Bretteville-sur-Laize Canadian War Cemetery

Bretteville-sur-Laize Canadian War Cemetery Today

On July 23, 1944, the Headquarters of the First Canadian Army became operational under the command of General Crerar. This First Canadian Army would become international in character. In addition to its Canadian divisions (the 2nd and 3rd Infantry and the 4th Armoured divisions), it had a Polish division, British corps and at various times American, Belgian and Dutch troops.

As the Americans swept round from the south enveloping the German troops in a huge pocket, General Crerar's First Canadian Army was ordered to Falaise along the line of the pocket's opening. Lieut.-General G.G. Simonds, in command of the 2nd Canadian Corps, planned the operation to take place at night using armoured personnel carriers to transport the infantry, and tanks to both spearhead and follow the assault. The attack began just before midnight August 7, preceded by heavy air bombardment, directed by red and green flares fired by the artillery. The attack achieved initial success, as the first defensive lines were overrun including the ridge at Verrières where Canadians had died in the July campaign. Then, in the face of stiff German resistance and errors in Allied bombing which inflicted casualties on their own troops, the momentum could not be maintained.

It was vital that Falaise be captured without delay to unite with the American forces moving up from the south. General Simonds ordered a second assault. Similar tactics were employed except that this time the attack took place in daylight with smoke screens replacing the cover darkness had given in the earlier phase. There was again an error in Allied bombing, but this time the assault succeeded. Falaise was taken on August 16.

Like most Second World War cemeteries, Bretteville-sur-Laize Canadian War Cemetery is a concentration of battlefield burials; almost every unit of the 2nd Corps is represented here. There are 2,793 Canadian soldiers buried in the cemetery, 91 of them unknown. With them lie 79 members of the R.C.A.F.

The town which has given its name to the site is near the road between Caen and Falaise, a fitting location for a burial ground that, like the towns, is a memorial itself. The fields of grain which enclose it were once crushed by tanks, armoured carriers and guns that churned through the hot, dusty days of August 1944. Now, on its slight plateau above the farmland, there is peace. The cemetery has a fine entrance. Near the gate, the Stone of Remembrance rests upon granite steps facing the Cross of Sacrifice across the headstones. It is easy to find for it is located beside the road to Falaise, 14 kilometers from Caen.

Date modified:

Cimetière de guerre canadien de Bretteville-sur-Laize

Cimetière de guerre canadien de Bretteville-sur-Laize aujourd'hui

Le 23 juillet 1944, le Quartier général de la 1re Armée canadienne entre en fonction sous le commandement du général Crerar. Cette 1re Armée canadienne acquerra un caractère international. Outre ses divisions canadiens (la 2e et la 3e Divisions d'infanterie et la 4e Division blindée) elle comprendra une division polonaise,des corps britanniques et, à divers moments, des troupes américaines, belges et hollandaises.

Les Américains ayant contourné les Allemands par le sud et les ayant enfermé dans une énorme souricière, la 1re Armée canadienne du général Crerar reçoit l'ordre de se rendre à Falaise où se situe l'ouverture de cette souricière. Le lieutenant-général Simonds, qui commande le 2e Corps canadien, a prévu l'opération pour la nuit, utilisant des transporteurs blindés pour l'infanterie et des chars pour précéder et suivre l'assaut. L'attaque commence juste avant minuit le 7 août, précédée d'un fort bombardement aérien, dirigé par les fusées rouges et vertes de l'artillerie. L'attaque connaît d'abord un certain succès, les premières lignes défensives sont enfoncées, notamment la crête de Verrières où des Canadiens sont morts au cours de la campagne de juillet. Mais l'élan ne peut être maintenu, étant donné une farouche résistance allemande et des erreurs des bombardements alliés qui ont causé des pertes à leurs propres troupes.

Il est vital que Falaise soit prise sans retard pour opérer la jonction avec les forces américaines qui arrive du sud. Le général Simonds ordonne un second assaut. Des tactiques similaires sont utilisées, si ce n'est que cette fois l'attaque a lieu de jour, des écrans de fumée jouant le rôle qu'a joué l'obscurité lors de la première attaque. Encore une fois, il y a erreur dans les bombardements alliés, mais cette fois l'assaut réussit. Falaise est prise le 16 août.

Comme la plupart des cimetières de la Seconde Geurre mondiale, le cimetière de guerre canadien de Bretteville-sur-Laize groupe les dépouilles des victimes d'abord inhumées dans de petits cimetières improvisés, sur le champ de bataille même. Toutes les unités du 2e Corps canadien y sont représentées, y compris 79 aviateurs de l' A.R.C. Pour nous en tenir aux Canadiens seulement, 2 793 d'entre eux reposent au cimetière.

Près de Cintheaux, à mi-chemin entre Caen et Falaise, il est difficile d'imaginer aujourd'hui que les paisibles champs de blé qui entourent ce cimetière furent ravagés par la machine monstrueuse de la guerre moderne. On accède à ce vaste cimetière par une imposante entrée. La Pierre du Souvenir, près de l'entrée, se dresse sur son bloc de granit, face à la Croix du Sacrifice.

Date de modification :