Prince Returns to Action

Note

There have been recent changes to the Korean alphabet. For example, Pusan now reads Busan and Kapyong reads Gapyong. In order to maintain historical relevance, the older versions of the names are used in this article.

Sgt. Prince (2nd from left) and other officers of the PPCLI's 2nd Battalion are briefed by their commanding officer before setting out on patrols in Korea in March 1951. As second in command of a rifle platoon, Prince participated in and led several night patrols and raiding parties. (W. H. Olson / Department of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-114890)

Three of the 11 medals Tommy Prince earned during his military career—the Korea Medal, the United Nations Service Medal and the Canadian Volunteer Service Medal for Korea—were for service during the U.N. operations in Korea. In August 1950, one week after the government announced its decision to form the Special Force, 34-year-old Tom Prince volunteered. He joined the 2nd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI), the first Canadian Army unit to arrive in the region.

Prince was in action quickly. In February 1951, the Patricias joined the 27th Commonwealth Brigade on the battlefield. Soon after arriving in the war zone, the sergeant, who was second in command of a rifle platoon, led an evening "snatch patrol" of eight men into an enemy camp. The raid was a success; the group returned before dawn with two captured machine-guns. More raids followed. However, according to the authors of a biography of Prince, he was eventually assigned fewer patrols, because his commanding officer thought Prince took too many chances that might risk the lives of the soldiers under his command.87

Prince was with 2 PPCLI when, together with the 3rd Royal Australian Regiment, it was awarded the United States Presidential Unit Citation for distinguished service in the Kapyong valley April 24 and 25, 1951, during one of the toughest actions of the war.88 The Patricias were to hold a defensive position at Hill 677 so that a South Korean division could withdraw during an attack by Chinese and North Korean forces. Although at one point the battalion was surrounded and resupply of ammunition and emergency rations could only be accomplished by air, the Patricias held their ground. The enemy withdrew. Ten PPCLI men were killed and 23 were wounded during the two-day battle. The award was a first for a Canadian unit.

Prince en route to Korea—for the second time. (J.J. Schau / Department of National Defence /Library and Archives Canada / PA-128264)

Prince's time at the front was intense but brief. His knees were subject to painful swelling and premature arthritis. It was a struggle for him to endure the constant, steep climbing demanded by the Korean landscape. After a medical examination in May 1951, he was hospitalized and then assigned administrative duties. In August he returned to Canada.

Prince remained on active service as an administrative sergeant at Camp Borden in Ontario. Here his knees responded to the added rest and thus, in March 1952, he volunteered for a second tour of duty in the Far East. He sailed for Korea that October with the 3rd Battalion PPCLI.

In November 1952, the training of the 3rd PPCLI in Korea was interrupted by fighting on "the Hook," a key position west of the Sami-chon River that overlooked much of the rear areas of the U.N. forces. When a Chinese battalion gained a foothold on the forward positions of another UN unit on November 18, the 3rd PPCLI was ordered to help defend the sector. By dawn of the 19th, the UN unit, with assistance from the Patricias, had recaptured the post. Five Patricias were killed on the Hook and nine were wounded, one of whom was Sergeant Prince.

Prince recovered from the injury, but began to have continual difficulties with his arthritic knees. Between January and April he spent several weeks in hospital. In July 1953, the Korea Armistice was signed, and, the following November, Prince returned to Canada. He remained in the army, stationed at a personnel depot in Winnipeg, until September 1954.

Tommy Prince's Grave.

Tommy Prince died at Winnipeg's Deer Lodge Hospital in November 1977, at the age of 62. At his funeral, a delegation of the Princess Patricias served as pallbearers and draped a Canadian flag over his coffin for the memorial service. It was an impressive tribute:

As the trumpeter finished, five young men from the Brokenhead Indian Reserve began to chant the melancholy "Death of a Warrior" song, as drummers beat a sad lament . . . . The crowd of over 500 included people from all walks of life: active soldiers, Veterans, Manitoba's Lieutenant Governor Jobin, consuls representing France, Italy and the United States, farmers, fishermen, trappers, businessmen and many others.89

Date modified:

Prince retourne au combat

Nota

Récemment, des changements ont été apportés à l'alphabet coréen. Par exemple, Pusan s'écrit maintenant Busan et Kapyong s'écrit Gapyong. Afin de conserver la pertinence historique, les anciennes versions des noms sont utilisées dans cet article.

Le sergent Prince (2e à gauche) et d'autres officiers du 2e bataillion du PPCLI reçoivent les ordres de leur officier commandant avant d'aller en patrouille en Corée en mars 1951. À titre de commandant en second d'un peloton de fusiliers, Prince a pris part à nombre de patrouilles de nuit et de raids et en a mené plusieurs. (W.H. Olson / Ministère de la Défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-114890)

Trois des onze médailles que Tommy Prince se mérita au cours de sa carrière militaire, soit la Médaille de Corée, la Médaille du Service des Nations Unies, et la Médaille canadienne du service volontaire pour la Corée, lui furent décernées à l'égard du service qu'il a accompli dans le cadre des opérations des Nations Unies en Corée. En août 1950, soit une semaine après que le gouvernement eut annoncé sa décision de constituer une force spéciale, Prince, alors âgé de 34 ans, se porta volontaire. Il s'enrôla dans le 2e Bataillon du Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI), la première unité de l'armée canadienne qui arriva dans la région.

Prince connut rapidement le combat. En février 1951, le PPCLI se joignit à la 27e Brigade du Commonwealth sur le champ de bataille. Peu après être arrivé dans la zone de guerre, le sergent, qui était commandant en second d'un peloton de fusiliers, dirigea huit hommes d'une « patrouille d'intervention » de nuit dans un camp ennemi. Le raid fut un succès. Le groupe revint avant l'aube et rapporta deux mitrailleuses ennemies. D'autres raids suivirent. Cependant, selon les auteurs d'une biographie de Prince, il fut affecté à moins de patrouilles parce que le commandant jugea que Prince prenait trop de risques qui pouvaient mettre en danger la vie des soldats qu'il commandait.87

Prince servait dans le 2e Bataillon du PPCLI qui, avec le 3rd Royal Australian Regiment, reçut la Presidential Unit Citation des États-Unis pour services distingués à l'égard des succès remportés dans la vallée de Kapyong les 24 et 25 avril 1951, au cours de l'un des combats les plus acharnés de la guerre.88 Les hommes du Princess Patricia devaient maintenir une position défensive à la colline 677 afin qu'une division sud-coréenne puisse se replier pendant une attaque des forces chinoises et nord-coréennes. Bien qu'à un certain moment le bataillon fut encerclé et que les munitions et les rations de secours ne purent être amenées que par la voie des airs, le bataillon du Princess Patricia tint bon. L'ennemi se retira. Dix hommes du PPCLI furent tués et 23 autres blessés au cours de la bataille de deux jours. C'était la première fois qu'une unité canadienne recevait cette décoration.

Prince en route pour la Corée pour la seconde fois. (J.J. Schau / Ministère de la Défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-128264)

Le séjour de Prince au front fut intense, mais bref. Il était sujet à des enflures douloureuses aux genoux et il souffrait d'arthrite précoce. Il lui était terriblement pénible d'endurer les remontées constantes de pentes raides caractéristiques du paysage de la Corée. Après avoir subi un examen médical en mai 1951, il fut hospitalisé et, par la suite, on lui confia des tâches administratives. Il rentra au Canada en août.

Prince continua de servir dans les forces actives à titre de sergent administratif au Camp Borden, en Ontario. Là, le repos eut bientôt raison de ses troubles des genoux, puis, en mars 1952, il se porta volontaire pour une deuxième affectation en Extrême-Orient. Il s'embarqua pour la Corée au mois d'octobre avec le 3e Bataillon du PPCLI.

En novembre 1952, l'entraînement du 3e Bataillon du PPCLI en Corée fut interrompu par les combats sur « le Crochet », une position importante à l'ouest de la rivière Sami-chon d'où l'on pouvait voir la plus grande partie de l'arrière des forces de l'ONU. Un bataillon chinois réussit à gagner une emprise sur les positions d'avant d'une autre unité des forces de l'ONU le 18 novembre. Le 3e Bataillon du PPCLI reçut alors l'ordre de défendre le secteur. À l'aube du 19, avec l'aide du PPCLI, l'unité de l'ONU reprit la position. Cinq hommes du PPCLI furent tués et neuf autres furent blessés au cours des combats sur le Crochet, dont le sergent Prince.

Tombe de Tommy Prince.

Prince se remit de sa blessure, mais il commença à éprouver des troubles continuels dûs à de l'arthrite aux genoux. Entre janvier et avril, il passa plusieurs semaines à l'hôpital. L'armistice fut signée en Corée en juillet 1953 et, au mois de novembre suivant, Prince retourna au Canada. Il resta dans l'armée, en poste à un dépôt d'effectif, à Winnipeg, jusqu'en septembre 1954.

Tommy Prince mourut à l'Hôpital Deer Lodge, à Winnipeg, en novembre 1977, à l'âge de 62 ans. À ses funérailles, des membres du Princess Patricia servirent de porteurs et couvrirent le cercueil d'un drapeau du Canada pour le service commémoratif. C'était un hommage impressionnant :

Comme les trompettes se taisaient, cinq jeunes hommes de la réserve indienne à Brokenhead commencèrent à chanter la mélopée « Death of a Warrior » pendant que les tambours scandaient une triste lamentation. ... La foule de plus de 500 personnes comprenait des gens de toutes les positions sociales : des soldats, des anciens combattants, le lieutenant-gouverneur Jobin du Manitoba, les consuls de France, d'Italie et des États-Unis, des agriculteurs, des pêcheurs, des trappeurs, des hommes d'affaires et nombre d'autres.89

Date de modification :