Villanova Canadian War Cemetery

Villanova Canadian War Cemetery

The 5th Canadian Armoured Division established a bridgehead over the Lamone River the night of December 10-11, 1944. In the days that followed, they became involved in heavy fighting to the west of it as they tried to make their way across three canals.

The advance across the Lamone near Villanova went well. The Cape Breton Highlanders were quickly over the dyke and in the village, with 43 prisoners captured. By 2 a.m. they had reached the Via Aguta road, one mile beyond. To the left, nearby, the Perth Regiment easily captured Borgo di Villanova and continued their advance. The reserve unit, the Irish Regiment of Canada, was sent across the river along the route of the Perths. They were then to turn left and join the 1st Division. They progressed 3,000 yards, taking 50 prisoners in the process. The Allied success in this sector is shared with the U.K..'s Desert Air Force which supported the ground troops with 312 sorties on December 11 alone.

Disregarding this air support, the Germans counterattacked early on the 11th. The Westminister Regiment (Motor) held them off, damaging four tanks and taking a number of prisoners. Two other attempts by the Germans in the afternoon met similar failure. The engineers, meanwhile, had completed their bridges and so, early on the 12th, tanks of the 8th Princess Louise's (New Brunswick) Hussars successfully crossed the Lamone at Villanova.

The Naviglio Canal was the next Canadian objective, and the assault began the night of December 12. The Lanark and Renfrew Scottish and the Princess Louise Dragoon Guards, both of the 12th Brigade, met strong resistance along the canal's banks. Only two squadrons of the Dragoons made it across, and fierce counterattacks splintered them into isolated units. Enemy fire prevented the reserve squadrons from even approaching the canal. To make matters worse, air support was unavailable due to poor visibility and the tanks were unable to reach this section.

In that one night's action, 21 of the regiment were killed and 46 captured. At the same time, the Lanark and Renfrew group was being held up by fire from enemy-occupied houses across the canal. They resisted two days of pressure, suffering 38 fatalities. The situation would improve in a matter of days, when air and tank support became available.

Villanova War Cemetery Map

Directions

Originally begun as a battlefield cemetery, this permanent war graves site is located along the Lamone River just outside the village of Villanova, in the commune of Bagnacavallo and the province of Ravenna. It was selected as a cemetery by the 5th Canadian Armoured Division, which is heavily represented here. There are 206 Canadian graves, including one unknown soldier. There are also six soldiers from the UK. Most of the Canadian war dead belonged to one of four regiments - the Lanark and Renfrew Scottish Regiment (52), the 4th Princess Louise Dragoon Guards (34), the Perth Regiment (34) and the Irish Regiment of Canada (25). For the most part, they were killed following the Lamone River crossing in December 1944. A number also died in the advance to the Senio River and up to the final days of the Italian campaign - in February 1945 for the majority of Canadians.

Date modified:

Cimetière de guerre canadien de Villanova

Cimetière de guerre canadien de Villanova

La 5e Division blindée canadienne établit une tête de pont sur la rivière Lamone dans la nuit du 10 au 11 décembre 1944. Les jours suivants, les Canadiens livrèrent un combat acharné à l'ouest tandis qu'ils s'efforçaient de franchir trois canaux.

Le passage de la Lamone, près de Villanova, se déroula sans encombre. Les hommes du Cape Breton Highlanders traversèrent rapidement la digue et pénétrèrent dans le village, faisant 43 prisonniers. À 2 heures du matin, ils avaient atteint la route Via Aguta, à un mille au-delà du village. Sur la gauche, non loin de là, le Perth Regiment put facilement s'emparer de Borgo di Villanova et poursuivre sa marche. Le Irish Regiment of Canada, l'unité de réserve, fut envoyé de l'autre côté de la rivière le long de la route empruntée par le Perth Regiment. Les hommes du régiment se dirigèrent alors vers gauche afin de se joindre à la 1re Division. Ils avancèrent sur 3 000 verges et capturèrent 50 soldats ennemis. La Desert Air Force du Royaume-Uni contribua au succès des Alliés dans ce secteur en appuyant les troupes au sol par 312 sorties, le 11 décembre.

Au mépris de cet appui aérien, les Allemands contre-attaquèrent tôt le 11 décembre. Le Westminster Regiment (motorisé) les repoussa, mit hors de combat quatre chars d'assaut et fit prisonnier un certain nombre de soldats allemands. Dans l'après-midi, deux autres tentatives allemandes échouèrent également. Entre-temps, les hommes du Génie avaient compléter la constructions de ponts sur la rivière si bien que, tôt le matin du 12 décembre, les chars des 8th Princess Louise's (New Brunswick) Hussars franchirent avec succès la rivière Lamone à Villanova.

L'objectif suivant des Canadiens était le canal Naviglio, et l'attaque débuta le soir du 12 décembre. Le Lanark and Renfrew Scottish et le Princess Louise Dragoon Guards de la 12e Brigade firent face à une forte résistance sur les rives du canal. Seuls deux escadrons des Dragoons purent le franchir, et de violentes contre-attaques les isolèrent en deux unités. Le feu nourri de l'ennemi empêcha même les escadrons de la Réserve de s'approcher du canal. Pour comble de malheur, ils ne purent recevoir d'appui aérien en raison de la faible visibilité, et les chars d'assaut furent incapables de se rendre sur les lieux.

Cette nuit-là, 21 hommes du régiment tombèrent au combat et 46 furent capturés. Pendant ce temps, le Lanark and Renfrew était immobilisé par les tirs de l'ennemi, qui occupait des habitations de l'autre côté du canal. Le groupe résista deux jours à ce pilonnage et subit 38 pertes. La situation s'améliora toutefois quelques jours plus tard avec l'appui aérien et l'arrivée des chars d'assaut.

Carte de Cimetière de guerre canadien de Villanova

Indications pour s’y rendre 

Ces sépultures de guerre permanentes qui longent la rivière Lamone constituaient à l'origine un cimetière de champ de bataille. Ce cimetière se situe tout près du village de Villanova, dans la commune de Bagnacavallo, dans la province de Ravenne. Le lieu fut choisi par la 5e Division blindée canadienne, qui y est fortement représentée. On comptent 206 sépultures canadiennes, dont une sépulture non identifiée ainsi que six soldats du Royaume-Uni. La plupart des soldats canadiens morts à la guerre appartenaient à l'un des quatre régiments suivants : le Lanark and Renfrew Scottish Regiment (52), les 4th Princess Louise Dragoon Guards (34), le Perth Regiment (34) et le Irish Regiment of Canada (25). Ils périrent presque tous après avoir franchi la rivière Lamone en décembre 1944. Certains d'entre eux - en majorité des Canadiens - tombèrent au combat lors de l'avancée vers la rivière Senio jusqu'à la fin de la Campagne d'Italie, en février 1945.

Date de modification :