 1er avril 1949. Ceux qui y figurent ont servi dans les trois branches des forces militaires—l'armée, la marine et les forces aériennes. Le Livre rend hommage à ceux qui servirent au cours des campagnes de la Première Guerre mondiale, notamment Gallipoli et Beaumont-Hamel, et de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, notamment en Afrique du Nord, en Italie et dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe. Le Livre du Souvenir de Terre-Neuve, qui contient plus de 2 300 noms, a été placé dans la Chapelle du Souvenir du Parlement en 1973. Une réplique du Livre est exposée dans l'Édifice de la Confédération à St. John's.

Le Livre du Souvenir de Terre-Neuve

Le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre de Corée

Le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre de Corée commémore les Canadiens qui ont donné leur vie pendant la guerre de Corée (1950-1953). Le 25 juin 1950, les forces armées de la Corée du Nord ont traversé le 38e parallèle et sont entrées dans la République de Corée. Cet événement a marqué le début des hostilités qui ont fait rage pendant plus de trois ans dans ce pays que ses habitants ont baptisé le « Pays du matin calme ». Ce conflit a fait plus de 1 500 victimes canadiennes, dont 516 morts. Ceux qui consentirent le sacrifice ultime sont commémorés dans le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre de Corée. On y trouve une page sur laquelle figure le symbole des Nations Unies entouré des armoiries des 17 pays qui ont servi au sein des forces des Nations Unies.

Le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre de Corée

Le Livre a été dévoilé dans la Chapelle du Souvenir le 11 novembre 1962 par le gouverneur général du Canada, le major-général Georges Vanier, DSO, MC, CD.

Le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre en Afrique du Sud et de l'Expédition sur le Nil

Le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre en Afrique du Sud et de l'Expédition sur le Nil commémore les soldats canadiens qui sont morts au cours de la guerre des Boërs (1899-1902) et de l'Expédition sur le Nil (1884-1885). L'Expédition sur le Nil de 1884 a marqué la première participation du Canada à une guerre outre-mer. Quatre cents volontaires, tous qualifiés en navigation fluviale, ont servi au cours de cette expédition—seize d'entre eux ont consenti le sacrifice ultime. La guerre d’Afrique du Sud a éclaté le 11 octobre 1889. Ce fut la première fois que d'importants contingents de troupes canadiennes furent déployées à l'étranger. Plus de 7 000 Canadiens se sont portés volontaires pour aller combattre en Afrique du Sud. Presque 300 noms figurent dans le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre en Afrique du Sud et de l'Expédition sur le Nil.

Le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre en Afrique du Sud et de l'Expédition sur le Nil

Le Livre a été dévoilé et placé dans la Chapelle du Souvenir le 31 mai 1962, date du 60e anniversaire de la signature du traité de Vereeniging, qui a mis fin à la guerre en Afrique du Sud.

Le Livre du Souvenir de la Marine marchande

Le Livre du Souvenir de la Marine marchande commémore les hommes et les femmes de la Marine marchande qui ont sacrifié leur vie sur les mers au service du Canada pendant la Première et la Seconde Guerres mondiales. Outre les noms de ceux qui sont tombés au champ d'honneur, ce livre contient des poèmes, des cartes et des images océaniques. Au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, les navires marchands sont vite devenus la cible des navires de surface ennemis, et en avril 1915, 54 navires marchands alliés avaient été coulés. En 1917, 1 220 avaient sombré. Il n'existe aucune donnée au sujet du nombre de marins marchands qui ont servi en haute mer pendant la Grande Guerre. Nous savons cependant que plus de 570 d'entre eux y ont laissé leur vie.

Le Livre du Souvenir de la marine marchande

En août 1939, la Marine royale du Canada a pris le contrôle de tous les navires marchands. Les marins marchands n'étaient pas tenus de naviguer, mais quelque 12 000 d'entre eux ont choisi de contribuer à l'effort de guerre. Plus de 1 600 hommes et femmes de la Marine marchande sont morts au combat pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le Livre du Souvenir de la Marine marchande a été dévoilé en 1993.

Le Livre du Souvenir - Au service du Canada

Le Livre du Souvenir - Au service du Canada commémore, au moment de son dévoilement, plus de 1 800 membres des Forces canadiennes (marine, armée, forces aériennes) qui sont morts dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions au Canada ou outre-mer, depuis le 1er octobre 1947, à l'exception de ceux qui sont commémorés dans le Livre du Souvenir de la guerre de Corée. Il rend hommage à ceux qui sont morts en temps de conflit et de paix, au cours d'exercices d'entraînement en vue d'opérations de maintien de la paix, dans le cadre de déploiements pour le maintien de la paix à l'étranger et dans l'exercice d'autres fonctions militaires.

Le Livre du Souvenir - Au service du Canada

La première date enregistrée dans le Livre est le 1er octobre 1947, soit la fin de la période d'admissibilité pour pouvoir figurer dans le Livre du Souvenir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

La Chapelle du Souvenir

Chaque année, plus de 500 000 visiteurs se rendent à la Chapelle du Souvenir, au deuxième étage de la Tour de la Paix du Parlement, pour admirer les Livres du Souvenir.

Date de modification :